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From FMLA to Paid Leave

Paid Leave for healthcare providers
October 9, 2025
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FMLA and
Paid Leave

Get to know the basics of the program

 How does Paid Leave coverage compare to

FMLA?
'
\@' * Who is eligible to take Paid Leave?
—4  What are benefits and job protections like

e under Paid Leave?




Paid Leave and FMLA

Minnesota Paid Leave was enacted in 2023 and begins Jan. 1, 2026.

Like FMLA: Unlike FMLA:

 The law provides job
protections when
people need time off

* The law also provides
payments from the
state to individuals on

to care for approved leave
themselves or their PP .
loved ones. * Paid Leave

differs in coverage,
eligibility, and
protections.

 Medical providers will
need to certify most
leaves.

paidleave.mn.gov



Covered leave

Medical Leave Family Leave

1 to 12 weeks 1 to 12 weeks

@

» “
. Bonding Caring H Safety s
Medical - ] - : : Leave because of domestic
eave to bond with an Leave because a family Leave to care for a family

!_ea‘\/(‘e to c’are for an individual’s child during member is on active duty member with a serious abuse, sexual assault, or
individual’s OWn seriots the first 12 months after  or has been notified of an health condition. stalking of the individual or
health condition. the child’s birth or after impending call or order to individual’s family member.

the placement of the active duty in the

child through adoption Armed Forces

or foster care.

Paid Leave: Maximum of 20 weeks combined in one year if someone qualifies for both medical and family leave




Coverage: FMLA and Paid Leave

* Covered employers:
o Private companies:
= 50 or more employees

= within 75 miles of their worksite .
Most Minnesota employers and

most Minnesota employees are
covered by Paid Leave

= for 20 or more weeks of the year
o All public employers
* Covered employees:
o Employed for at least 12 months, and

o Worked 1,250 hours or more in the past
12 months



Paid Leave: Covered individuals

Covered individuals include:

Full-time and part-time workers Agricultural workers Student workers

Most seasonal employees Employees of religious Employed family members

organizations

Owner-officers who draw a First responders

salary Temporary workers Elected and appointed officials

Not covered, can opt in: Not covered, can’t opt in:

Independent contractors Federal government employees
Self-employed individuals Exempt seasonal employees

Tribal Nations Railroad employees

paidleave.mn.gov



Coverage: Work in Minnesota

Paid Leave covers people who work in
Minnesota. The Paid Leave law defines this

* A business is located in Minnesota, but some of
their employees live in Wisconsin.

das.

Are they covered?

A. People who worked 50 percent or It depends on where they physically work.
more of the prior year in Minnesota, * A business is located in lowa, but some of their
or employees work remotely in Minnesota.

Are they covered?

B. For people who did not work 50 Yes.
percent or more of the year in any one * | work in multiple states, but I live in Minnesota.
state, those who live in Minnesota. Am | covered?

It depends on (1) time in each and (2) state of
residence.

paidleave.mn.gov



Employment protection

Paid Leave and FMLA have largely the same protections:

* Job protections: Generally, you must be restored to your job
or an equivalent position when returning from leave. For Paid

28 Leave, this take effect 90 days after your date of hire.
* Health insurance continuation: Generally, employers must
continue to fund their portion of healthcare and other group
insurance premiums while you are on leave.

* No retaliation or interference: Employers must not interfere
with or retaliate against you if you apply for or use Paid Leave.
Employers cannot take your Paid Leave payments.

paidleave.mn.gov



Leave schedules

Continuous Leave

Like FMLA, leave under Paid Leave can be
taken either continuously or intermittently.

M T W Th F

* Continuous leave is taken in a single
block of time.
(ex. 4 weeks of leave)

* Intermittent leave is taken in smaller
blocks of time
(ex. 2 days a week for 4 hours each
over 2 months)

Intermittent Leave
M T W Th F

Unlike FMLA, the employer does not have to agree

for Bonding Leave to be taken intermittently.

paidleave.mn.gov



Paid Leave payments

* Unlike FMLA, Paid Leave offers payments to help Minnesotans
focus on what matters most.

