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About

Paid Leave

Get to know the basics of the program

• When would my employees need Paid 
Leave?

• Who is covered under the law?

• What are benefits and job protections like 
under the law?



Minnesota’s Paid Leave law

• Minnesota Paid Leave was enacted in 2023 and begins
Jan. 1, 2026.

• The law provides job protections and payments from
the state to individuals who need time off to care for
themselves or their loved ones.

• Minnesota Paid Leave will be funded by premiums made
up of contributions from employees and employers.

• Paid Leave will send benefit payments directly to
Minnesotans on leave.

paidleave.mn.gov



Covered leave

• Medical Leave: Up to 12 Weeks
• Medical: Leave to care for an individual’s own serious medical condition

• Family Leave: Up to 12 weeks
• Bonding: Leave to bond with an individual’s child during the first 12 months after the child’s 

birth or after the placement of the child through adoption or foster care.
• Caring: Leave to care for a family member with a serious health condition.
• Safety: Leave because of domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking of the individual or 

individual’s family member.
• Military Family: Leave because a family member is on active duty or has been notified of an 

impending call or order to active duty in the Armed Forces.
• Maximum of 20 weeks total leave in a benefit year.
• Qualifying conditions must last more than seven days and be certified by a health care 

provider or designated professional.

Medical Leave Family Leave
1 to 12 weeks 1 to 12 weeks

Medical
Leave to care for an 
individual’s own serious 
health condition.

Bonding
Leave to bond with an 
individual’s child during 
the first 12 months after 
the child’s birth or after 
the placement of the 
child through adoption 
or foster care.

Military 
Family 
Leave because a family 
member is on active duty 
or has been notified of an 
impending call or order to 
active duty in the 
Armed Forces

Caring
Leave to care for a family 
member with a serious 
health condition.

Safety
Leave because of domestic 
abuse, sexual assault, or 
stalking of the individual or 
individual’s family member.

Maximum of 20 weeks combined in one year if someone qualifies for both medical and family leave

Qualifying conditions must last more than seven days and be certified by a healthcare or other specified provider.



Covered employees

Covered employees include:
• Full-time, part-time workers
• Most seasonal employees
• Owner-officers who draw a salary
• Agricultural workers
• Employees of religious organizations
• Temporary workers
• Student workers
• Employed family members
• First responders
• Elected and appointed officials 

Not covered, can opt in:

• Independent contractors

• Self-employed individuals

• Tribal Nations 

Not covered, can’t opt in:

• Federal government employees

• Exempt seasonal employees

• Railroad employees

Covered employees include:

Not covered, can opt in:

Independent contractors

Self-employed individuals

Tribal Nations 

Not covered, can’t opt in:

Federal government employees

Exempt seasonal employees

Railroad employees

Full-time and part-time workers 

Most seasonal employees

Owner-officers who draw a 
salary

Agricultural workers

Employees of religious 
organizations

Temporary workers

Student workers

Employed family members

First responders

Elected and appointed officials 
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Minnesota employees

Paid Leave covers Minnesota employees. 
The Paid Leave law defines Minnesota 
employees as:

A. Employees who worked 50 percent or 
more of the prior year in Minnesota, 
or 

B. For employees who did not work 50 
percent or more of the year in any one 
state, those who live in Minnesota.

Scenarios:

Question: I have employees who work mostly in 
Wisconsin, are they covered? 
Answer: No
Question: My business is in North Dakota, but 
some of the people I hire live in Minnesota - are 
they covered? 
Answer: It depends on where they work

Question: I’m a traveling salesman and do work 
across the entire Midwest, am I covered?
Answer: It depends on how much you work in 
each state.

paidleave.mn.gov

• My business is located in Minnesota, but some 
of my employees live in Wisconsin. Are they 
covered? 

• My business is located in Wisconsin, but some of 
my employees work remotely in Minnesota. Are 
they covered?

• I work in multiple states, but I live in Minnesota. 
Am I covered?

Scenarios

It depends on where they work.

Yes.

It depends on how much you work in each state.



Paid Leave payments

• Paid Leave helps Minnesotans focus on what matters, whether
that's caring for a child, recovering from an illness, or supporting a
loved one.

