Group Residential Housing payment rates
The Group Residential Housing (GRH) program is a state funded program that provides an income supplement to approximately 20,000 recipients each month to pay for rent and food. All of those supported by the program are at risk of institutional placement or homelessness. The amount of a GRH payment is based on a federal and state standard of what an individual would need, at a minimum, to live in the community. In some cases, GRH may pay a supplemental amount to the basic rate. The following provides information on the three GRH rates and how they are identified in the Minnesota Department of Human Services payment and information systems.
Effective July 1, 2015, this base rate is $891 per month. It is automatically adjusted each year based on changes made in the Federal Benefit Rate (FBR) of the Supplemental Security Income (SSI) program and changes in the value of food support for an individual.
To receive a Group Residential Housing payment, a person must meet certain eligibility requirements. These requirements include being aged, blind, or over age 18 and disabled according to the criteria used by the Social Security Administration, or certain criteria for Minnesota’s General Assistance program. In addition, there are income and asset maximums. Counties administer the GRH program for the state and are responsible for determining eligibility.
The GRH Housing Rate is a payment directly to the provider of housing on behalf of the eligible person. Many types of settings may enter into a GRH contract with their county, including adult foster care (family and corporate), board and lodging establishments, non-certified boarding care homes, and registered housing with services establishments.
Supplemental Service rate
The Supplemental Service rate can only be paid in specific types of settings:
- Board and lodge with special services
- Supervised living facilities
- Boarding care homes that are not certified for Medicaid
- Registered housing with services establishments.
New board and lodge with special services beds cannot be added to the system unless a facility closes and a replacement is developed with an equivalent number of beds.
The GRH Supplemental Service Rate was established by the Minnesota Legislature in 1993 at a maximum of $426.37 per month, per recipient. Beginning in 2000, Cost of Living Adjustments and reductions have been applied to this rate. The most recent change was effective July 1, 2013 when the Supplemental Service Rate increased to $482.84. Counties negotiate the Supplemental Service Rate with providers and cannot exceed the maximum unless the county agrees to pay the amount over the maximum with county funds, or the Legislature has specifically authorized a higher rate for a facility. These facilities typically serve clients who are mentally ill or chemically dependent and are not eligible for a Medical Assistance waiver.
Difficulty of Care
The maximum payment for the Difficulty of Care (DOC) equals the maximum standard for the GRH Supplemental Service Rate.