* Minnesotans can get up to 90% of usual wages, up to a maximum
of $1,423 per week (based on 2025 numbers).

* Those earning a lower wage get more support. If you earn less,
you'll get a higher percentage of your paycheck covered while on
leave.

* You must have earned at least 5.3% of the statewide average
annual wage in the past year to be eligible (53,900 in 2025).

If you receive payments from Unemployment Insurance, Workers’ Compensation, or
Social Security Disability Insurance during an absence, you are not eligible for Paid Leave payments.

paidleave.mn.gov



Paid Leave premiums

Premiums will be shared between
employers and employees.

* When Paid Leave starts, the premium rate will be
0.88%. This covers both family and medical leave.

* Small employers pay less. Their effective premium
rate is 0.66% of wages.

* The premium rate is applied on wages up to the
Social Security cap ($176,000).

* The first premiums are due April 30, 2026.

paidleave.mn.gov




Providers: Your role and responsibilities

Certify Leave Educate and Inform Prepare as an Employer

* Assess whether your
patient qualifies for
Paid Leave.

* Fill out and sign
certification forms
for Paid Leave.

* Provide information
and resources to
patients.

* Help patients who
need assistance to

apply.

* Set up your accounts

* Notify your
employees

e Update workplace
policies

paidleave.mn.gov




Determine if your patient needs Paid Leave
One and complete a certification form.

@
Certification of Health Care Provider for U.S. Department of Labor
Employee’s Serious Health Condition Wage and Hour Division
under the Family and Medical Leave Act

WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION

DO MOT SEND COMPLETED FORM TO THE DEFARTMENT OF LABOR. OMB Control Number: 1235-0003
RETURN TO THE PATIENT. Expires: 6/30/2026

The Family and Medical Leawe Act (FMLA) provides that an employer may require an employee seeking FMLA protections because of a need
for leave due to a serious health condition to submit a medical certification issued by the employee’s health care provider. 20 U.5.C. §§ 2613,
2614(c){3); 20 CF.R. § B25.305. The employer must give the employee at least 15 calendar days to provide the certification. If the employee
fails to provide complete and sufficient medical certification, his or her FMLA leave request may be denied. 29 C.F.R. § B25.313. Information
about the FMLA may be found on the WHD website at waw.dol gowagenciesiwhdfmia

SECTION | - EMPLOYER

Either the employes or the employer may complete Section 1. While use of this form is optional, this form asks the health care provider for the
information necessary for a complete and sufficient medical certification, which is sat out at 29 CF.R. § B25.306. You may not ask the
employee to provide more information than allowed under the FMLA regulations, 29 G.F.R. §§ 825.306-825.308. Additionally, you may
not request a cerification for FMLA leave to bond with a healthy newbom child or a child placed for adoption or foster care.

Employers must generally maintain records and documents relating to medical information, medical certifications, recedifications, or medical
histories of employess created for FMLA purposes as confidential medical records in separate files/records from the usual parsonnel files and
in accordance with 28 C.F.R. § 1630.14{c)(1). if the Americans with Disabilities Act applies, and in accordance with 29 C.F.R. § 16359, if the
Genetic Information Mondiscrimination Act applies.

(1) Employesa name:

First Maddie Last

(2) Employer name: Diate: (mmdddiyyyy)
(List date certification requested)

{3) The medical cartification must be by (mmsddiyyyy)
([Must allow at least 15 calendar days from the date requested, unless it s not feasible despite the employee’s diigent. good faith efforts.)

(4) Employee's job title: Jobdescription ] is/ [[] isnot attached.