• Minnesotans can get up to 90% of usual wages, up to a maximum
of $1,423 per week (based on 2025 numbers).

• Lower-wage workers get more support. If you earn less, you'll get
a higher percentage of your paycheck covered while on leave.

• You must have earned at least 5.3% of the statewide average
annual wage in the past year to be eligible ($3,900 in 2025).

If you receive payments from Unemployment Insurance, Workers’ Compensation, or 
Social Security Disability Insurance during an absence, you are not eligible for Paid Leave payments.

paidleave.mn.gov



Employment protection

• Job protections: Generally, you must be restored to your job 
or an equivalent position when returning from leave. Job 
protections take effect 90 days after your date of hire. 

• Health insurance continuation: Generally, employers must 
continue to fund their portion of healthcare insurance 
premiums while you are on leave. 

• No retaliation or interference: Employers must not interfere 
with or retaliate against you if you apply for or use Paid Leave. 
Employers cannot take your Paid Leave payments.

paidleave.mn.gov



Leave schedules

Leave under Paid Leave can be taken either 
continuously or intermittently. 

• Continuous leave is taken in a single 
block of time. 
(ex. 4 weeks of leave)

• Intermittent leave is taken in smaller 
blocks of time 
(ex. 2 days a week for 4 hours each 
over 2 months)

Calendar showing 
continuous leave taken 
as one single block of 

several weeks.

Calendar showing 
intermittent leave taken in 

one to two day chunks 
across an entire month. 

paidleave.mn.gov



Paid Leave premiums

Premiums will be shared between 
employers and employees.

• When Paid Leave starts, the premium rate will be 
0.88%. This covers both family and medical leave. 

• The premium rate is applied on wages up to the 
Social Security cap ($176,000).

• The first premiums are due April 30, 2026.

paidleave.mn.gov



Small employer premiums

Small employers pay a reduced premium. 
• For small employers, their standard

contribution is reduced by half.

• To qualify, an employer must have 30 or
fewer employees, and an average employee
wage of 150% or less of the statewide average
($107,016 in 2025).

• This reduced employer premium does not
change the amount owed by employees.

paidleave.mn.gov



Starting in January 2026, funding will be available 
to support small businesses during an employee’s 
absence. Employers will be able to apply for this 
funding once an employee is approved for leave. 

• Qualifications:

• Qualify as a small employer under Paid Leave 

• Costs already incurred 

• Funding not guaranteed 

• Benefits:

• Up to $3,000 per leave or $6,000 per employer to:

• Hire temporary workers

• Increase existing workers’ pay 

• Train workers to cover for an employee on leave

Small Employer Assistance Grants

paidleave.mn.gov

Qualifications:

• Qualify as a small employer 
under Paid Leave 

• Costs already incurred 
• Funding not guaranteed 

Benefits:
Up to $3,000 per leave or $6,000 
per employer to:
• Hire temporary workers
• Increase existing workers’ pay 
• Train workers to cover for an 

employee on leave



Employers and individuals can use our online 
calculators to estimate costs and payments 

under Paid Leave.
• You can plan for 2026 and compare program 

cost and benefits. 

• For example, if someone earns $70,000:  
their weekly premium, if split 50% with their employer, would be $5.93 
per week. Their weekly payment while on leave would be $1,059.22 per 
week.

Estimate premiums and payments

paidleave.mn.gov



Equivalent plans for Paid Leave

Employers can choose to meet their 
responsibilities under Minnesota Paid Leave by 
providing employees an equivalent plan that 
meets or exceeds the coverage offered by the 
state.

• Equivalent plans can be purchased from a 
private insurance carrier, or an employer can 
self-insure and provide coverage to employees 
themselves. 

• Employers approved for an equivalent plan 
must still submit wage detail reports and 
comply with requirements to notify employees 
about coverage.

• Equivalent plans will be certified by the 
Department of Commerce.

Image of a set of balanced scales. One 
side is labeled “Minnesota Paid Leave” 
and the other side is labeled 
“Equivalent Plan.”

An equivalent plan can cover family 
leave or medical leave in combination 
with Minnesota Paid Leave - or can 
cover both.

Minnesota 
Paid Leave

Equivalent 
Plan

Employers can choose to meet their responsibilities 
under Minnesota Paid Leave by providing employees 
an equivalent plan that meets or exceeds the coverage 
offered by the state.

