The county or private licensing agency is responsible for submitting the background study request online using NETStudy™ BEFORE placing a child in the adoptive home. Some agencies and counties have the study subject enter their information into the system, but agencies and counties are ultimately responsible for verifying the information and submitting the request to the Department of Human Services (DHS).
The fee for an adoption background study initiated by a private licensing agency is $70. Contact the agency directly to confirm who will pay the fee. There is no fee for adoption background studies initiated by county agencies.
Using name and date of birth check, all background studies check:
Criminal history information maintained by the Minnesota Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (BCA)
Investigation records of substantiated maltreatment of vulnerable adults and minors completed by counties' adult protection and child protection staff; th Minnesota Department of Human Services; and the Minnesota Department of Health, Office of Health Facilities Complaints
Minnesota's Predatory Offender Registry.
The study may be expanded to include records from police departments, courts and other agencies in Minnesota and other states, in cases where DHS has reasonable cause to believe there is additional information.
Background studies related to child foster care and adoption also include:
A fingerprint-based check of criminal records maintained by the Federal Bureau of Investigations (FBI) for subjects 18 years and older
A check against child abuse and neglect registries in states where the study subject lived in the prior five years.
A felony conviction at any time for child abuse or neglect; spousal abuse; a crime against children, including child pornography; or a crime involving violence, including rape, sexual assault or homicide, but not including other physical assault or battery
A felony conviction within the past five years for physical assault or battery, or a drug-related offense.