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August 2025 

HCBS: Implementation plan for 2025 legislative changes 
New laws passed by the 2025 Legislature include several provisions that impact home and community-based 
services (HCBS). This document outlines an overview of each change, instructions for what license holders need 
to do about the change, and the date the change is effective.  

The hyperlinks within this document direct license holders to where the new laws can be found. When reviewing 
the new laws:  

• Text that is stricken with a line through it reflects words that are being removed from the law.  
• Text that is underlined reflects words that are being added to the law.  
• Text that is unchanged reflects what the law was before and continues to be the law. 
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Training on the program’s drug and alcohol policy  

Overview 

License holders must provide training to employees, subcontractors, and volunteers on the program’s drug and 
alcohol policy before the employee, subcontractor, or volunteer has direct contact with a person served by the 
program.  

Laws of Minnesota 2025, chapter 38, article 5, section 5   

Effective date: August 1, 2025 

What license holders need to do 

Before an employee, subcontractor, or volunteer provides face-to-face care, training, supervision, counseling, 
consultation, or medication assistance to persons served by the program, the license holder must provide 
training on the program’s drug and alcohol policy and document the training according to Minnesota Statutes, 
section 245D.095. DHS will update the sample forms on the HCBS licensing webpage to reflect this change. 

License application and renewal fees 

Overview 

Effective January 1, 2026, license application fees for 245D licenses will be $4,200. License renewal fees will also 
increase, based on revenues from the previous calendar year.  

Laws of Minnesota 2025, 1st Spec. Sess., chapter 9, article 10, sections 6 and 8   

Effective date: January 1, 2026 

What license holders need to do 

The legislature increased renewal fees for most licensed programs, including HCBS. In the fall, DHS will issue 
invoices for the next year’s license renewal fees. The license holder will be charged the new 2026 fee based on 
the program’s previous year’s revenues according to Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.10. The license holder 
must pay the renewal fee before the upcoming calendar year to receive a license for that year. 

Change of ownership  

Overview 

DHS may complete a licensing review when owners on a license change. Whenever there is any change to 
ownership, including a change of ownership that qualifies for the exception under section 245A.043, subdivision 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2025/0/38/laws.5.5.0#laws.5.5.0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2025/1/9/laws.10.6.0#laws.10.6.0
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2, paragraph (b), the license holder must notify DHS of the change and the date it takes effect. License holders 
will be charged a fee for each license subject to the change of ownership, including the exception under section 
245A.043, subdivision 2, paragraph (b). The fee will be $4,200 for a 245D license and $2,100 for any other 
license.   

Laws of Minnesota 2025, 1st Spec. Sess., chapter 9, article 10, sections 3 and 7   

Effective date: July 1, 2025; Fee (January 1, 2026) 

What license holders need to do 

License holders must notify DHS by contacting their HCBS licensor when they sell 100% of their program assets. 

If 100% of the assets are being sold and all of the controlling individuals will change, the new license holder(s) 
must complete a new license application and submit an application fee. Starting January 1, 2026, the application 
fee for a 245D license is $4,200.  

Starting January 1, 2026, a fee of $4,200 must be submitted if 100% of the assets are being sold but at least one 
controlling individual who has been affiliated with the license for at least 12 months prior is remaining on the 
license. A new license application does not need to be completed, but the change will need to be communicated 
to DHS through a change in information form. The process for submitting the fee and change form will be 
provided to the license holder after the notification to their licensor of the change. 

Positive support competency program and qualifications 

Overview 

There are now additional ways to qualify as a positive support professional or positive support analyst. The 
session law also establishes a positive supports competency program.  

Laws of Minnesota 2025, chapter 38, article 1, section 5  

Laws of Minnesota 2025, 1st Spec. Sess., chapter 9, article 2, sections 6, 7, and 59 

Effective date: July 1, 2025, except the baccalaureate degree language takes effect August 1, 2025  

What license holders need to do 

DHS will establish a Positive Supports Competency Program. Positive support professionals and positive support 
analysts now have the option of completing the competency-based training program to qualify for their 
positions. An individual’s qualifications to be a positive support professional or positive support analyst will need 
to be provided on the forms and using the process provided by DHS.     