Etiish

ployea's regular work

Statement of the employee’s essential job functions:

(Thie essential functions of the employes's position ane determined with reference to the position the employes held &t e time the employes notified the.
employer of the need for leave o the |eave started, whichever is earer.)

SECTION Il - HEALTH CARE PROVIDER

Please provide your contact information, complete all relevant pars of this Section, and sign the form. Your patient has requested leave under
the FMLA. The FMLA allows an employer to require that the employee submit a timely, complete, and sufficient medical cedification to support
a request for FMLA leave due to the serious health condifion of the employee. For FMLA purposes, a “serious health condition™ means an
iliness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental condition that involves care o by a health care provider. For
mara infrmation shoat tha definifinns of 2 serions health condition onder tha FMI A =se 'hn rhart on nana 4




What is certification?

Like with FMLA, certification shows that individuals need
Paid Leave. CERTIFICATION FORM

=] |
[ [

* Most types of leave require a certification form completed [T ]
by a medical professional:

|
|
|
]

o Medical Leave

o Caring Leave

* Military Family Leave, Bonding Leave, and most cases of
Safety Leave use other documentation for certification.

paidleave.mn.gov



Who can certify leave?

Under FMLA Under Paid Leave

* A doctor of medicine or osteopathy * Anyone who can certify FMLA
A podiatrist, dentist, clinical psychologist,
optometrist, or chiropractor (with
limitations)

* A nurse practitioner, nurse-midwife, * Mental health professionals

clinical social worker, or physician assistant Oth al , d d leaal
. : - : . er social service providers and lega
* A Christian Science practitioner listed with P g

the First Church of Christ, Scientist, in prOfE:SSIOnG/S fHayibelacicito C.ertlfy
Boston, Massachusetts certain types of leave or certain

* Any health care provider from whom the situations, like Safety Leave.
employer will accept a medical
certification for a claim for benefits

* Licensed alcohol and drug counselors

* Licensed midwives

paidleave.mn.gov



How will certification work?

Certification is simple and straightforward.

* Paid Leave certification forms are modeled on FMLA,
so providers don’t have to learn a whole new process.

* We will even accept FMLA forms to certify Paid Leave.

* Certification forms can be filled out on a computer or
printed and filled by hand.

* Forms can be sent to Paid Leave by the applicant or
certifier. They can be uploaded electronically, faxed,
mailed, or sent by email.

paidleave.mn.gov

Certification of Health Care Provider for U.S. Department of Labor :
Employee’s Serious Health Condition Wage and Hour Division gl
under the Family and Medical Leave Act WAGE AND HOUR DIVISION
DO NOT SEND COMPLETED FORM TO THE DEFARTMENT OF LABOR. OMB Control Number: 1235-0003
RETURN TO THE PATIENT. Expires: 6/30/2026

The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) provides that an employer may require an employee seaking FMLA protections because of a need
for leave due to a serious health condition to submit & medical certification issued by the employee's health care provider. 28 U.5.C. §§ 2613,
2614(c){3); 20 CF.R. § B25.305. The employer must give the employea at least 15 calendar days to provide the certification. If the employee
fails to provide complete and sufficient medical certification, his or her FMLA leave request may be denied. 29 C.F.R. § B25.313. Information
about the FMLA may be found on the WHD website at www.dol gowagencies/iwhd/fmila.

SECTION | - EMPLOYER

Either the employes or the amployer may complate Section |. While use of this form is optional, this form asks the health care provider for the
information necessary for a complete and sufficient medical certification, which is set out at 29 CF.R. § B25.306. You may not ask the
employee to provide more information than allowed under the FMLA regulations, 29 C.F.R. §§ 825.306-825.308. Additionally, you may
not request a certification for FMLA leave to bond with a healthy newbom child or a child placed for adoption or foster care.

