
State Personal Injury Protection Limits Independent Medical Examination Arbitration Fee Schedule and/or 
Treatment Standards State Law Changes 

Minnesota Personal Injury Protection (PIP) 
• $40,000 per person, per accident (this amount 

consists of $20,000 for medical costs and 
$20,000 for non-medical costs, like lost wages) 
• PIP benefits pay for the insured person's 

medical and non-medical costs after an 
accident. In Minnesota, PIP also pays up to 
$2,000 for funeral expenses if the insured 
person or a passenger is killed in an auto 
accident. Liability benefits pay for injuries 
and property damage caused by the insured 
person. 

• Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage 
provides additional payments for medical 
costs, lost wages, and similar expenses if 
one of the drivers involved in a crash carries 
no car insurance coverage or does not have 
enough liability benefits to cover others' 
injury or property damages bills 

 
Liability – 30/60/10 
• $30,000 per person for bodily injuries 
• $60,000 per accident for bodily injuries (if more 

than one person is injured) 
• $10,000 per accident for property damage 
 
Uninsured Motorist 
• $25,000 per person for injuries 
• $50,000 per accident for injuries (if more than 

one person is injured) 
 
Underinsured Motorist 
• $25,000 per person for injuries 
• $50,000 per accident for injuries (if more than 

one person is injured) 

65B.56 COOPERATION OF PERSON CLAIMING BENEFITS. 
 Subdivision 1.Medical examinations and discovery of condition 
of claimant. 

Any person with respect to whose injury benefits are claimed 
under a plan of reparation security shall, upon request of the 
reparation obligor from whom recovery is sought, submit to a 
physical examination by a physician or physicians selected by 
the obligor as may reasonably be required. 

The costs of any examinations requested by the obligor shall 
be borne entirely by the requesting obligor. Such examinations 
shall be conducted within the city, town, or statutory city of 
residence of the injured person. If there is no qualified physician 
to conduct the examination within the city, town, or statutory city 
of residence of the injured person, then such examination shall 
be conducted at another place of the closest proximity to the 
injured person's residence. Obligors are authorized to include 
reasonable provisions in policies for mental and physical 
examination of those injured persons. 

If requested by the person examined, a party causing an 
examination to be made shall deliver to the examinee a copy of 
every written report concerning the examination rendered by an 
examining physician to that person, at least one of which reports 
must set out in detail the findings and conclusions of such 
examining physician. 

An injured person shall also do all things reasonably 
necessary to enable the obligor to obtain medical reports and 
other needed information to assist in determining the nature 
and extent of the injured person's injuries and loss, and the 
medical treatment received. If the claimant refuses to cooperate 
in responding to requests for examination and information as 
authorized by this section, evidence of such noncooperation 
shall be admissible in any suit or arbitration filed for damages 
for such personal injuries or for the benefits provided by 
sections 65B.41 to 65B.71. 

The provisions of this section apply before and after the 
commencement of suit. 
 Subd. 2.Claimant's participation in arbitration between obligors. 

Any person receiving benefits under sections 65B.41 to 
65B.71 shall participate and cooperate, as reasonably required 
under the coverage, in any and all arbitration proceedings as 
provided in section 65B.53 by or on behalf of the obligor paying 
the benefits, and the obligor may require in the furnishing of 
proof of loss the claimant's statement that the claimant shall so 
participate and cooperate as consideration for the payment of 
such benefits. However, no claimant may be required by any 
obligor which has paid or is obligated to pay benefits as herein 
provided to personally attend an arbitration proceeding which 
shall take place more than 50 miles from the usual residence of 
the claimant; and provided that in no event shall the claimant 
have to attend such an arbitration proceeding if, at the time 
scheduled for that meeting, travel thereto by the claimant is not 
recommended by a physician treating the claimant for injuries. 
Any claimant required to personally attend an arbitration 
proceeding shall be compensated by the reparation obligor 
requiring attendance for actual income loss and expenses 
reasonably incurred. 
 
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.56 
 

65B.53 INDEMNITY; ARBITRATION BETWEEN 
OBLIGORS; SUBROGATION. 
 Subdivision 1.Indemnity from obligor of 
commercial vehicle. 

A reparation obligor paying or obligated to 
pay basic or optional economic loss benefits 
is entitled to indemnity subject to the limits of 
the applicable residual liability coverage from 
a reparation obligor providing residual liability 
coverage on a commercial vehicle of more 
than 5,500 pounds curb weight if negligence 
in the operation, maintenance or use of the 
commercial vehicle was the direct and 
proximate cause of the injury for which the 
basic economic loss benefits were paid or 
payable to the extent that the insured would 
have been liable for damages but for the 
deduction provisions of section 65B.51, 
subdivision 1. 

