
DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES 
Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services 
7500 Security Boulevard, Mail Stop S2-26-12 
Baltimore, MD 21244-1850 CENIEXS FOR MEDICARE & MEOICAIO SERVICES 

CENTER FOR MEDICAID & CHIP SERVICES 

Financial Management Group 
OEC-15 2015 

Marie Zimmerman 
State Medicaid Director 
Minnesota Department of Human Services 540 Cedar Street 
P.O. Box 64983 
St. Paul, MN 55164-0983 

RE: Minnesota State Plan Amendment (SPA) 13-023 

Dear Ms. Zimmerman: 

We have reviewed the proposed amendment to Attachment 4.19-B and Attachment 4.19-D of 
your Medicaid State plan submitted under transmittal number (TN) 13-023. Effective for 
services on or after July 1, 2013 this amendment revises methodologies and standards for 
determining payment rates by increasing payments for family planning and dental services and 
intermediate care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities (ICF/DD) using a 
prospective rate setting methodology. 

We conducted our review of your submittal according to the statutory requirements at sections 
1902(a)(2), 1902(a)(13), 1902(a)(30), 1903(a), and 1923 of the Social Security Act. We hereby 
inform you that Medicaid State plan amendment 13-023 is approved effective July 1, 2013. We 
are enclosing the HCF A-179 and the amended plan pages. 

Ifyou have any questions, please call Tom Caughey at (517) 487-8598. 

Sincerely, 

Kristin Fan 
Director 

Enclosure 
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6.d.  Other practitioners’ services.   (continued)  

Payment The rates  for public health  nurse assessments  for personal care 
services  is the lower of the submitted charge or the rate from the chart 
below.  are as follows:  

Service 10/1/06 10/1/07 7/1/08 10/1/08 7/1/09 7/1/13 4/1/14 7/1/14 

Initial Public Health 
Nursing Assessment 
Visit for Personal 
Care Services (in­
person) 

$257.42 
/visit 

$262.57 
/visit 

$262.57 
/visit 

$267.82 
/visit 

$260.91 
/visit 

$258.29 
/visit 

$260.87 
/visit 

$273.91 
/visit 

Public Health 
Nursing 
Reassessment Visit 
for Personal Care 
Services submitted 
prior to the end date 
of current PCA 
service authorization 

$257.42 $262.57 $262.57 $267.82 $260.91 
/visit 

$258.29 
/visit 

$260.87 
/visit 

$273.91 
/visit 

Public Health 
Nursing Service 
Update submitted 
prior to the end date 
of current PCA 
service authorization 

$128.72 $131.29 $131.29 $133.92 $130.46 
/visit 

$129.14 
/visit 

$130.43 
/visit 

$136.95 
/visit 

Public Health 
Nursing 
Reassessment Visit 
for PCA Services 
submitted after the 
end date of current 
PCA service 
authorization. 

$196.93 $200.86 $195.68 

Public Health 
Nursing Service 
Update submitted 
after the end date of 
current PCA service 
authorization. 

$98.47 $100.44 $97.84 
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7.a. Intermittent or part-time nursing service provided by a home 
health agency or by a registered nurse when no home health agency
exists in the area. 

Payment is the lower of: 

1) submitted charge; or 

2) Medicare cost-per-visit limits based on Medicare cost reports
submitted by free-standing home health agencies in the 
Minneapolis and St. Paul area in the calendar year specified in
state legislation governing maximum payment rates. 

Effective July 1, 1994, this payment rate is increased by three
percent. 

Payment for skilled nurse visits is the lower of the submitted charge 
or the rate from the chart below. 

Service 
provided
on or 
after 

07/01/2009 09/01/2011 07/01/2013 04/01/2014 07/01/2014 

Skilled 
nurse 
visit 

$70.75 $69.69 $70.04 $70.74 $74.28 

Immunizations and other injectables are paid using the same 
methodology as Item 2.a., Outpatient hospital services. 

Home health agencies that administer pediatric vaccines in item 2.a.,
Outpatient hospital services, available through the Minnesota Vaccines
for Children Program pursuant to §1928 of the Act, are paid using the 
same methodology in item 2.a. for these vaccines. 
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7.b. Home health aide services provided by a home health agency. 

Payment is the lower of: 

1) submitted charge; or 

2) Medicare cost-per-visit limits based on Medicare cost reports
submitted by free-standing home health agencies in the 
Minneapolis and St. Paul area in the calendar year specified in
state legislation governing maximum payment rates. 

Effective July 1,1994, this payment rate is increased by three 
percent. 

Payment for home health aide visits is the lower of the submitted
charge or the rate from the chart below. 

Service 
provided
on or 
after 

07/01/2009 09/01/2011 07/01/2013 04/01/2014 07/01/2014 

Home 
Health 
Aide 
Visit 

$54.29 $ 53.48 $53.75 $54.29 $57.00 
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7.d. Physical therapy, occupational therapy or speech pathology and
audiology services provided by a home health or medical rehabilitation
agency. 

Physical therapist, occupational therapist, speech pathologist and
audiologist services provided by a home health agency are paid the
lower of: 

1) submitted charge; or
2) Medicare cost-per-visit limits based on Medicare cost reports

submitted by free-standing home health agencies in the 
Minneapolis and St. Paul area in calendar year 1982. 

Payment for therapy visits is the lower of the submitted charge or the
rate from the chart below. 

Service provided
on or after 

07/01/2009 09/01/2011 07/01/2013 04/01/2014 07/01/2014 

Physical Therapy
Visit (PT) 

$66.38 $ 65.38 $65.71 $66.37 $69.69 

Physical Therapy
Visit (Ass’t) 

$43.15 $ 42.50 $42.71 $43.14 $45.30 

Speech Therapy
Visit 

$67.39 $ 66.38 $66.71 $67.38 $70.75 

Occupational
Therapy Vist (OT) 

$67.74 $ 66.72 $67.05 $67.72 $71.11 

Occupational
Therapy Visit
(Ass’t) 

$44.03 $ 43.37 $43.59 $44.03 $46.22 

Respiratory
Therapy Visit 

$46.91 $ 46.21 $46.44 $46.90 $49.25 

Physical therapy assistant and occupational therapy assistant services
provided by a home health agency are paid using the same methodology
as items 11a., Physical therapy and 11b., Occupational therapy. 
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8. Private duty nursing services. 

Payment for private duty nursing services is the lower of the 
submitted charge; or the rate from the chart below. following: 

Service 
provided on or
after 

07/01/2009 09/01/2011 07/01/2013 04/01/2014 07/01/2014 

Private Duty
Nursing L.P.N.
Unit 

$6.30 $ 6.21 $6.24 $6.30 $6.62 

Private Duty
R.N. Unit 

$8.21 $ 8.09 $8.13 $8.21 $8.62 

Private Duty
L.P.N. 
(complex) 

$7.39 $ 7.28 $7.32 $7.39 $7.76 

Private Duty
R.N. (complex) 

$9.85 $ 9.70 $9.75 $9.85 $10.34 

NOTE: 1 unit = 15 minutes 
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10. Dental services (continued): 

X-ray services are paid according to the dental services methodology
listed above. Effective January 1, 2002, payment for x-ray services 
provided to recipients under age 21 are paid the lower of: 

1) the submitted charge; or

2) 85% of the median charges submitted in 1999.
 

Diagnostic examinations are paid according to the dental services
methodology listed above. Effective January 1, 2002, payment for
diagnostic examinations provided to recipients under age 21 are paid
the lower of: 

1) the submitted charge; or

2) 85% of the median charges submitted in 1999.
 

Effective for services provided on or after October 1, 1999, tooth 
sealants and fluoride treatments are paid at the lower of: 

1) submitted charge; or

2) 80% of the median charges submitted in 1997.
 

Effective January 1, 2000, the rate is increased by three percent. 

Medical and surgical services (as defined by the Department) furnished
by dentists are paid using the same methodology as item 5.a.,
Physicians’ services. 

Community health worker services educating patients to promote good
oral health and self-management of dental conditions when supervised 
by a dentist are paid using the same methodology that applies to
community health workers in item 5.a., Physicians’ services. 

The base rates as described in this item are adjusted by the following
clauses of Supplement 2 of this Attachment: 

X. Dental Services rate decrease 2011 (does not apply to state 
operated dental clinics) 

cc. Supplemental payment for medical education
dd. Dental Services rate increase 2014 
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26. Personal care services. 

Payment is the lower of the submitted charge, or the rate from the 

chart below. state agency established rate:
 

Service provided on or
after 

07/01/2009 09/01/2011 07/01/2013 04/01/2014 07/01/2014 

Personal Care 1:1 unit $3.96 $3.90 $3.92 $3.96 $4.16 

Personal Care 1:2 unit $2.97 $2.93 $2.94 $2.97 $3.12 

Personal Care 1:3 unit $2.61 $2.57 $2.58 $2.61 $2.74 

Supervision of
Personal Care unit 

$6.96 $6.86 $6.89 $6.96 $7.31 

[NOTE: 1 unit = 15 minutes]
Shared care: For two recipients sharing services, payment is one and 
one-half times the payment for serving one recipient.  For three 
recipients sharing services, payment must not exceed two times the
payment for serving one recipient. This paragraph applies only to
situations in which all recipients were present and received shared
services on the date for which the service is billed. 

PCA Choice option: Payment is the same as that paid for personal care
assistant services. 
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and specialized maintenance physical therapy, occupational therapy,
and speech, language and hearing therapy services, and respiratory 
therapy services (Item 13.d)

•	 services for individuals age 65 or older in institutions for mental
diseases (Item 14)

•	 inpatient psychiatric facility services for individuals under 22
years of age (Item 16)

•	 nurse midwife services (Item 17)
•	 pregnancy-related and postpartum services for 60 days after the

pregnancy ends (Item 20.a)
•	 services for any other medical condition that may complicate

pregnancy (Item 20.b) 
•	 certified pediatric or family nurse practitioner services (Item 23)
•	 licensed ambulance services, excluding volunteer ambulance services

(Item 24.a)
•	 emergency hospital services (Item 24.e) 

E. Modifiers 
22 modifier: unusual procedural services = additional reimbursement 
based on line description or claim attachment. This modifier 
specifies a ratio for twin delivery and VBAC delivery. All other 
services are priced according to the service rendered. (Item 5.a) 

99 modifier: multiple modifier = may be an increase or a decrease 
to the reference file allowable depending on the modifiers
represented within the 99. (Item 5.a) 

F. Family Planning
Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2007, family
planning services provided by family planning clinics, public health
clinics and community health clinics are paid 25% over the rate in
effect on June 30, 2007. (Item 5.a.) 

Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2011, family
planning services provided by family planning clinics, public health
clinics and community health clinics are paid 25% over the rate in
effect on January 1, 2011. (Item 5.a.) 

Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2013, family
planning services provided by family planning clinics, public health
clinics and community health clinics are paid 20% over the rate in
effect on June 30, 2013. (Item 5.a.) 

G. Community and Public Health Clinic
Effective July 1, 1989, rates for services provided by community and
public health clinics are increased by 20%, except for laboratory
services. 
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cc. Supplemental payment for medical education (cont’d) 
Qualifying Provider. “Qualifying provider” means a Medical Assistance
enrolled hospital, medical center, clinic, practitioner, or other
organization that provides accredited clinical training of: physicians
(medical students and residents), doctor of pharmacy practitioners, doctors
of chiropractic, dentists, advance practice nurses (clinical nurse
specialists, certified registered nurse anesthetists, nurse practitioners, 
and certified nurse midwives), and physician assistants, and effective July
1, 2015, dental therapists, advanced dental therapists, psychologists,
clinical social workers, community paramedics, and community health workers;
and that has successfully applied for this payment, in accordance with
Minnesota Statutes § 62J.692.  

dd. Dental Services rate increase 2014  
Effective for services provided  on or after January 1, 2014, payment rates 
for dental services shall be increased by five percent from the rates in
effect on December 31, 2013. This increase does not apply to state-operated 
dental clinics, federally qualified health centers, rural health centers, 
Indian Health Service, and tribal 638 facilities.  
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR DETERMINING PAYMENT RATES
 
FOR SERVICES PROVIDED BY INTERMEDIATE CARE FACILITIES FOR
 

PERSONS WITH MENTAL RETARDATION DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES
 
(ICFs/MRDD) THAT ARE NOT PAID ON A COST BASIS
 

TABLE OF CONTENTS 

Section 1.000 Introduction 
1.010 General purpose 
1.020 Rate methodology 
1.030 Definitions 

Section 2.000  General reporting requirements  
2.010  Required income and expense reports  
2.020  Required information  
2.030  Occupancy reports  
2.040  Deadlines, extensions, and rejections  
2.050  False reports  
2.060  Adequate documentation  

Section 3.000  Quality improvement plan  

Section 4.000  Determination of total payment rate  
4.010  Total payment rate  
4.020  Increase in payment rate beginning June 6, 2003  
4.030  Limitations  to total payment rate  
4.040  Increase in payment rate beginning March 1, 2006  
4.050  Payment rate for new facilities in Hennepin County  
4.060  Payment rate for new facilities in Hibbing and Chisholm  
4.070  Payment rate for facilities in Clearwater  County  
4.080  Payment rate for facilities in Kandiyohi County 
4.090 Payment rate for facilities in  Clearwater County  
4.100  Decrease in payment rate beginning September 1, 2011 
4.110  Decrease in payment rate beginning September 1, 2011  
4.120 Payment rates for  certain facilities in Cottonwood County  
4.130 Increase in payment rate beginning July 1, 2013  
4.140 Increase in payment rate beginning July 1, 2013  
4.150 Increase in payment rates beginning April 1, 2014   

Section 5.000  Day  services charges  

Section 6.000  Appeal procedures  
6.010  Scope of appeals  
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6.020	  Filing of appeals
  
6.030	  Contested case procedures appeals review process
  
6.040	  Attorney’s fees and costs
	 
6.050	  Legal and related expenses
  

Section 7.000  Voluntary receivership  
 7.010	  Receivership agreement
  
 7.020	  Management agreement
  
 7.030	  Rate adjustment
  
 7.040	  Controlling individuals; restrictions on licensure
  
 7.050	  Liability 
 
 7.060	  Liability  for financial obligations
  
 7.070	  Physical plant of the residential program
  
 7.080	  Receivership costs
  

Section 8.000  Involuntary receivership  
 8.010	  Application
  
 8.020	  Appointment of receiver
  
 8.030	  Powers and duties of the  receiver
  
 8.040	  Liability  and liability for financial obligations
  
 8.050	  Physical plant of the residential program
  
 8.060	  Fee
  
 8.070	  Termination
  
 8.080	  Emergency procedure
  
 8.090	  Rate recommendation
  
 8.100	  Adjustment to the rate
  
 8.110	  Receivership costs
  

Section 9.000  Special situations  
 9.010	  Closure 
 
 9.020 	 Variable rate adjustments
  
 9.030 	 Relocation
  
 9.040 	 Disasters
  
 9.050 	 Temporary  adjustments for short-term admissions for crisis or specialized 


medical care
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METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR DETERMINING PAYMENT RATES
 
FOR SERVICES PROVIDED BY INTERMEDIATE CARE FACILITIES FOR
 

PERSONS WITH MENTAL RETARDATION DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES
 
(ICFs/MRDD) THAT ARE NOT PAID ON A COST BASIS
 

SECTION 1.000  INTRODUCTION. 

Section 1.010 General purpose.  The purpose of Minnesota's methods and standards for 
determining medical assistance payment rates for ICFs/MR that are not paid on a cost basis is to 
provide for rates in conformity with applicable state and federal laws, regulations and quality and 
safety standards.  Minnesota has in place a public process that complies with the requirements of 
Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social Security Act. In determining the rates, the Department of 
Human Services takes into account the provider's historical costs, the size of the facility, and 
other factors. 

Facilities participating in the Minnesota Medical Assistance Program are paid by a prospective 
rate-setting methodology, based upon a contracting system.  This methodology, established in 
Minnesota statutes, is described in this attachment. 

Facilities contract with the Department in order to receive payment.  Contracts include 
descriptions of payments that may be modified  when significant changes occur in residents’ 
needs, the establishment and use of a quality improvement plan, appropriate and necessary 
statistical information required by the Department, annual aggregate facility financial 
information, and additional requirements for facilities not meeting the standards set forth in each 
contract. 

Section 1.020 Rate methodology. The total payment rate for ICFs/MR in existence as of 
October 1, 2000, is the sum of the operating payment rate and the property payment rate. 

Section 1.030 Definitions.  For the purposes of Sections 2.000 to 9.060, the following terms 
have the meanings given them in this section. 

Capacity days.  "Capacity days" means the total number of licensed beds in the facility 
multiplied by the number of days in the reporting year. 

Capital assets.  "Capital assets" means a facility's land, physical plant, land improvements, 
depreciable equipment, leasehold improvements, capitalized improvements and repairs, and all 
additions to or replacement of those assets. 

Capital debt. "Capital debt" means a debt incurred by the facility for the purpose of purchasing 
a capital asset, to the extent that the proceeds of the debt were actually applied to purchase the 
capital asset including points, financing charges, and bond premiums or discounts.  Capital debt 
includes debt incurred for the purpose of refinancing a capital debt. 
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Class A beds.  "Class A beds" means beds licensed for ambulatory and mobile persons who are 
capable of taking appropriate action for self-preservation under emergency conditions as 
determined by state and federal licensing law. 

Class B beds.  "Class B beds" means beds for ambulatory, nonambulatory, mobile, or 
nonmobile persons who are not mentally or physically capable of taking appropriate action for 
self-preservation under emergency conditions as determined by state and federal licensing law. 

Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Minnesota Department of 
Human Services. 

Day services. “Day services” means services or supports provided to a resident that enables the 
resident to be fully integrated into the community.  Day services may include supported work, 
support during community activities, day training and habilitation, community volunteer activity, 
adult day care, recreational activities, and other individualized integrated supports. 

Department.  "Department" means the Minnesota Department of Human Services. 

Depreciable equipment. "Depreciable equipment" means the standard moveable resident care 
equipment and support service equipment generally used in an ICF/MRDD. Depreciable 
equipment includes the equipment specified in the major moveable equipment table of the 
depreciation guidelines. 

Depreciation guidelines.  "Depreciation guidelines" means The Estimated Useful Lives of 
Depreciable Hospital Assets, issued by the American Hospital Association, 840 North Lake 
Shore Drive, Chicago, Illinois (Chicago: 1983).  The depreciation guidelines are incorporated by 
reference and are available for reference at the Minnesota State Law Library, Minnesota Judicial 
Center, 25 Constitution Avenue, Saint Paul, Minnesota, 55155.  Only the 1983 publication will 
be used and will not change. 

Desk audit.  "Desk audit" means the Department’s review and analysis of required reports, 
supporting documentation, and work sheets submitted by the provider. 

Direct cost.  "Direct cost" means a cost that can be identified within a general cost category 
without the use of allocation methods. 