Employers must generally maintain records and documents relaling to medical information, medical cerifications, recedifications, or medical
histories of employees created for FMLA purposes as confidential medical records in separate files/records from the usual personnel files and
in accordance with 20 CF.R. § 1830.14(c)(1). if the Americans with Disabilities Act applies, and in accordance with 20 CF.R. § 16359, if the
Ganatic Infarmation Nondiscrimination Act applies.

(1) Employee name:

First Mddle Last

(2) Employer name: Data: (mdidlyyyy)
(List date certification requested)

(3) The medical cerfification must be returned by (mmiddlyyyy)
(Must aliow at least 15 calendar days fiom the date requested, unless it s not feasible despite the employee's diigent, good faith efforts.)

(4) Emp 's job title: Job description : is/ _ is mot attached.

Employee's regular work schedula:

tofthe

's ial job functions:

(The essental functions of the employes's posltion are determined with reference to the position the employes held at the time the employes notified the
employer of the need for leave or the leave started, whichever ks earler )

SECTION Il - HEALTH CARE PROVIDER

Pleasa provide your contact information, complete all relevant parts of this Section, and sign the form. Your patient has requested leave undar
the FMLA. The FMLA allows an employer to require that the employes submit a timely, complete, and sufficient medical cedification to support
a raquest for FMLA leave due to the serious health condition of the employes. For FMLA purposes, a “serious health condition™ means an
iliness, injury, impaimment, or physical or mental condition that involves inpatient care or continuing treatment by a health care provider. For
mnra infarmation sheut tha definitinns of 2 sarioos haslth condition onder tha FMEA =aa the chart an nana 4



What information is needed for certification?

* The first section of the form will be completed by the applicant.
* As a healthcare provider, you will fill in information about:
o Start date & length of condition
o Length of leave time and schedule needed
o Medical facts about the condition
o Essential job function affected

o Type of leave needed

o Your professional and contact information

paidleave.mn.gov



Serious health conditions

Like FMLA, Paid Leave is for serious health conditions.

* Generally, this means the condition lasts at least seven
days and requires inpatient care or continuing treatment
or supervision. These days do not need to be continuous.

* You can certify any physical or mental health condition
that meets these criteria and falls within your scope of
practice.

* Paid Leave does not define or exclude specific diagnoses.
Your certification should be based on your professional
assessment and your patient’s needs.

paidleave.mn.gov



Authorized representatives

Individuals can choose an authorized representative to help
apply for Paid Leave and navigate any hearings or appeals.

* An authorized representative can be anyone the individual
designates, but it cannot be their certifying provider.

* If someone is incapacitated, their certifying provider can
request a form to certify an authorized representative on
their behalf.

* Minors and people under guardianship or conservatorship are
not required to have an authorized representative.

paidleave.mn.gov



About Bonding Leave

Bonding Leave is time to bond with a new child through birth, adoption, or foster care.

Both parents can take leave. Leave must take place within 12 months of child’s birth,
adoption, or placement.

How Bonding Leave is certified:

Bonding Leave for birth is certified with a hospital discharge
document, birth certificate, or letter from a healthcare
provider.

These must include the child’s name and date of birth, the
parents’ names who will take leave, and a provider signature.

Bonding Leave can also be certified with adoption or foster
paperwork

-

paidleave.mn.gov



About Caring Leave

 Like FMLA, Paid Leave provides time to care for
family members with a serious health condition.

* Under Paid Leave, this type of Family Leave is
called Caring Leave.

Healthcare providers will certify:

Caring Leave for family members of their
patient, certifying that their patient has a
serious health condition and needs care. They
will also certify the type of care needed and the
individuals approved to provide that care.




Who is a family member?

Under Minnesota Paid Leave, a family member can include:
* Spouse or domestic partner of the applicant

 Child (including biological, adopted, step, or foster children,
children of a domestic partner, or of a legal guardian)

* Parent (includes biological, adoptive, de facto custodian, or foster parent,
stepparent, or legal guardian of an applicant or the applicant's spouse)

* Sibling of the applicant

* Grandchild or grandparent of the applicant
e Sons- or daughters-in-law of the applicant (meaning the spouse of the applicant’s child)

* Any other individual who has a personal relationship with the applicant that creates an expectation and
reliance that the applicant care for the individual without compensation.

paidleave.mn.gov



About Safety Leave

Safety Leave is a type of Family Leave under Paid Leave that is not covered by FMLA.

