
March 2020 

How does child care assistance support my community? 

AITKIN  COUNTY 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Aitkin County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $11 a week for family child care and $16 a week for a child care center. 

Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care)

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center)

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.”

(Licensed family child care)

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.”

(Licensed family child care)

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018. 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

BECKER  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Becker County, school age maximum rates would 
go up $31 per week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

BELTRAMI COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Beltrami County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $9 a week for family child care. Center-based care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for centers as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

BENTON  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Benton County, school age maximum rates 
would go up about $12 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the 
same, if there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates 
were set at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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443 children from 
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served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

44 
family child care 
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in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

11 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

BIG STONE  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Big Stone County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $25 a week for family child care and $17 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  

$125
$157

$130

$175

$140

$195

$310

$220

$0

$50

$100

$150

$200

$250

$300

$350

Family child care Center child care

Big Stone County weekly infant prices (2018)

25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$100

$140

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

21 children from 
11 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 10 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

0 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 



 

March 2020 
 

How does child care assistance support my community? 

BLUE EARTH  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Blue Earth County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $7 a week for family child care and $27 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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597 children from 
359 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

46 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

30 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

BROWN  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Brown County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $7 a week for family child care and $13 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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219 children from 
134 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

37 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

9 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

CARLTON  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Carlton County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $9 a week for family child care and $27 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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161 children from 
103 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

17 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

15 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

CASS  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Cass County, infant maximum rates would go up 
about $17 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if there 
were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set at a 
higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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133 children from 
80 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

22 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

CHIPPEWA  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Chippewa County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $17 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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52 children from 
35 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

10 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

CHISAGO  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Chisago County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $9 a week for family child care and $25 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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209 children from 
118 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

20 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

10 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

CLAY  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Clay County, infant maximum rates would go up 
about $28 a week for family child care and $44 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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385 children from 
232 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

42 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

17 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

CLEARWATER  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Clearwater County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $9 a week for family child care. Center-based care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for centers as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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53 children from 
31 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

14 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

0 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

COOK COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Cook County, infant maximum rates would go up 
about $20 a week for family child care and $43 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$150
$141

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

16 children from 
11 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 10 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

COTTONWOOD COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Cottonwood County, infant maximum rates 
would go up about $9 a week for family child care and $17 a week for a child care 
center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$116

$140

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

59 children from 
32 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

15 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 



 

March 2020 
 

How does child care assistance support my community? 

CROW WING COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Crow Wing County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $27 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$129
$157

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

670 children from 
388 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

57 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

19 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

DODGE  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Dodge County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $22 a week for family child care and $11 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$118

$173

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

211 children from 
117 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

26 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

6 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

DOUGLAS  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Douglas County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $7 a week for family child care and $37 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$118
$147

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

212 children from 
131 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

27 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

12 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

FARIBAULT  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Faribault County, weekly infant maximum rates 
stay the same for family child care and go up about $17 a week for a child care center. If 
rates were set at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$100

$140

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

61 children from 
39 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

12 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

FILLMORE  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Fillmore County, weekly infant maximum rates 
would go up about $22 a week for family child care. Center-based care would stay the 
same, if there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates 
were set at a higher percentile, they may go up for centers as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$118

$173

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

118 children from 
69 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

10 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

8 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

FREEBORN  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Freeborn County, weekly infant maximum rates 
would go up about $7 a week for family child care. Center-based care would stay the 
same, if there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates 
were set at a higher percentile, they may go up for centers as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$118

$185

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

205 children from 
122 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

28 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

GOODHUE  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Goodhue County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $10 a week for family child care and $21 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$130

$163

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

250 children from 
145 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

14 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

21 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

GRANT  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Grant County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $13 a week for family child care and $16 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$112

$141

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

46 children from 
24 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 10 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center provider 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

HOUSTON  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Houston County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $7 a week for family child care. Center-based care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for centers as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$118

$173

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

101 children from 
58 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

12 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

8 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

HUBBARD  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. In this county, providers would not experience an increase if rates were 
set at the 25th percentile. If rates were set at a higher percentile, they may go up.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$103

$155

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

175 children from 
99 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

34 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

ISANTI  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Isanti County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $10 a week for family child care and $25 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$130

$185

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

250 children from 
137 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 10 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

12 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

ITASCA  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Itasca County, school age maximum rates would 
go up about $2 a week for family child care and $23 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$118 $115

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

181 children from 
106 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

33 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

9 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 



 

March 2020 
 

How does child care assistance support my community? 