An equivalent plan can cover family leave or 
medical leave in combination with Minnesota 

Paid Leave - or can cover both.

Employers cannot charge employees more than 
they would pay under the state plan (0.44% of 

wages in 2026) to fund an equivalent plan.

• Minnesota Paid Leave is often the least expensive and easiest 
option. But no matter how you decide to bring Paid Leave to 
your employees, the process is easy and intuitive. 

• Equivalent plans can be purchased from a private insurance 
carrier, or an employer can self-insure and provide coverage to 
employees themselves. 

• Employers approved for an equivalent plan still have obligations 
under the law including submitting wage detail.

paidleave.mn.gov



Employer tax responsibilities for Paid Leave, Part I

Premiums: 

• Premiums are collected on post-tax wages.
• Employers can deduct their required premium

contributions as an excise tax.
• If an employer pays more than the minimum

share of the premium, they can deduct this
additional contribution as an ordinary and
necessary business expense.

• Employers should put the amount of the
employee contribution and the amount of
any employer pickup contribution in Box 14 of the W2 labeled as MNPFML.

paidleave.mn.gov



Employer tax responsibilities for Paid Leave, Part II

Family Leave Payments: 
• These payments are not counted as wages.
• Paid Leave will issue employees who take Family Leave a 1099 at the end of the year.

Medical Leave Payments: 
• Part of the Medical Leave payments sent to employees will be counted as wages

(third party sick pay) and subject to Social Security and Medicare taxes.
• This amount will be 50% for most employers, and 33% for small employers.
• This amount should be reported as wages on a W2.

• The state will provide employers the taxable amount of Medical Leave payments.

Additional information on taxes for Paid Leave, including responsibilities for employees, 
can be found on the Paid Leave website. 

paidleave.mn.gov



Preparing for Paid Leave as an employer

Step Two 
Notify your 
employees

Step One 
Set up your accounts

Step Three

Prepare your 
workplace

paidleave.mn.gov



Step One

Set up your 
accounts

You’ll need two accounts: an Employer 
Account and an Administrator Account



Your Employer Account

To make things easier for employers, UI and Paid 
Leave use the same Employer Account to submit 
wage detail and submit payments to the state.

You must also use this account to designate a Paid 
Leave Administrator. Take this step today to 
be ready when 
Paid Leave launches 
on January 1, 2026.

Need help?
If you need assistance verifying 
or establishing your Employer 
Account, UI Customer Service 
Representatives are available 
to help. 

• Phone: 651-296-6141

• Hours: Monday through Friday,
8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

paidleave.mn.gov



Your Administrator Account

In addition to your Employer Account, you will need a 
Paid Leave Administrator Account on our website to 
do things like:

• Review leave applications

• See Paid Leave determinations

• Submit an Equivalent Plan Substitution Request

The account will make it easy to support your 
employees during important times in their lives.

paidleave.mn.gov
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Step Two

Notify your 
employees

Employers are required to notify their 
workforce about Paid Leave in two ways:

Action 1: Decide how to split premiums.

Action 2: Decide how you will bring paid leave to your employees.

1. Display a workforce poster

2. Notify individual employees directly



Display a workplace poster

The workplace poster must be displayed in 
English and any language spoken by 5 or 
more employees or independent contractors. 

The poster is available on our website in 
English, with more languages available soon.

A version of this poster for employers with an 
equivalent plan will also be available soon.

paidleave.mn.gov



Notify individual employees

You must notify individual employees directly within 
30 days of hire or 30 days before premium collection 
begins.

For program launch, this means you must notify 
employees by December 1, 2025.

This notice must be provided to employees in their 
primary language. Paid Leave will provide sample 
notifications in different languages.

Employees must acknowledge receipt of the notice, 
or employers will need to demonstrate how their 
workforce was notified. 

paidleave.mn.gov



Congratulations! You’re compliant.

• If you set up your accounts and
notify your workforce by
December 1, 2025, you are ready
for Paid Leave on January 1,
2026.

• But there are other important
decisions you can make today to
make Paid Leave work for your
workplace and employees.

paidleave.mn.gov



Step Three

Prepare your 
workplace

There are important decisions employers can 
make before January 1. 

