
December 31, 2024 – January 13, 2025 

Systems announcements 

We will update this section with information about MN–ITS availability, technical information and other systems 
announcements when necessary. 

MHCP wants your feedback 

MHCP wants feedback from enrolled providers and invites you to take the MHCP Provider Survey. We want to hear from 
you about what works well, what needs improvement, and what else we should be considering when we work with you to 
accomplish our shared goals. (pub. 8/8/24) 

Monthly office hours for MA billing for mental health services provided in 

schools start Monday, Jan. 13 

The Minnesota Department of Education (MDE) and Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) are offering office 
hours to support schools in understanding, implementing and seeking Medical Assistance (MA) reimbursement for eligible 
mental health services provided in schools as part of an Individualized Education Program (IEP) or Individualized Family 
Service Plan (IFSP).  

The first of these drop-in style meetings will be 3 to 4 p.m. on Jan. 13, 2025. DHS Behavioral Health Administration staff 
will be available to provide guidance and partnership for school staff in navigating new and existing behavioral health 
opportunities as needed. No registration required to attend. 

• Join the Jan. 13 Mental Health in Schools Drop-in Office Hours

The office hours will be held as a virtual open forum from 3 to 4 p.m. on the second Monday of each month via Webex 
and are intended for any school staff throughout Minnesota.  

More information and training resources are available on the School Mental Health Services webpage. Visit the webpage 
for additional resources as they become available or email schoolmentalhealth.mde@state.mn.us with questions. (pub. 
1/10/25) 

Legislative update: Critical access mental health rate add-on elimination 

schedule 

Minnesota Health Care Programs is eliminating the critical access mental health rate add-on according to the following 
schedule passed by the legislature: 

• For services provided on or after Jan. 1, 2025, the rate add-on is reduced to 11.85 percent.

• For services provided on or after Jan. 1, 2026, the rate add-on is reduced to 5.92 percent.

• For services provided on or after Jan. 1, 2027, the rate add-on is zero percent.

Refer to Minnesota Statutes, 256B.763, subdivision 2, to review the legislation. Refer to the Service rates information 
webpage for more information about the critical access mental health rate. (pub. 1/10/25) 

https://mndhs.qualtrics.com/jfe/form/SV_8doagxT3xzBS1GC
https://minnesota.webex.com/minnesota/j.php?MTID=m039d50ebdea93ae0ab73277848e31e62
https://mn.gov/dhs/schoolmentalhealthservices/
mailto:schoolmentalhealth.mde@state.mn.us
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/256b.763
https://mn.gov/dhs/partners-and-providers/policies-procedures/adult-mental-health/service-rates-information/#1


Revised: Weekly Questions and Answers Sessions for CFSS providers  

We revised this message to correct the Q & A meeting link.  
 
The Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) is now offering weekly questions and answers sessions with live 
instructors for Community First Services and Supports (CFSS) providers. The focus of the sessions will be about CFSS 
enrollment and the transition to CFSS.  
 
Instructors will answer provider questions in a group setting in the order they are received. Instructors will not answer 
questions that include provider identifying information. Instructors will give live demonstrations of enrollment processes 
when appropriate. 
 
CFSS provider questions and answers session will be held weekly on Thursdays from 11 a.m. to noon using Microsoft 
Teams. The first session was on Jan. 9, 2025. Click the Q & A meeting link to join the online meeting. There is no fee or 
registration required for these sessions and the link to join will be the same every week.  
 
You can also access the link to these sessions on our MHCP Provider Training and CFSS Provider Agency Enrollment 
Criteria & Forms webpages. (pub. 1/7/25, rev. 1/10/25) 

Register for MPSE training for PCA revalidation and transition to CFSS 

There are two training sessions available for personal care assistance (PCA) providers in the Minnesota Provider 
Screening and Enrollment (MPSE) portal scheduled in January 2025. These trainings explain the requirements and give a 
live demonstration in MPSE for PCA providers who have received their revalidation notice from Minnesota Health Care 
programs (MHCP) and will add Community First Services and Supports (CFSS) to their enrollment record.  

