Skip to content

License Examinations

Special Notice to MN Resident Insurance Producers:
Regarding Pre-License Education Requirements and Possible Exemptions:

Before sitting for a licensing exam, insurance producer applicants must first complete the 20 hours of Minnesota Department of Commerce pre-approved insurance pre-license education per line of authority as required in Minnesota Statutes Chapter 60K.36 Subd.4.  Minnesota approved pre-license education providers and courses can be found at http://www.sircon.com/minnesota.  Possible exemptions to the required pre-license education are allowed in Minnesota Statutes Chapter 60K.36 Subd. 4a.  A list of exemptions and corresponding documentation the applicant must present to the exam service are shown on this [pdf].  The original documentation will be returned to the exam applicant in order for them to fax it to the licensing dept at 651-539-0108 after they apply online for their license at http://www.sircon.com/minnesota

All individual insurance, real estate, and appraiser prelicensing examinations are administered solely by PSI Services, LLC.

Applicants may schedule an examination using one of the following methods:

  • Via the Internet: www.psiexams.com - available 24 hours a day

  • With a touch-tone phone call to PSI: 800-733-9267 - available 24 hours a day

  • With a phone call to a PSI registrar: 800-733-9267.

  • Available: Monday through Friday: 6:30 AM - 7:00 PM Central Time

  • Available: Saturday: 10:00 AM - 4:00 PM Central Time

Minnesota Test Centers:

  • Duluth, 416 West Superior Street

  • Edina, 6550 York Avenue

  • Lake Elmo, 3275 Manning Avenue North

  • Mankato, 3030 Airport Road

  • Moorhead, 819 30th Avenue South

  • Rochester, 3155 Superior Drive NW

  • St. Cloud, 1542 45th Avenue SE

  • Thief River Falls, 13892 Airport Drive

  • Woodbury, 6053 Hudson Road

Contact the Department of Commerce at Education.Commerce@state.mn.us if you have insurance, real estate, or appraiser education questions or concerns.