
 
State  of  Minnesota §1915-i-A  HCBS  Supplement  7  to  Attachment  4.19-B  

TN:  25-0026  Page  1  

Effective  January  1,  2026  Approved:    Supersedes:  25-0003  

 

 

  

             

   

    

 

   

 

     

 

   

          

  

 

     

     

  

        

           

 

 

  

              

           

             

 

     

             

         

 

       Methods and Standards for Establishing Payment Rates 

1. Services Provided Under Section 1915(i) of the Social Security Act. For each 

optional service, describe the methods and standards used to set the associated payment rate. 

(Check each that applies, and describe methods and standards to set rates): 

HCBS Case Management 

HCBS Homemaker 

HCBS Home Health Aide 

 HCBS Personal Care 

HCBS Personal Care Assistance payment under the agency-provider model with service 

unit allocation is the lower of the submitted charge, or the state agency established rate, 

up to the number of units authorized in the participant’s approved service allocation: 

Personal Care 1:1 unit $6.216.22 

Personal Care 1:2 unit $4.674.68 

Personal Care 1:3 unit $4.094.10 

NOTE: One unit is equal to 15 minutes. 

Participants receiving services under the agency-provider model who then transfer to the 

budget model, will have any remaining service units converted to a service budget as 

described above. 

Shared care: 

For two participants sharing services, payment is one and one-half times the payment for 

serving one participant. For three participants sharing services, payment must not exceed 

two times the payment for serving one participant. This paragraph applies only to 

situations in which all participants were present and received shared services on the date 

for which the service is billed. 

The rate methodology consisted of: 

• A base wage index was established using Minnesota-specific wages taken from job 

descriptions and standard occupational classification codes from the BLS Occupational 

Handbook. 
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• A competitive workforce factor multiplier was applied to the direct staffing wage to 

address the difference in average wages for direct care staff and other occupations with 

similar education, training, and experience requirements, as identified by the BLS 

Occupational Handbook. 

• The average wages were adjusted to differentiate between shared and individual 

staffing. 

• Shared staffing was taken into account, when staff are available to provide services to 

more than 1 person and individual staffing, when direct care staff are available to solely 

provide support as a 1-to-1 interaction with a specific individual. 

• These wage expenses were multiplied by factors for relief staffing, ancillary staff needs, 

employee-related taxes and benefits, and client programming. 

Budget Model: 

Under the budget model, an amount equal to the participant’s authorized service units 

multiplied by the amount listed above for a 1:1 unit is authorized for use by the 

participant. 

Shared care: For 1:2 and 1:3 shared care under the budget model, services are billed 

according to the shared care rates outlined above. 

Rate and Budget Enhancements 

The CFSS budget is enhanced by 12.5% and Aan enhanced rate of 107.5112.5 percent of 

the rate paid for CFSS must be paid for services provided to persons who qualify for ten 

or more hours of CFSS per day when provided by a support worker who meets the 

training requirements. 

A rate enhancement is also paid based on the experience of support workers according to 

the following formula (and applies to the 1:1, 1:2, and 1:3 rates). Workers must provide 

more than 1000 cumulative hours of PCA or CFSS services under sections 1905(a) for 

PCA, 1915(c) for extended PCA and extended CFSS, and under sections 1915(i) and 

1915(k) for CFSS. The calculation is based on the cumulative hours worked beginning 

on July 1, 2017. When the 107.5112.5% rate enhancement and the enhancement for 

worker experience applies to the same worker, the 107.5112.5% amount is the base for 

calculating this additional enhancement. 

The enhancement is as follows: 

(1) for workers who have provided between 1,001 and 2,000 cumulative hours, the 

amount is 2.174.05 percent; 
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(2) for workers who have provided between 2,001 and 6,000 cumulative hours, the 

amount is 4.366.24 percent; 

(3) for workers who have provided between 6,001 and 10,000 cumulative hours, the 

amount is 7.359.23 percent; and 

(4) for workers who have provided more than 10,000 cumulative hours, the amount is 

10.8112.69 percent. 

People who use the CFSS budget model and employ workers who have individually 

provided more than 1,000 hours of service receive a quarterly increase to the personal 

assistance component of their budget. The increase is calculated as follows: 

• the difference between the tiered rate and the appropriate base rate; 

• multiplied by the number of units provided by the worker in the previous calendar 

quarter; and 

• increased by one-third. 

HCBS Adult Day Health 

HCBS Habilitation 

HCBS Respite Care 

For Individuals with Chronic Mental Illness, the following services: 

HCBS Day Treatment or Other Partial Hospitalization Services 

HCBS Psychosocial Rehabilitation 

HCBS Clinic Services (whether or not furnished in a facility for CMI) 
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X Other Services (specify below) 

Personal Emergency Response Systems (PERS): Personal emergency response systems 

include three parts. Each part has its own limit per service agreement year: 

• Purchase of the PERS equipment, including necessary training or instruction on 

use of the equipment ($1,500 maximum) 

• Installation, setup and testing of the PERS equipment ($500 maximum) 

• Monthly monitoring fees ($110 monthly maximum). 

The CFSS participant receives up to $3,000 total of personal emergency response 

equipment and related services per service agreement year. 

Individual Directed Goods and Services: When a participant chooses to purchase 

goods and services through CFSS, the cost for the goods and services is covered using 

the particpant’s service budget. 

Limitations: 

Goods and Services must not exceed an individual’s budget allocation. 

Financial Management Services: Financial Management Services (FMS) providers 

must provide their service rates to the state agency as a part of the contracting process. 

They are required to notify the state agency immediately of any changes to their 

established rates. FMS providers must make public the maximum rate(s) for their services 

and a public site with approved providers and rates is maintained by DHS at 

https://mn.gov/dhs/people-we-serve/people-with-disabilities/services/home-

community/programs-and-services/fms.jsp. The rate and scope of FMS is negotiated 

between the participant or the participant’s representative and the FMS provider, and 

included in the service delivery plan. FMS provider fees must be on a fee-for-service 

basis and not a percentage of the participants’ service budget, and may not include set up 
fees, base rates or other similar charges. 


