
 

 

 

 

 

   

                                                                                                                                               

 
   

 

           
   

 

   
 

 

 

 

     
                     

                    
    

    
   

 

         
 

 

      
   

   

 
 

 

 
   

   

  
   
    

    
     

 

  
 

 

 

 

 

 

MINNESOTACARE  
Servicing Agency Name  

GRACE  MONTH  
Address  PREMIUM  

Date & Time 
Applicant Name 

Address 

Case Number: 

Date Due: 
NOW 

Amount Due Now: 
$0.00 

Total Amount Due: 
$0.00 

MinnesotaCare Members: Enrollee Name 

 Coverage Month   Premium Amount   Date Due   Amount Paid   Balance  Due  

Month/Year   $0.00   NOW   $0.00   $0.00  

We did not receive your MinnesotaCare premium payment for MONTH coverage. You are in a grace month and 
will have coverage through the end of MONTH. If we get your payment in full by noon on the last working day 
of MONTH, coverage will continue. If we do not get your premium payment in full by the last working day of the 
month, your coverage will end at the end of MONTH, and you will have a gap in coverage. If your coverage 
ends, coverage will begin again on the first day of the month after you pay the premium for the grace month and 
a premium for a future month of coverage. See Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.06, subdivision 3, paragraph 
(d). 

Call DHS Health Care Consumer Support with questions about your MinnesotaCare premium. 
Phone: Metro: 651-297-3862 Outstate: 800-657-3672 

Grace Month Premium 

Enrollee Name 

MinnesotaCare 
PO BOX 64834 

ST. PAUL, MN 55164-0834 

See next page for payment options ==> 

Case Number: 

Worker Number: 

Bill Number: 
Amount Due: $ 
Payment Due Date: NOW 

Make checks payable to MinnesotaCare. 

Amount Paid: $



  

 

        

     

 

 

ADAl (2-18) 

For accessible formats of this information or assistance 

with additional equal access to human services, write to 

DHS.info@state.mn.us, call 800-657-3739, or use your 

preferred relay service. 

mailto:DHS.info@state.mn.us
mailto:DHS.info@state.mn.us


   

                
 

   

               
             

                
                       

                       
        

               
  

  

         

           

               
              

  
       
       

      

        

 

 

 

 

Starting Your Coverage 

We must receive your premium payment by noon on the last working day of a month for your coverage to start 
on the first day of the next month. See Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.05, subdivision 3. 

Continuing Your Coverage 

Once your MinnesotaCare coverage starts, you will get a bill every month. Your MinnesotaCare premium is due 
on the 15th of each month. If you do not pay your premium by noon on the last working day of the month, your 
coverage will continue for one additional month. This is a grace month. You must pay the past-due premium in 
full by noon on the last working day of the grace month for your coverage to continue. If we do not receive your 

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------payment by noon on the last working day of the grace month, your coverage will end on the last day of the grace 
month. See Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.06, subdivision 3, paragraph (d). 

If the bank returns your check unpaid, you have not paid your premium. You must replace your returned check 
with a cashier's check, money order or cash. Cash payments can only be made in person. Do not send cash 
through the mail. See Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.06, subdivision 3, paragraph (b). 

Members Who Are Not Required to Pay a Premium 

Certain MinnesotaCare members are not charged premiums. They include the following: 

• People in a household with income under 35 percent of the federal poverty limit 
• Members of the military who become eligible for MinnesotaCare within 24 months after completing active 

duty, and their households. These MinnesotaCare members do not pay premiums for 12 months 
• American Indians and Alaska Natives and their households 
• Children under the age of 21 

How to pay your MinnesotaCare premium 

You can pay online, by phone, by mail or in person. 

1.  Online:  http://payments.dhs.state.mn.us.  Acceptable  forms  of  payment  are  credit  card  (VISA  and 
MasterCard), debit card  or electronic check.  

2.  By  phone:  Call  800-657-3672  and  select the  correct  option  from  the  phone  menu. Acceptable  forms  of 
payment are credit card (VISA, MasterCard or Discover), debit card or electronic check.  

