facebook app skip to content
Primary navigation

Community Energy Transition Grant Program


The Community Energy Transition (CET) grant program was established in the Department of Employment and Economic Development (DEED) to award grants to assist eligible communities to address the economic dislocation associated with the closing of a local electric generating plant.

Eligible communities/applicants are counties, municipalities, or tribal governments in which an electric generating plant owned by a public utility, as defined in section 216B.02, that is powered by coal, nuclear energy, or natural gas:

  1. Is currently operating and is scheduled to cease operations or whose cessation of operations has been proposed in an integrated resource plan filed with the commission under section 216B.2422; or
  2. Ceased operations or was removed from the local property tax base no earlier than five years before the date an application is made for a grant under this section.
back to top