Safety Leave covers situations where a person or their family member is affected by
domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking.

e Safety Leave can be certified in several ways, including by healthcare providers.

iv'

\\
Q

e Certifiers are not expected to report specific
details or circumstances, only to affirm
that Safety Leave is needed.

e Safety Leave can be used to seek medical
attention or counseling, or to seek other
services or manage legal or logistical issues.

paidleave.mn.gov



Two

Educate
and inform

* Provide information and resources about
Paid Leave to patients and family members.

* Help patients who face barriers to applying.

Ig':’\\




Share information with patients

Are YOLI Pregnant or

You can help your patients learn about Paid Leave. a new parent? 4 S

Parental |eave from
WOI'I(

* This is a new program, so your patients may not
know it is available to them.

« Recommend Paid Leave when you believe it will aid
treatment or recovery for a serious health condition.

e Share resources from Paid Leave such as handouts,
brochures, or flyers in your patient’s language.

* Hang an informational poster where you practice or
offer patient and family education sessions. I A s ot S

paidleave.mn.gov.

paidleave.mn.gov



Connect your patients to assistance

Your patients might need help to apply Paid Leave Contact Center

for Paid Leave.

* Support for individuals in their language
For example, this could happen if your patient:

* Applications can be taken over the phone
* Does not have reliable computer or internet

dCCesSs * Connect to other state resources

* Has limited English proficiency or limited

literacy Other ways to help

* Has a disability or health condition that e Resources or support from your health system

impacts their ability to apply
 Community organizations offering assistance

paidleave.mn.gov



Three Healthcare providers and systems may also

Pre pa re as need to work with Paid Leave as an employer.
an employer

There are three simple steps for employers to
prepare for Paid Leave:

1. Set up your accounts
2. Notify your employees

3. Set workplace policies




Step one: Set up your accounts

You will need an Employer Account

(at uimn.org) and an Administrator Account
(at paidleave.mn.gov) to meet your
responsibilities under Paid Leave.

Employer Account (at uimn.org):

* Submit wage detail reports

* Pay premiums

Administrator Account (at paidleave.mn.gov):
* Review leave applications

* See Paid Leave determinations

paidleave.mn.gov

PREPARE TODAY

Access your Employer Account
at uimn.org to designate a Paid
Leave Administrator.

After you receive an email
confirmation, navigate to
paidleave.mn.gov to create
your Administrator Account.

You can have one or multiple
administrators.



Paid Leave application review

_ [video has no sound]
Employers with a leave

administrator account will be
able to:

* Review leave applications
submitted by employees

Confirm the information
submitted by employees is
correct.

Track the status of
applications

View past determinations
from Paid Leave

Access benefit information (>)
for tax purposes





Step two: Notify your employees

By December 1, 2025, Minnesota PREPARE TODAY
employers must:
_ﬁ Download and display the
Display a
workforce poster

workplace poster from our
in English and any

Notify individual website.
employees .
i Download the sample notice,

directly in their fill in your employer

native language. information, and deliver the
Employees must notice to employees.
acknowledge
receipt.

language spoken
by five or more
employees or
independent
contractors.

Have employees acknowledge
receipt or document how they
were notified.

paidleave.mn.gov



Step three

If employers take the last two steps, you are
compliant when Paid Leave launches on
January 1, 2026.

But there are other important decisions you
can make today to make Paid Leave work best
for your organization such as:

How to split and collect premiums
Coordination of other benefits
Leave notice policies

Intermittent leave policies

paidleave.mn.gov

: Set workplace policies

PREPARE TODAY

Visit our website to
learn more about the
decisions employers
can make today.

