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Step One

Learn about 
Paid Leave 

Get to know the basics of the program

• When would my employees need Paid 
Leave?

• Who is covered under the law?

• What are benefits and job protections like 
under the law?



Minnesota’s Paid Leave law

• The Minnesota Paid Leave law, enacted in May 2023 and 
updated in May 2024, makes paid family and medical 
leave coverage available to Minnesota workers 
beginning Jan. 1, 2026.

• The law provides job protections and payments from 
the state to individuals who need time off to care for 
themselves or their loved ones.

• Minnesota Paid Leave will be funded by premiums made 
up of contributions from employees and employers. 

• Paid Leave will send benefit payments directly to 
Minnesotans on leave.

info.paidleave.mn.gov



Covered leave

• Medical Leave: Up to 12 Weeks
• Medical: Leave to care for an individual’s own serious medical condition

• Family Leave: Up to 12 weeks
• Bonding: Leave to bond with an individual’s child during the first 12 months after the child’s 

birth or after the placement of the child through adoption or foster care.
• Caring: Leave to care for a family member with a serious health condition.
• Safety: Leave because of domestic abuse, sexual assault, or stalking of the individual or 

individual’s family member.
• Active Duty: Leave because a family member is on active duty or has been notified of an 

impending call or order to active duty in the Armed Forces.
• Maximum of 20 weeks total leave in a benefit year.
• Qualifying conditions must last more than seven days and be certified by a health care 

provider or designated professional.



Covered employees

Covered employees include:
• Full-time, part-time workers
• Most seasonal employees
• Owner-officers who draw a salary
• Agricultural workers
• Employees of religious organizations
• Temporary workers
• Student workers
• Employed family members
• First responders
• Elected and appointed officials 

Not covered, can opt in:

• Independent contractors

• Self-employed individuals

• Tribal Nations 

Not covered, can’t opt in:

• Federal government employees

• Exempt seasonal employees

• Railroad employees

Covered employees include:

Not covered, can opt in:

Independent contractors

Self-employed individuals

Tribal Nations 

Not covered, can’t opt in:

Federal government employees

Exempt seasonal employees

Railroad employees

Full-time and part-time workers 

Most seasonal employees

Owner-officers who draw a 
salary

Agricultural workers

Employees of religious 
organizations

Temporary workers

Student workers

Employed family members

First responders

Elected and appointed officials 
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Minnesota employees

Paid Leave covers Minnesota employees. 
The Paid Leave law defines Minnesota 
employees as:

A. Employees who worked 50 percent or 
more of the prior year in Minnesota, 
or 

B. For employees who did not work 50 
percent or more of the year in any one 
state, those who live in Minnesota.

Scenarios:

Question: I have employees who work mostly in 
Wisconsin, are they covered? 
Answer: No
Question: My business is in North Dakota, but 
some of the people I hire live in Minnesota - are 
they covered? 
Answer: It depends on where they work

Question: I’m a traveling salesman and do work 
across the entire Midwest, am I covered?
Answer: It depends on how much you work in 
each state.
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• My business is located in Minnesota, but some 
of my employees live in Wisconsin. 

• My business is located in Wisconsin, but some of 
my employees work remotely in Minnesota.

• I work in multiple states, but I live in Minnesota.

Scenarios



Paid Leave payments

• Paid Leave helps Minnesotans focus on what matters, whether 
that's caring for a child, recovering from an illness, or supporting 
a loved one.

• Minnesotans can get up to 90% of usual wages, up to a 
maximum of $1,423 per week (based on 2025 numbers). 

• Lower-wage workers get more support. If you earn less, you'll 
get a higher percentage of your paycheck covered while on 
leave.

• You must have earned at least 5.3% of the statewide average 
annual wage in the past year to be eligible ($3,900 in 2025).

If you receive payments from Unemployment Insurance, Workers’ Compensation, or Social Security Disability 
Insurance during an absence, you are not eligible for Paid Leave payments.
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Paid Leave job protection

• Job protected leave improves employee retention, as workers 
can take the time they need to bond and care without having to 
choose between their job and their family. 

• An employee who has taken family or medical leave must be 
restored to the same position or an equivalent position with the 
same pay, status, benefits, length of service, and seniority as 
prior to the date of leave.

• Paid Leave job protections begin 90 days from the date of hire, 
but employees may have additional job protections under other 
state programs like Minnesota Pregnancy and Parental Leave.
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Step Two

Set up your 
accounts

You’ll need two accounts: one for 
contributions and one for leave 
administration



Contributions: Your UI employer account

To make things easier for employers, Paid Leave uses 
the same system as Unemployment Insurance (UI) 
for a few important parts of the program.

As an employer, you will use your UI account to: 
1. Report quarterly wage data. 

This information will be used to determine employee 
eligibility for Paid Leave payments. 

