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Licensed Child Care Centers: Implementation plan for 2025
legislative changes

New laws passed by the 2025 Legislature include several provisions that impact licensed child care centers. This
document outlines an overview of each change, instructions for what centers need to do about the change, the
date the change is effective, and guidance on how licensors will monitor these changes.

The hyperlinks within this document direct centers to where the new law can be found. When reviewing the
new law:

e Text that is stricken with a line through it reflects words that are being removed from the law.
e Text that is underlined reflects words that are being added to the law.
e Text that is unchanged reflects what the law was before and continues to be the law.

Later this year, the Minnesota Office of the Revisor of Statutes will update the statute sections on their website
to reflect the new laws.

Staff distribution

Overview

In 2023, the legislature passed language to allow additional staff distribution flexibility during morning arrival
and afternoon departure times. This language was set to expire on July 1, 2025; however, the 2025 legislature
has added the language to statute (Minnesota Statutes, section 142B.41, subd. 14), without an expiration date.
An aide may substitute for a teacher during the morning arrival or afternoon departure time if the total arrival
and departure time does not exceed 25 percent of the center's daily hours of operation. The aide must be at
least 18 years old, have worked in the center for at least 30 days, and have completed all of their orientation
training and all training that is required under section 142B.65 within the first 90 days of employment.

See MN Laws, Chapter 3, Article 14, Section 8.

Effective date: July 1, 2025
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What providers need to do

Centers may have an aide substitute for a teacher during morning arrival or afternoon departure time. A
program must designate on the staffing pattern how they are applying the 25% flexibility. Centers must ensure
the aide is at least 18 years old, has worked in the center for at least 30 days, and has completed all training
required at orientation and within the first 90 days of employment.

How licensors will monitor for compliance

Licensors will check to make sure staff distribution requirements are met and that any aide used as a substitute
for a teacher during morning arrival or afternoon departure meets the requirements in the new language.

Maltreatment order postings

Overview

If a center receives an order of conditional license, license suspension, temporary immediate suspension, fine, or
revocation that is accompanied by a maltreatment investigation memorandum, both the order and the
maltreatment investigation memorandum must be posted in a conspicuous place in the facility for four years.
The previous posting requirement was two years.

See MN Laws, Chapter 3, Article 14, Sections 4 and 6.

Effective date: July 1, 2025 (Applies to orders issued on or after July 1, 2025)

What providers need to do

For orders issued on or after July 1, 2025, centers must post an order of conditional license, license suspension,
temporary immediate suspension, fine, or revocation and the related maltreatment investigation memorandum
in a place in the facility that is visible to people receiving services and all visitors for four years from the date the
order and the maltreatment investigation memorandum was issued. If a center receives one of these orders
without a maltreatment investigation memorandum, the timeframe for posting the order remains two years.

How licensors will monitor for compliance

During a monitoring visit, licensors will look to see that the order of conditional license, license suspension,
temporary immediate suspension, fine, or revocation and the maltreatment investigation memorandum, if
applicable, are posted and clearly visible.
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In-service training

Overview

In order to meet federal Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) requirements, language was added to the in-
service training statute (Minnesota Statutes, section 142B.65, subd. 9) specifying that substitutes and
unsupervised volunteers must complete a minimum of two hours of in-service training each calendar year.
There is no change to the training topics or frequency.

See MN Laws, Chapter 3, Article 14, Section 11.

Effective date: July 1, 2025

What providers need to do

Beginning July 1, 2025, centers will need to include the length of training when documenting yearly in-service
training for substitutes and unsupervised volunteers to ensure the two-hour minimum has been met.

How licensors will monitor for compliance

Licensors will review documentation of in-service training to ensure that substitutes and unsupervised
volunteers have completed a minimum of two hours of training each calendar year.

Definition of education

Overview

The definition of “education” as it relates to child care center staff qualifications is expanded to include
additional coursework in topics such as science, mathematics, communication studies, computer science, and
ethics, among others. The previous definition of education in Minnesota Rules, part 9503.0030, subpart 1, item
B is repealed (no longer in effect) and replaced by the new expanded definition in section 142B.01, subd. 12a.

The resource document available to centers identifying accredited coursework that is currently accepted for
qualification purposes is being updated to reflect this expanded definition of education.

See MIN Laws, Chapter 3, Article 14, Sections 1 and 22.

Effective date: August 1, 2025

What providers need to do

Beginning August 1, 2025, when reviewing the qualifications of an applicant, centers may consider accredited
coursework completed in any of the subject areas in section 142B.01, subd. 12a to meet the education
requirements for teacher or assistant teacher positions.
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How licensors will monitor for compliance

Licensors will continue to review qualification documentation of center staff as part of yearly licensing reviews
and staff qualification variance requests, using this expanded definition of education, to ensure staff meet the
qualifications for their position.

Correction orders on Licensing Information Lookup (LIL)

Overview

Pending federal approval, correction order violation information cannot be posted until: the 20-day
reconsideration request timeline has passed; or, if reconsideration has been requested, until the commissioner’s
final disposition has been provided.

See MN Laws, Chapter 3, Article 14, Section 3.

Effective date: January 1, 2026, or upon federal approval, whichever is later.

