skip to content
Primary navigation

Commissioners on Wheels Tour


"Economy in Motion"
September 7 - 9, 2016

The Minnesota Business First Stop ”Economy in Motion” Tour (a.k.a. “Commissioners on Wheels” Tour) aims to increase awareness of Minnesota Business First Stop, a cross-agency initiative designed to streamline the development process for complex business projects.

Nine state agencies’ Commissioners and staff who comprise the Business First stop team were represented on the fourth annual Minnesota Business First Stop Commissioner on Wheels tour. The focus of the Sept. 7-9, 2016 tour, which began in Worthington and ended in Moorhead, was on Agriculture, Energy and Water.

The robust tour traveled 835 miles by airplane and mostly by bus and the group visited 11 communities, toured 10 companies, and listened to roughly 42 presentations in 2.5 days! The tours are opportunities for stakeholders to directly interact with nine state agency Commissioners and staff. They are very enthusiastic to have the opportunity. The Commissioners are able to collectively work on issues they hear together.

The Business First Stop agencies represented on the tour are:

  • Department of Employment and Economic Development
  • Department of Agriculture
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Labor and Industry
  • Department of Natural Resources
  • Department of Revenue
  • Department of Transportation
  • Iron Range Resources and Rehabilitation Board
  • Minnesota Pollution Control Agency

Led by the Minnesota Department of Employment and Economic Development, Business First Stop focuses on complex business startups, expansions and relocations. It targets projects that involve financing, licensing, permitting or technical assistance from multiple state agencies. The First Stop team helps businesses cut through red tape and get the right resources and answers quickly and successfully. The goal of Minnesota Business First Stop is to make it easier and simpler for businesses to interact with state government. View our photo gallery.


Murdock Group Photo (L to R)

Front Row: Steve Peterson (IRRRB), Christine Pribbenow (DEED), Kelly Cooper (DLI), Commissioner Mark Phillips (IRRRB), Commissioner Dave Frederickson (MDA), Commissioner Shawntera Hardy (DEED), Commissioner John Linc Stine (PCA), Laurie Ryan (MnDOT), Ken Brown (COM), Kari Howe (DEED).

Back Row: Dennis Frederickson (DNR), Jon Huseby (MnDOT), Jody Martinson (MnDOT), Anthony Alongi (DNR), Asst. Commissioner Bill Grant (COM), Commissioner Ken Peterson (DLI), Commissioner Tom Landwehr (DNR), Commissioner Cynthia Bauerly (DOR), Jon Van Nurden (DOR), Jeff Smith (PCA).

back to top