2. Pay premiums starting in April 2026.
You can start collecting premiums from employees in 
January.

3. Designate a Paid Leave Administrator.

Need Help?
If you need assistance verifying or 

establishing your wage detail 
account, UI Customer Service 

Representatives are available to 
help. 

• Phone: 651-296-6141
• Hours: M-F, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 

p.m

As of February 1, employers have 
reported wages for more than 3.4 million 

employees through the UI website.
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Need help?

If you need assistance verifying 
or establishing your wage detail 
account, UI Customer Service 
Representatives are available 
to help. 

Phone: 651-296-6141
Hours: M-F, 8:00 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

As of February 1, employers have 
reported wages for more than 3.4 million 

employees through the UI website.



Leave administration: Create your account now

In addition to your account on the 
Unemployment Insurance (UI) system, you will 
need a Paid Leave Administrator Account 
on our website to: 

• Review leave applications,

• see Paid Leave determinations,

• and more!

The account will make it easy to support your 
employees during important times in their lives.
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How to: Designate a Paid Leave Administrator

Before you can create an account on 
the Paid Leave website, you must 
designate a Paid Leave 
Administrator using the UI system. 

The Paid Leave Administrator will be 
your main point of contact with 
Minnesota Paid Leave. 

uimn.org
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Step Three

Prepare 
your 
workplace

There are important actions for employers to 
take before January 1. 

Action 1: Decide how to split premiums.

Action 2: Decide how you will bring paid leave to your employees.

Action 3: Update your workplace policies

Action 1: Decide how to split 
premiums.

Action 2: Decide how you will bring paid 
leave to your employees.

Action 3: Update your 
workplace policies



Action 1: 
Decide how to split premiums

Premiums will be shared between 
employers and employees.

• When Paid Leave starts, the premium 
rate will be 0.88%. This covers both 
family and medical leave. 

• The premium rate is applied on wages up 
to the Social Security cap ($176,000).

• The first premiums are due April 30, 
2026.

• Starting January 1, 2026, employers 
can deduct up to 50% of premiums 
from employee paychecks.

• Employers may choose to pay more 
than their required portion for some 
or all employees. 
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Small employer premiums

Small employers pay a reduced premium. 
• For small employers, their standard 

contribution is reduced by half.

• To qualify, an employer must have 30 or 
fewer employees, and an average employee 
wage of 150% or less of the statewide average 
($107,016 in 2025).

• This reduced employer premium does not 
change the amount owed by employees.
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Estimate your premiums

Employers and individuals can use our online 
calculator to estimate costs under Paid Leave.

• You can plan for 2026 and compare program 
cost and benefits. 

• For example, weekly premiums for someone 
earning $70,000 would be just $5.93 each if 
the employer and employee each pay half.
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Action 2: 
Decide how you will provide Paid Leave to your employees

As an employer, you know your business best. 

Minnesota Paid Leave is often the 
least expensive and easiest 

option. But no matter how you 
decide to bring Paid Leave to your 

employees, the process is easy 
and intuitive. 

For employers who work with the 
state plan, Paid Leave will handle 

the work of reviewing 
applications and making 

payments, with a clean and clear 
interface for employers to track 
and manage employee leaves.

For employers who choose to offer 
an equivalent plan, Paid Leave built 

a straightforward, user-friendly 
process to submit your request.
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Understanding equivalent plans for Paid Leave

Employers can choose to meet their 
responsibilities under Minnesota Paid Leave by 
providing employees an equivalent plan that 
meets or exceeds the coverage offered by the 
state.

• Equivalent plans can be purchased from a 
private insurance carrier, or an employer can 
self-insure and provide coverage to employees 
themselves. 

• Employers approved for an equivalent plan 
must still submit wage detail reports and 
comply with requirements to notify employees 
about coverage.

• Equivalent plans will be certified by the 
Department of Commerce.

Image of a set of balanced scales. One 
side is labeled “Minnesota Paid Leave” 
and the other side is labeled 
“Equivalent Plan.”

An equivalent plan can cover family 
leave or medical leave in combination 
with Minnesota Paid Leave - or can 
cover both.

Minnesota 
Paid Leave

Equivalent 
Plan

Employers can choose to meet their responsibilities 
under Minnesota Paid Leave by providing employees 
an equivalent plan that meets or exceeds the coverage 
offered by the state.

An equivalent plan can cover family leave 
or medical leave in combination with 

Minnesota Paid Leave - or can cover both.

• Equivalent plans can be purchased from a private insurance 
carrier, or an employer can self-insure and provide coverage to 
employees themselves. 

• Employers approved for an equivalent plan still have obligations 
under the law including submitting wage detail.