• Friday, Jan. 17, 2025, from 9 a.m. to noon – Register for Jan. 17 Revalidation and Transition Training 

• Thursday, Jan. 30, 2025, from 9 a.m. to noon – Register for Jan. 30 Revalidation  and Transition Training 
 
You can register for future trainings in 2025 on this topic on the MPSE portal training website.  
Contact the MHCP Provider Resource Center at 651-431-2700 or 800-366-5411 with any questions. (pub. 1/2/25) 

Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) resumes recuperative care provider 

enrollment effective Jan. 1, 2025 

MHCP will resume recuperative care provider enrollment effective Jan. 1, 2025. Previously submitted provider enrollment 
materials will be reviewed in the order they were received. Providers do not need to contact MHCP about enrollment 
status. We will contact providers through U.S. Postal Service (or your MN−ITS mailbox, if you have an account) if we need 
more information for your enrollment.  
 
Important, providers can start offering recuperative care services and bill for services only after their enrollment has been 
approved. Additionally, each setting needs to be enrolled as a recuperative care facility.  
 
Refer to the Recuperative Care Enrollment Criteria and Forms section under Provider Basics in the MHCP Provider 
Manual for complete enrollment information. Refer to Recuperative Care in MHCP Provider Manual for complete policy 
information.  
 
Call the MHCP Resource Center at 651-431-2700 or 800-366-5411 with questions about this message (pub. 12/31/24) 
 

Some home care and PCA providers must wait for new waiver service agreement 

letters to bill for 2025 

The Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) completed the Jan. 1, 2025 rate changes and automation process 

in MMIS. Lead agency staff can resume adding or making changes to Alternative Care, Brain Injury, Community 

https://teams.microsoft.com/dl/launcher/launcher.html?url=%2F_%23%2Fl%2Fmeetup-join%2F19%3Ameeting_NmU2ZWNmNTItYjBlOS00ZDAxLThmOTgtNmIxMGFlZGVhYTRi%40thread.v2%2F0%3Fcontext%3D%257b%2522Tid%2522%253a%2522eb14b046-24c4-4519-8f26-b89c2159828c%2522%252c%2522Oid%2522%253a%25220c562a8c-a39b-4569-99a0-da54b922105b%2522%257d%26anon%3Dtrue&type=meetup-join&deeplinkId=e15684ec-8e22-422b-b40e-986652fc7971&directDl=true&msLaunch=true&enableMobilePage=true&suppressPrompt=true
https://mn.gov/dhs/partners-and-providers/training-conferences/minnesota-health-care-programs/provider-training/
https://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=ENROLL-CFSS
https://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=ENROLL-CFSS
https://minnesota.webex.com/weblink/register/r76863a5560c5253581c1a3552d4df6a7
https://minnesota.webex.com/weblink/register/r55f155a643957cbd49d84d540241fc45
https://mn.gov/dhs/partners-and-providers/training-conferences/minnesota-health-care-programs/provider-training/mpse-portal-training.jsp
https://mn.gov/dhs/partners-and-providers/contact-us/minnesota-health-care-programs/providers/
https://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=ENROLL-RE
https://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=mndhs-064912
https://mn.gov/dhs/partners-and-providers/news-initiatives-reports-workgroups/long-term-services-and-supports/ltss-rates/mmis-automation/
https://mn.gov/dhs/partners-and-providers/news-initiatives-reports-workgroups/long-term-services-and-supports/ltss-rates/mmis-automation/


Alternative Care, Community Access for Disability Inclusion, Developmental Disabilities, Elderly Waiver, Essential 

Community Supports, Community First Services and Supports and Consumer Support Grant service agreements. 

However, due to technical difficulties, the MMIS automation process did not split certain state plan home care and 

personal care assistance service line items. DHS ran a second MMIS automation process Dec. 31, 2024, at 1 a.m. to split 

service agreement lines for the following services: 

• T1002: Home Care Nursing, RN 

• T1003: Home Care Nursing, LPN 

• T1019: Personal Care Assistance 

• T1021: Home Health Aide 

• T1030: Skilled Nurse Visit, RN 

• T1031: Skilled Nurse Visit, LPN 

As a result, counties and tribes must now approve lines with rate changes on new waiver service agreements and send 

those out to affected providers. 

The providers impacted by the cost-of-living adjustment (COLA) for the bulleted list of services in this message should 

not bill past Dec. 31, 2024. These providers must wait to bill until they receive a new waiver service agreement letter 

from the lead agency with the new rate to avoid claim takebacks. (pub. 12/31/24) 

Home birth services now available for members with Medical Assistance (MA) or 

MinnesotaCare fee-for-service coverage  

Effective Jan. 1, 2025, the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) covers low-risk pregnancy and low-risk 
delivery services provided at home for members with MA or MinnesotaCare fee-for-service coverage.  
 