JACKSON  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Jackson County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $17 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  

$100

$157

$115

$175

$125

$195

$275

$220

$0

$50

$100

$150

$200

$250

$300

Family child care Center child care

Jackson County weekly infant prices (2018)

25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$103

$140

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

45 children from 
31 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 10 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center provider 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 



 

March 2020 
 

How does child care assistance support my community? 

KANABEC  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Kanabec County, school age maximum rates 
would go up about $13 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the 
same, if there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates 
were set at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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$125

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

86 children from 
55 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

13 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 



 

March 2020 
 

How does child care assistance support my community? 

KANDIYOHI  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Kandiyohi County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $12 a week for family child care and $27 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

197 children from 
116 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

37 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

10 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 



 

March 2020 
 

How does child care assistance support my community? 

K ITTSON  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Kittson County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $17 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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$103

$140

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

11 children from 
fewer than 10 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 10 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

0 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 



 

March 2020 
 

How does child care assistance support my community? 

KOOCHICHING  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Koochiching County, infant maximum rates 
would go up about $16 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the 
same, if there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates 
were set at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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$131
$141

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

78 children from 
48 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 10 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

0 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 



 

March 2020 
 

How does child care assistance support my community? 

LAC QUI PARLE  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Lac Qui Parle County, infant maximum rates 
would go up about $20 a week for family child care and $17 a week for a child care 
center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

31 children from 
16 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 10 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

LAKE  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Lake County, infant maximum rates would go up 
about $7 a week for family child care and $27 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

40 children from 
20 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 10 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 



 

March 2020 
 

How does child care assistance support my community? 

LAKE OF THE WOODS  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Lake of the Woods County, toddler maximum 
rates would go up about $6 a week for centers. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal 
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18 children from 
11 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 10 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

0 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

LE SUEUR  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Le Sueur County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $9 a week for family child care and would stay the same for child care 
centers. If rates were set at a higher percentile, center-based rates may go up as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$131

$157

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

128 children from 
73 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

24 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
LINCOLN COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Lincoln County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $20 a week for family child care. Center-based care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for centers as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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$105
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

17 children from  
fewer than 10 families  
served in State Fiscal 

Year 2019 
 

Fewer than 6 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 
0 

center providers 
reimbursed in State 

Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

LYON  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Lyon County, infant maximum rates would go up 
about $7 a week for family child care. Center-based care would stay the same, if there 
were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set at a 
higher percentile, they may go up for centers as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$118

$165

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

220 children from 
115 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

31 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

8 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

MCLEOD  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in McLeod County, school age maximum rates 
would go up about $13 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the 
same, if there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates 
were set at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile
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$125

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

202 children from 
122 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

29 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

6 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 



 

March 2020 
 

How does child care assistance support my community? 

MAHNOMEN  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Mahnomen County, infant maximum rates 
would go up about $13 a week for family child care. Center-based care would stay the 
same, if there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates 
were set at a higher percentile, they may go up for centers as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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$112

$206

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal 

req.

38 children from 
22 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

12 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center provider 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

MARSHALL  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile Marshall County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $22 a week for family child care and $17 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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$103

$140

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

23 children from 
13 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 10 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center provider 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

MARTIN  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Martin County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $44 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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Current maximum reimbursement 

rate

*Minimum federal 

req.

