skip to content
Primary navigation

Board Meetings

The Board of Pardons consists of three members: the Governor, the Minnesota Attorney General, and the Chief Justice of the Minnesota Supreme Court. Each member has an equal vote and a unanimous vote is necessary to grant a pardon. The Minnesota Commissioner of Corrections serves as secretary to the board, but does not vote.

The board meets twice a year, in the spring and fall, and its meetings are open to the public. All applicants for pardon extraordinaries are expected to appear before the board at the meetings so members can ask the applicants questions. The board is particularly interested in hearing about involvement in the community, recovery from drug, alcohol or gambling addiction if applicable, and any accomplishments that would warrant their attention. Applicants are encouraged to have one or two people appear at the hearing who can speak about the applicant’s growth and reputation in the community.

Board Members

Governor Tim Walz

Governor Tim Walz

Attorney General Keith Ellison

Attorney General Keith Ellison

Chief Justice

Chief Justice Lorie Gildea

Secretary of the Board of Pardons

Commissioner Paul Schnell 

DOC Commissioner Paul Schnell

back to top