Update your payroll
system and employee
handbooks to reflect
your choices.



Employer tax responsibilities for premiums

PremiumS: : gaaaa | = Sty o et |

* Premiums are collected on post-tax wages. [ [T = EN———

* Employers can deduct their required premium e —

contributions as an excise tax. Do .

* If an employer pays more than the minimum ol ol [ |
share of the premium, they can deduct this MNPFML | |
. . . . | 1 e s whoes w7 curte |
additional contribution as an ordinary and T P —
necessary business expense. L | | S— - —
W2 S e

Camgey 1 — Foor Bisie, Ty, or Local Tas Depariersse

 Employers should put the amount of the
employee contribution and the amount of
any employer pickup contribution in Box 14 of the W2 labeled as MNPFML.

paidleave.mn.gov



Employer tax responsibilities for payments

Family Leave Payments:
* These payments are not counted as wages.
* Paid Leave will issue employees who take Family Leave a 1099 at the end of the year.

Medical Leave Payments:
* Part of the Medical Leave payments sent to employees will be counted as wages
(third party sick pay) and subject to Social Security and Medicare taxes.
* This amount will be 50% for most employers, and 33% for small employers.
* This amount should be reported as wages on a W2.
* The state will provide employers the taxable amount of Medical Leave payments.

Additional information on taxes for Paid Leave, including responsibilities

for employees, can be found on the Paid Leave website.

paidleave.mn.gov



Next
Collaborate
and improve

Partner with Paid Leave to:
e Share what works well

e Tell us what we can improve

l e Reduce administrative burden in healthcare




Collaboration: We're listening

. .
o aVs * Input from businesses, healthcare
HR providers, organizations, and
Small Larger HR individuals helps to make Paid Leave
Employers Employers  Professionals work better for all Minnesotans.
@ nI A * We've held over 250 engagement
% @ sessions with a variety of stakeholders
B Domestic : .
. : . to answer questions and gather input
Medical Equity Violence and
Providers Groups Sexual Assault on the program.
Advocates
o0 0 * We are also conducting user research
ﬁﬁﬁ /Es Q interviews to get feedback on
ift everything from leave administration
Social Service Insurance Third Party

to Safety Leave certification.

Organizations Industry Administrators

paidleave.mn.gov



Collaboration: Provider feedback

We are always looking for providers who want to work with us to figure out:
* What works well

 How we can make Paid Leave more
accessible to more people

e How we can reduce administrative burden
and make Paid Leave an efficient and effective
tool for providers to improve patient outcomes.

If you’re ready to partner with us, please get in touch.

paidleave.mn.gov 37



@ Collaboration: Help make Paid Leave work

Your partnership and experience help make
Paid Leave work. Visit the Paid Leave website to:

* Review information for providers, employers, and
individuals/families.

* Check out frequently asked questions.
e Sign up to receive Paid Leave updates.

* Send us questions.

To reach the Contact Center by phone, call 651-556-7777
or 844-556-0444 (toll-free). Paid Leave staff are available
8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday,

except state holidays.

paidleave.mn.gov


https://mn.gov/deed/paidleave/about/events/resources/
https://info.paidleave.mn.gov/

MY MINNesoOTA

PAID LEAVE

Thank you + Questions

Greg Norfleet | Minnesota Paid leave



MY MINNesoOTA

PAID LEAVE

Help us improve!

Use this QR code to provide feedback about today's session. Paid Leave Feedback Survey



https://deedmn.formstack.com/forms/paid_leave_engagement_session_survey
https://forms.office.com/Pages/ResponsePage.aspx?id=RrAU68QkGUWPJricIVmCjO5PKN3qFedFqwBFXCcsYY9URDFXQjZJUEtGNUdNMkU4VEVaUjYyT1VDTC4u
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