For purposes of this subdivision, a 
"commercial vehicle of more than 5,500 
pounds curb weight" does not include a 
vehicle listed in section 65B.47, subdivision 
1a. 

 Subd. 2.Obligor subrogated to economic 
loss claim. 

A reparation obligor paying or obligated to 
pay basic or optional economic loss benefits 
is subrogated to the claim for the recovery of 
damages for economic loss that the person 
to whom the basic or optional economic loss 
benefits were paid or payable has against 
another person whose negligence in another 
state was the direct and proximate cause of 
the injury for which the basic economic loss 
benefits were paid or payable. This right of 
subrogation exists only to the extent that 
basic economic loss benefits are paid or 
payable and only to the extent that recovery 
on the claim absent subrogation would 
produce a duplication of benefits or 
reimbursement of the same loss. 

 Subd. 3.Obligor subrogated to certain 
tort, liability, or negligence claim. 

A reparation obligor paying or obligated to 
pay basic economic loss benefits is 
subrogated to a claim based on an 
intentional tort, strict or statutory liability, or 
negligence other than negligence in the 
maintenance, use, or operation of a motor 
vehicle. This right of subrogation exists only 
to the extent that basic economic loss 
benefits are paid or payable and only to the 
extent that recovery on the claim absent 
subrogation would produce a duplication of 
benefits or reimbursement of the same loss. 

 Subd. 4.Indemnity enforced through 
arbitration. 

The right of indemnity provided in 
subdivision 1 shall be enforceable only 
through mandatory good faith and binding 
arbitration procedures established by rule of 
the commissioner of commerce. These 
procedures shall utilize determinations of 
comparative negligence. No evidence nor the 
decision in such an arbitration proceeding 
shall be admissible in any action by any party. 

 Subd. 5.Collision coverage subrogation. 

None  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.41
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.71
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.41
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.71
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.53
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.56
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.51#stat.65B.51.1
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.51#stat.65B.51.1
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.47#stat.65B.47.1a
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.47#stat.65B.47.1a


Except as provided in this section nothing 
in sections 65B.41 to 65B.71 shall limit or 
abridge the subrogation rights of a reparation 
obligor providing collision coverage to a 
policyholder. 

 Subd. 6.Other restrictions. 
No reparation obligor shall include in its 

contract any provision which would require a 
person to commence a negligence action as 
a condition precedent to the payment of 
basic economic loss benefits or which 
permits the reparation obligor to determine 
whether such an action will be commenced. 
No reparation obligor shall contract for a right 
of reimbursement or subrogation greater 
than or in addition to those permitted by this 
chapter. 

 Subd. 7.Arbitration proceedings and 
benefit payments. 

Arbitration proceedings need not await 
final payment of benefits, and the award, if 
any, shall include provision for 
reimbursement of subsequent benefits, but 
no question of fact decided by a prior award 
shall be reconsidered in any such 
subsequent arbitration hearing. 

 Subd. 8.Enforceability of subrogation 
right. 

Notwithstanding any law to the contrary, 
in any action brought for the recovery of 
damages allegedly caused by the negligent 
operation, ownership, maintenance or use of 
a motor vehicle or motorcycle where the right 
of subrogation is claimed or may be claimed 
under this section, or in any counterclaim to 
such an action, the right of an insurer to be 
subrogated to all or a portion of the claim of 
an insured, whether the right to subrogation 
arises from contract, statute or any other 
source, shall be enforceable against the 
insured only if the insurer, upon demand by 
the insured, agrees to pay a share of the 
attorney fees and costs incurred to prosecute 
the claim, in such proportion as the insurer's 
subrogated interest in the claim bears to any 
eventual recovery on the claim. 

65B.525 ARBITRATION PROCEDURE; 
RULES OF COURT. 

Subdivision 1.Mandatory submission to 
binding arbitration. 

The Supreme Court and the several courts 
of general trial jurisdiction of this state shall 
by rules of court or other constitutionally 
allowable device, provide for the mandatory 
submission to binding arbitration of all cases 
at issue where the claim at the 
commencement of arbitration is in an 
amount of $10,000 or less against any 
insured's reparation obligor for no-fault 
benefits or comprehensive or collision 
damage coverage. 