Members with MA or MinnesotaCare fee-for-service coverage are eligible to receive home pregnancy and delivery 
services if they are determined low-risk for pregnancy and delivery complications. Low risk means a routine, 
uncomplicated prenatal course as determined by documentation of adequate prenatal care and the anticipation of a 
routine, uncomplicated labor and birth, as defined by reasonable and generally accepted criteria adopted by professional 
groups for maternal, fetal, and neonatal health care.  
 
We are covering home birth services after conducting a thorough and thoughtful assessment after hearing from members 
and providers that members would benefit from another birthing option to allow for more autonomy over their birthing 
process. DHS covering home birth services aligns with over 50 percent of other state Medicaid agencies in the country, as 
well as our commitment to equity. 
 
MHCP home birth policy criteria reflects the following: 
 

• Best practice standards for midwifery 

• State law for scope of practice for midwifery 

• Definitions and best practices for assessing when pregnant people are considered low-risk for adverse health 
outcomes 

• Other state Medicaid agencies policies 
 
Note, the home birth policy allows for providers who meet the policy criteria to be eligible providers when enrolled with 
MHCP. However, providers are not required to provide home birth services if they are already enrolled; only if they are 
qualified and interested in providing home birth services.  
 
Refer to Home Birth in the MHCP Provider Manual for complete policy and billing information. 
 
Call the MHCP Provider Resource Center at 651-431-2700 or 800-366-5411 with questions about this message. (pub. 
12/31/24) 
 

https://www.dhs.state.mn.us/main/idcplg?IdcService=GET_DYNAMIC_CONVERSION&RevisionSelectionMethod=LatestReleased&dDocName=MNDHS-068858


Substance use disorder ASAM level of care 2.5 - partial hospitalization provider 

requirements  

Enrolled Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) providers offering substance use disorder outpatient services can 
apply to offer ASAM level of care 2.5 - partial hospitalization starting Jan. 1, 2025. The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid 
Services approved the ASAM level of care 2.5 - partial hospitalization for MHCP.  
 
Complete the following steps to comply with Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) requirements to provide 
ASAM level of care 2.5: 

1. Complete Outpatient Behavioral Health Fund (BHF) Service Request (DHS-6382) (PDF) to indicate your agency 

is providing ASAM level of care 2.5. 

2. Resubmit an updated Behavioral Health Fund (BHF) Provider Assurance Statement (DHS-3491) (PDF), which 

serves as an addendum to the provider’s fee-for-service agreement. We updated Behavioral Health Fund (BHF) 

Provider Assurance Statement (DHS-3491) to reflect compliance with the following: 

• Minnesota Statutes, 254B.19, regarding ASAM standards of care 

• Participation in utilization management reviews as outlined in Minnesota Statutes, 256B.04, subdivision 15, 

and Minnesota Statues, 254A.03, subdivision 3(b) 

ASAM level of care 2.5 provides intensive, multidisciplinary care of 20 or more hours of skilled treatment services for 
individuals with substance use and co-occurring disorders. ASAM level of care 2.5 emphasizes evidence-based practices 
such as comprehensive assessments, individualized treatment plans, integrated care, and participation in utilization 
management reviews. Refer to the ASAM Criteria, 3rd Edition for level of care placement criteria for ASAM level of care 
2.5.  
 
The Behavioral Health Administration (BHA) at DHS may contact providers after enrollment to ensure that ASAM level of 
care 2.5 criteria are appropriately reflected in your provider policies and procedures. 
 
BHA will communicate plans to provide technical assistance and training to support implementation over the coming 
months. Email sud.direct.access.dhs@state.mn.us with questions about this message. (pub. 12/31/24)  

Tiered wage rates PCA/CFSS list now corrected 

The Minnesota Department of Human Services has corrected the Personal Care Assistance/Community First Services 
and Supports (PCA/CFSS) tiered wage rates list. Refer to the Provider Lists section in the MN–ITS User Manual for 
instructions on how to access the list. (pub. 12/27/24) 
 

DHS is correcting Tiered Wage PCA/CFSS list 

On Friday, Dec. 20, 2024, the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) posted a new list in the MN–ITS User 
Manual Provider Lists section for Personal Care Assistance/Community First Services and Supports (PCA/CFSS) tiered 
wage rates. After this list was posted, it was brought to our attention that not all workers who should be on this list, are on 
this list. DHS is working to correct this data error. (pub. 12/24/24) 