205 children from 
117 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

36 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

MEEKER  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Meeker County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $18 a week for family child care. Center-based care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for centers as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

76 children from 
46 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 10 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

MILLE LACS  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Mille Lacs County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $13 a week for family child care and $27 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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$112

$157

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

204 children from 
110 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

11 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

7 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

MORRISON  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Morrison County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $15 a week for family child care and $17 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

168 children from 
91 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

25 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

8 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

MOWER  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Mower County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $17 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

275 children from 
147 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

33 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

14 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

MURRAY  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Murray County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $44 a week for a child care center and would stay the same for family child 
care. If rates were set at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

21 children from 
12 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 10 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

0 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

NICOLLET  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Nicollet County, school age maximum rates 
would go up about $13 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the 
same, if there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates 
were set at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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$113
$125

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

348 children from 
190 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

23 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

18 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

NOBLES  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Nobles County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $22 a week for family child care and $17 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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$103

$140

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

102 children from 
55 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

11 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

NORMAN  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Norman County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $17 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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$105

$140

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

39 children from 
21 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 10 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

OLMSTED  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Olmsted County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $37 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$147

$268

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

1,806 children from 
892 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

84 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

62 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 

OTTER TAIL  COUNTY  
 

Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 

care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 

care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 

for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Otter Tail County, school age maximum rates 
would go up about $12 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the 
same, if there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates 
were set at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

 “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 

 “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 

 “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 

 “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 

is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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197 children from 
124 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 

55 
family child care 

providers reimbursed  
in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 

8 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 



March 2020 
 

How does child care assistance support my community? 
PENNINGTON COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Pennington County, school age maximum rates 
would go up about $12 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the 
same, if there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates 
were set at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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44 children from 
28 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
21 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
PINE COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Pine County, infant maximum rates would go up 
about $43 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if there 
were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set at a 
higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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$131 $141

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

168 children from 
96 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
27 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
PIPESTONE COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Pipestone County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $17 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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$107
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

67 children from 
40 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
17 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 



March 2020 
 

How does child care assistance support my community? 
POLK COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Polk County, school age maximum rates would 
go up about $31 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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169 children from 
93 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
24 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

6 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
POPE COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Pope County, school age maximum rates would 
go up about $31 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  

$100
$138

$100

$150

$113

$151

$250
$224

$0

$50

$100

$150

$200

$250

$300

Family child care Center child care

Pope County weekly school age prices (2018)

25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$105 $107

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

45 children from 
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served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
Fewer than 10 

family child care 
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in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
RED LAKE COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Red Lake County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $17 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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18 children from 
10 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
10 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

0 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
REDWOOD COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Redwood County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $9 a week for family child care and $17 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 
(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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69 children from 
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served in State Fiscal 
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Fewer than 10 
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in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
RENVILLE COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. In this county, providers would not experience an increase if rates are set 
at the 25th percentile. If rates were set at a higher percentile, they may go up. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 
(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

74 children from 
39 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
Fewer than 10 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

6 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
RICE COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Rice County, infant maximum rates would go up 
about $9 a week for family child care and $11 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 
(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

405 children from 
188 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
41 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

14 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
ROCK COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Rock County, infant maximum rates would go up 
about $17 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if there 
were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set at a 
higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

45 children from 
24 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
11 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

0 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
ROSEAU COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Roseau County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $17 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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$103

$140

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

29 children from 
18 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
19 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

0 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
ST. LOUIS COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in St. Louis County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $9 a week for family child care and $27 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 
(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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1,196 children from 
771 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
107 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

53 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
SHERBURNE COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Sherburne County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $10 a week for family child care and $25 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 
(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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$130
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433 children from 
230 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
39 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

28 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 



March 2020 
 

How does child care assistance support my community? 
SIBLEY COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Sibley County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $22 a week for family child care and would stay the same for a child care 
center. If rates were set a higher percentile, they may go up for centers as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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87 children from 
55 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
18 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
STEARNS COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Stearns County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $13 a week for family child care and $25 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 
(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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1,510 children from 
676 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
65 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

52 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
STEELE COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Steele County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $7 a week for family child care and $20 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 
(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  

$125

$210

$130

$236

$140

$255

$310

$362

$0

$50

$100

$150

$200

$250

$300

$350

$400

Family child care Center child care

Steele County weekly infant prices (2018)