Facility.  "Facility" or "ICF/MRDD" means a program licensed to serve persons with metal 
retardation developmental disabilities or related conditions under state laws, and a physical plant 
licensed as a supervised living facility under state laws, which together are certified by the 
Minnesota Department of Health as an intermediate care facility for the developmentally 
disabled mentally retarded. 
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Fringe benefits.  "Fringe benefits" means workers' compensation insurance (including self-
insurance plans), group health insurance, disability insurance, dental insurance, group life 
insurance, and retirement benefits or plans. 

Leasehold improvement.  "Leasehold improvement" means an improvement to property leased 
by the provider for the use of the facility that reverts to the owner of the property upon 
termination of the lease. 

Medical assistance program.  "Medical assistance program" means the program that reimburses 
the cost of health care provided to eligible residents pursuant to state and federal law. 

Modified property payment rate.  “Modified property payment rate” means the actual property 
payment rate exclusive of the effect of gains or losses on disposal of capital assets or adjustments 
for excess depreciation claims. 

Necessary service.  "Necessary service" means a function pertinent to the facility's operation 
that if not performed by the assigned individual would have required the provider to employ or 
assign another individual to perform it. 

Occupancy report.  “Occupancy report” means the report submitted monthly by a facility 
indicating bed use data by client for the preceding month. 

Payroll taxes.  "Payroll taxes" means the employer's share of social security withholding taxes, 
and state and federal unemployment compensation taxes or costs. 

Physical plant.  "Physical plant" means the building or buildings in which a program licensed to 
provide services to persons with developmental disabilities mental retardation or related 
conditions under state law is located, and all equipment affixed to the building and not easily 
subject to transfer as specified in the building and fixed equipment tables of the depreciation 
guidelines, and auxiliary buildings in the nature of sheds, garages, and storage buildings located 
on the same site if related to resident care, and the allocated portion of office space if the office is 
located in that facility.  Physical plant does not include buildings or portions of buildings used by 
central, affiliate, or corporate offices if those offices are not located in that facility. 

Private paying resident.  "Private paying resident" means a facility resident whose care is not 
paid for by the medical assistance program, cost of care program, or the Community Social 
Services Block Grant for the date of service. 

Program.  "Program" means those functions and activities of the facility that contribute to the 
care, supervision, developmental growth, and skill acquisition of the residents under state and 
federal laws. 

Provider.  "Provider" means the corporation, governmental unit, partnership, person, or persons 
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licensed to operate the facility, which controls the facility's operation, incurs the costs reported, 
and claims reimbursement under Sections 1.010 to 9.060 or the care provided in the facility. 

Provider group.  "Provider group" means a parent corporation, any subsidiary corporations, 
partnerships, management organizations, and groups of facilities operated under common 
ownership or control that incurred the costs shown on the income and expense report that are 
claimed for reimbursement under Sections 1.010 to 9.060. 

Quality improvement plan.  “Quality improvement plan” means the document submitted by a 
facility to the Department describing the facility’s quality improvement process. 

Rate adjustment.  “Rate adjustment” means a rate change granted by the Department.  The 
amount available for rate adjustments is set by legislative appropriation. 

Rate year.  For the initial year, "rate year" means the period for which the total payment rate is 
effective, from October 1, 2000 through December 31, 2001.  Thereafter, “rate year” means a 
calendar year. 

Related organization.  "Related organization" means a person that furnishes goods or services 
to a facility and that is a close relative of a provider or a provider group, an affiliate of a provider 
or provider group, or an affiliate of a close relative of an affiliate of a provider or provider group. 
For the purposes of this definition, the following terms have the meanings given them. 

A. "Affiliate" means a person that directly, or indirectly though one or more 
intermediaries, controls, or is controlled by, or is under common control with another person. 

B.  "Person" means an individual, a corporation, a partnership, an association, a trust, an 
unincorporated organization, or a government or political subdivision. 

C.  "Close relative of an affiliate of a provider or provider group" means an individual 
whose relationship by blood, marriage, or adoption to an individual who is an affiliate of a 
provider or provider group is no more remote than first cousin. 

D. "Control" including the terms "controlling", "controlled by", and "under common 
control with" means the possession, direct or indirect, of the power to direct or cause the 
direction of the management, operations, or policies of a person, whether through the ownership 
of voting securities, by contract or otherwise. 

Repair. "Repair" means the cost of labor and materials needed to restore an existing capital 
asset to sound condition after damage or malfunction or to maintain an existing capital asset in a 
usable condition. 

Reporting year.  "Reporting year" means the period from January 1 to December 31 
immediately preceding the rate year, for which the provider submits its income and expense 
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report. 

Resident day.  "Resident day" means a day on which services provided to residents are rendered 
and billable, or a day for which a bed is held and billed. 

Statewide advisory committee.  “Statewide advisory committee” means the committee charged 
with reviewing county and provider proposals and making recommendations to the Department 
regarding facility payment rate adjustments.  The committee uses established criteria for ranking 
proposals in order to make recommendations. 

Total payment rate.  "Total payment rate" means the amount established by the commissioner 
to reimburse the provider for service provided to each resident.  The total payment rate is 
calculated by adding the operating payment and the property payment rate. 

Variable rate.  A rate approved by the Department, upon the recommendation of the county of 
financial responsibility, when there is a documented increase in the needs of a resident.  A 
documented increase is a demonstrated medical or behavioral need that significantly impacts the 
type or amount of services needed by a resident. 

SECTION 2.000  GENERAL REPORTING REQUIREMENTS. 

Section 2.010 Required income and expense reports. By April 30 of each year, the provider 
must submit an annual income and expense report on the form prescribed by the Department in 
order to receive medical assistance payments.  The reports must cover the reporting year ending 
the previous December 31. 

Section 2.020 Required information.  A complete income and expense report contains the 
following items: 

A. Salaries and related expenses, including salaries to program, administrative, and 
support staff, payroll taxes and fringe benefits, and training. 

B. General operating expenses, including supplies, repairs, purchased services and 
consultants, utilities, food, licenses and fees, real estate taxes, insurance, and working capital 
interest. 

C. Property-related expenses, including real estate taxes, depreciation, capital debt 
interest, rent and leases, and property insurance. 

D. Facility income, including receipt of all income from accounts receivable related 
to facility operations. 
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E. Annual resident days. 

Section 2.030 Occupancy reports. 

A. A facility must maintain and submit monthly bed use data. The total payments 
made to a facility may be adjusted based on concurrent changes in the needs of recipients that are 
covered by a variable rate adjustment. Any adjustment for multiple resident changes does not 
result in a decrease to the facility base rate. 

B. Bed use data will also indicate leave days and vacancies. 

Section 2.040 Deadlines, extensions, and rejections. 

A. A facility that terminates participation in the Medical Assistance Program during 
a reporting year must submit the required annual income and expense report covering the period 
from January 1 of that reporting year to the date of termination.  The income and expense report 
must be submitted within four months after termination. 

B. The Department may reject any annual income and expense report filed by a 
facility that is incomplete or inaccurate, or for which supplemental information is required. In 
these cases, the Department will inform the facility what additional information is required.  The 
facility will be given a reasonable amount of time to supply the information. 

Failure to file the required income and expense report and other required information constitutes 
a material breach of the contract, allowing the Department to pursue termination of the contract. 

Section 2.050 False reports.  If a provider knowingly supplies inaccurate or false information 
on an income and expense report, the Department will exercise its options under the breach of 
terms provisions in its contract with the facility. 

Section 2.060 Adequate documentation. A facility must keep adequate documentation. 

A. In order to be considered adequate, documentation must: 

(1) be maintained in orderly, well-organized files; 

(2) not include documentation of more than one facility in one set of files 
unless transactions may be traced by the Department to the facility's annual income and expense 
report; 

(3) include a paid invoice or copy of a paid invoice with date of purchase, 
vendor name and address, purchaser name and delivery address, listing of items or services 
purchased, cost of items purchased, account number to which the cost is posted, and a 
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breakdown of any allocation of costs between accounts or facilities.  If any of the information to 
be listed on the invoice is not available, the providers must document their good faith attempt to 
obtain the information; 

(4) include copies of all written agreements and debt instruments to which the 
facility is a party and any related mortgages, financing statements, and amortization schedules to 
explain the facility's costs and revenues; 

(5) if a cost or revenue item is not documented under subitem (3) or (4), the 
facility must document the amount, source, and purpose of the item in its books and ledgers 
following generally accepted accounting principles and in a manner providing an audit trail; and 

(6) be retained by the facility to support the five most recent annual income 
and expense reports submitted to the Department.  The Department may extend the period of 
retention if the desk audit was postponed because of inadequate record keeping or accounting 
practice, or if the records are necessary to resolve a pending appeal. 

B. Providers must document all consultant, professional, or purchased service 
contracts.  They must maintain copies of all contracts and invoices relating to consultant, 
professional, or purchased services.  These documents must include the name and address of the 
vendor or contractor, the name of the person who actually performed the services, the dates of 
service, a description of the services provided, the unit cost, and the total cost of the service. 

C. Payroll records must be maintained by a facility and must show the amount of 
compensation paid to each employee and the days and hours worked.  Complete and orderly cost 
allocation records must be maintained for cost allocations made among cost categories or 
facilities. 

SECTION 3.000  QUALITY IMPROVEMENT PLAN. 

A. Except for the initial rate year, by the March following the end of each rate year, 
facilities must submit reports regarding the previous year’s quality improvement plans to the 
Department.  For the initial rate year, facility quality improvement plans must be submitted by 
December 31, 2000. 

B. Each quality improvement plan must identify a minimum of one performance 
measure on which to focus during the contract period.  

C. Elements of a quality improvement plan: 

(1) a facility-specific quality improvement team; 
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(2)	 area(s) of need (and why), including the strategies used to identify the 
causes; 

(3)	 definition of the quality improvement goal or benchmark; 

(4)	 identified data sources; 

(5)	 plan of action and strategies to address the problem; 

(6)	 summarized and interpreted data; and 

(7)	 evaluation of the results, including how the quality improvement plan is 
communicated to residents, staff, and residents’ families, and how the process is monitored and 
changed as needed. 

SECTION 4.000  DETERMINATION OF TOTAL PAYMENT RATE. 

Section 4.010 Total payment rate.  The total payment rate is the sum of the operating payment 
rate and the property payment rate. 

A.	 Operating payment rate. 

(1) The operating payment rate is the facility’s total payment rate in effect on 
September 30, 2000, minus the property rate.  It includes the efficiency incentive in effect as of 
September 30, 2000.  

(2) Within the limits of appropriations for this purpose, the operating payment 
rate is increased for each rate year by the annual percentage change in the Employment Cost 
Index for Private Industry Workers–Total Compensation in the second quarter of the calendar 
year preceding the start of the rate year.  For the initial rate year, the percentage change is based 
on the percentage change in the Employment Cost Index for Private Industry Workers–Total 
Compensation for the 15-month period from October 1, 2000 through December 31, 2001, as 
forecast by Data Resources, Inc. 

(3) The operating payment rate is adjusted to reflect an occupancy rate equal 
to 100 percent of a facility’s capacity days as of September 30, 2000, except that effective July 1, 
2009, through June 30, 2013, no occupancy rate adjustment will be applied. 

(4) For the initial rate year, the Department will make an adjustment to the 
operating payment rate for a facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department, in 
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accordance with unit (b).  Operating costs will be separated into compensation-related costs and 
all other costs.  Compensation-related costs means allowable program operating cost category 
employee training expenses and allowable salaries, payroll taxes, and fringe benefits for all 
employees except the administrator and central office staff. 

(a) Facilities that have rates governed by closure agreements, 
receivership agreements, or interim rates are not eligible for these adjustments. 

(b) The payment rate is increased by: 

1) 6.6 percent of compensation-related costs, 45 percent of 
which must be used to increase the per-hour pay rate of all employees except administrative and 
central office employees by an equal dollar amount and to pay associated costs for FICA, the 
Medicare tax, workers’ compensation premiums, and federal and state unemployment insurance 
provided that this portion of the compensation-related increase must be used only for wage 
increases implemented on or after October 1, 2000, and must not be used for wage increases 
implemented before that date; 

2) and 2.0 percent of all other operating costs. 

A facility’s most recent cost report submitted for desk audit will be used to calculate the 
adjustment. 

(c) To receive the operating payment rate adjustment, a facility must 
apply to the Department.  The application must contain a plan by which the facility will 
distribute the compensation-related portion of the payment rate adjustment to employees of the 
nursing facility.  For a facility in which the employees are represented by an exclusive 
bargaining representative, an agreement negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the 
exclusive bargaining representative constitutes the plan only if the agreement is finalized after 
May 16, 2000. 

1) The Department will review the plan to ensure that the payment 
rate adjustment is used as provided in unit (b). 

2) To be eligible, a facility must submit its plan for the payment rate 
adjustment by December 31, 2000.  If a facility’s plan for the payment rate adjustment is 
effective for its employees after October 1 of the year that the funds are available, the payment 
rate adjustment shall be effective the same date as its plan. 

(d) The Department will determine the payment rate adjustment using the 
categories listed above multiplied by the rate increases in unit (b), divided by the facility’s actual 
resident days. 
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(5) Effective July 1, 2001, the Department will make an adjustment to the operating 
payment rate of 3.5 percent for a facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department.  Of 
this adjustment, two-thirds must be used in accordance with unit (a) and one-third must be used 
for operating costs. 

(a) Two-thirds of the adjustment must be used to increase the wages and 
benefits and pay associated costs of all employees except administrative and central office 
employees, provided that this increase is used only for wage and benefit increases implemented 
on or after July 1, 2001. 

(b) For each facility, the Department will make available an adjustment by 
multiplying 3.5 percent by the total payment rate in effect on June 30, 2001, excluding the 
property-related payment rate. 

(c) The application for the rate adjustment must contain a plan by which the 
facility will distribute the adjustment in unit (a) to employees of the facility.  For a facility in 
which the employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement 
negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative constitutes 
the plan only if the agreement is finalized after June 30, 2001. 

1) The Department will review the plan to ensure that the payment 
rate adjustment per diem is used as provided in this subitem. 

2) To be eligible, a facility must submit its plan for the rate 
adjustment by March 31, 2002.  If a facility’s plan for the payment rate adjustment is effective 
for its employees after July 1, 2001, the payment rate adjustment is effective the same date as its 
plan. 

(d) A facility that has payment rate governed by closure agreements or 
receivership agreements cannot receive an adjustment. 

(6) Effective July 1, 2002, the Department will make an adjustment to the operating 
payment rate of 3.5 percent for a facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department.  Of 
this adjustment, two-thirds must be used in accordance with unit (a) and one-third must be used 
for operating costs. 

(a) Two-thirds of the adjustment must be used to increase the wages and 
benefits and pay associated costs of all employees except administrative and central office 
employees, provided that this increase is used only for wage and benefit increases implemented 
on or after July 1, 2002. 

(b) For each facility, the Department will make available an adjustment 
by multiplying 3.5 percent by the total payment rate in effect on June 30, 2002, excluding the 
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property-related payment rate. 

(c) The application for the rate adjustment must contain a plan by which the 
facility will distribute the adjustment in unit (a) to employees of the facility.  For a facility in 
which the employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement 
negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative constitutes 
the plan only if the agreement is finalized after June 30, 2002. 

1) The Department will review the plan to ensure that the payment 
rate adjustment per diem is used as provided in this subitem. 

2) To be eligible, a facility must submit its plan for the rate 
adjustment by March 31, 2003.  If a facility’s plan for the payment rate adjustment is effective 
for its employees after July 1, 2002, the payment rate adjustment is effective the same date as its 
plan. 

(d) A facility that has payment rate governed by closure agreements or 
receivership agreements cannot receive an adjustment. 

(7) Effective April 1, 2002, the operating payment rate is adjusted for increases in 
licensing fees paid by facilities. 

(8) Effective July 1, 2003, the operating payment rate in effect on June 30, 2002 is 
reduced by one percent.  Facilities with payment rates governed by a receivership agreement in 
Sections 7.000 or 8.000, or by a closure agreement in Section 9.010, are not subject to this item. 

(9) Effective October 1, 2005, the operating payment rate is increased by 2.2553 
percent for a facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department.  Of this increase, two-
thirds must be used in accordance with unit (a). 

(a) Two-thirds of the increase must be used to increase the MA portion of 
wages and benefits and pay associated MA costs of all employees except administrative and 
central office employees, provided that this increase is used only for wage, benefit, and staff 
increases implemented on or after October 1, 2005. 

(b) For each facility, the Department will make available an increase by 
multiplying 2.2553 percent by the total payment rate in effect on September 30, 2005, excluding 
the property-related payment rate. 

(c) The application for the rate increase must contain a plan by which the 
facility will distribute the increase in unit (a) to employees of the facility.  For a facility in which 
the employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement 
negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative constitutes 
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the plan only if the agreement is finalized after July 15, 2005. 

(1) The Department will review the plan to ensure that the payment 
rate increase per diem is used in accordance with unit (a). 

(2) To be eligible, a facility must submit its plan by March 31, 2006. If 
a facility’s plan for the payment rate increase is effective for its employees after October 1, 2005, 
the increase is effective the same date as its plan. 

(d) Facilities that have rates governed by closure agreements, receivership 
agreements, or interim rates are not eligible for these increases. 

(10) Effective October 1, 2006, the operating payment rate is increased by 2.2553 
percent for a facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department.  Of this increase, two-
thirds must be used in accordance with unit (a). 

(a) Two-thirds of the increase must be used to increase the MA portion of 
wages and benefits and pay associated MA costs of employees except administrative and central 
office employees, provided that this increase is used only for wage, benefit, and staff increases 
implemented on or after October 1, 2006. 

(b)  For each facility, the Department will make available an increase  based on 
occupied beds.  

(c)  The application for the increase must contain a plan by which the  facility  
will distribute the increase in unit (a) to employees of the facility.  For a facility in which the 
employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement negotiated 
and agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative constitutes the plan 
only if the agreement is finalized after July 15, 2006. 

(1) The Department will review the plan to ensure that the payment 
rate increase per diem is used in accordance with unit (a). 

(2) To be eligible, a facility must submit its plan by December 31, 
2006. If a facility’s plan for the payment rate increase is effective for its employees after October 
1, 2006, the payment rate increase is effective the same date as its plan. 

(d) Facilities that have rates governed by closure agreements, receivership 
agreements, or interim rates are not eligible for these increases. 

(11) Effective October 1, 2007, the operating payment rate is increased by 2 percent 
for a facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department.  Of this increase, three-fourths 
must be used in accordance with unit (a). 
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(a) The rate increase must be used to increase the MA portion of wages and 
benefits and pay associated MA costs of employees directly employed by the facility except 
administrative, or central office, employees or persons paid under a management contract, 
provided that this increase is used only for wage, benefit, and staff increases implemented on or 
after October 1, 2007. 

(b) Two-thirds of the increase described in unit (a) must be paid as an equal 
hourly percentage wage increase to the MA portion of wages for employees directly employed 
by the facility effective on the same date for all eligible employees. This provision does not 
apply to employees represented by an exclusive bargaining representative. 

