skip to content
Primary navigation
Feature image for

Adjusters

Detailed information about licensing for insurance adjusters operating in Minnesota and links to appropriate forms.

Business Entities

Resident and Nonresident  

Complete the Adjuster Agency license application online at Sircon.
  • Fee is $50.
Public Adjuster Agency - mail an original Public Adjuster surety bond in the amount of $10,000 using the Surety Bond Form (.pdf) approved by the Commerce Department.
  • Minnesota Department of Commerce – Licensing  
    85 7th Place East #500  
    St. Paul MN 55429

Designated Home State Adjuster Agency 

If neither the state in which the business entity maintains its principal place of residence or business licenses adjuster agencies you must complete the Nonresident Business License Application (.pdf).

Catastrophe Adjuster

Complete the Catastrophe Adjuster Registration application online at Sircon.

Crop Hail Adjuster

A Minnesota crop hail adjuster license is a limited license. The licensee may only act as an adjuster in regard to insurance policies against crop damage by hail. To adjust claims for crop damage from any other peril, including MPCI claims, you must get an independent or public adjuster license with the crop line of authority. 

Exception: A licensed crop hail adjuster who has satisfactorily completed the loss adjustment training curriculum and competency testing required by the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation (FCIC) Standard Reinsurance Agreement may adjust MPCI claims.

Residents: Complete the Crop Hail Adjuster license application on line at Sircon.

  • Fee is $50.

Nonresidents: If your resident state licenses adjusters, complete the Crop Hail Adjuster license application online at Sircon

Designated Home State Adjuster

You may only designate a home state if neither the state in which you physically reside nor your principal place of business licenses adjuster for the line of authority you are seeking.

If you are designating a state other than MN as your home state:

Complete the Adjuster Non-resident Application with a Designated Home State (DHS) online at Sircon

  • Available lines of authority are property and casualty, workers' compensation, and crop. 
  • Fee is $50.

If you are designating MN as your home state:

  1. Pass the required exam. You can schedule an exam with PSI or by calling 1-800-733-9267. 
    • Available lines of authority are property and casualty, workers' compensation, and crop. 
    • For exemptions to the crop exam, see below.
  2. Submit fingerprints for a criminal history record check. (See Fingerprinting FAQ.)
  3. Complete the New Adjuster Application online at Sircon and indicate the you need a Designated Home State (DHS).

Non-Resident Independent Adjuster

  1. Complete the Adjuster license application online at Sircon.
    • Fee is $50.
    • Available lines of authority are property and casualty, workers' compensation, and crop. 
    • For exemptions to the crop exam, see below.

Public Adjuster

Resident

  1. Pass the required exam. You can schedule an exam with PSI or by calling 1-800-733-9267.
    • Available lines of authority are property and casualty, workers' compensation, and crop. 
    • For exemptions to the crop exam, see below.
  2. Submit fingerprints for a criminal history record check. (See Fingerprinting FAQ.)
  3. Complete the Adjuster license application online at Sircon.
    • Fee is $50. 
  4. Mail an original Public Adjuster surety bond in the amount of $10,000 using the Surety Bond Form (.pdf) approved by the Commerce Department.
    • Minnesota Department of Commerce – Licensing  
      85 7th Place East #500  
      St. Paul MN 55101

Nonresident

  1. Complete the Adjuster license application online at Sircon.
    • Available lines of authority are property and casualty, workers' compensation, and crop. 
    • Fee is $50 plus a $10 Technology Surcharge. 
  2. Mail an original Public Adjuster surety bond in the amount of $10,000 using the Surety Bond Form (.pdf) approved by the Commerce Department.
    • Minnesota Department of Commerce – Licensing  
      85 7th Place East #500  
      St. Paul MN 55101

Resident Independent Adjuster

  1. Pass the required exam. You can schedule an exam with PSI or by calling 1-800-733-9267.
    • Available lines of authority are property and casualty, workers' compensation, and crop. 
    • For exemptions to the crop exam, see below.
  2. Submit fingerprints for a criminal history record check. (See Fingerprinting FAQ.)
  3. Complete the Adjuster license application online at Sircon.
    • Fee is $50.

Crop Exemptions

  • An individual who is currently licensed in another state for the crop line of authority based on an adjuster examination. In order for you to qualify for this exemption, your record in the NAIC Producer Database must indicate that you or your company are licensed in good standing. If your record in the NAIC Producer Database does not include that information, then you must provide certification from the other state that your license is currently in good standing. The certification must be of a license with the crop line of authority.

  • An individual who is not currently licensed in another state for the crop line of authority based on an adjuster examination but was so licensed within the previous 90 days. In order for you to qualify for this exemption, that state license must have expired and your application must be received by Minnesota within 90 days of that license’s expiration. Your record in the NAIC Producer Database must indicate that you or your company was licensed in good standing when your license expired. If your record in the NAIC Producer Database does not include that information, then you must provide certification from the other state that your license was in good standing at the time of its expiration. The certification must be of a license with the crop line of authority.

  • An individual who is or was licensed in another state for the crop line of authority based on an adjuster examination who establishes legal residency in Minnesota. In order for you to qualify for this exemption, you must make application to become a resident crop adjuster licensee within 90 days of establishing legal residency in Minnesota.

  • An individual who has satisfactorily completed the National Crop Insurance Services Crop Adjuster Proficiency Program or the loss adjustment training curriculum and competency testing required by the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation Standard Reinsurance Agreement. In order for you to qualify for this exemption, you must send one of the following to licensing.commerce@state.mn.us: (a) evidence of satisfactory completion of the National Crop Insurance Services Crop Adjuster Proficiency Program; or (b) evidence of satisfactory completion of the loss adjustment training curriculum and competency testing required by the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation Standard Reinsurance Agreement.

back to top