25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$118
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

383 children from 
207 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
33 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

6 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
STEVENS COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Stevens County, school age maximum rates 
would go up about $31 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the 
same, if there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates 
were set at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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$103 $107

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

41 children from 
28 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
Fewer than 10 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
SWIFT COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Swift County, infant maximum rates would go up 
about $17 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if there 
were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set at a 
higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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67 children from 
39 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
Fewer than 10 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
TODD COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Todd County, infant maximum rates would go up 
about $9 a week for family child care and $17 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 
(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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106 children from 
61 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
22 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
TRAVERSE COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Traverse County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $25 a week for family child care and $16 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 
(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  

$125
$157

$130

$175

$140

$195

$310

$220

$0

$50

$100

$150

$200

$250

$300

$350

Family child care Center child care

Traverse County weekly infant prices (2018)

25th percentile* 50th percentile 75th percentile 100th percentile

$100

$141

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

14 children from  
fewer than 8 families  
served in State Fiscal 
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Fewer than 10 
family child care 
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in State Fiscal Year 2019 

 
0 

center providers 
reimbursed in State 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
WABASHA COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Wabasha County, school age maximum rates 
would go up about $8 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the 
same, if there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates 
were set at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

82 children from 
51 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
18 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
WADENA COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Wadena County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $17 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

95 children from 
52 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
18 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
WASECA COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Waseca County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $7 a week for family child care and $17 a week for a child care center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” 
(Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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164 children from 
104 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
13 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

6 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
WATONWAN COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Watonwan County, infant maximum rates would 
go up about $17 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

65 children from 
39 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
14 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
WILKIN COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Wilkin County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $16 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well.  
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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$102

$141

Current maximum reimbursement rate*Minimum federal req.

52 children from 
32 families  

served in State Fiscal 
Year 2019 

 
Fewer than 10 

family child care 
providers reimbursed  

in State Fiscal Year 2019 
 

Fewer than 5 
center providers 

reimbursed in State 
Fiscal Year 2019 
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
WINONA COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Winona County, infant maximum rates would go 
up about $1 a week for family child care. Center-based care would stay the same, if 
there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates were set 
at a higher percentile, they may go up for centers as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
WRIGHT COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Wright County, school age maximum rates 
would go up about $15 a week for family child care and $8 a week for a child care 
center. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there 

are lots of providers that are not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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How does child care assistance support my community? 
YELLOW MEDICINE COUNTY  

 
Child care assistance supports employers by helping families afford safe, consistent child 
care so that parents can find and keep jobs. Providing more access to high-quality child 
care also supports the workforce now and in the future by helping young learners prepare 
for success. 

Increase child care assistance rates  
An investment in child care assistance payments that moves toward current market rates 
supports child care providers in your area who provide an essential service, and recognizes 
their hard work. At the 25th percentile in Yellow Medicine County, infant maximum rates 
would go up about $70 a week for a child care center. Family child care would stay the 
same, if there were policies stating that no reimbursement rates will decrease. If rates 
were set at a higher percentile, they may go up for family child care as well. 
 
Here’s what providers say about the below-market rates that the state currently pays1: 

• “I just want to get paid what I charge everyone else.” (Licensed family child care) 
• “Families are not able to pay the difference.” (Licensed center) 
• “If I had to accept the rates the county pays I wouldn’t be in business at all.” 

(Licensed family child care) 
• “The county/state need to listen to what the providers are saying because there are lots of providers that are 

not taking county-funded families any longer.” (Licensed family child care) 

Increase reimbursement rates to avoid losing federal funds 
States must set rates to at least the 25th percentile of their most recent rate survey. If rates are not increased, Minnesota 
is subject to a penalty which would reduce its federal child care grant in Federal Fiscal Year 2021 (starting Oct. 1, 2020).  

 

                                                           
1 DHS survey of child care providers, deployed from July 25, 2018, through Aug. 24, 2018.  
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43 children from 
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