What providers need to do

There is no change to what providers need to do.

How licensors will monitor for compliance

There is no change to how licensors will monitor for compliance.

Child passenger restraint systems training

Overview

Child passenger restraint systems training under section 142B.65, subd. 8 was changed to require the training
before transporting a child or children under age nine in a motor vehicle. The previous requirement was under
age eight. This change aligns with 2024 Minnesota transportation law changes in section 169.685 to require
children up to age nine to use a child passenger restraint.

See MN Laws, Chapter 3, Article 14, Section 10.

Effective date: January 1, 2026

What providers need to do

Centers must ensure that anyone who is placing a child or children under age nine in a child passenger restraint
has completed child passenger restraint systems training.
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As a reminder, the Department of Public Safety (DPS) fully transitioned from CARS training to B.E.S.T. (Basic
Education for Safe Travel) as of January 1, 2025. DPS updated its BuckleUpMN.org website to include
information for caregivers, including licensed child care providers. On the website is a flyer about B.E.S.T. and

information about how to complete the two-step training. There is also a tool for locating B.E.S.T. facilitators.
Questions about the training can be submitted to DPS on the Contact Us page.

How licensors will monitor for compliance

As is current practice, licensors will review child passenger restraint training for all individuals that place a child
in a passenger restraint (such as a car seat or booster seat). Beginning January 1, 2026, licensors will review that
the training was completed by everyone who places a child under age nine into a motor vehicle.

Standardized licensing visits

Overview

By July 1, 2026, DCYF is directed to establish standards for licensing visits including: the steps of a licensing visit;
expectations for licensors and license holders before, during, and after the licensing visit; standards of conduct;
rights of license holders; when and how license holders can request technical assistance; and a process for
license holders to request additional review of an issue related to the licensing visit from someone other than
the assigned licensor.

See MN Laws, Chapter 3, Article 14, Section 20.

Effective date: July 1, 2026

What providers need to do

After DCYF issues the licensing visit standards, providers will be expected to conduct their work in line with the
standards.

How licensors will monitor for compliance

Licensors will conduct their work in line with the established licensing visit standards.

Interpretive guidance

Overview

Beginning July 1, 2026, license holders may request interpretive guidance from the department on a rule or
statute prior to requesting reconsideration of a correction order.

See MN Laws, Chapter 3, Article 14, Section 3.

Effective date: July 1, 2026
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What providers need to do

After July 1, 2026, a center may request interpretive guidance from the department on a rule or statute prior to
requesting reconsideration of a correction order. Additional information about this process will be shared with
providers prior to the effective date.

How licensors will monitor for compliance

There is no change to how licensors will monitor for compliance.

Video security cameras

Overview

Beginning July 1, 2026, any program that has received an order of conditional license, license suspension,
temporary immediate suspension, fine, or revocation that is accompanied by a maltreatment investigation
memorandum, must have at least one video security camera in each room designated for infants or toddlers.
The center is required to comply within six months of the date of the issuance of the maltreatment investigation
memorandum. The center must comply with the video security camera requirements for the four years that the
maltreatment investigation memorandum is required to be posted.

See MN Laws, Chapter 3, Article 13, Section 3.

Effective date: July 1, 2026

What providers need to do

If a center has received an order of conditional license, license suspension, temporary immediate suspension,
fine, or revocation that is accompanied by a maltreatment investigation memorandum, the program must
ensure that there is a video security camera in each classroom designated for infants and toddlers. The camera
must meet the specifications outlined in section 142B.68, subd. 3. The video security camera recordings must be
retained for the timelines outlined in section 142B.68, subd. 4. The center must develop a written policy on the
use of video security cameras that outlines the specific items listed in section 142B.68, subd. 8. All parents and
legal guardians must be notified at the time of a child’s enrollment about the video security camera policy, and a
sign must be posted at each facility entrance to make visitors aware that security cameras are present and
recording.

How licensors will monitor for compliance

If a program is required to have video cameras, the licensor will check to see that there is a camera in each
classroom designated for infants and toddlers, and that the camera meets the specifications outlined in section
142B.68, subd. 3. Licensors will also review the center’s written video security policy and will check to ensure
there is a video security camera notification sign at each facility entrance. Licensors will also check to ensure
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that the program is retaining recordings according to the requirements in section 142B.68, subd. 4, and has
appropriate security safeguards in place for the recordings.

Additional information

Licensing Information Lookup (LIL)

The 2025 legislature provided funding to support IT changes to LIL to come into compliance with the updated
federal Child Care and Development Fund (CCDF) rule. The April 2024 rule change now requires all items that are
reviewed at a visit to be displayed. This means LIL must display areas of compliance and noncompliance for each
visit. Changes were also made to the documented technical assistance language in section 142B.171, subd. 2,
removing the language that documented technical assistance will not be publicly posted. In order to comply

with the updated CCDF rule to display all areas of compliance and noncompliance, items of documented
technical assistance will now need to be posted on LIL. There will be opportunities for child care providers and
the public in the coming months to provide input on how this information should be displayed.

Background studies

Updates on legislative changes related to background studies are posted on the "What's new" for background

studies webpage.
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