Positive support analysts now can have either:  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2025/1/9/laws.10.3.0#laws.10.3.0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2025/0/38/laws.1.5.0#laws.1.5.0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2025/1/9/laws.2.6.0#laws.2.6.0
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• two years of supervised experience conducting functional behavior assessments and designing, 
implementing, and evaluating effectiveness of positive practices behavior support strategies for people 
who exhibit challenging behaviors as well as co-occurring mental disorders and neurocognitive disorder, 
or  

• for those who have obtained a baccalaureate degree in one of the behavioral sciences or related fields, 
demonstrated expertise in positive support services.  

Beginning August 1, 2025, positive support analysts may qualify by meeting the requirements in option 2. 

Prohibited condition of service provision 

Overview 

This section prohibits license holders from requiring a person to have or obtain a guardian or conservator as a 
condition of receiving or continuing to receive services.  

Laws of Minnesota 2025, chapter 38, article 1, section 6   

Effective date: August 1, 2025 

What license holders need to do 

License holders are prohibited from requiring a person to have or obtain a guardian or conservator as a 
condition of receiving or continuing to receive HCBS services. 

Out-of-home respite for children  

Overview 

This section establishes requirements for 245D license holders to provide licensed respite services to people 
under age 18 in an out-of-home, unlicensed setting.  

Laws of Minnesota 2025, 1st Spec. Sess., chapter 9, article 2, section 8   

Effective date: January 1, 2026, or upon federal approval, whichever is later 

What license holders need to do 

Please note: License holders may not provide out-of-home respite care services to children in an unlicensed 
setting until January 1, 2026, or until federal approval is received. DHS will notify license holders when this takes 
effect. 

If a 245D license holder plans to provide out-of-home respite care services in an unlicensed setting, the license 
holder must ensure compliance with the following. 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2025/0/38/laws.1.6.0#laws.1.6.0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2025/1/9/laws.2.8.0#laws.2.8.0
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License holder requirements: 

• License holders must ensure the requirements listed below are met. If the child is on a disability waiver, 
all applicable requirements for respite care in chapter 245D must be met. 

• License holders must complete all background studies requirements, according to chapter 245C. 
• License holders must maintain documentation of the following: 
• Background studies completed under chapter 245C,  
• Service recipient records with the calendar dates and times when services were provided,  
• The case manager’s initial residential setting assessment and each residential assessment completed 

thereafter, and  
• The legal representative’s approval of the residential setting before services are provided and each year 

thereafter. 

On-site visits required: 

• A child’s case manager must conduct and document an assessment of the residential setting and its 
environment. The assessment must be completed before services are provided and at least once each 
calendar year thereafter if services continue to be provided at that residence. The assessment must 
ensure that the setting is suitable for the child receiving respite services.  

• A child’s legal representative must visit the residence and sign and date a statement authorizing services 
in the residence. This must occur before services are provided and at least once each calendar year 
thereafter if services continue to be provided at that residence. 

Limitations on services: 

• The residential setting cannot be licensed to provide any other licensed services. 
• Each individual in the residence at the time services are provided (other than individuals receiving 

services) must be an employee of the license holder and have a background study completed under 
chapter 245C. No other household members or other individuals may be present in the residence while 
services are provided. This means spouses/partners, children, other family members, and visitors cannot 
be present in the home while services are being provided. 

• The services cannot be provided to more than four children at any one time. Each child must have an 
individual bedroom, except two siblings may share a bedroom. 

• The services cannot be provided to children and adults over the age of 21 in the same residence at the 
same time. 

• The services cannot be provided to a family for more than 46 calendar days in a calendar year and no 
more than 10 consecutive days. 

• A license holder may not provide out-of-home respite for children in an unlicensed setting if their license 
was in a conditional status, suspended, or revoked in the previous 24 months.  

• A child may not receive out-of-home respite care services in more than two unlicensed residential 
settings in a calendar year. 

• The child receiving services may not be in foster care under chapters 260C or 260D. 
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Additional information 

HCBS Early and Often 

The legislature funded positions for the HCBS Licensing Unit to create an Early and Often team. The Early and 
Often team will assist applicants through the application process and visit programs early and often, providing 
technical assistance on the first visit, in addition to guidance on licensing and billing requirements several times 
throughout the first years of operation. An investigator from the Program Integrity Oversight Division will also 
join in licensing visits to provide technical assistance and guidance.  

The Early and Often team will conduct the first technical assistance licensing review soon after a new license 
holder initiates HCBS services. At this review, the licensor will monitor for compliance for all 245D requirements 
for service recipients and staff. This first review will provide technical assistance and will result in a licensing 
review report, not a correction order.  

All new license holders will receive another visit a year after initial service delivery. Additional reviews may occur 
with the addition of new service recipients.  