(c)  For the purposes of units (a) and (b) compensation related costs include:  
(1)  wages and salaries;  
(2)  FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal unemployment taxes, 

and workers’ compensation;  
(3) the employer’s share of health and dental insurance, life insurance, 

disability insurance, long-term  care insurance, uniform allowance, and pensions; and  
(4) other benefits provided, subject to the  approval of the Department.  

(d) For each facility, the Department will make available an increase not 
subject to units (a) and (b), based on occupied beds and effective October 1, 2007 

(e) Increases subject to units (a) and (b) will be based on the lesser of the 
amount distributed as wage increases in accordance with units (a) and (b) or the amount of the 
percentage rate increase based on occupied beds. 

(f) The application for the increase must contain a plan by which the facility 
will distribute the increase in units (a) and (b) to employees of the facility.  For a facility in 
which the employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement 
negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative constitutes 
the plan effective the later of July 15, 2007 or Departmental receipt of a letter of acceptance of 
the wage distribution plan by the exclusive bargaining representative. 

(g) The Department shall ensure that cost increases in distribution plans under 
unit (f)(2)(ii), that may be included in approved applications, comply with the following 
requirements: 

(1) costs to be incurred during the applicable rate year resulting from 
wage and salary increases effective after October 1, 2006, and prior to the first day of the facility's 
payroll period that includes October 1, 2007, shall be allowed if they were not used in the prior year's 
application; 
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(2) a portion of the costs resulting from tenure-related wage or salary 
increases may be considered to be allowable wage increases, according to formulas that the 
Department shall provide, where employee retention is above the average statewide rate of retention 
of direct care employees; 

(3) the annualized amount of increases in costs for the employer's share 
of health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability insurance, and workers' compensation shall 
be allowable compensation-related increases if they are effective on or after April 1, 2007, and prior 
to April 1, 2008. 

(h) Facilities that have rates governed by closure agreements, receivership 
agreements, or interim rates are not eligible for these increases. 

(12) Effective October 1, 2008, the operating payment rate is increased by 2 percent 
for a facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department.  Of this increase, three-fourths 
must be used in accordance with unit (a). 

(a) The rate increase must be used to increase the MA portion of wages and 
benefits and pay associated MA costs of employees directly employed by the facility except 
administrative, or central office, employees or persons paid under a management contract, 
provided that this increase is used only for wage, benefit, and staff increases implemented on or 
after October 1, 2008. 

(b) Two-thirds of the increase described in unit (a) must be paid as an equal 
hourly percentage wage increase to the MA portion of wages for employees directly employed 
by the facility effective on the same date for all eligible employees.  This provision does not 
apply to employees represented by an exclusive bargaining representative. 

(c)  For the purposes of units (a) and (b) compensation related costs include:  
(1)  wages and salaries;  
(2)  FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal unemployment taxes, 

and workers’ compensation;  
(3)  the employer’s share of health and dental insurance, life insurance, 

disability insurance, long-term  care insurance, uniform allowance, and pensions; and  
(4)  other benefits provided, subject to the  approval of the Department.  

(d) For each facility, the Department will make available an increase not 
subject to units (a) and (b), based on occupied beds and effective October 1, 2008 

(e) Increases subject to units (a) and (b) will be based on the lesser of the 
amount distributed as wage increases in accordance with units (a) and (b) or the amount of the 
percentage rate increase based on occupied beds. 
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(f) The application for the increase must contain a plan by which the facility 
will distribute the increase in units (a) and (b) to employees of the facility.  For a facility in 
which the employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement 
negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative constitutes 
the plan effective the later of July 15, 2007 or Departmental receipt of a letter of acceptance of 
the wage distribution plan by the exclusive bargaining representative. 

(g) The Department shall ensure that cost increases in distribution plans under 
unit (f)(2)(ii), that may be included in approved applications, comply with the following 
requirements: 

(1) costs to be incurred during the applicable rate year resulting from 
wage and salary increases effective after October 1, 2007, and prior to the first day of the facility's 
payroll period that includes October 1, 2008, shall be allowed if they were not used in the prior year's 
application; 

(2) a portion of the costs resulting from tenure-related wage or salary 
increases may be considered to be allowable wage increases, according to formulas that the 
Department shall provide, where employee retention is above the average statewide rate of retention 
of direct care employees; 

(3) the annualized amount of increases in costs for the employer's share 
of health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability insurance, and workers' compensation shall 
be allowable compensation-related increases if they are effective on or after April 1, 2008, and prior 
to April 1, 2009. 

(h) Facilities that have rates governed by closure agreements, receivership 
agreements, or interim rates are not eligible for these increases. 

(13) Effective July 1, 2009 the operating payment rate is decreased by 2.58 percent 
and the provisions in sub-items 12(a) through 12(g) no longer apply. 

(14) Effective for July 1, 2014, the operating payment rate is increased by 5 percent for a 
facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department. Of this increase, 80 percent must be 
used in accordance with unit (a). 

(a) The rate increase must be used to increase the MA portion of 
compensation costs of employees directly employed by the facility except central 
office employees or persons paid under a management contract. 

(b) For the purpose of unit (a), compensation related costs include: 
(1) wages and salaries; 
(2) the employer's share of FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal 
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unemployment taxes, workers' compensation, and mileage reimbursement; 
(3) the employer's share of health and dental insurance, life insurance, 

disability insurance, long-term care insurance, uniform allowance, 
pensions, and contributions to employee retirement accounts; and 

(4) other benefits provided and workforce needs, subject to the approval of the 
Department. 

(c) For each facility, the Department will make available an adjustment by 
multiplying 5 percent by the total payment rate in effect on June 30, 2014, 
excluding the property-related payment rate. 

(d) To receive the operating payment rate adjustment, a facility must apply to 
the Department. The application must contain a plan by which the facility will 
distribute the compensation-related portion of the payment rate adjustment to 
employees of the nursing facility. 

For public employees under a collective bargaining agreement, the increase for 
wages and benefits is available and pay rates must be increased only to the extent 
that the increases comply with laws governing public employees' collective 
bargaining. Money received by a facility for pay increases for public employees 
must be used only for pay increases implemented between July 1, 2014, and 
August 1, 2014. 

For a facility that has employees that are represented by an exclusive bargaining 
representative, the provider shall obtain a letter of acceptance of the distribution 
plan, in regard to the members of the bargaining unit, signed by the exclusive 
bargaining agent. 

(e) Effective January 1, 2015, the Department shall decrease by 1 percent the 
payment rate of any facility that fails to submit the plan described in paragraph 
(d). 

B.  Property payment rate. 

(1) The property payment rate is based on the facility’s modified property payment 
rate in effect on September 30, 2000.  The modified property payment rate is the actual property 
payment rate exclusive of the effect of gains or losses on disposal of capital assets or adjustments 
for excess depreciation claims. 

(2) Effective October 1, 2000, a minimum property payment rate of $8.13 is applied 
to all existing facilities.  Effective October 1, 2000, facilities with modified property payment 
rates effective September 30, 2000 below the minimum property payment rate receive an 
increase equal to the difference between the minimum property payment rate and the modified 
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property payment rate in effect on September 30, 2000.  Effective October 1, 2000, facilities 
with modified property payment rates effective September 30, 2000 at or above the minimum 
property payment rate receive the modified property payment rate. 

(3) Within the limits of appropriations for this purpose, effective January 1, 2002, 
facility property payment rates are increased annually for inflation.  The increase is based on 
each facility’s property payment rate in effect on September 30, 2000. 

(4)  Modified property payment rates effective September 30, 2000 are arrayed from 
the highest to lowest before applying the minimum property payment rate in subitem 
(2).  

(a)  For modified property payment rates at the 90th  percentile or  above, the 
annual inflation increase  is zero. 

(b)  For modified property payment rates below the 90th  percentile but at  least 
at the 75th  percentile, the  annual inflation increase  is one percent.  

(c)  For modified property payment rates below the 75th  percentile, the annual 
inflation increase is 2 percent.  

Section 4.020 Increase in payment rate beginning June 6, 2003. 

Each facility receives an increase in its payment rate of $3.00, which is added following the 
determination of the payment rate for each facility.  This increase is not subject to any annual 
percentage increase. 

Section 4.030 Limitations to total payment rate.  The total payment rate must not exceed the 
rate paid by private paying residents for similar services for the same period. 

Section 4.040 Increase in payment rate beginning March 1, 2006.  Effective March 1, 2006 
and ending September 30, 2007, payment for ICF/MRDD services is increased by .2% for those 
providers who applied and met the competitive requirements for a medical assistance payment 
rate increase for the purpose of employee scholarships, except that the increase is .3% effective 
on or after September 1, 2006, for those providers who agree to accept the higher rate on a 
contract entered into on or after March 1, 2006 or whose new contract was entered into on or 
after September 1, 2006. 

Section 4.050 Payment rates for new facilities in Hennepin County. Upon completion of 
relocation, the two six-bed level B facilities licensed to replace a 15 bed level A facility that is 
inaccessible to persons with disabilities will receive a payment rate of $200.47 per day plus any 
rate adjustments effective on or after July 1, 2007. 
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Section 4.060 Payment rates for new facilities in Chisholm and Hibbing.  Effective for 
admissions on or after October 1, 2009 the newly licensed six-bed, level B facility in Chisholm 
will receive a payment rate of $274.50 per day and the newly licensed six-bed level B facility in 
Hibbing will receive a payment rate of $250.84 per day plus any rate adjustments effective on or 
after October 1, 2009. 

Section 4.070 Payment rates for certain facilities in Clearwater County. Effective for 
admissions on or after July 1, 2010 through June 30, 2011, the per diem rate for a Class A 
facility with 15 beds in Clearwater County is increased from $112.73 to $138.23. 

Section 4.080 Payment rates for certain facilities in Kandiyohi County. Effective for 
admissions on or after July 1, 2010 through June 30, 2011, the per diem rate for a six bed Class 
A facility is increased by $43.04. 

Section 4.090 Payment rates for certain facilities in Clearwater County.  Effective for 
admissions on or after September 1, 2011, the per diem rate for a Class A facility with 15 beds in 
Clearwater County is increased from $112.73 to 138.23. 

Section 4.100 Decrease in payment rate. On September 1, 2011, each facility, except for a 
Class A facility located in Clearwater County with 15 beds, shall receive a decrease of .095 
percent to the operating payment rate and all variable rates in effect on August 31, 2011. 

Section 4.110 Decrease in payment rate. On September 1, 2011, each facility shall receive a 
decrease of 1.5 percent to the operating payment rate and all variable rates in effect on August 
31, 2011. 

Section 4.120 Payment rates for certain facilities in Cottonwood County. Effective for 
admissions on or after July 1, 2013, the per diem rate for a facility with 18 beds in Cottonwood 
County shall adjust to $282.62. 

Section 4.130 Increase in payment rate beginning July 1, 2013. Effective for admissions on or 
after July 1, 2013, each facility shall receive an increase in its payment rate of $7.81, which is 
added following the determination of the payment rate for each facility.  This increase is not 
subject to any annual percentage increase. 

Section 4.140 Increase in payment rate beginning July 1, 2013. Effective for admissions on or 
after July 1, 2013, each facility shall receive an increase of .5 percent to the operating payment 
rate and all variable rates in effect on June 30, 2013. 

Section 4.150 Increase in payment rates beginning April 1, 2014. Effective for admissions on 
or after April 1, 2014, each facility shall receive an increase of 1 percent to the operating 
payment rate and all variable rates in effect on March 31, 2014. 
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SECTION 5.000  DAY SERVICES CHARGES. 

A. Charges incurred by the ICF/MRDD for day services provided by an entity 
licensed as a day training and habilitation provider are paid as a pass-through payment. The 
pass-through payment is paid separately and is not included in the computation of the total 
payment rate. Effective March 1, 2006 and ending September 30, 2007, payment for day 
services is increased by .2% for those providers who applied and met the competitive bidding 
requirements for a medical assistance payment rate increase for the purpose of employee 
scholarships, except that the increase is .3% on or after September 1, 2006, for those providers 
who agree to accept the higher rate on a contract entered into on or after March 1, 2006 or whose 
new contract was entered into on or after September 1, 2006. Effective October 1, 2007 payment 
for day services is increased by 2%.  Providers receiving this rate increase must comply with the 
requirement of unit (1).  Effective October 1, 2008 payment for day services is increased by 2%.  
Providers receiving this rate increase must comply with the requirements of unit (1).  Effective 
July 1, 2009 payment for day services is reduced by 2.58 percent. 

(1) Seventy-five percent of the rate increases effective October 1, 2007 and 
July 1, 2008 must be used to increase the MA portion of wages and benefits and pay associated 
MA costs of employees directly employed by the facility except administrative, or central office, 
employees or persons paid under a management contract, provided that this increase is used only 
for wage, benefit, and staff increases implemented on or after October 1, 2008. 

(2) Two-thirds of the increase must be paid as an equal hourly percentage 
wage increase to the MA portion of wages for employees directly employed by the facility 
effective on the same date for all eligible employees.  This provision does not apply to 
employees represented by an exclusive bargaining representative. 

(3)  For the  purposes of units (1) and (2) compensation related costs include:  
(a)  wages and salaries;  
(b)  FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal unemployment taxes, 

and workers’ compensation;  and  
(c)  the employer’s share of health and dental insurance, life insurance, 

disability insurance, long-term  care insurance, uniform allowance, and pensions.  

(4)  For public employees, the  increase for wages and benefits for certain staff is  
available  and pay rates must be increased only to the  extent that  they comply with laws governing  
public  employees collective bargaining.  

(5)  Providers receiving the rate increase shall provide to the Department 
within six months of the  rate increase, a letter that provides assurances that the provider has 
developed and implemented a compensation plan and complied with units (1) and (2).   

B. By January 1, 2004, charges incurred by the ICF/MRDD for day services 
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provided by a licensed entity that is not licensed as a day training and habilitation provider will 
be paid separately and will not be included in the computation of the total payment rate. Rates 
for day services will not exceed 75 percent of a resident’s day services costs prior to leaving a 
day training and habilitation program.  Effective March 1, 2006 and ending September 30, 2007, 
payment for day services is increased by .2% for those providers who applied and met the 
competitive requirements for a medical assistance payment rate increase for the purpose of 
employee scholarships, except that the increase is .3% effective on or after September 1, 2006, 
for those providers who agree to accept the higher rate on a contract entered into on or after 
March 1, 2006 or whose new contract was entered into on or after September 1, 2006. 

SECTION 6.000  APPEAL PROCEDURES. 

Section 6.010 Scope of appeals. 

A provider may appeal from a determination of a payment rate established pursuant to this 
Attachment if the appeal, if successful, would result in a change to the provider's payment rate.  
Appeals must be filed in accordance with procedures in this section. 

Section 6.020   Filing of  appeals. 

To appeal, the provider files with the Department a written notice of appeal; the appeal must be 
postmarked or received by the Commissioner within 60 days of the date the determination of the 
payment rate was mailed or personally received by a provider, whichever is earlier.  The notice 
of appeal must specify each disputed item; the reason for the dispute; the total dollar amount in 
dispute for each separate disallowance, allocation, or adjustment of each cost item or part of a 
cost item; the computation that the provider believes is correct; the authority in statute upon 
which the provider relies for each disputed item; the name and address of the person or firm with 
whom contacts may be made regarding the appeal; and other information required by the 
Commissioner. 

Section 6.030   Contested case procedures appeals review process.  

A. Effective for desk audit appeals on or after October 1, 2000, the Commissioner 
must review appeals and issue a written appeal determination on each appeals item within one 
year of the due date of the appeal.  Upon mutual agreement, the Commissioner and the provider 
may extend the time for issuing a determination for a specified period.  The Commissioner must 
notify the provider by first class mail of the appeal determination.  The appeal determination 
takes effect 30 days following the date of issuance specified in the determination. 

B. In reviewing the appeal, the Commissioner may request additional written or oral 
information from the provider.  The provider has the right to present information by telephone, in 
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writing, or in person concerning the appeal to the Commissioner prior to the issuance of the 
appeal determination within six months of the date the appeal was received by the 
Commissioner.  Written requests for conferences must be submitted separately from the appeal 
letter.  Statements made during the review process are not admissible in a contested case hearing 
absent an express stipulation by the parties to the contested case. 

C. For an appeal item with which the provider disagrees with the appeal 
determination, the provider may file with the Commissioner a written demand for a contested 
case hearing to determine the proper resolution of specified appeal items.  The demand must be 
postmarked or received by the Commissioner within 30 days of the date of issuance specified in 
the determination.  A contested case demand for an appeal item nullifies the written appeal 
determination issued by the Commissioner for that appeal item.  The Commissioner must refer 
any contested case demand to the office of the Attorney General. 

D. A contested case hearing must be heard by an administrative law judge.  In any 
proceeding under this section, the appealing party must demonstrate by a preponderance of the 
evidence that the determination of a payment rate is incorrect. 

E. Regardless of any rate appeal, the rate established must be the rate paid and must 
remain in effect until final resolution of the appeal or subsequent desk audit adjustment. 

F. The Commissioner has discretion to issue to the provider a proposed resolution 
for specified appeal items upon a request from the provider filed separately from the notice of 
appeal.  The proposed resolution is final upon written acceptance by the provider within 30 days 
of the date the proposed resolution was mailed to or personally received by the provider, 
whichever is earlier. 

Section 6.040   Attorney’s fees and costs.  

A. For an issue appealed under Section 6.010, the prevailing party in a contested case 
proceeding or, if appealed, in subsequent judicial review, must be awarded reasonable attorney's 
fees and costs incurred in litigating the appeal, if the prevailing party shows that the position of 
the opposing party was not substantially justified.  The procedures for awarding fees and costs 
set forth in state law regarding procedures for award of fees in contested cases must be followed 
in determining the prevailing party's fees and costs except as otherwise provided in this section.  
For purposes of this section, "costs" means subpoena fees and mileage, transcript costs, court 
reporter fees, witness fees, postage and delivery costs, photocopying and printing costs, amounts 
charged the Commissioner by the office of administrative hearings, and direct administrative 
costs of the Department; and "substantially justified" means that a position had a reasonable 
basis in law and fact, based on the totality of the circumstances prior to and during the contested 
case proceeding and subsequent review. 

B.  When an award is made to the Department under this section, attorney fees must be 
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calculated at the cost to the Department.  When an award is made to a provider under this 
section, attorney fees must be calculated at the rate charged to the provider except that attorney 
fees awarded must be the lesser of the attorney's normal hourly fee or $100 per hour. 

C.  In contested case proceedings involving more than one issue, the administrative law 
judge must determine what portion of each party's attorney fees and costs is related to the issue 
or issues on which it prevailed and for which it is entitled to an award.  In making that 
determination, the administrative law judge must consider the amount of time spent on each 
issue, the precedential value of the issue, the complexity, of the issue, and other factors deemed 
appropriate by the administrative law judge. 

D. When the Department prevails on an issue involving more than one provider, the 
administrative law judge must allocate the total amount of any award for attorney fees and costs 
among the providers.  In determining the allocation, the administrative law judge must consider 
each provider's monetary interest in the issue and other factors deemed appropriate by the 
administrative law judge. 

E. Attorney fees and costs awarded to the Department for proceedings under this section 
must not be reported or treated as allowable costs on the provider's income and expense report.  