Managed care organizations (MCOs) will cover MinnesotaCare members' room 

and board services from Substance Use Disorder (SUD) and mental health 

providers beginning Jan. 1, 2025 

MCOs will cover SUD and mental health room and board services for MinnesotaCare members effective Jan. 1, 2025. 
Submit room and board claims for MinnesotaCare members to the appropriate health plan. Room and board claims 
submitted to Minnesota Health Care Programs for MinnesotaCare members will be denied. (pub. 12/24/24) 

https://edocs.dhs.state.mn.us/lfserver/Public/DHS-6382-ENG
https://edocs.dhs.state.mn.us/lfserver/Public/DHS-3491-ENG
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2025 schedule for CFSS Steps for Success workshop 

Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) has opened registration for the 2025 dates for the Community First Services 
and Supports (CFSS) Steps for Success workshops. The three-day workshop sessions will be held: 
 

• March 19-21, 2025 

• June 25-27, 2025 

• September 17-19, 2025 

• December 17-19, 2025 
 
After a workshop session fills, MHCP will remove it as a selection from the online registration system. We will close 
unfilled workshop sessions at 8 a.m. seven business days before the workshop begins. The workshop will continue to be 
online-only and sessions will begin promptly at 8:30 a.m. and end at 4:30 p.m.   
 
If you have any questions, call the MHCP Provider Resource Center at 651-431-2700 or 800-366-5411. (pub. 12/23/24) 

Tiered Wage PCA/CFSS list now posted in MN–ITS 

Financial management services (FMS), personal care assistance (PCA) and community first services and supports 
(CFSS) provider agencies can now view which tier direct support workers are in by logging into MN–ITS and downloading 

the Tiered Wage PCA/CFSS Excel list. Find instructions for how to access the list in the MN–ITS User Manual in 

the Provider Lists section.  
 
On Dec. 13, 2024, The Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) sent PCA and CFSS providers a memo with 
additional information about the tiered wage floors and tiered reimbursement rates. The memo was sent to PCA and 
CFSS providers’ MN–ITS PRVLTR folder. (pub. 12/20/24)  
 

Additional resources, webinar slides for Medical Assistance (MA) billing now 

available on the School Mental Health Services webpage 

The School Mental Health Services webpage has been updated to include more resources to help guide schools and staff 
as they prepare to bill MA for certain mental health services in a student’s Individualized Education Program (IEP) and 
Individual Family Service Plan (IFSP) delivered on or after Oct. 15, 2024.   
 
Slides from all three training webinars are now available along with the Mental Health Services in Special Education 
Summary and Recommendations (DHS-8644) (PDF) and Mental Health Services in Special Education Checklist (DHS-
8645) (PDF). Providers can use the Mental Health Services in Special Education Summary and Recommendations (DHS-
8644) to help determine medical necessity for mental health services within an IEP or IFSP. The Mental Health Services 
in Special Education Checklist (DHS-8645) includes all components to be considered while reviewing a student’s special 
education records for the Summary and Recommendations.   
 
The Minnesota Department of Education and Minnesota Department of Human Services are continuing to add guidance 
to the School Mental Health Services webpage. Visit the webpage for additional resources as they become available or 
email questions to schoolmentalhealth.mde@state.mn.us. (pub. 12/20/24) 

PCA and CFSS Tiered Wage Floors effective January 1, 2025 

Effective January 1, 2025, direct support workers in Personal Care Assistance (PCA) Choice and the budget model of 
Community First Services and Supports (CFSS) must be paid at least the tiered wage floor based on the experience of 
the direct support worker.   
  
A tiered reimbursement rate will be paid to PCA and CFSS provider agencies for PCA and CFSS services based on the 
experience of the direct support worker. The new reimbursement rates beyond the base rate will not increase until March 
2025. Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) will automatically reprocess claims submitted between January 1, 
2025, to March 2025, to pay PCA and CFSS providers the appropriate tiered reimbursement for those claims.  

https://mn.gov/dhs/partners-and-providers/training-conferences/minnesota-health-care-programs/provider-training/cfss-steps-for-success.jsp
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mailto:schoolmentalhealth.mde@state.mn.us


 
DHS has provided additional information about the tiered wage floors and tiered reimbursement rates in a memo in PCA 
and CFSS providers’ MN–ITS PRVLTR folder. (pub. 12/13/24) 

DHS requests feedback for using EVV for live-in caregivers 

The Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) would like your feedback about barriers and potential solutions to 
simplify electronic visit verification (EVV) compliance for live-in caregivers. There are still opportunities to provide 
feedback using one of the following options. 
 