3.  By  mail:  Mail  a  check  or money order,  and  the enclosed  payment  stub, using  the self-addressed  envelope  
included with your bill.  Write your case number on your check or money order.  

4.  In  person:  Bring your  bill  to  the  Minnesota  Department  of  Human  Services  at  the  address  listed here.  If  you 
want to pay in cash, you must have the exact  amount.  The cashier does not have change.  
You  can  pay  in  person  Monday  through  Friday,  8:00  a.m.-5:00  p.m.  

Department  of  Human  Services 
MinnesotaCare  
540 Cedar Street  
St.  Paul,  MN  55101  

When you provide a  check as payment, you authorize us to do either of  the following: 1) use information from 
your  check  to make  a  one-time  electronic  funds  transfer  from  your account or 2)  process the payment  as  a  check 
transaction.  When we use information from your check to make an electronic funds transfer,  funds  may be  
withdrawn  as  soon  as  the  same  day  we  receive  your  payment,  and  you  will  not  receive  your  check  back  from  your 
financial  institution.  If you have any questions or concerns, please contact MinnesotaCare at 651-297-3862 in 
the Twin Cities metro area or 800-657-3672 toll free from outside the Twin Cities.  Or use your preferred relay 
service.  

For more information, visit our website at 

https://mn.gov/dhs/minnesotacare 

http://payments.dhs.state.mn.us/
https://mn.gov/dhs/minnesotacare
http://payments.dhs.state.mn.us


  

 
  

                  
  

   

           
                    

 

 

 

        
 

                     
 

    
    
      

Appeal Rights 

An appeal is when you ask in writing for a human services judge to review a decision made about your 
MinnesotaCare case. You can appeal if you disagree with an action we take. You can appeal an action about 
your coverage or your premium. You must appeal within 30 days from the date you receive the premium bill or 
coverage cancellation notice. You can file an appeal request by doing any of these: 

•  logging  in  to  your  account  at  www.mnsure.org  
•  calling  the MNsure  Contact  Center  at 855-366-7873  
•  mailing  your  appeal  request  to  MNsure,  81 Seventh  Street  East, Suite  300,  St.  Paul,  MN  55101-2211  or  to 

DHS Appeals Division, P.O. Box 64941, St. Paul, MN 55164-0941  
•  completing  and submitting the online form  available at 

https://edocs.dhs.state.mn.us/lfserver/Public/DHS-0033-ENG-eform  
•  visiting  in  person  the  Minnesota  Department  of  Human  Services,  Information  Desk,  444  Lafayette  Road  

North,  St.  Paul,  MN  55155  

You  can appeal  for  up  to  90 days  from  the  date of  the  premium bill  or  coverage  cancellation  notice  if  you show  
good cause for not appealing sooner.  

Continuation of Your Benefits 

To have benefits automatically continue during the appeal, you must both file an appeal and pay all past-due 
premiums by the end date on the coverage cancellation notices. Tell DHS in writing if you do not want your 
benefits to continue. 

Important: If you lose your appeal, you may have to pay back the benefits you got while your appeal was 
pending. 

You must keep paying premiums until the appeal is decided. See Minnesota Statutes, section 256L.06, 
subdivision 3. 

You may be able to get free legal advice or help with an appeal from your local legal aid office. To contact your 
local legal aid office, call one of these numbers: 

• Hennepin County: 612-334-5970 
• Ramsey County: 651-222-4731 
• All other counties: 888-354-5522 (toll-free) 

http://www.mnsure.org/
https://edocs.dhs.state.mn.us/lfserver/Public/DHS-0033-ENG-eform
www.mnsure.org


   
   

                   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

    
        

       

     

   

    

    

  

 

 

 

 

   
       

  

  

   

    

   

    

 

 
 

 

   

     

     

      

   

      

    

   

 

  

    

    

     

        

   

   
      

 

   

    

  

 

      

        

 

  

       

      

        

  

        

    

     

  
     

    

    

          

            

          
      

CB3 HC-Medical 1-18 
Civil Rights Notice 

Discrimination is against the law. The Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) does not discriminate on the basis of any 

of the following: 