F.  Fees and costs awarded to a provider for proceedings under this section must be 
reimbursed to them within 120 days of the final decision on the award of attorney fees and costs. 

G. If the provider fails to pay the awarded attorney fees and costs within 120 days of the 
final decision on the award of attorney fees and costs, the Department may collect the amount 
due through any method available to it for the collection of medical assistance overpayments to 
providers.  Interest charges must be assessed on balances outstanding after 120 days of the final 
decision on the award of attorney fees and costs.  The annual interest rate charged must be the 
rate charged by the Commissioner of revenue for late payment of taxes that is in effect on the 
121st day after the final decision on the award of attorney fees and costs. 

H. Amounts collected by the Commissioner pursuant to this section must be deemed to 
be recoveries. 

Section 6.050 Legal  and related expenses.  Legal and related expenses for unresolved 
challenges to decisions by governmental agencies must be separately identified and explained on 
the provider's income and expense report for each year in which the expenses are incurred.  
When the challenge is resolved in favor of the governmental agency, the provider must notify the 
Department of the extent to which its challenge was unsuccessful on the income and expense 
report filed for the reporting year in which the challenge was resolved.  In addition, the provider 
must inform the Department of the years in which it claimed legal and related expenses and the 
amount of the expenses claimed in each year relating to the unsuccessful challenge.  The 
Department must reduce the provider's medical assistance rate in the subsequent rate year by the 
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total amount claimed by the provider for legal and related expenses incurred in an unsuccessful 
challenge to a decision by a governmental agency. 

SECTION 7.000 VOLUNTARY RECEIVERSHIP. 

Section 7.010 Receivership agreement.  A majority of controlling individuals of a residential 
program may at any time ask the Department to assume operation of the residential program 
through appointment of a receiver.  On receiving the request, the Department may enter into an 
agreement with a majority of controlling individuals and become the receiver and operate the 
program under conditions acceptable to both the Department and the majority of controlling 
individuals.  The agreement will specify the terms and conditions of the receivership and 
preserve the rights of the persons being served by the program.  A receivership set up under this 
section terminates at the time specified by the parties to the agreement. 

Section 7.020 Management agreement.  When the Department agrees to become the receiver 
of a program, the Department may enter into a management agreement with another entity or 
group to act as the managing agent during the receivership period.  The managing agent will be 
responsible for the day-to-day operations of the residential program subject at all times to the 
review and approval of the Department.  A reasonable fee may be paid to the managing agent for 
the performance of these services. 

Section 7.030 Rate adjustment.  The sections on rate recommendations and adjustments to the 
rate found in Section 8.000 also apply to voluntary receiverships. 

Section 7.040 Controlling individuals; restrictions on licensure.  No controlling individual of 
a residential program placed into receivership under Section 7.000 must apply for or receive a 
license to operate a program for five years from the commencement of the receivership period.  
Section 7.000 does not apply to programs that are owned or operated by controlling individuals, 
that were in existence prior to the date of the receivership agreement, and that have not been 
placed into receivership. 

Section 7.050 Liability.  The controlling individuals of a residential program placed into 
receivership remain liable for any claims made against the residential program that arose from 
incidents or events that occurred prior to the commencement of the receivership period.  Neither 
the Department nor the managing agent of the Department assumes this liability. 

Section 7.060 Liability for financial obligations.  Neither the Department nor the managing 
agent will be liable for payment of any financial obligations of the residential program or of its 
controlling individuals incurred prior to the commencement of the receivership period unless 
such liability is expressly assumed in the receivership agreement.  Those financial obligations 
remain the liability of the residential program and its controlling individuals.  Financial 
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obligations of the residential program incurred after the commencement of the receivership 
period are the responsibility of the Department or the managing agent to the extent such 
obligations are expressly assumed by each in the receivership or management agreements.  The 
controlling individuals of the residential program remain liable for any financial obligations 
incurred after the commencement of the receivership period to the extent these obligations are 
not reimburse in the rate paid to the residential program and are reasonable and necessary to the 
operation of the residential program.  These financial obligations, or any other financial 
obligations incurred by the residential program prior to the commencement of the receivership 
period that are necessary to the continued operation of the residential program, may be deducted 
from any rental payments owed to the controlling receivership agreement. 

Section 7.070 Physical plant of the residential program.  Occupation of the physical plant 
after commencement of the receivership period will be controlled by items A and B.  

A. If the physical plant of a residential program placed in receivership is owned by a 
controlling individual or related party, the physical plant may be used by the Department or the 
managing agent for purposes of the receivership as long as the receivership period continues.  A 
fair monthly rental will be paid by the Department or the managing agent to the owner of the 
physical plant.  This fair monthly rental will be determined by considering all relevant factors 
necessary to meet required arms-length obligations of controlling individuals.  This rental will 
not include any allowance for profit or be based on any formula that includes an allowance for 
profit. 

B. If the owner of the physical plant is not a related party, the controlling individual shall 
continue as the lessee of the property.  However, during the receivership period, rental payments 
shall be made to the owner of the physical plant by the Department or the managing agent on 
behalf of the controlling individual.  Neither the Department nor the managing agent assumes the 
obligations of the lease unless expressly stated in the agreement.  Should the lease expire during 
the receivership, the Department or the managing agent may negotiate a new lease for the term 
of the receivership period. 

Section 7.080  Receivership costs.  The Department may use the accounts and funds that would 
have been available for the room and board, services, and program costs of persons in the 
residential program for costs, cash flow, and accounting purposes related to the receivership. 

SECTION 8.000 INVOLUNTARY RECEIVERSHIP. 

Section 8.010 Application.  In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the Department 
may petition the district court in the county where the program is located for an order directing 
the controlling individuals of the program to show cause why the Department should not be 
appointed receiver to operate the program.  The petition must contain proof by affidavit: (1) that 
the Department has either begun license suspension or revocation proceedings, suspended or 
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revoked a license, or has decided to deny an application for licensure of the program; or (2) it 
appears to the Department that the health, safety, or rights of the residents may be in jeopardy 
because of the manner in which the program may close, the program's financial condition, or 
violations committed by the program of federal or state laws or rules.  If the license holder, 
applicant, or controlling individual operates more than one program, the Department's petition 
will specify and be limited to the residential program for which it seeks receivership. The 
affidavit submitted must set forth alternatives to receivership that have been considered, 
including rate adjustments.  The order to show cause is returnable not less than five days after 
service is completed and must provide for personal service of a copy to the program 
administrator and to the persons designated as agents by the controlling individuals to accept 
service on their behalf. 

Section 8.020 Appointment of receiver.  If the court finds that involuntary receivership is 
necessary as a means of protecting the health, safety, or rights of persons being served by the 
program, the court will appoint the Department as receiver to operate the program.  The 
Department may contract with another entity or group to act as the managing agent during the 
receivership period.  The managing agent will be responsible for the day-to-day operations of the 
program subject at all times to the review and approval of the Department. 

Section 8.030 Powers and duties of the receiver.  Within 36 months after the receivership 
order, the receiver will provide for the orderly transfer of the persons served by the program to 
other residential programs or make other provisions to protect their health, safety, and rights.  
The receiver or managing agent will correct or eliminate deficiencies in the program that the 
Department determines endanger the health, safety, or welfare of the persons being served by the 
residential program unless the correction or elimination of deficiencies involves major alteration 
in the structure of the physical plant.  If the correction or elimination of the deficiencies requires 
major alterations in the structure of the physical plant, the receiver will take actions designed to 
result in the immediate transfer of persons served by the program.  During the period of the 
receivership, the receiver and the managing agent will operate the program in a manner designed 
to preserve the health, safety, rights, adequate care, and supervision of the persons served by the 
program.  The receiver or the managing agent may make contracts and incur lawful expenses.  
The receiver or the managing agent shall collect incoming payments from all sources and apply 
them to the cost incurred in the performance of the functions of the receivership.  No security 
interest in any real or personal property comprising the residential program or contained within 
it, or in any fixture of the physical plant, shall be impaired or diminished in priority by the 
receiver or the managing agent. 

Section 8.040 Liability and liability for financial obligations.  These are the same as those for 
voluntary receivership that are found in Section 7.000. 

Section 8.050 Physical plant of the residential program.  Occupation of the physical plant is 
governed by the following: 
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A. The physical plant owned by a controlling individual of the residential program or 
related party must be made available for the use of the program throughout the receivership 
period.  The court will determine a fair monthly rental for the plant, taking into account all 
relevant factors necessary to meet required arms-length obligations of controlling individuals.  
The rental fee must be paid by the receiver to the appropriate controlling individuals or related 
parties for each month that the receivership remains in effect.  No payment made to a controlling 
individual or related party by the receiver or the managing agent or any state agency during a 
period of the receivership shall include any allowance for profit or be based on any formula that 
includes an allowance for profit. 

B.  If the owner of the physical plant of a program is not a related party, the court will 
order the controlling individual to continue as the lessee of the property during the receivership 
period.  Rental payments during the receivership period shall be made to the owner of the 
physical plant by the Department or the managing agent on behalf of the controlling individual.   

Section 8.060 Fee.  A receiver or the managing agent is entitled to a reasonable fee as 
determined by the court. 

Section 8.070 Termination.  An involuntary receivership terminates 36 months after the date on 
which it was ordered or at any other time designated by the court or when any of the following 
occurs: 

A. The Department determines that the program's license application should be granted 
or should not be suspended or revoked. 

B.  A new license is granted to the program. 

C.  The Department determines that all persons residing in the program have been 
provided with alternative residential programs. 

D. The residential program closes. 

Section 8.080 Emergency procedure. If it appears from the petition filed or from the affidavit 
filed with the petition or from testimony of witnesses under oath, that there is probable cause to 
believe that an emergency exists in a program, the court must issue a temporary order for 
appointment of a receiver within five days after receipt of the petition.  Notice of the petition 
must be served on the residential program administrator and on the persons designated as agents 
by the controlling individuals to accept service on their behalf.  A hearing on the petition must be 
held within five days after notice is served unless the administrator or designated agent consents 
to a later date.  After the hearing, the court may continue, modify, or terminate the temporary 
order. 

Section 8.090 Rate recommendation.  The Department may review rates of a program 
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participating in the Medical Assistance Program that is in receivership and that has needs or 
deficiencies documented by the Department of Health or the Department of Human Services.  If 
the Department determines that a review of the rate established is needed, the Department will: 

A. Review the order or determination that cites the deficiencies or needs. 

B.  Determine the need for additional staff, additional annual hours by type of employee, 
and additional consultants, services, supplies, equipment, repairs, or capital assets necessary to 
satisfy the needs or deficiencies. 

Section 8.100 Adjustment to the rate.  Upon review of rates the Department may adjust the 
program's payment rate.  The Department will review the circumstances, together with the most 
recent residential program income and expense report, to determine whether or not the 
deficiencies or needs can be corrected or met by reallocating residential program staff, costs, 
revenues, or any other resources including investments.  If the Department determines that any 
deficiency cannot be corrected or the need cannot be met with the payment rate currently being 
paid, the Department must determine the payment rate adjustment by dividing the additional 
annual costs established during the Department's review by the residential program's actual 
resident days from the most recent income and expense report or the estimated resident days in 
the projected receivership period.  The payment rate adjustment remains in effect during period 
of the receivership or until another date set by the Department.  Upon the subsequent sale, 
closure or transfer of the program, the Department may recover amounts that were paid as 
payment rate adjustments under this section.  This recovery is determined through a review of 
actual costs and resident days in the receivership period.  The costs the Department finds to be 
allowable are divided by the actual resident days for the receivership period.  This rate is 
compared to the rate paid throughout the receivership period, with the difference multiplied by 
resident days, being the amount to be repaid to the Department.  Allowable costs are determined 
by the Department as those ordinary, necessary, and related to resident care by prudent and cost-
conscious management.  The buyer or transferee shall repay this amount to the Department 
within 60 days after the Department notifies the buyer or transferee of the obligation to repay. 

Section 8.110 Receivership costs.  The Department may use the accounts and funds that would 
have been available for the room and board, services, and program costs of persons in the 
residential program for costs, cash flow, and accounting purposes related to the receivership. 

SECTION 9.000 SPECIAL SITUATIONS. 

Section 9.010 Closure.  In order to facilitate an orderly transition of residents from community 
ICFs/MR to services provided under the home and community-based services waiver programs, 
upon closure of a facility, the facility’s contract is null and void. 

Section 9.020 Variable rate adjustments.  The following items apply for the payment rate 
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adjustment. 

A. A resident’s county of financial responsibility requests a variable rate adjustment. 
The request must be for an amount not otherwise paid for through a facility’s per diem.  

The Department grants variable rate adjustments after considering: 

(1) changes in a resident’s condition(s); 

(2)  the typical cost to treat the condition(s), based on the community standard; 
and  

(3)  the facility’s staffing levels.  

B.  Variable rate adjustments will not exceed $274.00 per day, per occurrence. 

C.  With one exception, variable rate adjustments may  be  granted for up to one  year.  

Variable rate adjustments may  exceed one  year when there is a documented increase in the  needs 
of a resident due to the resident’s full or partial permanent retirement from participation in a day  
training and habilitation program.  The  resident must:  

(1)  be at least age 65 or have a change in health condition that makes it  
difficult for the resident to participate in a day training and habilitation program over  an 
extended period of time; and  

(2)  express a desire for change through the developmental disability  mental 
retardation  and related  conditions screening process.  

D.  Effective July 1,  2003, facilities with base rates above the 50th  percentile of  the 
statewide average payment rate for Class A or Class B facilities are not eligible for a variable 
rate adjustment.   Effective July 1, 2009 through June 30, 2010  variable rate adjustments in effect 
on June 30, 2009 are frozen and no new variable rate adjustments will be approved.   

Section 9.030 Relocation.  

A. For the initial rate year, property rates for facilities relocated after December 31, 
1997, and up to and including October 1, 2000, have the full annual costs of relocation included 
in the initial rate year property rate.  The property rate for the relocated facility is subject to the 
costs that were allowable in the State plan in effect on September 30, 2000 and the investment 
per bed limitation for newly constructed or newly established class B facilities. 

B. As of January 1, 2002, property rates for facilities relocated after October 1, 2000 
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may be adjusted.  

(1)  Relocated facilities are subject to the investment per bed limit for newly  
constructed or newly established class B facilities.  The limits are adjusted on January 1 of each 
year by the percentage increase in the construction index published by the Bureau of Economic  
Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce in  the Survey of Current Business 
Statistics in October of the previous two years.  Facilities that are relocated within the investment 
per bed limit may be approved by the statewide advisory committee.  

(2)  Rate adjustments for facilities that relocate within the investment per bed 
limit are reviewed by the statewide advisory committee.  

C.  Costs for relocation exceeding the investment per  bed limit are absorbed by the 
facility.  

Section 9.040 Disasters. 

A. Notwithstanding a provision to the contrary, effective June 6, 2003, a facility may 
receive payments for expenses specifically incurred due to a disaster.  Payments will be based on 
actual documented costs for the period during which the costs were incurred, and will be paid as 
an add-on to the facility’s payment rate, or as a lump sum payment.  The actual costs paid will be 
reported on the next annual income and expense cost report as non-allowable costs, in order to 
avoid duplicate payment. Costs submitted for payments will be subject to review and approval 
by the Department.  The Department’s decision is final and not subject to appeal. 

B. For transfers, the rates continue to apply for evacuated facilities, and residents are 
not counted as admissions to facilities that admit them. 

Section 9.050  Temporary adjustments for short-term admissions for crisis or specialized  
medical care.  

A. Effective July 1, 2003, the Department may designate up to 25 beds in facilities 
statewide for short-term admissions due to crisis care needs or care for medically fragile 
individuals.  The Department may designate short-term beds based on the short-term care needs 
of a region or a county. 

B. The Department will adjust the monthly facility rate to provide payment for 
vacancies in designated short-term beds by an amount equal to the rate for each recipient 
residing in a designated bed for up to 15 days per bed per month. 
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	6.d. Other practitioners’ services. (continued) 
	Payment for public health nurse assessments for personal care services is the lower of the submitted charge or the rate from the chartbelow. 
	Payment for public health nurse assessments for personal care services is the lower of the submitted charge or the rate from the chartbelow. 
	The rates 
	are as follows: 
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	DEC 15 2015
	DEC 15 2015
	DEC 15 2015

	Service 
	Service 
	10/1/06 
	10/1/07 
	7/1/08 
	10/1/08 
	7/1/09 
	7/1/13 
	4/1/14 
	7/1/14 

	Initial Public Health Nursing Assessment Visit for Personal Care Services (in­person) 
	Initial Public Health Nursing Assessment Visit for Personal Care Services (in­person) 
	$257.42 /visit 
	$262.57 /visit 
	$262.57 /visit 
	$267.82 /visit 
	$260.91 /visit 
	$258.29 /visit 
	$260.87 /visit 
	$273.91 /visit 

	Public Health Nursing Reassessment Visit for Personal Care Services submitted prior to the end date of current PCA service authorization 
	Public Health Nursing Reassessment Visit for Personal Care Services submitted prior to the end date of current PCA service authorization 
	$257.42 
	$262.57 
	$262.57 
	$267.82 
	$260.91 /visit 
	$258.29 /visit 
	$260.87 /visit 
	$273.91 /visit 

	Public Health Nursing Service Update submitted prior to the end date of current PCA service authorization 
	Public Health Nursing Service Update submitted prior to the end date of current PCA service authorization 
	$128.72 
	$131.29 
	$131.29 
	$133.92 
	$130.46 /visit 
	$129.14 /visit 
	$130.43 /visit 
	$136.95 /visit 

	Public Health Nursing Reassessment Visit for PCA Services submitted after the end date of current PCA service authorization. 
	Public Health Nursing Reassessment Visit for PCA Services submitted after the end date of current PCA service authorization. 
	$196.93 
	$200.86 
	$195.68 

	Public Health Nursing Service Update submitted after the end date of current PCA service authorization. 
	Public Health Nursing Service Update submitted after the end date of current PCA service authorization. 
	$98.47 
	$100.44 
	$97.84 
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	7.a. Intermittent or part-time nursing service provided by a home health agency or by a registered nurse when no home health agency
	exists in the area. 

	Payment is the lower of: 
	Payment is the lower of: 

	1) submitted charge; or 
	1) submitted charge; or 

	2) Medicare cost-per-visit limits based on Medicare cost reportssubmitted by free-standing home health agencies in the Minneapolis and St. Paul area in the calendar year specified instate legislation governing maximum payment rates. 
	2) Medicare cost-per-visit limits based on Medicare cost reportssubmitted by free-standing home health agencies in the Minneapolis and St. Paul area in the calendar year specified instate legislation governing maximum payment rates. 

	Effective July 1, 1994, this payment rate is increased by threepercent. 
	Effective July 1, 1994, this payment rate is increased by threepercent. 

