skip to content
Primary navigation
Feature image for

Bullion Product Dealer Registration

Bullion Product Registration Guide

This guide explains how to apply for and maintain a Minnesota bullion product dealer registration (.pdf)

Important Notice Regarding Changes to the Bullion Products Dealer Law

During the 2016 legislative session, the statute that regulates the bullion coin industry was changed. Effective July 1, 2016, some of the major changes to Minnesota chapter 80G are:

  • The new law adds additional types of bullion products in addition to coins: rounds, bars, and ingots. The additional products will have to be taken into consideration when computing transaction totals for registration purposes. The law also clarifies that a product with any level of precious metal is defined as a bullion product.
  • The threshold for registration has been raised from $5,000 to $25,000 of bullion product transactions (both sales and purchases). As such, the minimum amount for the surety bond requirement has been raised to $25,000.
  • The trade show exemption has been changed from “occasional” to twelve (12) trade shows per year in Minnesota.
  • The law clarifies the definition of a bullion products dealer, in particular for dealers located outside the state of Minnesota who conduct transactions with Minnesota located consumers.
  • The law allows dealers located outside of Minnesota to use a background screening vendor authorized to do business in their home state, as opposed to the previous requirement of using a Minnesota vendor.

The new language in Minnesota chapter 80G can be found on the Revisor’s website. If you have any questions, please email: consumer.protection@state.mn.us

Bullion Product Fees

License Type
Initial Fee
Renewal Fee
Bullion Product Dealer $25 $25
Bullion Product Representative $10 $10
back to top