MN Department of Labor and Industry Updates
Apprenticeship Minnesota 
Registered Apprenticeship Program Application Directory
Better align employment seekers across Minnesota with opportunities in registered apprenticeship programs, Apprenticeship Minnesota has created a Registered Apprenticeship Program Application Directory. The directory allows interested individuals to search by apprenticeable occupations and access information about corresponding registered apprenticeship programs including the application process, minimum qualifications for entry and program contact information.
To learn more about the Registered Apprenticeship Program Application Directory please visit: https://www.dli.mn.gov/business/workforce/registered-apprenticeship-program-application-directory 
New and Expanded Registered Apprenticeship Program Grant

This grant program seeks to aid existing sponsors to expand existing programs in apprenticeable occupations, with priority given to programs in these targeted industries: education, semiconductors, information technology, advanced manufacturing, health care, hospitality, the public sector, and construction.
Funding will assist with the costs of expanding a registered apprenticeship program and may be used to cover the costs of staff time to operationalize program logistics, develop and instruct related instruction or recruit apprentices. Grant funds may also be used to purchase tools and supplies or pay for tuition for related instruction. The total available funding for the upcoming grant cycle is anticipated to total up to $640,000. Applicants may apply for up to $30,000. 
Applications are accepted on a rolling basis beginning Dec. 20, 2024, and will continue until all funds have been awarded, or April 30, 2026, whichever comes first. 
For more information on this grant, click here or contact Ruth Taylor at ruth.taylor@state.mn.us. 
Earned Sick & Safe Time
Earned sick and safe time:  Minnesota workers now have access to paid sick time to take care of themselves or a family member. Under the law, employees statewide earn one hour of sick and safe time for every 30 hours worked and accrue up to 48 hours of sick time each year unless the employer agrees to a higher amount. Workers are able to take time off work to take care of themselves or a family member when they are ill, to attend medical appointments or to care for a child when school has been closed due to inclement weather, without the risk of losing their jobs.
Website:  www.dli.mn.gov/sick-leave 
Fact sheet:  https://dli.mn.gov/sites/default/files/pdf/sick_leave.pdf
YouTube video:  https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iq-_rTxCT4w
FAQs:  https://www.dli.mn.gov/sick-leave-FAQs
Labor Standards: Learn about wage, hour laws at webinars from Labor Standards
The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry's Labor Standards Division is providing a series of webinars to help workers and employers better understand the state's wage and hour laws.
These sessions include topics such as wage and hour basics, labor standards in the construction industry, child labor laws, workplace protections for expectant and new parents, minimum wage, overtime exemptions and sick, safe and medical leave laws.
For more information on upcoming webinars click here.
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