	Payment for skilled nurse visits is the lower of the submitted charge or the rate from the chart below. 
	Service providedon or after 
	Service providedon or after 
	Service providedon or after 
	07/01/2009 
	09/01/2011 
	07/01/2013 
	04/01/2014 
	07/01/2014 

	Skilled nurse visit 
	Skilled nurse visit 
	$70.75 
	$69.69 
	$70.04 
	$70.74 
	$74.28 


	Immunizations and other injectables are paid using the same methodology as Item 2.a., Outpatient hospital services. 
	Home health agencies that administer pediatric vaccines in item 2.a.,Outpatient hospital services, available through the Minnesota Vaccinesfor Children Program pursuant to §1928 of the Act, are paid using the same methodology in item 2.a. for these vaccines. 
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	7.b. Home health aide services provided by a home health agency. 
	Payment is the lower of: 
	Payment is the lower of: 

	1) submitted charge; or 
	1) submitted charge; or 

	2) Medicare cost-per-visit limits based on Medicare cost reportssubmitted by free-standing home health agencies in the Minneapolis and St. Paul area in the calendar year specified instate legislation governing maximum payment rates. 
	2) Medicare cost-per-visit limits based on Medicare cost reportssubmitted by free-standing home health agencies in the Minneapolis and St. Paul area in the calendar year specified instate legislation governing maximum payment rates. 

	Effective July 1,1994, this payment rate is increased by three percent. 
	Effective July 1,1994, this payment rate is increased by three percent. 

	Payment for home health aide visits is the lower of the submittedcharge or the rate from the chart below. 
	Service providedon or after 
	Service providedon or after 
	Service providedon or after 
	07/01/2009 
	09/01/2011 
	07/01/2013 
	04/01/2014 
	07/01/2014 

	Home Health Aide Visit 
	Home Health Aide Visit 
	$54.29 
	$ 53.48 
	$53.75 
	$54.29 
	$57.00 
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	7.d. Physical therapy, occupational therapy or speech pathology andaudiology services provided by a home health or medical rehabilitation
	agency. 

	Physical therapist, occupational therapist, speech pathologist andaudiologist services provided by a home health agency are paid thelower of: 
	Physical therapist, occupational therapist, speech pathologist andaudiologist services provided by a home health agency are paid thelower of: 

	1) submitted charge; or
	1) submitted charge; or

	2) 
	Medicare cost-per-visit limits based on Medicare cost reportssubmitted by free-standing home health agencies in the Minneapolis and St. Paul area in calendar year 1982. 

	Payment for therapy visits is the lower of the submitted charge or therate from the chart below. 
	Service providedon or after 
	Service providedon or after 
	Service providedon or after 
	07/01/2009 
	09/01/2011 
	07/01/2013 
	04/01/2014 
	07/01/2014 

	Physical TherapyVisit (PT) 
	Physical TherapyVisit (PT) 
	$66.38 
	$ 65.38 
	$65.71 
	$66.37 
	$69.69 

	Physical TherapyVisit (Ass’t) 
	Physical TherapyVisit (Ass’t) 
	$43.15 
	$ 42.50 
	$42.71 
	$43.14 
	$45.30 

	Speech TherapyVisit 
	Speech TherapyVisit 
	$67.39 
	$ 66.38 
	$66.71 
	$67.38 
	$70.75 

	OccupationalTherapy Vist (OT) 
	OccupationalTherapy Vist (OT) 
	$67.74 
	$ 66.72 
	$67.05 
	$67.72 
	$71.11 

	OccupationalTherapy Visit(Ass’t) 
	OccupationalTherapy Visit(Ass’t) 
	$44.03 
	$ 43.37 
	$43.59 
	$44.03 
	$46.22 

	RespiratoryTherapy Visit 
	RespiratoryTherapy Visit 
	$46.91 
	$ 46.21 
	$46.44 
	$46.90 
	$49.25 


	Physical therapy assistant and occupational therapy assistant servicesprovided by a home health agency are paid using the same methodologyas items 11a., Physical therapy and 11b., Occupational therapy. 
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	8. Private duty nursing services. 
	Payment for private duty nursing services is the lower of the submitted chargeor the rate from the chart below. 
	; 
	following: 

	Service provided on orafter 
	Service provided on orafter 
	Service provided on orafter 
	07/01/2009 
	09/01/2011 
	07/01/2013 
	04/01/2014 
	07/01/2014 

	Private DutyNursing L.P.N.Unit 
	Private DutyNursing L.P.N.Unit 
	$6.30 
	$ 6.21 
	$6.24 
	$6.30 
	$6.62 

	Private DutyR.N. Unit 
	Private DutyR.N. Unit 
	$8.21 
	$ 8.09 
	$8.13 
	$8.21 
	$8.62 

	Private DutyL.P.N. (complex) 
	Private DutyL.P.N. (complex) 
	$7.39 
	$ 7.28 
	$7.32 
	$7.39 
	$7.76 

	Private DutyR.N. (complex) 
	Private DutyR.N. (complex) 
	$9.85 
	$ 9.70 
	$9.75 
	$9.85 
	$10.34 


	NOTE: 1 unit = 15 minutes 
	NOTE: 1 unit = 15 minutes 
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	10. Dental services (continued): 
	X-ray services are paid according to the dental services methodologylisted above. Effective January 1, 2002, payment for x-ray services provided to recipients under age 21 are paid the lower of: 
	1) the submitted charge; or.2) 85% of the median charges submitted in 1999.. 
	Diagnostic examinations are paid according to the dental servicesmethodology listed above. Effective January 1, 2002, payment fordiagnostic examinations provided to recipients under age 21 are paidthe lower of: 
	1) the submitted charge; or.2) 85% of the median charges submitted in 1999.. 
	Effective for services provided on or after October 1, 1999, tooth sealants and fluoride treatments are paid at the lower of: 
	1) submitted charge; or.2) 80% of the median charges submitted in 1997.. 
	Effective January 1, 2000, the rate is increased by three percent. 
	Medical and surgical services (as defined by the Department) furnishedby dentists are paid using the same methodology as item 5.a.,Physicians’ services. 
	Community health worker services educating patients to promote goodoral health and self-management of dental conditions when supervised by a dentist are paid using the same methodology that applies tocommunity health workers in item 5.a., Physicians’ services. 
	The base rates as described in this item are adjusted by the followingclauses of Supplement 2 of this Attachment: 
	X. Dental Services rate decrease 2011 (does not apply to state operated dental clinics) 
	cc. Supplemental payment for medical education
	cc. Supplemental payment for medical education
	dd. Dental Services rate increase 2014 
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	26. 
	Personal care services. 

	Payment is the lower of the submitted chargeor the rate from the .chart below. 
	, 
	state agency established rate:. 

	Service provided on orafter 
	Service provided on orafter 
	Service provided on orafter 
	07/01/2009 
	09/01/2011 
	07/01/2013 
	04/01/2014 
	07/01/2014 

	Personal Care 1:1 unit 
	Personal Care 1:1 unit 
	$3.96 
	$3.90 
	$3.92 
	$3.96 
	$4.16 

	Personal Care 1:2 unit 
	Personal Care 1:2 unit 
	$2.97 
	$2.93 
	$2.94 
	$2.97 
	$3.12 

	Personal Care 1:3 unit 
	Personal Care 1:3 unit 
	$2.61 
	$2.57 
	$2.58 
	$2.61 
	$2.74 

	Supervision ofPersonal Care unit 
	Supervision ofPersonal Care unit 
	$6.96 
	$6.86 
	$6.89 
	$6.96 
	$7.31 


	[NOTE: 1 unit = 15 minutes]Shared care: For two recipients sharing services, payment is one and one-half times the payment for serving one recipient.  For three recipients sharing services, payment must not exceed two times thepayment for serving one recipient. This paragraph applies only tosituations in which all recipients were present and received sharedservices on the date for which the service is billed. 
	PCA Choice option: Payment is the same as that paid for personal careassistant services. 
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	Supersedes: 11-02and specialized maintenance physical therapy, occupational therapy,and speech, language and hearing therapy services, and respiratory therapy services (Item 13.d)
	•. 
	•. 
	•. 
	services for individuals age 65 or older in institutions for mentaldiseases (Item 14)

	•. 
	•. 
	inpatient psychiatric facility services for individuals under 22years of age (Item 16)

	•. 
	•. 
	nurse midwife services (Item 17)

	•. 
	•. 
	pregnancy-related and postpartum services for 60 days after thepregnancy ends (Item 20.a)

	•. 
	•. 
	services for any other medical condition that may complicatepregnancy (Item 20.b) 

	•. 
	•. 
	certified pediatric or family nurse practitioner services (Item 23)

	•. 
	•. 
	licensed ambulance services, excluding volunteer ambulance services(Item 24.a)

	•. 
	•. 
	emergency hospital services (Item 24.e) 

	E. 
	E. 
	Modifiers 22 modifier: unusual procedural services = additional reimbursement based on line description or claim attachment. This modifier specifies a ratio for twin delivery and VBAC delivery. All other services are priced according to the service rendered. (Item 5.a) 


	99 modifier: multiple modifier = may be an increase or a decrease to the reference file allowable depending on the modifiersrepresented within the 99. (Item 5.a) 
	F. Family PlanningEffective for services provided on or after July 1, 2007, familyplanning services provided by family planning clinics, public healthclinics and community health clinics are paid 25% over the rate ineffect on June 30, 2007. (Item 5.a.) 
	Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2011, familyplanning services provided by family planning clinics, public healthclinics and community health clinics are paid 25% over the rate ineffect on January 1, 2011. (Item 5.a.) 
	Effective for services provided on or after July 1, 2013, familyplanning services provided by family planning clinics, public healthclinics and community health clinics are paid 20% over the rate ineffect on June 30, 2013. (Item 5.a.) 
	G. Community and Public Health ClinicEffective July 1, 1989, rates for services provided by community andpublic health clinics are increased by 20%, except for laboratoryservices. 
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	cc. Supplemental payment for medical education (cont’d)
	Qualifying Provider. “Qualifying provider” means a Medical Assistanceenrolled hospital, medical center, clinic, practitioner, or otherorganization that provides accredited clinical training of: physicians(medical students and residents), doctor of pharmacy practitioners, doctorsof chiropractic, dentists, advance practice nurses (clinical nursespecialists, certified registered nurse anesthetists, nurse practitioners, and certified nurse midwives), and physician assistants, and effective July1, 2015, dental t
	dd. Dental Services rate increase 2014 
	dd. Dental Services rate increase 2014 
	dd. Dental Services rate increase 2014 

	Effective for services provided on or after January 1, 2014, payment rates for dental services shall be increased by five percent from the rates ineffect on December 31, 2013. This increase does not apply to state-operated dental clinics, federally qualified health centers, rural health centers,
	Indian Health Service, and tribal 638 facilities. 
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	MENTAL RETARDATION 
	MR
	DD

	TABLE OF CONTENTS 
	Section 1.000 Introduction 
	Section 1.000 Introduction 
	Section 1.000 Introduction 

	1.010 
	1.010 
	General purpose 

	1.020 
	1.020 
	Rate methodology 

	1.030 
	1.030 
	Definitions 



	Section 2.000 General reporting requirements 
	Section 2.000 General reporting requirements 
	2.010 Required income and expense reports 
	2.020 Required information 
	2.030 Occupancy reports 
	2.040 Deadlines, extensions, and rejections 
	2.050 False reports 
	2.060 Adequate documentation 
	Section 3.000 Quality improvement plan 

	Section 4.000 Determination of total payment rate 
	Section 4.000 Determination of total payment rate 
	4.010 Total payment rate 
	4.020 Increase in payment rate beginning June 6, 2003 
	4.030 Limitations to total payment rate 
	4.040 Increase in payment rate beginning March 1, 2006 
	4.050 Payment rate for new facilities in Hennepin County 
	4.060 Payment rate for new facilities in Hibbing and Chisholm 
	4.070 Payment rate for facilities in Clearwater County 
	4.080 Payment rate for facilities in Kandiyohi County 
	4.090 Payment rate for facilities in  Clearwater County 
	4.100 Decrease in payment rate beginning September 1, 2011 
	4.110 Decrease in payment rate beginning September 1, 2011 
	4.120 
	4.120 
	Payment rates for certain facilities in Cottonwood County 

	4.130 
	4.130 
	Increase in payment rate beginning July 1, 2013 

	4.140 
	4.140 
	Increase in payment rate beginning July 1, 2013 

	4.150 
	4.150 
	Increase in payment rates beginning April 1, 2014 

	Section 5.000 Day services charges 
	Section 6.000 Appeal procedures 
	6.010 Scope of appeals 
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	6.020. Filing of appeals. 
	6.030. Contested case procedures appeals review process. 
	6.040. Attorney’s fees and costs..
	6.050. Legal and related expenses. 

	Section 7.000 Voluntary receivership 
	Section 7.000 Voluntary receivership 
	7.010. Receivership agreement. 
	7.020. Management agreement. 
	7.030. Rate adjustment. 
	7.040. Controlling individuals; restrictions on licensure. 
	7.050. Liability. 
	7.060. Liability for financial obligations. 
	7.070. Physical plant of the residential program. 
	7.080. Receivership costs. 

	Section 8.000 Involuntary receivership 
	Section 8.000 Involuntary receivership 
	8.010. Application. 
	8.020. Appointment of receiver. 
	8.030. Powers and duties of the receiver. 
	8.040. Liability and liability for financial obligations. 
	8.050. Physical plant of the residential program. 
	8.060. Fee. 
	8.070. Termination. 
	8.080. Emergency procedure. 
	8.090. Rate recommendation. 
	8.100. Adjustment to the rate. 
	8.110. Receivership costs. 

	Section 9.000 Special situations 
	Section 9.000 Special situations 
	9.010. Closure. 
	9.020. Variable rate adjustments. 
	9.030. Relocation. 
	9.040. Disasters. 
	9.050. Temporary adjustments for short-term admissions for crisis or specialized .medical care. 
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	METHODS AND STANDARDS FOR DETERMINING PAYMENT RATES. FOR SERVICES PROVIDED BY INTERMEDIATE CARE FACILITIES FOR. PERSONS WITH DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES. (ICFs/) THAT ARE NOT PAID ON A COST BASIS. 
	MENTAL RETARDATION 
	MR
	DD

	SECTION 1.000  INTRODUCTION. 
	Section 1.010 General purpose.  The purpose of Minnesota's methods and standards for determining medical assistance payment rates for ICFs/MR that are not paid on a cost basis is to provide for rates in conformity with applicable state and federal laws, regulations and quality and safety standards.  Minnesota has in place a public process that complies with the requirements of Section 1902(a)(13)(A) of the Social Security Act. In determining the rates, the Department of Human Services takes into account the
	Facilities participating in the Minnesota Medical Assistance Program are paid by a prospective rate-setting methodology, based upon a contracting system.  This methodology, established in Minnesota statutes, is described in this attachment. 
	Facilities contract with the Department in order to receive payment.  Contracts include descriptions of payments that may be modified  when significant changes occur in residents’ needs, the establishment and use of a quality improvement plan, appropriate and necessary statistical information required by the Department, annual aggregate facility financial information, and additional requirements for facilities not meeting the standards set forth in each contract. 
	Section 1.020 Rate methodology. The total payment rate for ICFs/MR in existence as of October 1, 2000, is the sum of the operating payment rate and the property payment rate. 
	Section 1.030 Definitions.  For the purposes of Sections 2.000 to 9.060, the following terms have the meanings given them in this section. 
	Capacity days.  "Capacity days" means the total number of licensed beds in the facility multiplied by the number of days in the reporting year. 
	Capital assets.  "Capital assets" means a facility's land, physical plant, land improvements, depreciable equipment, leasehold improvements, capitalized improvements and repairs, and all additions to or replacement of those assets. 
	Capital debt. "Capital debt" means a debt incurred by the facility for the purpose of purchasing a capital asset, to the extent that the proceeds of the debt were actually applied to purchase the capital asset including points, financing charges, and bond premiums or discounts.  Capital debt includes debt incurred for the purpose of refinancing a capital debt. 
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	Class A beds.  "Class A beds" means beds licensed for ambulatory and mobile persons who are capable of taking appropriate action for self-preservation under emergency conditions as determined by state and federal licensing law. 
	Class B beds.  "Class B beds" means beds for ambulatory, nonambulatory, mobile, or nonmobile persons who are not mentally or physically capable of taking appropriate action for self-preservation under emergency conditions as determined by state and federal licensing law. 
	Commissioner. "Commissioner" means the commissioner of the Minnesota Department of Human Services. 
	Day services. “Day services” means services or supports provided to a resident that enables the 
	resident to be fully integrated into the community.  Day services may include supported work, support during community activities, day training and habilitation, community volunteer activity, adult day care, recreational activities, and other individualized integrated supports. 
	Department.  "Department" means the Minnesota Department of Human Services. 
	Depreciable equipment. "Depreciable equipment" means the standard moveable resident care equipment and support service equipment generally used in an ICF/. Depreciable equipment includes the equipment specified in the major moveable equipment table of the depreciation guidelines. 
	MR
	DD

	Depreciation guidelines.  "Depreciation guidelines" means The Estimated Useful Lives of Depreciable Hospital Assets, issued by the American Hospital Association, 840 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, Illinois (Chicago: 1983).  The depreciation guidelines are incorporated by reference and are available for reference at the Minnesota State Law Library, Minnesota Judicial Center, 25 Constitution Avenue, Saint Paul, Minnesota, 55155.  Only the 1983 publication will be used and will not change. 
	Desk audit.  "Desk audit" means the Department’s review and analysis of required reports, supporting documentation, and work sheets submitted by the provider. 
	Direct cost.  "Direct cost" means a cost that can be identified within a general cost category without the use of allocation methods. 
	Facility.  "Facility" or "ICF/" means a program licensed to serve persons with or related conditions under state laws, and a physical plant licensed as a supervised living facility under state laws, which together are certified by the Minnesota Department of Health as an intermediate care facility for the . 
	MR
	DD
	metal retardation 
	developmental disabilities 
	developmentally disabled 
	mentally retarded

	STATE: MINNESOTA 
	STATE: MINNESOTA 
	STATE: MINNESOTA 
	ATTACHMENT 4.19-D (ICF/DD) 

	Effective: July 1, 2013 
	Effective: July 1, 2013 
	Page 105 

	TN: 13-23 Approved: DEC 15 2015 
	TN: 13-23 Approved: DEC 15 2015 

	Supersedes:  11-14 (10-17, 09-14, 08-14, 07-15 ,06-08, 05-18, 03-16, 03-05, 02-14/01-12/0030/00-20/00-16/99-22/99-13/98-35/98-21/97-35/97-27/96-32/96-20/95-40/9419/93-38/92-39/91-36/90-09/89-65/89-56/88-86/88-24/87-81) 
	Supersedes:  11-14 (10-17, 09-14, 08-14, 07-15 ,06-08, 05-18, 03-16, 03-05, 02-14/01-12/0030/00-20/00-16/99-22/99-13/98-35/98-21/97-35/97-27/96-32/96-20/95-40/9419/93-38/92-39/91-36/90-09/89-65/89-56/88-86/88-24/87-81) 
	-
	-