Survey 
To complete the EVV online survey, refer to DHS EVV simplification for live-in caregivers survey. 
 
Email 
To provide feedback via email, submit comments to lee.upshur@state.mn.us no later than 4 p.m. on Friday, Dec. 13, 
2024. 
 
For more information, review the DHS requests feedback on EVV simplification for live-in caregivers Aging and Adult 
Services Division and Disability Services Division eList announcement. (pub. 12/12/24) 

Claims for procedure codes 99418 and 99417 billed with E&M codes denying due 

to system upgrades  

Currently, claims billed with prolonged service add-on codes 99418 and 99417 together with evaluation and management 
(E&M) codes are denying due to system upgrades. The Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) is currently 
working on these updates and we will notify providers once the system updates are complete. DHS will process affected 
claims retroactively.  
 
If you have any questions, call the Minnesota Health Care Programs Provider Resource Center at 651-431-2700 or 800-
366-5411. (pub. 12/12/24) 

Minnesota Health Care Programs application fee increase Jan. 1 

The Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) provider application fee will be $730 per practice location beginning Jan. 
1, 2025. You must pay the fee that applies to the calendar year we receive your application if you are required to pay a 
fee. We must receive your application fee before we can process your enrollment application.  
 
The new fee will apply to initial enrollment, reenrollment, and revalidation. Refer to Application Fees in the Provider 
Screening Requirements section of the MHCP Provider Manual for more information. (pub. 12/11/24) 

Licensing requirement for behavior analysts providing Early Intensive 

Developmental and Behavioral Intervention (EIDBI) services 

All behavior analysts providing EIDBI services must hold a valid Minnesota behavior analyst license effective Jan. 1, 
2025, and submit proof of licensure to Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP). The Minnesota Board of Psychology 
oversees licensing. Visit the Minnesota Board of Psychology’s Applying for Licensed Behavior Analyst webpage for 
license application information and requirements. 
 
New MHCP-enrolling behavior analyst EIDBI providers proof of licensure submission requirement 
Beginning Jan. 1, 2025, submit a copy of your behavior analyst license with your MHCP provider assurance statement 
and other applicable enrollment forms when you enroll. 
  
Current MHCP-enrolled behavior analyst EIDBI providers proof of licensure submission requirement 
Licensure verification is required to maintain eligibility as an EIDBI provider. Resubmit an individual provider assurance 
statement (for example, EIDBI Level I Provider Assurance Statement (DHS-7120D) (PDF)) and a copy of your license by 
April 30, 2025. Failure to provide proof of licensure may impact the ability for you and any agencies you are affiliated with, 

https://gcc02.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fforms.office.com%2FPages%2FResponsePage.aspx%3Fid%3DRrAU68QkGUWPJricIVmCjLRBNkoVJV5PmHMM9y4_OM5UNFI5U1g2MkdEMlNHTUxFMUxFV1owOUFHMCQlQCN0PWcu&data=05%7C02%7CMegan.Caulfield%40state.mn.us%7C204f0b9db4cf4cd1e0be08dd13ce3908%7Ceb14b04624c445198f26b89c2159828c%7C0%7C0%7C638688498620511947%7CUnknown%7CTWFpbGZsb3d8eyJFbXB0eU1hcGkiOnRydWUsIlYiOiIwLjAuMDAwMCIsIlAiOiJXaW4zMiIsIkFOIjoiTWFpbCIsIldUIjoyfQ%3D%3D%7C0%7C%7C%7C&sdata=4ogE4JTv4Lp33QbmFMyAJCuJZNGGyQKMHSVInM%2BvoNs%3D&reserved=0
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to provide EIDBI services under MHCP. This may include, but is not limited to, inability to bill for services or ending major 
programs. Submit your license as soon as possible to allow for processing time and to avoid interruption in your 
enrollment status. 
  
You may upload a copy of your license, along with the new copy of your EIDBI Level I Provider Assurance Statement 
(DHS-7120D) (PDF), using the Credentials page under the Certified BCBA or BCBA-D attestations in the Minnesota 
Provider Screening and Enrollment (MPSE) portal. MHCP Provider Eligibility and Compliance will manually convert your 
upload to the new license type after MPSE is programmed with the correct coding (April 2025). 
 