• Employers cannot charge employees more than they would pay 
under the state plan (0.44% of wages in 2026) to fund an 
equivalent plan.
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Action 3: 
Update your workplace policies 

As an employer, you have decisions 
to make on:

• Notification requirements

• Attendance and call-out procedures
• Intermittent leave policies

• Coordination with other payments

• Coordination with other leaves
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Notification requirements

Employers are required to notify their workforce 
about Paid Leave in two ways:

1. Hang a workforce poster in English and any language 
spoken by 5 or more employees or independent 
contractors. 

This will be available soon on our website in English, with 
more languages in the near future.

2. Notify individual employees directly in their native 
language within 30 days of hire or 30 days before 
premium collection begins (December 1, 2025).

Employers need employees to affirmatively acknowledge 
receipt or demonstrate how their workforce was notified. 
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Attendance and call-out procedures

Employees will not be able to apply for Paid Leave 
until they have notified their employer. 

• Employers can require employees to comply 
with their usual and customary notice and 
procedural requirements for requesting leave, 
unless the reason for an employee's leave 
prevents this.

• Employees should provide their employer with 
notice at least 30 days before leave begins.

• If 30 days’ notice is not possible, notice must be 
given as soon as possible.
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Intermittent leave policies

Leave under Paid Leave can be taken either 
continuously or intermittently. 

• Continuous leave is taken in a single block of time. 
(ex. 4 weeks of leave)

• Intermittent leave is taken in smaller blocks of time 
(ex. 2 days a week for 4 hours each over 2 months)

Calendar showing 
continuous leave taken as 
one single block of several 

weeks.

Calendar showing 
intermittent leave taken in 

one to two day chunks 
across an entire month. 

For intermittent leave, employers can:
1. Set a minimum increment of time 

(between 15 minutes and 1 day) that 
employees are allowed to use 
intermittent leave.

2. Decide if employees can take more than 
480 hours of intermittent leave in a single 
benefit year. 
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Coordination of other payments

Paid Leave provides payments that are a percentage of an employee’s usual pay.
Employers can choose to offer supplemental payments to employees on leave.

• Supplemental Benefits
• Some benefits can be used with Paid Leave to bring payments closer to a worker’s regular 

salary. Think of it like “topping off” Paid Leave payments. 
• Sick time 
• Vacation pay
• Paid time off
• Short-term disability

• Benefit Offsets
• Some benefits, if taken during an absence, could reduce payments:

• If a payment is not designated as a supplemental benefit, it’s likely an offset.
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Supplemental Benefits Substitution Payment
Some benefits, if taken during an absence, could 
reduce payments.

If a payment is not designated as a supplemental 
benefit, it’s likely an offset.

 

Some benefits can be used with Paid Leave to 
bring payments closer to a worker’s regular 
salary. Think of it like “topping off” Paid Leave 
payments. 
• Sick time 
• Vacation pay
• Paid time off
• Short-term disability



Example: Coordination of other payments

Bar chart showing the interactions between paid leave payments, supplemental payments, and 
substitution payments. On the left is a bar showing the employee's normal pay, or how much 
the employee makes in a week when they are working. Next to the normal pay bar is a bar 
about 60% of its height, labeled "Paid Leave payment." This shows that the employee receives 
partial wage replacement from the state or an equivalent plan while on Paid Leave. To the right 
of the "Paid Leave payment" bar is another "Paid Leave payment" bar with a "supplemental 
payment" bar, showing that employers can allow workers to use supplemental payments to 
"top off" their Paid Leave payments. The "Paid Leave payment" and "supplemental payment" 
bars added together are the same height as the "normal pay" bar. On the far right is a bar 
labeled "substitution payment," which is the same height as the "normal pay" bar, showing that 
employers can offer full wage replacement in lieu of the worker receiving payments from the 
state. 

Paid by state

Paid by employer

Normal 
pay

Paid Leave 
payment

Paid Leave 
payment

Supplemental 
payment

Substitution 
Payment
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Employers can choose whether employees can take 
supplemental payments while on leave. 



Coordination with other job protections

In addition to Paid Leave, employees may qualify for job protections 
under other programs. Employers should clarify to employees how 
these programs will work together. 

These job protections can run concurrent with Paid Leave:

• Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA). FMLA is a federal law that 
provides up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave per year. 

• Pregnancy & Parental Leave (PPL). PPL is a state law that provides 
up to 12 weeks of unpaid, job-protected leave during pregnancy 
or upon the birth or adoption of a child.

Other Leaves: If an employer shows that an employee has already 
taken job-protected leave for a reason that qualifies under Paid 
Leave once the program starts, then the amount of Paid Leave the 
employee can take may be reduced. 

info.paidleave.mn.gov



Example: 
Coordination of leave time and payments

Scenario: An employee qualifies for FMLA and applies for Paid Leave two weeks after their leave begins.

Chart showing FMLA Leave and Paid Leave running concurrently for all 12 weeks.