	Fringe benefits.  "Fringe benefits" means workers' compensation insurance (including self-insurance plans), group health insurance, disability insurance, dental insurance, group life insurance, and retirement benefits or plans. 
	Leasehold improvement.  "Leasehold improvement" means an improvement to property leased by the provider for the use of the facility that reverts to the owner of the property upon termination of the lease. 
	Medical assistance program.  "Medical assistance program" means the program that reimburses the cost of health care provided to eligible residents pursuant to state and federal law. 
	Modified property payment rate.  “Modified property payment rate” means the actual property 
	payment rate exclusive of the effect of gains or losses on disposal of capital assets or adjustments for excess depreciation claims. 
	Necessary service.  "Necessary service" means a function pertinent to the facility's operation that if not performed by the assigned individual would have required the provider to employ or assign another individual to perform it. 
	Occupancy report.  “Occupancy report” means the report submitted monthly by a facility indicating bed use data by client for the preceding month. 
	Payroll taxes.  "Payroll taxes" means the employer's share of social security withholding taxes, and state and federal unemployment compensation taxes or costs. 
	Physical plant.  "Physical plant" means the building or buildings in which a program licensed to provide services to persons with or related conditions under state law is located, and all equipment affixed to the building and not easily subject to transfer as specified in the building and fixed equipment tables of the depreciation guidelines, and auxiliary buildings in the nature of sheds, garages, and storage buildings located on the same site if related to resident care, and the allocated portion of offic
	developmental disabilities 
	mental retardation 

	Private paying resident.  "Private paying resident" means a facility resident whose care is not paid for by the medical assistance program, cost of care program, or the Community Social Services Block Grant for the date of service. 
	Program.  "Program" means those functions and activities of the facility that contribute to the care, supervision, developmental growth, and skill acquisition of the residents under state and federal laws. 
	Provider.  "Provider" means the corporation, governmental unit, partnership, person, or persons 
	Provider.  "Provider" means the corporation, governmental unit, partnership, person, or persons 
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	licensed to operate the facility, which controls the facility's operation, incurs the costs reported, and claims reimbursement under Sections 1.010 to 9.060 or the care provided in the facility. 
	Provider group.  "Provider group" means a parent corporation, any subsidiary corporations, partnerships, management organizations, and groups of facilities operated under common ownership or control that incurred the costs shown on the income and expense report that are claimed for reimbursement under Sections 1.010 to 9.060. 
	Quality improvement plan.  “Quality improvement plan” means the document submitted by a facility to the Department describing the facility’s quality improvement process. 
	Rate adjustment.  “Rate adjustment” means a rate change granted by the Department.  The amount available for rate adjustments is set by legislative appropriation. 
	Rate year.  For the initial year, "rate year" means the period for which the total payment rate is effective, from October 1, 2000 through December 31, 2001.  Thereafter, “rate year” means a calendar year. 
	Related organization.  "Related organization" means a person that furnishes goods or services to a facility and that is a close relative of a provider or a provider group, an affiliate of a provider or provider group, or an affiliate of a close relative of an affiliate of a provider or provider group. For the purposes of this definition, the following terms have the meanings given them. 
	A. "Affiliate" means a person that directly, or indirectly though one or more intermediaries, controls, or is controlled by, or is under common control with another person. 
	B.  "Person" means an individual, a corporation, a partnership, an association, a trust, an unincorporated organization, or a government or political subdivision. 
	C.  "Close relative of an affiliate of a provider or provider group" means an individual whose relationship by blood, marriage, or adoption to an individual who is an affiliate of a provider or provider group is no more remote than first cousin. 
	D. "Control" including the terms "controlling", "controlled by", and "under common control with" means the possession, direct or indirect, of the power to direct or cause the direction of the management, operations, or policies of a person, whether through the ownership of voting securities, by contract or otherwise. 
	Repair. "Repair" means the cost of labor and materials needed to restore an existing capital asset to sound condition after damage or malfunction or to maintain an existing capital asset in a usable condition. 
	Reporting year.  "Reporting year" means the period from January 1 to December 31 immediately preceding the rate year, for which the provider submits its income and expense 
	Reporting year.  "Reporting year" means the period from January 1 to December 31 immediately preceding the rate year, for which the provider submits its income and expense 
	STATE: MINNESOTA ATTACHMENT 4.19-D (ICF/DD) Effective: July 1, 2013 Page 107 TN: 13-23 

	DEC 15 2015
	Approved: 
	Supersedes:  11-14 (10-17, 09-14, 08-14, 07-15 ,06-08, 05-18, 03-16, 03-05, 02-14/01-12/0030/00-20/00-16/99-22/99-13/98-35/98-21/97-35/97-27/96-32/96-20/95-40/9419/93-38/92-39/91-36/90-09/89-65/89-56/88-86/88-24/87-81) 
	-
	-

	report. 
	Resident day.  "Resident day" means a day on which services provided to residents are rendered and billable, or a day for which a bed is held and billed. 
	Statewide advisory committee.  “Statewide advisory committee” means the committee charged 
	with reviewing county and provider proposals and making recommendations to the Department regarding facility payment rate adjustments.  The committee uses established criteria for ranking proposals in order to make recommendations. 
	Total payment rate.  "Total payment rate" means the amount established by the commissioner to reimburse the provider for service provided to each resident.  The total payment rate is calculated by adding the operating payment and the property payment rate. 
	Variable rate.  A rate approved by the Department, upon the recommendation of the county of financial responsibility, when there is a documented increase in the needs of a resident.  A documented increase is a demonstrated medical or behavioral need that significantly impacts the type or amount of services needed by a resident. 
	SECTION 2.000  GENERAL REPORTING REQUIREMENTS. 
	Section 2.010 Required income and expense reports. By April 30 of each year, the provider must submit an annual income and expense report on the form prescribed by the Department in order to receive medical assistance payments.  The reports must cover the reporting year ending the previous December 31. 
	Section 2.020 Required information.  A complete income and expense report contains the following items: 
	A. Salaries and related expenses, including salaries to program, administrative, and support staff, payroll taxes and fringe benefits, and training. 
	B. General operating expenses, including supplies, repairs, purchased services and consultants, utilities, food, licenses and fees, real estate taxes, insurance, and working capital interest. 
	C. Property-related expenses, including real estate taxes, depreciation, capital debt interest, rent and leases, and property insurance. 
	D. Facility income, including receipt of all income from accounts receivable related to facility operations. 
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	E. Annual resident days. 
	Section 2.030 Occupancy reports. 
	A. A facility must maintain and submit monthly bed use data. The total payments made to a facility may be adjusted based on concurrent changes in the needs of recipients that are covered by a variable rate adjustment. Any adjustment for multiple resident changes does not result in a decrease to the facility base rate. 
	B. Bed use data will also indicate leave days and vacancies. 
	Section 2.040 Deadlines, extensions, and rejections. 
	A. A facility that terminates participation in the Medical Assistance Program during a reporting year must submit the required annual income and expense report covering the period from January 1 of that reporting year to the date of termination.  The income and expense report must be submitted within four months after termination. 
	B. The Department may reject any annual income and expense report filed by a facility that is incomplete or inaccurate, or for which supplemental information is required. In these cases, the Department will inform the facility what additional information is required.  The facility will be given a reasonable amount of time to supply the information. 
	Failure to file the required income and expense report and other required information constitutes a material breach of the contract, allowing the Department to pursue termination of the contract. 
	Section 2.050 False reports.  If a provider knowingly supplies inaccurate or false information on an income and expense report, the Department will exercise its options under the breach of terms provisions in its contract with the facility. 
	Section 2.060 Adequate documentation. A facility must keep adequate documentation. 
	A. In order to be considered adequate, documentation must: 
	(1) be maintained in orderly, well-organized files; 
	(2) 
	(2) 
	(2) 
	not include documentation of more than one facility in one set of files unless transactions may be traced by the Department to the facility's annual income and expense report; 

	(3) 
	(3) 
	include a paid invoice or copy of a paid invoice with date of purchase, vendor name and address, purchaser name and delivery address, listing of items or services purchased, cost of items purchased, account number to which the cost is posted, and a 
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	breakdown of any allocation of costs between accounts or facilities.  If any of the information to be listed on the invoice is not available, the providers must document their good faith attempt to obtain the information; 
	(4) 
	(4) 
	(4) 
	include copies of all written agreements and debt instruments to which the facility is a party and any related mortgages, financing statements, and amortization schedules to explain the facility's costs and revenues; 

	(5) 
	(5) 
	if a cost or revenue item is not documented under subitem (3) or (4), the facility must document the amount, source, and purpose of the item in its books and ledgers following generally accepted accounting principles and in a manner providing an audit trail; and 

	(6) 
	(6) 
	be retained by the facility to support the five most recent annual income and expense reports submitted to the Department.  The Department may extend the period of retention if the desk audit was postponed because of inadequate record keeping or accounting practice, or if the records are necessary to resolve a pending appeal. 

	B. 
	B. 
	Providers must document all consultant, professional, or purchased service contracts.  They must maintain copies of all contracts and invoices relating to consultant, professional, or purchased services.  These documents must include the name and address of the vendor or contractor, the name of the person who actually performed the services, the dates of service, a description of the services provided, the unit cost, and the total cost of the service. 

	C. 
	C. 
	Payroll records must be maintained by a facility and must show the amount of compensation paid to each employee and the days and hours worked.  Complete and orderly cost allocation records must be maintained for cost allocations made among cost categories or facilities. 


	SECTION 3.000  QUALITY IMPROVEMENT PLAN. 
	A. Except for the initial rate year, by the March following the end of each rate year, facilities must submit reports regarding the previous year’s quality improvement plans to the Department.  For the initial rate year, facility quality improvement plans must be submitted by December 31, 2000. 
	B. Each quality improvement plan must identify a minimum of one performance measure on which to focus during the contract period.  
	C. Elements of a quality improvement plan: 
	(1) 
	(1) 
	(1) 
	a facility-specific quality improvement team; 

	(2). 
	(2). 
	area(s) of need (and why), including the strategies used to identify the causes; 

	(3). 
	(3). 
	definition of the quality improvement goal or benchmark; 

	(4). 
	(4). 
	identified data sources; 

	(5). 
	(5). 
	plan of action and strategies to address the problem; 

	(6). 
	(6). 
	summarized and interpreted data; and 

	(7). 
	(7). 
	evaluation of the results, including how the quality improvement plan is 


	STATE: MINNESOTA 
	STATE: MINNESOTA 
	STATE: MINNESOTA 
	ATTACHMENT 4.19-D (ICF/DD) 

	Effective: July 1, 2013 
	Effective: July 1, 2013 
	Page 110 

	TN: 13-23 Approved: DEC 15 2015 
	TN: 13-23 Approved: DEC 15 2015 

	Supersedes:  11-14 (10-17, 09-14, 08-14, 07-15 ,06-08, 05-18, 03-16, 03-05, 02-14/01-12/0030/00-20/00-16/99-22/99-13/98-35/98-21/97-35/97-27/96-32/96-20/95-40/9419/93-38/92-39/91-36/90-09/89-65/89-56/88-86/88-24/87-81) 
	Supersedes:  11-14 (10-17, 09-14, 08-14, 07-15 ,06-08, 05-18, 03-16, 03-05, 02-14/01-12/0030/00-20/00-16/99-22/99-13/98-35/98-21/97-35/97-27/96-32/96-20/95-40/9419/93-38/92-39/91-36/90-09/89-65/89-56/88-86/88-24/87-81) 
	-
	-



	communicated to residents, staff, and residents’ families, and how the process is monitored and 
	changed as needed. 
	SECTION 4.000  DETERMINATION OF TOTAL PAYMENT RATE. 
	Section 4.010 Total payment rate.  The total payment rate is the sum of the operating payment rate and the property payment rate. 
	A.. Operating payment rate. 
	(1) 
	(1) 
	(1) 
	The operating payment rate is the facility’s total payment rate in effect on September 30, 2000, minus the property rate.  It includes the efficiency incentive in effect as of September 30, 2000.  

	(2) 
	(2) 
	Within the limits of appropriations for this purpose, the operating payment rate is increased for each rate year by the annual percentage change in the Employment Cost Index for Private Industry Workers–Total Compensation in the second quarter of the calendar year preceding the start of the rate year.  For the initial rate year, the percentage change is based on the percentage change in the Employment Cost Index for Private Industry Workers–Total Compensation for the 15-month period from October 1, 2000 thr

	(3) 
	(3) 
	The operating payment rate is adjusted to reflect an occupancy rate equal to 100 percent of a facility’s capacity days as of September 30, 2000, except that effective July 1, 2009, through June 30, 2013, no occupancy rate adjustment will be applied. 

	(4) 
	(4) 
	For the initial rate year, the Department will make an adjustment to the operating payment rate for a facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department, in 
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	accordance with unit (b).  Operating costs will be separated into compensation-related costs and all other costs.  Compensation-related costs means allowable program operating cost category employee training expenses and allowable salaries, payroll taxes, and fringe benefits for all employees except the administrator and central office staff. 
	(a) Facilities that have rates governed by closure agreements, receivership agreements, or interim rates are not eligible for these adjustments. 
	(b) The payment rate is increased by: 
	1) 6.6 percent of compensation-related costs, 45 percent of which must be used to increase the per-hour pay rate of all employees except administrative and central office employees by an equal dollar amount and to pay associated costs for FICA, the Medicare tax, workers’ compensation premiums, and federal and state unemployment insurance provided that this portion of the compensation-related increase must be used only for wage increases implemented on or after October 1, 2000, and must not be used for wage 
	2) and 2.0 percent of all other operating costs. 
	A facility’s most recent cost report submitted for desk audit will be used to calculate the adjustment. 
	(c) To receive the operating payment rate adjustment, a facility must apply to the Department.  The application must contain a plan by which the facility will distribute the compensation-related portion of the payment rate adjustment to employees of the nursing facility.  For a facility in which the employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative constitutes the plan only if the agreement i
	1) The Department will review the plan to ensure that the payment rate adjustment is used as provided in unit (b). 
	2) To be eligible, a facility must submit its plan for the payment rate 
	adjustment by December 31, 2000.  If a facility’s plan for the payment rate adjustment is 
	effective for its employees after October 1 of the year that the funds are available, the payment rate adjustment shall be effective the same date as its plan. 
	(d) The Department will determine the payment rate adjustment using the 
	categories listed above multiplied by the rate increases in unit (b), divided by the facility’s actual 
	resident days. 
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	(5) 
	(5) 
	(5) 
	Effective July 1, 2001, the Department will make an adjustment to the operating payment rate of 3.5 percent for a facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department.  Of this adjustment, two-thirds must be used in accordance with unit (a) and one-third must be used for operating costs. 

	(a) 
	(a) 
	Two-thirds of the adjustment must be used to increase the wages and benefits and pay associated costs of all employees except administrative and central office employees, provided that this increase is used only for wage and benefit increases implemented on or after July 1, 2001. 

	(b) 
	(b) 
	For each facility, the Department will make available an adjustment by multiplying 3.5 percent by the total payment rate in effect on June 30, 2001, excluding the property-related payment rate. 

	(c) 
	(c) 
	The application for the rate adjustment must contain a plan by which the facility will distribute the adjustment in unit (a) to employees of the facility.  For a facility in which the employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative constitutes the plan only if the agreement is finalized after June 30, 2001. 


	1) The Department will review the plan to ensure that the payment rate adjustment per diem is used as provided in this subitem. 
	2) To be eligible, a facility must submit its plan for the rate 
	adjustment by March 31, 2002.  If a facility’s plan for the payment rate adjustment is effective 
	for its employees after July 1, 2001, the payment rate adjustment is effective the same date as its plan. 
	(d) 
	(d) 
	(d) 
	A facility that has payment rate governed by closure agreements or receivership agreements cannot receive an adjustment. 

	(6) 
	(6) 
	Effective July 1, 2002, the Department will make an adjustment to the operating payment rate of 3.5 percent for a facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department.  Of this adjustment, two-thirds must be used in accordance with unit (a) and one-third must be used for operating costs. 

	(a) 
	(a) 
	Two-thirds of the adjustment must be used to increase the wages and benefits and pay associated costs of all employees except administrative and central office employees, provided that this increase is used only for wage and benefit increases implemented on or after July 1, 2002. 

	(b) 
	(b) 
	(b) 
	For each facility, the Department will make available an adjustment by multiplying 3.5 percent by the total payment rate in effect on June 30, 2002, excluding the 

	property-related payment rate. 

	(c) 
	(c) 
	The application for the rate adjustment must contain a plan by which the facility will distribute the adjustment in unit (a) to employees of the facility.  For a facility in which the employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative constitutes the plan only if the agreement is finalized after June 30, 2002. 
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	1) The Department will review the plan to ensure that the payment rate adjustment per diem is used as provided in this subitem. 
	2) To be eligible, a facility must submit its plan for the rate 
	adjustment by March 31, 2003.  If a facility’s plan for the payment rate adjustment is effective 
	for its employees after July 1, 2002, the payment rate adjustment is effective the same date as its plan. 
	(d) 
	(d) 
	(d) 
	A facility that has payment rate governed by closure agreements or receivership agreements cannot receive an adjustment. 

	(7) 
	(7) 
	Effective April 1, 2002, the operating payment rate is adjusted for increases in licensing fees paid by facilities. 

	(8) 
	(8) 
	Effective July 1, 2003, the operating payment rate in effect on June 30, 2002 is reduced by one percent.  Facilities with payment rates governed by a receivership agreement in Sections 7.000 or 8.000, or by a closure agreement in Section 9.010, are not subject to this item. 

	(9) 
	(9) 
	Effective October 1, 2005, the operating payment rate is increased by 2.2553 percent for a facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department.  Of this increase, two-thirds must be used in accordance with unit (a). 

	(a) 
	(a) 
	Two-thirds of the increase must be used to increase the MA portion of wages and benefits and pay associated MA costs of all employees except administrative and central office employees, provided that this increase is used only for wage, benefit, and staff increases implemented on or after October 1, 2005. 

	(b) 
	(b) 
	For each facility, the Department will make available an increase by multiplying 2.2553 percent by the total payment rate in effect on September 30, 2005, excluding the property-related payment rate. 

	(c) 
	(c) 
	(c) 
	The application for the rate increase must contain a plan by which the facility will distribute the increase in unit (a) to employees of the facility.  For a facility in which the employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative constitutes 

	the plan only if the agreement is finalized after July 15, 2005. 

	(1) 
	(1) 
	The Department will review the plan to ensure that the payment rate increase per diem is used in accordance with unit (a). 
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	(2) To be eligible, a facility must submit its plan by March 31, 2006. If 
	a facility’s plan for the payment rate increase is effective for its employees after October 1, 2005, 
	the increase is effective the same date as its plan. 
	(d) 
	(d) 
	(d) 
	Facilities that have rates governed by closure agreements, receivership agreements, or interim rates are not eligible for these increases. 

	(10) 
	(10) 
	Effective October 1, 2006, the operating payment rate is increased by 2.2553 percent for a facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department.  Of this increase, two-thirds must be used in accordance with unit (a). 

	(a) 
	(a) 
	Two-thirds of the increase must be used to increase the MA portion of wages and benefits and pay associated MA costs of employees except administrative and central office employees, provided that this increase is used only for wage, benefit, and staff increases implemented on or after October 1, 2006. 