Included in the 2024 budget without enacting language.   

Look for additional information from DHS as the HCBS Early and Often team and processes are developed. 

Compliance education  

Starting in 2027, DHS will make licensing compliance education available to all license holders. The education 
materials will include clear explanations about how to comply with licensing requirements.   

Laws of Minnesota 2025, 1st Spec. Sess., chapter 9, article 2, section 2   

Effective date: January 1, 2027 

Temporary licensing moratorium  

DHS may implement a temporary licensing moratorium when it determines that exceptional growth in 
applications for licensure or requests to add new services exceeds the determined need for service capacity. A 
temporary licensing moratorium may be effective for up to 24 months from the date it is issued. Any applicant 
that will not receive a license due to a moratorium may apply for a refund of application fees for up to one year 
from the date the moratorium is issued. 

DHS will publish notice of a moratorium on the licensing webpage. DHS will also publish the processes and 
criteria that will be used to grant exceptions to the moratorium. 

Laws of Minnesota 2025, 1st Spec. Sess., chapter 9, article 10, section 1   

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2025/1/9/laws.2.2.0#laws.2.2.0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2025/1/9/laws.10.1.0#laws.10.1.0
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Effective date: July 1, 2025 

Conditional licenses  

DHS must inform an HCBS license holder when their next licensing review may result in a conditional license. 
However, DHS may still take an immediate action if the health, safety, or rights of persons served by the 
program are imminently endangered.  

DHS may reduce the length of time of a conditional license if the license holder demonstrates compliance or 
progress toward compliance.  

Laws of Minnesota 2025, 1st Spec. Sess., chapter 9, article 2, section 4   

Effective date: January 1, 2027 

List of legal resources  

This change requires DHS to provide a list of legal resources on letters that are sent to license holders who are 
subject to an enforcement action. The list of resources will help license holders know who they could contact if 
they need legal advice.  

Laws of Minnesota 2025, 1st Spec. Sess., chapter 9, article 2, section 3   

Effective date: January 1, 2026 

Mediation after request for reconsideration  

Beginning January 1, 2027, DHS must offer the option of mediation for an HCBS license holder if their request for 
reconsideration is denied and they further dispute the correction order. The license holder must pay for the 
costs of mediation.  

Laws of Minnesota 2025, 1st Spec. Sess., chapter 9, article 2, section 5   

Effective date: January 1, 2027 

DHS report on 245D licenses 

By January 1, 2027, and each year thereafter, DHS must issue a report that includes data on 245D licenses. The 
report will include the number of correction orders and conditional licenses issued. 

Laws of Minnesota 2025, 1st Spec. Sess., chapter 9, article 2, section 4   

Effective date: January 1, 2027 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2025/1/9/laws.2.4.0#laws.2.4.0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2025/1/9/laws.2.3.0#laws.2.3.0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2025/1/9/laws.2.5.0#laws.2.5.0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2025/1/9/laws.2.4.0#laws.2.4.0
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Temporary immediate suspension 

This change allows DHS to issue a temporary immediate suspension if the license holder or controlling individual 
is the subject of a pending administrative, civil, or criminal investigation or subject to an administrative or civil 
action related to fraud against a program administered by a state or federal agency. 
  
Laws of Minnesota 2025, 1st Spec. Sess., chapter 3, article 17, section 6 
  
Effective date: July 1, 2025 
 
Anti-kickback  

The session law updates anti-kickback statutes to state that offering, giving, soliciting, or receiving anything of 
value to influence referrals or services could result in administrative sanctions, such as withholding payments or 
recovering overpayments. The session law also adds kickbacks to the Minnesota criminal code.  

Laws of Minnesota 2025, chapter 38, article 5, sections 27, 28, and 32   

Effective date: August 1, 2025  

Community residential setting clarifications  

These sections provide clarifying language regarding community residential settings and remove obsolete 
language.  

Laws of Minnesota 2025, chapter 38, article 5, sections 12 and 34   

Effective date: August 1, 2025 

Background studies  

Updates on legislative changes related to background studies are posted on the "What's new" for background 
studies webpage. 

 

 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2025/1/3/laws.17.6.0#laws.17.6.0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2025/0/38/laws.5.27.0#laws.5.27.0
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/laws/2025/0/38/laws.5.12.0#laws.5.12.0
https://mn.gov/dhs/general-public/background-studies/what-is-new/
https://mn.gov/dhs/general-public/background-studies/what-is-new/
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