Because the employer chose to run these programs concurrently, 
the Paid Leave start date is the same as the FMLA start date. 

Leave payments

Chart showing that the employer pays the employee for the first two weeks of leave, then the state pays the employee for the 
remaining ten weeks.

The employee uses two weeks of PTO instead of receiving benefits from the state. 
The state pays for the remaining 10 weeks. 
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Leave time (weeks)



Step Four

Administer 
leave

Your Paid Leave Administrator Account will 
keep your organization in the loop



Who is a Paid Leave Administrator?

The Leave Administrator is the point of contact in your organization for Paid Leave.
As a Leave Administrator, you will be able to:

• Manage your account with Paid Leave
• Review applications submitted by employees
• Request an equivalent plan exemption
• Apply for small employer assistance funding
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The Paid Leave Administrator is the point of contact within your organization for Paid Leave. 

As a Paid Leave Administrator, you will be able to:

• Manage your account with Paid Leave

• Coordinate Paid Leave with other benefits

• Request an equivalent plan exemption

• Review applications submitted by employees

• Apply for small employer assistance funding



Roles in Paid Leave application

The employee, employer, and Paid Leave all play a role in the application process. 

The Paid Leave application process:

1. Employee notifies Employer about intention to take leave.

2. Employee starts an application for Paid Leave.
Leave Administrator is notified an application has started.

3. Employee submits application for Paid Leave.
Leave Administrator receives a Request for Information.

4. Paid Leave division adjudicates claim for benefits.

5. Employee and Leave Administrator are notified of decision.
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The employee, employer, and Paid Leave all play a role in the application process.  

The Paid Leave application process

1. Employee notifies Employer about intention to take leave.

2. Employee starts an application for Paid Leave.

3. Employee submits application for Paid Leave.
Paid Leave Administrator is asked to review the application.

4. Paid Leave division adjudicates the application.

5. Employee and Paid Leave Administrator are notified of determination.



Paid Leave application review, part I

Employers will be able 
to review leave 
applications submitted 
by employees, and 
confirm the information 
submitted by 
employees is correct.



Paid Leave application review, part II

Employers will be able 
to track the status of 
each leave application, 
and view notices from 
the Paid Leave division. 



Small Employer Assistance Grants

Starting in January 2026, funding will be available 
to support small businesses during an employee’s 
absence. Leave administrators will be able to apply 
for this funding once an employee is approved for 
leave. 
• Qualifications:

• 30 or fewer employees
• Average employee wage of under 150% of Statewide Average Annual Wage 

($107,016 in 2025)
• Benefits:

• Funding up to $3,000 to
• Hire temporary workers
• Increase an existing workers’ wages to substitute for an employee 
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Qualifications:

• 30 or fewer employees
• Average employee wage of 

under 150% of Statewide 
Average Annual Wage 
($107,016 in 2025)

Benefits:

Funding up to $3,000 to
• Hire temporary workers
• Increase existing workers’ pay 
• Train workers to cover for an 

employee on leave



We’re listening

Paid Leave engages with a variety of 
stakeholders including but not limited to 
small employers, larger employers, HR 
professionals, health providers, equity 
groups, domestic violence and sexual 
assault advocates, the hospitality and 
insurance industries and third-party 
administrators.

• Input from businesses, organizations, 
and individuals helps to make Paid 
Leave work better for all Minnesotans. 

• We’ve held over 200 engagement 
sessions with a variety of stakeholders 
to answer questions and gather input 
on the program.

• We are also conducting user research 
interviews to get feedback on 
everything from leave administration 
to safety leave certification.

CAEE9D

Small
Employers

Larger 
Employers

Domestic 
Violence and 

Sexual Assault 
Advocates

Equity
Groups

Insurance 
Industry

Medical 
Providers

Third Party 
Administrators
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Learning from employers

Minnesota Paid Leave is engaging with employers big 
and small across the state.

Based on lessons learned, we:

• Launched wage detail in a system employers already know 
and trust

• Drafted rules to support implementation of the statute, 
building on feedback from businesses, workers, and other 
stakeholders

• Partnered with the Department of Commerce to create a 
viable market for equivalent plans
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Help make Paid Leave work

Your partnership and experience help make Paid Leave work. Visit the 
Paid Leave website to:

• Check out frequently asked questions for employers.

• Estimate premium payments using our online calculator.

• Register for a Paid Leave Only account in the UI system and 
report wages.

• Sign up to receive Paid Leave updates.

• Send us questions.

To reach the Contact Center by phone, call 651-556-7777 or 844-556-
0444 (toll-free). Paid Leave staff are available 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., 
Monday through Friday, except state holidays.

info.paidleave.mn.gov

https://mn.gov/deed/paidleave/about/events/resources/


Thank you + Questions

Greg Norfleet | Minnesota Paid leave
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