	(b) 
	(b) 
	(b) 
	For each facility, the Department will make available an increase based on 

	occupied beds. 
	occupied beds. 

	(c) 
	(c) 
	The application for the increase must contain a plan by which the facility 


	will distribute the increase in unit (a) to employees of the facility.  For a facility in which the employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative constitutes the plan only if the agreement is finalized after July 15, 2006. 
	(1) The Department will review the plan to ensure that the payment rate increase per diem is used in accordance with unit (a). 
	(2) To be eligible, a facility must submit its plan by December 31, 
	2006. If a facility’s plan for the payment rate increase is effective for its employees after October 
	1, 2006, the payment rate increase is effective the same date as its plan. 
	(d) 
	(d) 
	(d) 
	Facilities that have rates governed by closure agreements, receivership agreements, or interim rates are not eligible for these increases. 

	(11) 
	(11) 
	Effective October 1, 2007, the operating payment rate is increased by 2 percent for a facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department.  Of this increase, three-fourths must be used in accordance with unit (a). 
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	(a) 
	(a) 
	(a) 
	The rate increase must be used to increase the MA portion of wages and benefits and pay associated MA costs of employees directly employed by the facility except administrative, or central office, employees or persons paid under a management contract, provided that this increase is used only for wage, benefit, and staff increases implemented on or after October 1, 2007. 

	(b) 
	(b) 
	Two-thirds of the increase described in unit (a) must be paid as an equal hourly percentage wage increase to the MA portion of wages for employees directly employed by the facility effective on the same date for all eligible employees. This provision does not apply to employees represented by an exclusive bargaining representative. 


	(c) For the purposes of units (a) and (b) compensation related costs include: 
	(1) 
	(1) 
	(1) 
	wages and salaries; 

	(2) 
	(2) 
	FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal unemployment taxes, 


	and workers’ compensation; 
	(3) 
	(3) 
	(3) 
	(3) 
	the employer’s share of health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability insurance, long-term care insurance, uniform allowance, and pensions; and 

	(4) other benefits provided, subject to the approval of the Department. 

	(d) 
	(d) 
	For each facility, the Department will make available an increase not subject to units (a) and (b), based on occupied beds and effective October 1, 2007 

	(e) 
	(e) 
	Increases subject to units (a) and (b) will be based on the lesser of the amount distributed as wage increases in accordance with units (a) and (b) or the amount of the percentage rate increase based on occupied beds. 

	(f) 
	(f) 
	The application for the increase must contain a plan by which the facility will distribute the increase in units (a) and (b) to employees of the facility.  For a facility in which the employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative constitutes the plan effective the later of July 15, 2007 or Departmental receipt of a letter of acceptance of the wage distribution plan by the exclusive bargai

	(g) 
	(g) 
	The Department shall ensure that cost increases in distribution plans under unit (f)(2)(ii), that may be included in approved applications, comply with the following requirements: 

	(1) 
	(1) 
	costs to be incurred during the applicable rate year resulting from wage and salary increases effective after October 1, 2006, and prior to the first day of the facility's payroll period that includes October 1, 2007, shall be allowed if they were not used in the prior year's application; 


	STATE: MINNESOTA ATTACHMENT 4.19-D (ICF/DD) Effective: July 1, 2013 Page 116 TN: 13-23 Approved: DEC 15 2015 
	Supersedes:  11-14 (10-17, 09-14, 08-14, 07-15 ,06-08, 05-18, 03-16, 03-05, 02-14/01-12/0030/00-20/00-16/99-22/99-13/98-35/98-21/97-35/97-27/96-32/96-20/95-40/9419/93-38/92-39/91-36/90-09/89-65/89-56/88-86/88-24/87-81) 
	-
	-

	(2) 
	(2) 
	(2) 
	a portion of the costs resulting from tenure-related wage or salary increases may be considered to be allowable wage increases, according to formulas that the Department shall provide, where employee retention is above the average statewide rate of retention of direct care employees; 

	(3) 
	(3) 
	the annualized amount of increases in costs for the employer's share of health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability insurance, and workers' compensation shall be allowable compensation-related increases if they are effective on or after April 1, 2007, and prior to April 1, 2008. 

	(h) 
	(h) 
	Facilities that have rates governed by closure agreements, receivership agreements, or interim rates are not eligible for these increases. 

	(12) 
	(12) 
	Effective October 1, 2008, the operating payment rate is increased by 2 percent for a facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department.  Of this increase, three-fourths must be used in accordance with unit (a). 

	(a) 
	(a) 
	The rate increase must be used to increase the MA portion of wages and benefits and pay associated MA costs of employees directly employed by the facility except administrative, or central office, employees or persons paid under a management contract, provided that this increase is used only for wage, benefit, and staff increases implemented on or after October 1, 2008. 

	(b) 
	(b) 
	Two-thirds of the increase described in unit (a) must be paid as an equal hourly percentage wage increase to the MA portion of wages for employees directly employed by the facility effective on the same date for all eligible employees.  This provision does not apply to employees represented by an exclusive bargaining representative. 


	(c) For the purposes of units (a) and (b) compensation related costs include: 
	(1) 
	(1) 
	(1) 
	wages and salaries; 

	(2) 
	(2) 
	FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal unemployment taxes, 


	and workers’ compensation; 
	(3) 
	(3) 
	(3) 
	(3) 
	the employer’s share of health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability insurance, long-term care insurance, uniform allowance, and pensions; and 

	(4) other benefits provided, subject to the approval of the Department. 

	(d) 
	(d) 
	For each facility, the Department will make available an increase not subject to units (a) and (b), based on occupied beds and effective October 1, 2008 

	(e) 
	(e) 
	Increases subject to units (a) and (b) will be based on the lesser of the amount distributed as wage increases in accordance with units (a) and (b) or the amount of the percentage rate increase based on occupied beds. 
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	(f) 
	(f) 
	(f) 
	The application for the increase must contain a plan by which the facility will distribute the increase in units (a) and (b) to employees of the facility.  For a facility in which the employees are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, an agreement negotiated and agreed to by the employer and the exclusive bargaining representative constitutes the plan effective the later of July 15, 2007 or Departmental receipt of a letter of acceptance of the wage distribution plan by the exclusive bargai

	(g) 
	(g) 
	The Department shall ensure that cost increases in distribution plans under unit (f)(2)(ii), that may be included in approved applications, comply with the following requirements: 

	(1) 
	(1) 
	costs to be incurred during the applicable rate year resulting from wage and salary increases effective after October 1, 2007, and prior to the first day of the facility's payroll period that includes October 1, 2008, shall be allowed if they were not used in the prior year's application; 

	(2) 
	(2) 
	a portion of the costs resulting from tenure-related wage or salary increases may be considered to be allowable wage increases, according to formulas that the Department shall provide, where employee retention is above the average statewide rate of retention of direct care employees; 

	(3) 
	(3) 
	the annualized amount of increases in costs for the employer's share of health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability insurance, and workers' compensation shall be allowable compensation-related increases if they are effective on or after April 1, 2008, and prior to April 1, 2009. 

	(h) 
	(h) 
	Facilities that have rates governed by closure agreements, receivership agreements, or interim rates are not eligible for these increases. 

	(13) 
	(13) 
	Effective July 1, 2009 the operating payment rate is decreased by 2.58 percent and the provisions in sub-items 12(a) through 12(g) no longer apply. 

	(14) 
	(14) 
	(14) 
	(14) 

	Effective for July 1, 2014, the operating payment rate is increased by 5 percent for a facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department. Of this increase, 80 percent must be used in accordance with unit (a). 
	Effective for July 1, 2014, the operating payment rate is increased by 5 percent for a facility that submits a plan, approved by the Department. Of this increase, 80 percent must be used in accordance with unit (a). 


	(a) 
	(a) 
	(a) 
	(a) 

	The rate increase must be used to increase the MA portion of compensation costs of employees directly employed by the facility except central office employees or persons paid under a management contract. 
	The rate increase must be used to increase the MA portion of compensation costs of employees directly employed by the facility except central office employees or persons paid under a management contract. 


	(b) 
	(b) 
	(b) 
	(b) 

	For the purpose of unit (a), compensation related costs include: 
	For the purpose of unit (a), compensation related costs include: 


	(1) 
	(1) 
	(1) 
	(1) 

	wages and salaries; 
	wages and salaries; 


	(2) 
	(2) 
	(2) 
	(2) 

	the employer's share of FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal 
	the employer's share of FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal 


	unemployment taxes, workers' compensation, and mileage reimbursement; 
	unemployment taxes, workers' compensation, and mileage reimbursement; 


	(3) 
	(3) 
	(3) 

	the employer's share of health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability insurance, long-term care insurance, uniform allowance, pensions, and contributions to employee retirement accounts; and 
	the employer's share of health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability insurance, long-term care insurance, uniform allowance, pensions, and contributions to employee retirement accounts; and 


	(4) 
	(4) 
	(4) 

	other benefits provided and workforce needs, subject to the approval of the Department. 
	other benefits provided and workforce needs, subject to the approval of the Department. 




	(c) 
	(c) 
	(c) 

	For each facility, the Department will make available an adjustment by multiplying 5 percent by the total payment rate in effect on June 30, 2014, excluding the property-related payment rate. 
	For each facility, the Department will make available an adjustment by multiplying 5 percent by the total payment rate in effect on June 30, 2014, excluding the property-related payment rate. 


	(d) 
	(d) 
	(d) 

	To receive the operating payment rate adjustment, a facility must apply to the Department. The application must contain a plan by which the facility will distribute the compensation-related portion of the payment rate adjustment to employees of the nursing facility. 
	To receive the operating payment rate adjustment, a facility must apply to the Department. The application must contain a plan by which the facility will distribute the compensation-related portion of the payment rate adjustment to employees of the nursing facility. 





	STATE: MINNESOTA 
	STATE: MINNESOTA 
	STATE: MINNESOTA 
	ATTACHMENT 4.19-D (ICF/DD) 

	Effective: July 1, 2013 
	Effective: July 1, 2013 
	Page 118 

	TN: 13-23 
	TN: 13-23 

	Approved: DEC 15 2015 
	Approved: DEC 15 2015 

	Supersedes:  11-14 (10-17, 09-14, 08-14, 07-15 ,06-08, 05-18, 03-16, 03-05, 02-14/01-12/0030/00-20/00-16/99-22/99-13/98-35/98-21/97-35/97-27/96-32/96-20/95-40/9419/93-38/92-39/91-36/90-09/89-65/89-56/88-86/88-24/87-81) 
	Supersedes:  11-14 (10-17, 09-14, 08-14, 07-15 ,06-08, 05-18, 03-16, 03-05, 02-14/01-12/0030/00-20/00-16/99-22/99-13/98-35/98-21/97-35/97-27/96-32/96-20/95-40/9419/93-38/92-39/91-36/90-09/89-65/89-56/88-86/88-24/87-81) 
	-
	-



	For public employees under a collective bargaining agreement, the increase for wages and benefits is available and pay rates must be increased only to the extent that the increases comply with laws governing public employees' collective bargaining. Money received by a facility for pay increases for public employees must be used only for pay increases implemented between July 1, 2014, and August 1, 2014. 
	For public employees under a collective bargaining agreement, the increase for wages and benefits is available and pay rates must be increased only to the extent that the increases comply with laws governing public employees' collective bargaining. Money received by a facility for pay increases for public employees must be used only for pay increases implemented between July 1, 2014, and August 1, 2014. 

	For a facility that has employees that are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, the provider shall obtain a letter of acceptance of the distribution plan, in regard to the members of the bargaining unit, signed by the exclusive bargaining agent. 
	For a facility that has employees that are represented by an exclusive bargaining representative, the provider shall obtain a letter of acceptance of the distribution plan, in regard to the members of the bargaining unit, signed by the exclusive bargaining agent. 

	(e) 
	(e) 
	Effective January 1, 2015, the Department shall decrease by 1 percent the payment rate of any facility that fails to submit the plan described in paragraph (d). 

	B.  Property payment rate. 
	(1) 
	(1) 
	(1) 
	The property payment rate is based on the facility’s modified property payment rate in effect on September 30, 2000.  The modified property payment rate is the actual property payment rate exclusive of the effect of gains or losses on disposal of capital assets or adjustments for excess depreciation claims. 

	(2) 
	(2) 
	Effective October 1, 2000, a minimum property payment rate of $8.13 is applied to all existing facilities.  Effective October 1, 2000, facilities with modified property payment rates effective September 30, 2000 below the minimum property payment rate receive an increase equal to the difference between the minimum property payment rate and the modified 
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	property payment rate in effect on September 30, 2000.  Effective October 1, 2000, facilities with modified property payment rates effective September 30, 2000 at or above the minimum property payment rate receive the modified property payment rate. 
	(3) Within the limits of appropriations for this purpose, effective January 1, 2002, facility property payment rates are increased annually for inflation.  The increase is based on each facility’s property payment rate in effect on September 30, 2000. 
	(4) 
	(4) 
	(4) 
	Modified property payment rates effective September 30, 2000 are arrayed from the highest to lowest before applying the minimum property payment rate in subitem (2). 

	(a) 
	(a) 
	For modified property payment rates at the 90percentile or above, the annual inflation increase is zero. 
	th 


	(b) 
	(b) 
	For modified property payment rates below the 90percentile but at least at the 75percentile, the annual inflation increase is one percent. 
	th 
	th 


	(c) 
	(c) 
	For modified property payment rates below the 75percentile, the annual inflation increase is 2 percent. 
	th 



	Section 4.020 Increase in payment rate beginning June 6, 2003. 
	Each facility receives an increase in its payment rate of $3.00, which is added following the determination of the payment rate for each facility.  This increase is not subject to any annual percentage increase. 
	Section 4.030 Limitations to total payment rate.  The total payment rate must not exceed the rate paid by private paying residents for similar services for the same period. 
	Section 4.040 Increase in payment rate beginning March 1, 2006.  Effective March 1, 2006 and ending September 30, 2007, payment for ICF/services is increased by .2% for those providers who applied and met the competitive requirements for a medical assistance payment rate increase for the purpose of employee scholarships, except that the increase is .3% effective on or after September 1, 2006, for those providers who agree to accept the higher rate on a contract entered into on or after March 1, 2006 or whos
	MR
	DD 

	Section 4.050 Payment rates for new facilities in Hennepin County. Upon completion of relocation, the two six-bed level B facilities licensed to replace a 15 bed level A facility that is inaccessible to persons with disabilities will receive a payment rate of $200.47 per day plus any rate adjustments effective on or after July 1, 2007. 
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	Section 4.060 Payment rates for new facilities in Chisholm and Hibbing.  Effective for admissions on or after October 1, 2009 the newly licensed six-bed, level B facility in Chisholm will receive a payment rate of $274.50 per day and the newly licensed six-bed level B facility in Hibbing will receive a payment rate of $250.84 per day plus any rate adjustments effective on or after October 1, 2009. 
	Section 4.070 Payment rates for certain facilities in Clearwater County. Effective for admissions on or after July 1, 2010 through June 30, 2011, the per diem rate for a Class A facility with 15 beds in Clearwater County is increased from $112.73 to $138.23. 
	Section 4.080 Payment rates for certain facilities in Kandiyohi County. Effective for admissions on or after July 1, 2010 through June 30, 2011, the per diem rate for a six bed Class A facility is increased by $43.04. 
	Section 4.090 Payment rates for certain facilities in Clearwater County.  Effective for admissions on or after September 1, 2011, the per diem rate for a Class A facility with 15 beds in Clearwater County is increased from $112.73 to 138.23. 
	Section 4.100 Decrease in payment rate. On September 1, 2011, each facility, except for a Class A facility located in Clearwater County with 15 beds, shall receive a decrease of .095 percent to the operating payment rate and all variable rates in effect on August 31, 2011. 
	Section 4.110 Decrease in payment rate. On September 1, 2011, each facility shall receive a decrease of 1.5 percent to the operating payment rate and all variable rates in effect on August 31, 2011. 
	Section 4.120 Payment rates for certain facilities in Cottonwood County. Effective for admissions on or after July 1, 2013, the per diem rate for a facility with 18 beds in Cottonwood County shall adjust to $282.62. 
	Section 4.120 Payment rates for certain facilities in Cottonwood County. Effective for admissions on or after July 1, 2013, the per diem rate for a facility with 18 beds in Cottonwood County shall adjust to $282.62. 

	Section 4.130 Increase in payment rate beginning July 1, 2013. Effective for admissions on or after July 1, 2013, each facility shall receive an increase in its payment rate of $7.81, which is added following the determination of the payment rate for each facility.  This increase is not subject to any annual percentage increase. 
	Section 4.130 Increase in payment rate beginning July 1, 2013. Effective for admissions on or after July 1, 2013, each facility shall receive an increase in its payment rate of $7.81, which is added following the determination of the payment rate for each facility.  This increase is not subject to any annual percentage increase. 

	Section 4.140 Increase in payment rate beginning July 1, 2013. Effective for admissions on or after July 1, 2013, each facility shall receive an increase of .5 percent to the operating payment rate and all variable rates in effect on June 30, 2013. 
	Section 4.140 Increase in payment rate beginning July 1, 2013. Effective for admissions on or after July 1, 2013, each facility shall receive an increase of .5 percent to the operating payment rate and all variable rates in effect on June 30, 2013. 

	Section 4.150 Increase in payment rates beginning April 1, 2014. Effective for admissions on or after April 1, 2014, each facility shall receive an increase of 1 percent to the operating payment rate and all variable rates in effect on March 31, 2014. 
	Section 4.150 Increase in payment rates beginning April 1, 2014. Effective for admissions on or after April 1, 2014, each facility shall receive an increase of 1 percent to the operating payment rate and all variable rates in effect on March 31, 2014. 
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	SECTION 5.000  DAY SERVICES CHARGES. 
	A. Charges incurred by the ICF/for day services provided by an entity licensed as a day training and habilitation provider are paid as a pass-through payment. The pass-through payment is paid separately and is not included in the computation of the total payment rate. Effective March 1, 2006 and ending September 30, 2007, payment for day services is increased by .2% for those providers who applied and met the competitive bidding requirements for a medical assistance payment rate increase for the purpose of 
	MR
	DD 

	(1) 
	(1) 
	(1) 
	Seventy-five percent of the rate increases effective October 1, 2007 and July 1, 2008 must be used to increase the MA portion of wages and benefits and pay associated MA costs of employees directly employed by the facility except administrative, or central office, employees or persons paid under a management contract, provided that this increase is used only for wage, benefit, and staff increases implemented on or after October 1, 2008. 

	(2) 
	(2) 
	(2) 
	Two-thirds of the increase must be paid as an equal hourly percentage wage increase to the MA portion of wages for employees directly employed by the facility effective on the same date for all eligible employees.  This provision does not apply to employees represented by an exclusive bargaining representative. 

	(3) For the purposes of units (1) and (2) compensation related costs include: 
	(a) wages and salaries; 

	(b) 
	(b) 
	FICA taxes, Medicare taxes, state and federal unemployment taxes, and workers’ compensation; and 

	(c) 
	(c) 
	the employer’s share of health and dental insurance, life insurance, disability insurance, long-term care insurance, uniform allowance, and pensions. 