Call the MHCP Provider Resource Center at 651-431-2700 or 800-366-5411 if you have questions about this process or 
need help with documentation. (pub. 12/9/24) 

Upcoming 2025 changes to member health plan choices 

Blue Plus will be an available health plan option for the Prepaid Medical Assistance Program (PMAP) and MinnesotaCare 
in Ramsey and Scott Counties effective Jan. 1, 2025. 
 
HealthPartners will not be open to NEW enrollees effective Dec. 1, 2024, for PMAP, MinnesotaCare, and Special Needs 
BasicCare (SNBC) with the following exceptions: 

• Newborns whose parent was enrolled with HealthPartners at the time of birth,  

• Enrollees who were previously enrolled in HealthPartners that regained eligibility after a lapse in coverage  

• Family members added to a household with other household members already enrolled in HealthPartners  
 
Current HealthPartners SNBC enrollees will continue to receive their medical services from HealthPartners through March 
31, 2025, unless the enrollee chooses a new SNBC health plan or requests to return to Medical Assistance fee-for-
service. Members that remain on their SNBC plan will be moved to a new SNBC health plan effective April 1, 2025.   
 
South Country Health Alliance will no longer be available in Kanabec County for all managed care programs effective 
Jan. 1, 2025. 
 
Medica will be an available health plan option for the PMAP in Anoka, Carver, Dakota, Olmstead, Ramsey, Rice Scott, 
Stearns, and Washington county effective Jan. 1, 2025.  
  
UCare will not be open to NEW enrollees effective Jan. 1, 2025, for PMAP with the following exceptions: 

• UCare will continue accepting new enrollees in Hennepin County. 

• Newborns whose parent was enrolled with UCare at the time of birth  

• Enrollees who were previously enrolled in UCare that regained eligibility after a lapse in coverage  

• Family members added to a household with other household members already enrolled in UCare  
 
UnitedHealthCare (UHC) will not be available for all managed care programs effective Jan. 1,2025. UHC enrollees must 
select a new health plan or the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) will move enrollees to a new health plan 
effective Jan. 1, 2025. DHS can no longer contract with UHC for public programs. DHS notified UHC that contracts would 
end for all programs effective Dec. 31, 2024. Refer to Minnesota Statutes, 256B.035 prohibiting DHS from contracting with 
for-profit health maintenance organizations. 

Reminder to all providers: Always check MN–ITS before providing any service. 

For continuity of care questions, contact the specific Managed Care Organization. (pub. 12/9/24) 

Providers required to use EVV must complete onboarding process 

As of Sept. 1, 2024, the Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) is actively enforcing electronic visit verification 
(EVV) compliance for all providers including financial management service (FMS) providers and managed care 
organizations (MCOs).  
 
DHS remains committed to monitoring the usage and compliance of EVV systems. Compliance notices will be issued to 
providers as needed to address and resolve any compliance-related concerns. 
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On Nov. 13, 2024, DHS began sending memos to providers via their MN–ITS mailboxes alerting them to take immediate 
action to address EVV compliance issues. Providers receiving a compliance notice must complete the required action 
steps within 30 days of memo date.  
 
If you have not yet registered for MN–ITS mailbox, you must do so to access important information from DHS about EVV. 
Refer to the MHCP MN–ITS User Manual for instructions on how to register for MN–ITS and access your mailbox.  
 
Failure to complete the required actions outlined in the memo within 30 days of the memo date may result in 
stopped payments.  
 
If you believe you received the memo in error or have additional questions, contact the EVV Team using the DSD Contact 
Form. Include the following information on the DSD Contact Form: 

• All enrolled national provider identifiers (NPIs) or unique Minnesota provider identifiers (UMPIs) 

• A list of all the services each enrolled NPI or UMPI provides 
(pub. 12/5/24) 

Update to Substance Use Disorder individual (H2035) and group (H2035 HQ) 

denial errors for remittance advice remark code N362 

The following is an update to the provider news message titled Substance Use Disorder (SUD) services for individual 
(H2035) and group (H2035 HQ) claim denial errors with remittance advice remark code N362 which posted Sept. 10, 
2024. 
 
Minnesota Department of Human Services will reprocess and pay all incorrectly denied claims with RA code N362 
biweekly until the system is fixed.  
 
Claims that are more than the 6 hours a day or 30 hours a week without an authorization may be paid in this interim 
process. We will reprocess claims that require an authorization and take back overpayment when the system is fixed. 
(pub. 12/5/24) 

New update to Provider Lists to include individual CFSS workers 

The Minnesota Department of Human Services has updated the provider list to include individual workers enrolled with 
Minnesota Health Care Programs who have completed the individual “PCA and Community First Services and Supports 
(CFSS) workers” test.  
 