Decision 1: How Paid Leave will work for your 
employees
Decision 2: How Paid Leave will work with other benefits

Decision 3: Update your workplace policies

1. How Paid Leave will work for your 
employees

2. How Paid Leave will work with other 
benefits

3. Update your workplace policies



How Paid Leave will work for your employees

Premiums 
• Starting January 1, 2026, employers can deduct up to 

50% of the standard premium rate from employee paychecks.
• Employers may choose to pay more than their required

portion for some or all employees. 
• Get set up with your payroll system or another method to 

collect premiums when the program goes live. 

Equivalent plans 
• Compare your costs and decide if the state plan or an 

equivalent plan will work best for your business. 

paidleave.mn.gov



How Paid Leave will work with other benefits 

• Paid Leave provides payments that
are a percentage of an employee’s
usual pay.
Employers can choose to offer
supplemental payments to
employees on leave through PTO or
other benefits.

• Think of it like “topping off” Paid
Leave payments.

• Other payments can reduce or
replace Paid Leave payments.

Diagram showing two one dollar bills. The 
first dollar bill is labeled "normal pay." The 
second dollar bill is divided into two 
sections, a green section labeled "Paid 
Leave payment," which takes up about 65% 
of the bill, and a blue section, labeled 
"supplemental payment," which takes up 
the remaining approximately 35% of the 
bill. Annotations on the side of the diagram 
shows that the Paid Leave payment is paid 
by the state and the supplemental 
payment is paid by the employer. 

paidleave.mn.gov

Paid by 
state

Paid by 
employerNormal 

pay

Paid Leave 
payment

Supplemental 
payment }

}



Question: We currently offer new parents six weeks of full wage replacement. Can we still? 
Answer: Yes, and at a lower cost to your business. 

Question: We want to offer senior managers full wage replacement. Can we?
Answer: Yes, you decide who can take supplemental payments.

Question: Can we require employees to use their PTO so they get full wage replacement? 
Answer: No. If you offer it, employees choose whether to use their PTO this way.

Question: What if an employee takes a full day of PTO during leave? 
Answer: This would not be a supplemental payment. PTO would replace their Paid Leave payment for that day.

Scenarios: Coordinating payments

We currently offer new parents six 
weeks of full wage replacement. 
Can we still? 

Yes, and at a lower cost to your 
business. 

We want to offer senior managers full 
wage replacement. Can we?

Yes. You decide who can take 
supplemental payments.

mn.gov/deed

Can we require employees to use their 
PTO so they get full wage replacement? 

No. If you offer it, employees choose 
whether to use their PTO this way.

What if an employee takes a full day of 
PTO during leave? 

This would not be a supplemental 
payment. PTO would replace their Paid 
Leave payment for that day.



Coordinate other job protections

In addition to Paid Leave, employees may qualify for job protections under other 
programs. Employers should clarify to employees how these programs will work together. 

These job protections can run concurrent with Paid Leave:

• Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). FMLA is a federal law that 
provides up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave per year. 

• Pregnancy & Parental Leave (PPL). PPL is a state law that provides 
up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave during pregnancy 
or upon the birth or adoption of a child.

Other Leaves: If an employer shows that an employee has already 
taken job-protected leave for a reason that qualifies under Paid 
Leave once the program starts, then the amount of Paid Leave the 
employee can take may be reduced. 

paidleave.mn.gov



Example: Coordinating leave time and payments

Scenario: An employee takes two weeks of PTO with FMLA, then begins taking Paid Leave.

Leave time (weeks)

Chart showing FMLA Leave and Paid Leave running concurrently for all 12 weeks. The employer pays the first two weeks, and the state pays the remaining 
10 weeks.

Because the employer designated the two weeks of PTO as FMLA, 
the Paid Leave start date is the same as the FMLA start date.

The employee uses two weeks of PTO before beginning Paid Leave. 
The state pays for the remaining 10 weeks. 

paidleave.mn.gov
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Update your workplace policies 

Leave notice policies

• You can require employees to comply with your usual 
and customary leave notice requirements, unless the 
reason for an employee's leave prevents this.

Intermittent leave policies
• You decide the shortest block of time that employees 

are allowed to use intermittent leave (from one minute 
up to one day).