	(4) 
	(4) 
	For public employees, the increase for wages and benefits for certain staff is available and pay rates must be increased only to the extent that they comply with laws governing public employees collective bargaining. 

	(5) 
	(5) 
	Providers receiving the rate increase shall provide to the Department within six months of the rate increase, a letter that provides assurances that the provider has developed and implemented a compensation plan and complied with units (1) and (2).  


	B. By January 1, 2004, charges incurred by the ICF/for day services 
	MR
	DD 
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	provided by a licensed entity that is not licensed as a day training and habilitation provider will be paid separately and will not be included in the computation of the total payment rate. Rates 
	for day services will not exceed 75 percent of a resident’s day services costs prior to leaving a 
	day training and habilitation program.  Effective March 1, 2006 and ending September 30, 2007, payment for day services is increased by .2% for those providers who applied and met the competitive requirements for a medical assistance payment rate increase for the purpose of employee scholarships, except that the increase is .3% effective on or after September 1, 2006, for those providers who agree to accept the higher rate on a contract entered into on or after March 1, 2006 or whose new contract was entere
	SECTION 6.000  APPEAL PROCEDURES. 
	Section 6.010 Scope of appeals. 
	A provider may appeal from a determination of a payment rate established pursuant to this Attachment if the appeal, if successful, would result in a change to the provider's payment rate.  Appeals must be filed in accordance with procedures in this section. 

	Section 6.020 Filing of appeals. 
	Section 6.020 Filing of appeals. 
	To appeal, the provider files with the Department a written notice of appeal; the appeal must be postmarked or received by the Commissioner within 60 days of the date the determination of the payment rate was mailed or personally received by a provider, whichever is earlier.  The notice of appeal must specify each disputed item; the reason for the dispute; the total dollar amount in dispute for each separate disallowance, allocation, or adjustment of each cost item or part of a cost item; the computation th

	Section 6.030 Contested case procedures appeals review process. 
	Section 6.030 Contested case procedures appeals review process. 
	A. Effective for desk audit appeals on or after October 1, 2000, the Commissioner must review appeals and issue a written appeal determination on each appeals item within one year of the due date of the appeal.  Upon mutual agreement, the Commissioner and the provider may extend the time for issuing a determination for a specified period.  The Commissioner must notify the provider by first class mail of the appeal determination.  The appeal determination takes effect 30 days following the date of issuance s
	B. In reviewing the appeal, the Commissioner may request additional written or oral information from the provider.  The provider has the right to present information by telephone, in 
	B. In reviewing the appeal, the Commissioner may request additional written or oral information from the provider.  The provider has the right to present information by telephone, in 
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	writing, or in person concerning the appeal to the Commissioner prior to the issuance of the appeal determination within six months of the date the appeal was received by the Commissioner.  Written requests for conferences must be submitted separately from the appeal letter.  Statements made during the review process are not admissible in a contested case hearing absent an express stipulation by the parties to the contested case. 
	C. For an appeal item with which the provider disagrees with the appeal determination, the provider may file with the Commissioner a written demand for a contested case hearing to determine the proper resolution of specified appeal items.  The demand must be postmarked or received by the Commissioner within 30 days of the date of issuance specified in the determination.  A contested case demand for an appeal item nullifies the written appeal determination issued by the Commissioner for that appeal item.  Th
	D. A contested case hearing must be heard by an administrative law judge.  In any proceeding under this section, the appealing party must demonstrate by a preponderance of the evidence that the determination of a payment rate is incorrect. 
	E. Regardless of any rate appeal, the rate established must be the rate paid and must remain in effect until final resolution of the appeal or subsequent desk audit adjustment. 
	F. The Commissioner has discretion to issue to the provider a proposed resolution for specified appeal items upon a request from the provider filed separately from the notice of appeal.  The proposed resolution is final upon written acceptance by the provider within 30 days of the date the proposed resolution was mailed to or personally received by the provider, whichever is earlier. 
	Section 6.040 Attorney’s fees and costs. 
	Section 6.040 Attorney’s fees and costs. 
	A. For an issue appealed under Section 6.010, the prevailing party in a contested case proceeding or, if appealed, in subsequent judicial review, must be awarded reasonable attorney's fees and costs incurred in litigating the appeal, if the prevailing party shows that the position of the opposing party was not substantially justified.  The procedures for awarding fees and costs set forth in state law regarding procedures for award of fees in contested cases must be followed in determining the prevailing par
	B.  When an award is made to the Department under this section, attorney fees must be 
	B.  When an award is made to the Department under this section, attorney fees must be 
	calculated at the cost to the Department.  When an award is made to a provider under this section, attorney fees must be calculated at the rate charged to the provider except that attorney fees awarded must be the lesser of the attorney's normal hourly fee or $100 per hour. 
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	C.  In contested case proceedings involving more than one issue, the administrative law judge must determine what portion of each party's attorney fees and costs is related to the issue or issues on which it prevailed and for which it is entitled to an award.  In making that determination, the administrative law judge must consider the amount of time spent on each issue, the precedential value of the issue, the complexity, of the issue, and other factors deemed appropriate by the administrative law judge. 
	D. When the Department prevails on an issue involving more than one provider, the administrative law judge must allocate the total amount of any award for attorney fees and costs among the providers.  In determining the allocation, the administrative law judge must consider each provider's monetary interest in the issue and other factors deemed appropriate by the administrative law judge. 
	E. Attorney fees and costs awarded to the Department for proceedings under this section must not be reported or treated as allowable costs on the provider's income and expense report.  
	F.  Fees and costs awarded to a provider for proceedings under this section must be reimbursed to them within 120 days of the final decision on the award of attorney fees and costs. 
	G. If the provider fails to pay the awarded attorney fees and costs within 120 days of the final decision on the award of attorney fees and costs, the Department may collect the amount due through any method available to it for the collection of medical assistance overpayments to providers.  Interest charges must be assessed on balances outstanding after 120 days of the final decision on the award of attorney fees and costs.  The annual interest rate charged must be the rate charged by the Commissioner of r
	H. Amounts collected by the Commissioner pursuant to this section must be deemed to be recoveries. 
	Section 6.050 Legal  and related expenses.  Legal and related expenses for unresolved challenges to decisions by governmental agencies must be separately identified and explained on the provider's income and expense report for each year in which the expenses are incurred.  When the challenge is resolved in favor of the governmental agency, the provider must notify the Department of the extent to which its challenge was unsuccessful on the income and expense report filed for the reporting year in which the c
	Section 6.050 Legal  and related expenses.  Legal and related expenses for unresolved challenges to decisions by governmental agencies must be separately identified and explained on the provider's income and expense report for each year in which the expenses are incurred.  When the challenge is resolved in favor of the governmental agency, the provider must notify the Department of the extent to which its challenge was unsuccessful on the income and expense report filed for the reporting year in which the c
	total amount claimed by the provider for legal and related expenses incurred in an unsuccessful challenge to a decision by a governmental agency. 
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	SECTION 7.000 VOLUNTARY RECEIVERSHIP. 
	Section 7.010 Receivership agreement.  A majority of controlling individuals of a residential program may at any time ask the Department to assume operation of the residential program through appointment of a receiver.  On receiving the request, the Department may enter into an agreement with a majority of controlling individuals and become the receiver and operate the program under conditions acceptable to both the Department and the majority of controlling individuals.  The agreement will specify the term
	Section 7.020 Management agreement.  When the Department agrees to become the receiver of a program, the Department may enter into a management agreement with another entity or group to act as the managing agent during the receivership period.  The managing agent will be responsible for the day-to-day operations of the residential program subject at all times to the review and approval of the Department.  A reasonable fee may be paid to the managing agent for the performance of these services. 
	Section 7.030 Rate adjustment.  The sections on rate recommendations and adjustments to the rate found in Section 8.000 also apply to voluntary receiverships. 
	Section 7.040 Controlling individuals; restrictions on licensure.  No controlling individual of a residential program placed into receivership under Section 7.000 must apply for or receive a license to operate a program for five years from the commencement of the receivership period.  Section 7.000 does not apply to programs that are owned or operated by controlling individuals, that were in existence prior to the date of the receivership agreement, and that have not been placed into receivership. 
	Section 7.050 Liability.  The controlling individuals of a residential program placed into receivership remain liable for any claims made against the residential program that arose from incidents or events that occurred prior to the commencement of the receivership period.  Neither the Department nor the managing agent of the Department assumes this liability. 
	Section 7.060 Liability for financial obligations.  Neither the Department nor the managing agent will be liable for payment of any financial obligations of the residential program or of its controlling individuals incurred prior to the commencement of the receivership period unless such liability is expressly assumed in the receivership agreement.  Those financial obligations remain the liability of the residential program and its controlling individuals.  Financial 
	Section 7.060 Liability for financial obligations.  Neither the Department nor the managing agent will be liable for payment of any financial obligations of the residential program or of its controlling individuals incurred prior to the commencement of the receivership period unless such liability is expressly assumed in the receivership agreement.  Those financial obligations remain the liability of the residential program and its controlling individuals.  Financial 
	obligations of the residential program incurred after the commencement of the receivership period are the responsibility of the Department or the managing agent to the extent such obligations are expressly assumed by each in the receivership or management agreements.  The controlling individuals of the residential program remain liable for any financial obligations incurred after the commencement of the receivership period to the extent these obligations are not reimburse in the rate paid to the residential
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	Section 7.070 Physical plant of the residential program.  Occupation of the physical plant after commencement of the receivership period will be controlled by items A and B.  
	A. If the physical plant of a residential program placed in receivership is owned by a controlling individual or related party, the physical plant may be used by the Department or the managing agent for purposes of the receivership as long as the receivership period continues.  A fair monthly rental will be paid by the Department or the managing agent to the owner of the physical plant.  This fair monthly rental will be determined by considering all relevant factors necessary to meet required arms-length ob
	B. If the owner of the physical plant is not a related party, the controlling individual shall continue as the lessee of the property.  However, during the receivership period, rental payments shall be made to the owner of the physical plant by the Department or the managing agent on behalf of the controlling individual.  Neither the Department nor the managing agent assumes the obligations of the lease unless expressly stated in the agreement.  Should the lease expire during the receivership, the Departmen
	Section 7.080  Receivership costs.  The Department may use the accounts and funds that would have been available for the room and board, services, and program costs of persons in the residential program for costs, cash flow, and accounting purposes related to the receivership. 
	SECTION 8.000 INVOLUNTARY RECEIVERSHIP. 
	Section 8.010 Application.  In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the Department may petition the district court in the county where the program is located for an order directing the controlling individuals of the program to show cause why the Department should not be appointed receiver to operate the program.  The petition must contain proof by affidavit: (1) that the Department has either begun license suspension or revocation proceedings, suspended or 
	Section 8.010 Application.  In addition to any other remedy provided by law, the Department may petition the district court in the county where the program is located for an order directing the controlling individuals of the program to show cause why the Department should not be appointed receiver to operate the program.  The petition must contain proof by affidavit: (1) that the Department has either begun license suspension or revocation proceedings, suspended or 
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	revoked a license, or has decided to deny an application for licensure of the program; or (2) it appears to the Department that the health, safety, or rights of the residents may be in jeopardy because of the manner in which the program may close, the program's financial condition, or violations committed by the program of federal or state laws or rules.  If the license holder, applicant, or controlling individual operates more than one program, the Department's petition will specify and be limited to the r
	Section 8.020 Appointment of receiver.  If the court finds that involuntary receivership is necessary as a means of protecting the health, safety, or rights of persons being served by the program, the court will appoint the Department as receiver to operate the program.  The Department may contract with another entity or group to act as the managing agent during the receivership period.  The managing agent will be responsible for the day-to-day operations of the program subject at all times to the review an
	Section 8.030 Powers and duties of the receiver.  Within 36 months after the receivership order, the receiver will provide for the orderly transfer of the persons served by the program to other residential programs or make other provisions to protect their health, safety, and rights.  The receiver or managing agent will correct or eliminate deficiencies in the program that the Department determines endanger the health, safety, or welfare of the persons being served by the residential program unless the corr
	Section 8.040 Liability and liability for financial obligations.  These are the same as those for voluntary receivership that are found in Section 7.000. 
	Section 8.050 Physical plant of the residential program.  Occupation of the physical plant is governed by the following: 
	Section 8.050 Physical plant of the residential program.  Occupation of the physical plant is governed by the following: 
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	A. The physical plant owned by a controlling individual of the residential program or related party must be made available for the use of the program throughout the receivership period.  The court will determine a fair monthly rental for the plant, taking into account all relevant factors necessary to meet required arms-length obligations of controlling individuals.  The rental fee must be paid by the receiver to the appropriate controlling individuals or related parties for each month that the receivership
	B.  If the owner of the physical plant of a program is not a related party, the court will order the controlling individual to continue as the lessee of the property during the receivership period.  Rental payments during the receivership period shall be made to the owner of the physical plant by the Department or the managing agent on behalf of the controlling individual.   
	Section 8.060 Fee.  A receiver or the managing agent is entitled to a reasonable fee as determined by the court. 
	Section 8.070 Termination.  An involuntary receivership terminates 36 months after the date on which it was ordered or at any other time designated by the court or when any of the following occurs: 
	A. The Department determines that the program's license application should be granted or should not be suspended or revoked. 
	B.  A new license is granted to the program. 
	C.  The Department determines that all persons residing in the program have been provided with alternative residential programs. 
	D. The residential program closes. 
	Section 8.080 Emergency procedure. If it appears from the petition filed or from the affidavit filed with the petition or from testimony of witnesses under oath, that there is probable cause to believe that an emergency exists in a program, the court must issue a temporary order for appointment of a receiver within five days after receipt of the petition.  Notice of the petition must be served on the residential program administrator and on the persons designated as agents by the controlling individuals to 
	Section 8.090 Rate recommendation.  The Department may review rates of a program 
	Section 8.090 Rate recommendation.  The Department may review rates of a program 
	participating in the Medical Assistance Program that is in receivership and that has needs or deficiencies documented by the Department of Health or the Department of Human Services.  If the Department determines that a review of the rate established is needed, the Department will: 
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	A. Review the order or determination that cites the deficiencies or needs. 
	B.  Determine the need for additional staff, additional annual hours by type of employee, and additional consultants, services, supplies, equipment, repairs, or capital assets necessary to satisfy the needs or deficiencies. 
	Section 8.100 Adjustment to the rate.  Upon review of rates the Department may adjust the program's payment rate.  The Department will review the circumstances, together with the most recent residential program income and expense report, to determine whether or not the deficiencies or needs can be corrected or met by reallocating residential program staff, costs, revenues, or any other resources including investments.  If the Department determines that any deficiency cannot be corrected or the need cannot b
	Section 8.110 Receivership costs.  The Department may use the accounts and funds that would have been available for the room and board, services, and program costs of persons in the residential program for costs, cash flow, and accounting purposes related to the receivership. 
	SECTION 9.000 SPECIAL SITUATIONS. 
	Section 9.010 Closure.  In order to facilitate an orderly transition of residents from community ICFs/MR to services provided under the home and community-based services waiver programs, upon closure of a facility, the facility’s contract is null and void. 
	Section 9.020 Variable rate adjustments.  The following items apply for the payment rate 
	Section 9.020 Variable rate adjustments.  The following items apply for the payment rate 
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	adjustment. 
	A. A resident’s county of financial responsibility requests a variable rate adjustment. The request must be for an amount not otherwise paid for through a facility’s per diem.  
	The Department grants variable rate adjustments after considering: 
	(1) changes in a resident’s condition(s); 
	(2) 
	(2) 
	(2) 
	(2) 
	the typical cost to treat the condition(s), based on the community standard; and 

	(3) the facility’s staffing levels. 
	B. Variable rate adjustments will not exceed $274.00 per day, per occurrence. 

	C. 
	C. 
	With one exception, variable rate adjustments may be granted for up to one year. Variable rate adjustments may exceed one year when there is a documented increase in the needs 


	of a resident due to the resident’s full or partial permanent retirement from participation in a day 
	training and habilitation program.  The resident must: 
	(1) 
	(1) 
	(1) 
	be at least age 65 or have a change in health condition that makes it difficult for the resident to participate in a day training and habilitation program over an extended period of time; and 

	(2) 
	(2) 
	express a desire for change through the and related conditions screening process. 
	developmental disability 
	mental retardation 


	D. 
	D. 
	Effective July 1, 2003, facilities with base rates above the 50percentile of the statewide average payment rate for Class A or Class B facilities are not eligible for a variable rate adjustment. Effective July 1, 2009 through June 30, 2010 variable rate adjustments in effect on June 30, 2009 are frozen and no new variable rate adjustments will be approved.  
	th 



	Section 9.030 Relocation.  
	A. For the initial rate year, property rates for facilities relocated after December 31, 1997, and up to and including October 1, 2000, have the full annual costs of relocation included in the initial rate year property rate.  The property rate for the relocated facility is subject to the costs that were allowable in the State plan in effect on September 30, 2000 and the investment per bed limitation for newly constructed or newly established class B facilities. 
	B. As of January 1, 2002, property rates for facilities relocated after October 1, 2000 
	B. As of January 1, 2002, property rates for facilities relocated after October 1, 2000 
	may be adjusted. 
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	(1) 
	(1) 
	(1) 
	Relocated facilities are subject to the investment per bed limit for newly constructed or newly established class B facilities.  The limits are adjusted on January 1 of each year by the percentage increase in the construction index published by the Bureau of Economic Analysis of the United States Department of Commerce in the Survey of Current Business Statistics in October of the previous two years.  Facilities that are relocated within the investment per bed limit may be approved by the statewide advisory

	(2) 
	(2) 
	Rate adjustments for facilities that relocate within the investment per bed limit are reviewed by the statewide advisory committee. 

	C. 
	C. 
	Costs for relocation exceeding the investment per bed limit are absorbed by the facility. 


	Section 9.040 Disasters. 
	A. Notwithstanding a provision to the contrary, effective June 6, 2003, a facility may receive payments for expenses specifically incurred due to a disaster.  Payments will be based on actual documented costs for the period during which the costs were incurred, and will be paid as an add-on to the facility’s payment rate, or as a lump sum payment.  The actual costs paid will be reported on the next annual income and expense cost report as non-allowable costs, in order to avoid duplicate payment. Costs submi
	B. For transfers, the rates continue to apply for evacuated facilities, and residents are not counted as admissions to facilities that admit them. 


	Section 9.050 Temporary adjustments for short-term admissions for crisis or specialized medical care. 
	Section 9.050 Temporary adjustments for short-term admissions for crisis or specialized medical care. 
	A. Effective July 1, 2003, the Department may designate up to 25 beds in facilities statewide for short-term admissions due to crisis care needs or care for medically fragile individuals.  The Department may designate short-term beds based on the short-term care needs of a region or a county. 
	B. The Department will adjust the monthly facility rate to provide payment for vacancies in designated short-term beds by an amount equal to the rate for each recipient residing in a designated bed for up to 15 days per bed per month. 