The individual worker must complete the “PCA/CFSS support workers” test to provide PCA and CFSS services. To verify 
that a worker has completed the PCA and CFSS worker test, review the steps under Personal Care Assistance (PCA) 
Providers A – Z in the Provider Lists section of the MN–ITS User Manual. (pub. 12/5/24) 

Robotic arm policy update 

Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) updated the Robotic Arms section of the MHCP Provider Manual.  
 
We added clarifying information under the Covered Services heading about activities of daily living and instrumental 
activities of daily living. Under the Authorization heading, we explained a face-to-face evaluation by a physical or 
occupational therapist must be documented and that providers must train members to use the equipment.  
 
Additionally, we updated to require a three-month trial period instead of a rental program. Providers may submit the 
authorization request for purchase four weeks into the three-month trial period. Members who were authorized under the 
prior rental program must complete the rental period. Members who are authorized after Nov. 25, 2024, will use the trial 
period. Under Billing, we explain the warranty period, rental reimbursement, and provider responsibility when adding a 
robotic arm to the member’s power wheelchair.  
 
Call the MHCP Provider Resource Center at 651-431-2700 or 800-366-5411 with questions about this message. (pub. 
12/3/24) 
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Personal care assistance (PCA) and Consumer Support Grant (CSG) service 

agreements for members transitioning to Community First Services and Supports 

(CFSS) extended 3 months 

People who currently receive PCA or CSG services will receive up to six months of services while they transition to CFSS 
effective Nov. 26, 2024. Minnesota Department of Human Services has changed the service extension from three to six 
months to avoid gaps in service for people as they transition to CFSS. 

 

A person with a six-month PCA or CSG service agreement can choose to begin CFSS services before the end of the six 
months if they have an approved CFSS service delivery plan. Refer to the Extension of three-month PCA/CSG service 
agreements AASD and DSD eList announcement for instructions and more information. (pub. 11/26/24) 

Assess, Conceptualize, and Diagnose Mental Health Disorders in Young Children 

Using the DC: 0-5 training scheduled 

Certified DC: 0-5 trainers Catherine Wright, PsyD, LP, LPCC, and Teya Dahle, LICSW, will present the two-day online 
training course “Assess, Conceptualize, and Diagnose Mental Health Disorders in Young Children using the DC: 0-5” from 
9 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. Jan. 7 and 8, 2025. 
 
This free training equips clinicians and mental health professionals with the skills to assess, diagnose and treat mental 
health and developmental disorders in children age five or younger using DC: 0-5 Diagnostic Classification of Mental 
Health and Development Disorders of Infancy and Early Childhood, published by Zero to Three. The training is intended 
for Comprehensive Multi-Disciplinary Evaluation providers and clinical trainees who have experience with diagnostic 
procedures using DSM-5 or ICD-10 with a strong background in child development and other interested professionals. 
 
Refer to the Two-day virtual training announcement webpage for participant instructions, learning objectives, registration, 
background, and other information. (pub. 11/26/24) 

SEIU contract compliance training updated for transition to Community First 

Services and Supports 

The Minnesota Department of Human Services (DHS) has updated the Service Employees International Union Healthcare 
Minnesota and Iowa (SEIU) contract compliance training for the transition from personal care assistance (PCA) and the 
Consumer Support Grant (CSG) to Community First Services and Supports (CFSS). DHS started the transition October 1, 
2024. 
 
Review the training to confirm you are meeting all requirements as your agency transitions to a CFSS agency. (pub. 
10/7/24) 

Nonemergency Medical Transportation (NEMT) services providers cannot bill 

Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) for Modes 3 and 4 

NEMT services providers cannot bill MHCP for Mode 3 – Unassisted transport (curb-to-curb) and Mode 4 – Assisted 
transport (door-to-door and door-through-door) services; and must contract with one of the following organizations for 
billing and reimbursement.  

• Medical Transportation Management – Minnesota Nonemergency Transportation (MTM-MNET) 

• SmartLink 

• Local county or tribal agency 
 
MTM-MNET, SmartLink or the local county or tribal agency bills MHCP for Modes 3 and 4 services and reimburses the 
NEMT services provider. Refer to Overview under Local County or Tribal Agency NEMT Services in the MHCP Provider 
Manual for contact information. (pub. 4/24/24) 
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Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) experiencing high call volume 

Due to new legislative updates and revalidations, the MHCP Provider Resource Center is experiencing high call volume. 
You may experience a longer wait time or you will have to call back at a different time.  
 