* race * creed * public assistance status * disability 

* color * religion * marital status * sex (including sex stereotypes 

* national origin * sexual orientation * age and gender identity) 
* political beliefs 

Auxiliary Aids and Services: Language Assistance Services: 
DHS provides auxiliary aids and services, like qualified DHS provides translated documents and spoken language 

interpreters or information in accessible formats, free of charge interpreting, free of charge and in a timely manner, when 

and in a timely manner to ensure an equal opportunity to language assistance services are necessary to ensure limited 

participate in our health care programs. Contact the Minnesota English speakers have meaningful access to our information 

Health Care Program (MHCP) Member Help Desk at and services. Contact the Minnesota Health Care Program 

dhs.info@state.mn.us or 800-657-3739, or use your preferred (MHCP) Member Help Desk at dhs.info@state.mn.us or 

relay service. 800-657-3739, or use your preferred relay service. 

Civil Rights Complaints 

You have the right to file a discrimination complaint if you 

believe you were treated in a discriminatory way by a human 

services agency. You may contact any of the following three 

agencies directly to file a discrimination complaint. 

U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' 

Office for Civil Rights (OCR) 

You have the right to file a complaint with OCR, a federal 

agency, if you believe you have been discriminated against 

because of any of the following: 

* race * age 

* color * disability 

* national origin * sex 

Contact the OCR directly to file a complaint: 

Director, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services' 

Office for Civil Rights 
200 Independence Avenue SW, Room 509F 

HHH Building 

Washington, DC 20201 

800-368-1019 (voice) 800-537-7697 (TDD) 

Complaint Portal: 

https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf 

Minnesota Department of Human Rights (MDHR) 

In Minnesota, you have the right to file a complaint with the 

MDHR if you believe you have been discriminated against 

because of any of the following: 

* race * religion *sexual orientation 

* color * creed *marital status 

* national origin * sex *public assistance status 

* disability 

Contact the MDHR directly to file a complaint: 

Minnesota Department of Human Rights 

Freeman Building, 625 North Robert Street 

St. Paul, MN 55155 
651-539-1100 (voice) 800-657-3704 (toll free) 

711 or 800-627-3529 (MN Relay) 

651-296-9042 (fax) info.MDHR@state.mn.us (email) 

mailto:dhs.info@state.mn.us
mailto:dhs.info@state.mn.us
mailto:info.MDHR@state.mn.us
mailto:info.MDHR@state.mn.us
https://ocrportal.hhs.gov/ocr/portal/lobby.jsf
mailto:dhs.info@state.mn.us
mailto:dhs.info@state.mn.us


 

       

 

  

         

      

       

       

      

      

     

   

  

  

   

  

    

    

   

       

      

    

 

         

   

 

    

        

    

     

   

     

     

   

    

        

DHS 

You have the right to file a complaint with DHS if you 

believe you have been discriminated against in our health 

care programs because of any of the following: 

* race * sexual orientation * sex (including sex 

* color * disability stereotypes and 

* national origin * marital status gender identity) 

* creed * age * political beliefs 

* religion * public assistance status 

Complaints must be in writing and filed within 180 days of 

the date you discovered the alleged discrimination. The 

complaint must contain your name and address and describe 

the discrimination you are complaining about. After we get 

your complaint, we will review it and notify you in writing 

about whether we have authority to investigate. If we do, 

we will investigate the complaint. 

DHS will notify you in writing of the investigation's 

outcome. You have the right to appeal the outcome if you 

disagree with the decision. To appeal, you must send a 

written request to have DHS review the investigation 

outcome. Be brief and state why you disagree with the 

decision. Include additional information you think is 

important. 

If you file a complaint in this way, the people who work for 

the agency named in the complaint cannot retaliate against 

you. 

This means they cannot punish you in any way for filing a 

complaint. Filing a complaint in this way does not stop you 

from seeking out other legal or administrative actions. 

Contact DHS directly to file a discrimination complaint: 

Civil Rights Coordinator 

Minnesota Department of Human Services 

Equal Opportunity and Access Division 

P.O. Box 64997 

St. Paul, MN 55164-0997 

651-431-3040 (voice) or use your preferred relay service 


