skip to content
Primary navigation


Adoption and Kinship Policy Specialist (3 years)

Position details

  • Business area: Children and Family Services
  • Education: Master’s degree in social work
  • Length of time at DHS: 3 years
  • Location:Twin Cities metro area

Which benefits do you like the most about DHS?

Health care; pay; flexible scheduling; ability to telecommute (working remotely); helping the people of Minnesota; paid holiday; accrued vacation/sick times; student loan forgiveness program/tuition reimbursement; supportive work environment

Why are the benefits you chose above the most important to you?

I am a single mother of two school-age children. The department pays well and has great benefits so that I can take care of my children and ensure they have happy, healthy lives. The ability to telework and have flexible scheduling allows me to take large chunks of time to get needed projects done.

What about DHS’s benefits or culture helps you continue to work for DHS?

My work environment is incredibly supportive. When one of my colleagues had to go out on unexpected maternity leave, everyone stepped up to help cover her work. We are truly a team, and we all share a passion for helping children and families. I am able to support my family and do the work I want to do (helping children and families), while working with an amazing team.

What would you tell a new employee or prospective candidate about a DHS job?

I would say there is a lot of satisfaction in being able to work for the people of Minnesota, and knowing that the work you do can impact many people across the state. It is incredibly important to bring your best self to work, and to remember that you have the ability to positively impact Minnesotans and make the state a better place.

Do you have a specific or impactful memory while working at DHS?

One of my favorite parts about working at DHS is the ability to cultivate relationships across units, divisions and even systems. I have been able to work closely with the judicial branch of government to ensure children eligible for post-permanency benefits are able to receive their benefits. I love being able to hash out policy and legal issues, and work across systems in a collaborative manner.

What are your hobbies/interests?

I love putting 1,000- and 2,000-piece puzzles together, reading science fiction and fantasy novels, spending time with my children, working on small projects around the house, and expanding my knowledge base around plants and lawn care. I am also a “The Walking Dead” and Marvel fan.

back to top