You may also refer to the following webpages: 

• MHCP billing resources webpage for billing resources  

• MHCP provider training webpage for free training sessions for specific provider types and services 
 
We will offer free question and answer sessions for the MPSE Portal beginning Feb. 7, 2024. Refer to the Minnesota 
Provider Screening and Enrollment (MPSE) portal training webpage for more information about the sessions. (pub. 
1/29/24) 
 

Training 

Minnesota Provider Screening and Enrollment (MPSE) portal Questions and 

Answers sessions 

The Minnesota Department of Human Services will be offering weekly questions and answers sessions for the MPSE 
Portal. Questions and answers sessions take place every Wednesday from 1 to 2 p.m. These sessions are free and no 
registration is required. 
 
MPSE questions and answers sessions will be held virtually using the Microsoft Teams platform, but attendees do not 
need to have Microsoft Teams installed. Participants can use the browser version. Find the link to join the questions and 
answers session on the MPSE portal training webpage. 
 
Who should attend? 

• Owners of MHCP-enrolled organizations. 

• Individual providers who maintain their own MHCP enrollment records. 

• Employees of MHCP-enrolled organizations who maintain provider enrollment records.  

• Employees of MHCP-enrolled organizations who process affiliations or do credentialing. 

• Employees of MHCP-enrolled organizations responsible for MHCP compliance.  

• Individuals or organizations interested in becoming an MHCP provider for the first time. 

• Anyone interested in learning more about the MPSE portal. 
(pub. 3/18/24) 

Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) on-demand video and online training 

updates 

MHCP offers training for providers who provide services for members enrolled in MHCP. We have updated on-demand 
and online training opportunities on the MHCP provider training webpage. 
 
On-demand videos 
On-demand videos are arranged by category, including Minnesota Provider Screening and Enrollment Portal (MPSE), 
MN–ITS and Billing. Each video can be viewed in 10 minutes or less and provides instructions on a concept or technique.  
 
Online training 
Online training is arranged by content for all providers or specific providers. Training is led by an instructor who will help 
attendees navigate the Minnesota Department of Human Services website and locate and use MHCP provider information 
and other related webpages or internet-based applications such as MN–ITS. All instructor-led training is online only. (pub. 
11/22/22) 
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Free online Resources and MN–ITS training available 

Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) offers free online training for MHCP-enrolled providers. Go to the MHCP 
provider training webpage to review the list of available training. We have scheduled 2025 training sessions for the 
following: 

• Dental Services 

• Early Intensive Developmental and Behavioral Intervention 

• Housing Stabilization Services 

• Housing Support Supplemental Services 

• Individualized Education Program Services 

• Mental Health 

• Nursing Facilities 

• Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities 

• Substance Use Disorder 

• Waiver and Alternative Care 
(pub. 12/31/24) 

Free online Provider Basics and MN–ITS training available 

Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) is offering free online Provider Basics Resources and MN–ITS training to all 
enrolled MHCP providers who bill fee-for-services claims. This training is being offered monthly beginning Mar. 10, 2021. 
 
You will learn how to navigate the MHCP provider webpages and the MHCP provider manual, and how to use MN–ITS 
administration, mailbox and eligibility requests (270/271) features. Go to the Provider Basics webpage to register for this 
training.    
 
Claim training is not provided in this training. Refer to the MHCP provider training webpage to register for provider-specific 
claim training. (pub. 2/11/21) 

On-demand training videos 

Minnesota Health Care Programs (MHCP) offers free on-demand training videos arranged by category on the MHCP 
provider training webpage. Each video can be viewed in about 10 minutes and provides instructions on a concept or 
technique. (pub. 7/16/24) 

Free online Minnesota Provider Screening and Enrollment (MPSE) training 

available 

Minnesota Health Care Programs provides free online training for our MPSE online portal. We have scheduled training 
sessions for 2025. Visit the MPSE portal training webpage to review the schedule, register for a training session, view 
brief online tutorials to help prepare you for class and more information. (pub. 12/17/24) 

Additional information 

• Provider news and updates archive 

• MHCP provider policies and procedures 

• Latest Manual Revisions 

• Grants and requests for proposals 
 
Call the MHCP Provider Resource Center at 651-431-2700 or 800-366-5411 if you have questions about this information. 
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