For more detailed information, refer to Minnesota Statue §65B.48 and Minnesota Rules Chapter 2770.6100 through 2770.7400
The Automobile Self-Insurance Unit is responsible for approving or disapproving a company's request to self-insure its liabilities under the Minnesota No-Fault Automobile Insurance Act. Approval is granted when the Commissioner of Commerce is satisfied that the applicant has the financial strength and administrative resources needed to satisfy all obligations and responsibilities under the No-Fault Act.
The minimum requirements for an entity to be considered for exemption from insuring liabilities under the Minnesota No-Fault Insurance Act are as follows:
This application package contains all of the documents needed for licensure as a Commercial Self-Insurance Group. It includes a checklist, the application, and other forms needed to be licensed.
This unit grants the authority for private companies or groups of companies to self-insure their workers' compensation obligations in the State of Minnesota, subject to the requirements in Minnesota Statutes, Chapter 79A. The process includes, but is not limited to, review of the application, financial position, actuarial study and loss history of the applicant(s) to assure that they are in compliance with the law.
Entities that have been granted self-insurance authority must meet ongoing requirements including, without limitation, the posting of security as required by the commissioner, and compliance with periodic reporting requirements, including the annual filing of audited financial reports, status reports, and periodic actuarial studies.
Cities, counties, school districts and other municipalities that have 100 or more employees are allowed to self-insure employee health benefit plans under Minnesota law if the entity meets certain requirements, including providing all state benefit mandates applicable in the large group fully insured market. The following templates enable self-insured political subdivisions plans and joint risk pools to apply for certification from the Department of Commerce, as required under Minnesota Statutes §471.617 and §62E.05, which is required annually. Effective January 1, 2018, plans no longer require actuarially-based certifications, as recent state law changes made to §62E.05 and §62E.06 changed the Minnesota-qualified plan rules in deference to the rules existing for plans subject to the Affordable Care Act. Most plans are nongrandfathered under the Affordable Care Act, though plans that have maintained grandfathered status since 2010 have compliance requirements and may use the grandfathered template provided below instead.
The deadline for filing this attestation is 90 days prior to the first day of the plan year for all plan years that begin in 2019 and beyond. However, for plan years that begin in 2018, the deadline is automatically extended to the later of June 30, 2018 or 90 days prior to the first day of the plan year. The Department of Commerce will review submitted filings and send formal certifications to qualifying entities. After completing the template, please e-mail the document and all related attachments to firstname.lastname@example.org.
There are several types of joint risk pools allowed under Minnesota law. This webpage will be expanded in the near future to provide templates by which these types of pools can apply and maintain approvals under Minnesota law, including information for MEWAs and the special rules applicable to agricultural cooperatives.
Governed by Minnesota Statutes §471.617 and Minnesota Rules Chapter 2785, multiple cities, counties, school districts and other municipalities are allowed to jointly self-insure an employee health benefit plan under Minnesota law if the pooled entity meets certain capital, bylaw and underwriting requirements and provides all state benefit mandates applicable in Minnesota’s large group fully insured market.
Existing joint risk pools already approved under this statute should provide Commerce an audited annual financial statement (or make this information publicly available on its website) and should file the attestation below every year. The Department of Commerce will review submitted filings and send formal certifications to qualifying entities every other year, but will follow up on any interim concerns immediately (amendments to bylaws require Commerce notification). Please e-mail financial statements, the completed attestation and all related attachments to email@example.com. Any bylaw changes must be filed with Commerce not less than 30 days after adoption.
There are two joint risk pools formed under Minnesota Statutes 471.617 and Minnesota Rules 2785. The names and contacts of those two pools are as follows:
Duluth Joint Powers Enterprise (JPE) Trust
City Hall Room 402, 411 W. First Street, Duluth, MN 55802
Contact: David Montgomery, 218-730-5370
3905 Dakota Street, Alexandria, MN 56308
Contact: Matt Magnuson, 320-335-5243, firstname.lastname@example.org
Entities wishing to newly form a joint risk pool under Minnesota Statutes §471.617 and Minnesota Rules Chapter 2785 should provide the information described below via e-mail(s) to email@example.com. To avoid delays, please thoroughly review Minnesota Statutes §471.617 and Minnesota Rules Chapter 2785 and confirm these requirements are met in the required documents, since these laws provide the basis for Commerce’ review. Applications must be submitted no later than 60 days prior to the requested date for authority. Commerce will provide an initial response to applicants within 14 days of the submission, explaining what items, if any, are considered incomplete, non-compliant or insufficient. Commerce requests that the following information be submitted:
Entities could consider forming alternatively under Minnesota Statutes §62N, in which case the Minnesota Department of Health should be contacted instead of the Department of Commerce (firstname.lastname@example.org).
Note that cities, counties, school districts and other municipalities jointly pooling for the purchase of administrative-only services and/or stop loss insurance, but otherwise not sharing claims risk with one another, do not fall under these requirements but still must meet Minnesota Statutes §471.617 and §62E.05, as described at the top of this page.