• You can also decide if employees can take more than 
480 hours of leave intermittently each year, if they 
qualify, or if leave over 480 hours must be taken in one 
continuous block. 

paidleave.mn.gov



In 2026:

Administer 
leave

When Paid Leave begins, your Administrator 
Account will keep your organization in the loop



The Leave Administrator is the point of contact in your organization for Paid 
Leave. As a Leave Administrator, you will be able to:
• Manage your account with Paid Leave
• Coordinate Paid Leave with other benefits
• Request an Equivalent Plan Substitution
• Review applications submitted by employees
• Apply for small employer assistance funding
•

Who is a Paid Leave Administrator?

paidleave.mn.gov

The Paid Leave Administrator is the point of contact within your organization for Paid Leave. 

As a Paid Leave Administrator, you will be able to:

• Manage your account with Paid Leave

• Coordinate Paid Leave with other benefits

• Request an Equivalent Plan Substitution

• Review applications submitted by employees

• Apply for small employer assistance funding



Roles in Paid Leave application

The employee, employer, and Paid Leave all play a role in the application process. 

The Paid Leave application process:

1. Employee notifies Employer about intention to take leave.

2. Employee starts an application for Paid Leave.
Leave Administrator is notified an application has started.

3. Employee submits application for Paid Leave.
Leave Administrator receives a Request for Information.

4. Paid Leave division adjudicates claim for benefits.

5. Employee and Leave Administrator are notified of decision.

paidleave.mn.gov

The employee, employer, and Paid Leave all play a role in the application process.  

The Paid Leave application process

1. Employee notifies Employer about intention to take leave.

2. Employee starts an application for Paid Leave.

3. Employee submits application for Paid Leave.
Paid Leave Administrator is asked to review the application.

4. Paid Leave division adjudicates the application.

5. Employee and Paid Leave Administrator are notified of determination.



Paid Leave application review

[video has no sound]

• Review leave applications
submitted by employees

• Confirm the information
submitted by employees
is correct.

• Track the status of
applications

• View past determinations
from Paid Leave

Employers will be able to:




We’re listening

Paid Leave engages with a variety of 
stakeholders including but not limited to 
small employers, larger employers, HR 
professionals, health providers, equity 
groups, domestic violence and sexual 
assault advocates, the hospitality and 
insurance industries and third-party 
administrators.

• Input from businesses, organizations, 
and individuals helps to make Paid 
Leave work better for all Minnesotans. 

• We’ve held over 200 engagement 
sessions with a variety of stakeholders 
to answer questions and gather input 
on the program.

• We are also conducting user research 
interviews to get feedback on 
everything from leave administration 
to safety leave certification.

CAEE9D

Small
Employers

Larger 
Employers

Domestic 
Violence and 

Sexual Assault 
Advocates

Equity
Groups

Insurance 
Industry

Medical 
Providers

Third Party 
Administrators
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Social Service 
Organizations
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Professionals



Learning from employers

Minnesota Paid Leave is engaging with employers big 
and small across the state.

Based on lessons learned, we:

• Launched wage detail in a system employers already know 
and trust

• Drafted rules to support implementation of the statute, 
building on feedback from businesses, workers, and other 
stakeholders

• Partnered with the Department of Commerce to create a 
viable market for equivalent plans

paidleave.mn.gov



Help make Paid Leave work

Your partnership and experience help make Paid Leave work. 
Visit the Paid Leave website to:

• Review the three steps employers should take to be ready

• Check out frequently asked questions for employers.

• Estimate premium payments using our online calculator.

• Set up your accounts for Paid Leave.

• Sign up to receive Paid Leave updates.

• Send us questions.

To reach the Contact Center by phone, call 651-556-7777 
or 844-556-0444 (toll-free). Paid Leave staff are available 
9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday, 
except state holidays. paidleave.mn.gov

https://mn.gov/deed/paidleave/about/events/resources/


Thank you + Questions

Greg Norfleet | Minnesota Paid leave



Feedback

Please use this QR code to answer a few quick questions about today's session.

Paid Leave Feedback Survey

QR code

info.paidleave.mn.gov

https://deedmn.formstack.com/forms/paid_leave_roadshow_engagement_session_survey
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