 
Information on arbitration from Minnesota 

Reviser, 
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65
B.53 

  

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.41
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https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=65B.53
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Florida Personal Injury Protection (PIP) $10,000 minimum 
 
• PIP is required up to the limits of the policy for 

any medical expenses and certain non-medical-
related costs associated with the accident -- like 
lost wages and the costs of hiring someone to 
do household chores (known as "replacement 
benefits").   

• Property Damage Liability $10,000  
Unlike most other U.S. states, Florida does not 
require drivers to have bodily injury liability (BIL) 
benefits (which pay the costs of others' injuries 
if a crash occurs). All auto insurance policies 
must be purchased from insurers licensed to do 
business in Florida. 

§ 627.736(7): 
(7) MENTAL AND PHYSICAL EXAMINATION OF INJURED 
PERSON; REPORTS.— 
(a) Whenever the mental or physical condition of an injured 
person covered by personal injury protection is material to any 
claim that has been or may be made for past or future personal 
injury protection insurance benefits, such person shall, upon the 
request of an insurer, submit to mental or physical examination 
by a physician or physicians. The costs of any examinations 
requested by an insurer shall be borne entirely by the insurer. 
Such examination shall be conducted within the municipality 
where the insured is receiving treatment, or in a location 
reasonably accessible to the insured, which, for purposes of this 
paragraph, means any location within the municipality in which 
the insured resides, or any location within 10 miles by road of 
the insured’s residence, provided such location is within the 
county in which the insured resides. If the examination is to be 
conducted in a location reasonably accessible to the insured, 
and if there is no qualified physician to conduct the examination 
in a location reasonably accessible to the insured, such 
examination shall be conducted in an area of the closest 
proximity to the insured’s residence. Personal protection 
insurers are authorized to include reasonable provisions in 
personal injury protection insurance policies for mental and 
physical examination of those claiming personal injury protection 
insurance benefits. An insurer may not withdraw payment of a 
treating physician without the consent of the injured person 
covered by the personal injury protection, unless the insurer first 
obtains a valid report by a Florida physician licensed under the 
same chapter as the treating physician whose treatment 
authorization is sought to be withdrawn, stating that treatment 
was not reasonable, related, or necessary. A valid report is one 
that is prepared and signed by the physician examining the 
injured person or reviewing the treatment records of the injured 
person and is factually supported by the examination and 
treatment records if reviewed and that has not been modified by 
anyone other than the physician. The physician preparing the 
report must be in active practice, unless the physician is 
physically disabled. Active practice means that during the 3 
years immediately preceding the date of the physical 
examination or review of the treatment records the physician 
must have devoted professional time to the active clinical 
practice of evaluation, diagnosis, or treatment of medical 
conditions or to the instruction of students in an accredited 
health professional school or accredited residency program or a 
clinical research program that is affiliated with an accredited 
health professional school or teaching hospital or accredited 
residency program. The physician preparing a report at the 
request of an insurer and physicians rendering expert opinions 
on behalf of persons claiming medical benefits for personal 
injury protection, or on behalf of an insured through an attorney 
or another entity, shall maintain, for at least 3 years, copies of 
all examination reports as medical records and shall maintain, 
for at least 3 years, records of all payments for the examinations 
and reports. Neither an insurer nor any person acting at the 
direction of or on behalf of an insurer may materially change an 
opinion in a report prepared under this paragraph or direct the 
physician preparing the report to change such opinion. The 
denial of a payment as the result of such a changed opinion 
constitutes a material misrepresentation under s. 
626.9541(1)(i)2.; however, this provision does not preclude the 
insurer from calling to the attention of the physician errors of 
fact in the report based upon information in the claim file. 
(b) If requested by the person examined, a party causing an 
examination to be made shall deliver to him or her a copy of 
every written report concerning the examination rendered by an 
examining physician, at least one of which reports must set out 
the examining physician’s findings and conclusions in detail. 
After such request and delivery, the party causing the 
examination to be made is entitled, upon request, to receive 

Mandatory and binding arbitration for PIP 
claim disputes was declared unconstitutional 
by the Florida Supreme Court in 2000.  Under 
the statute, an insured claiming PIP benefits 
could sue the insurer. If the claim was 
assigned to the medical provider by the 
insured, any dispute was required to be 
submitted to arbitration. The Court found 
there was no valid reason to single out 
medical providers. The legislature deleted the 
mandatory binding arbitration provision of 
Florida Statues § 627.736(5)(d) in 2003. 
Many Florida courts have a non-binding 
arbitration program. The parties can set aside 
the decision and continue with trial if they so 
choose. 
[see for general info:  
http://www.floir.com/sections/pandc/produc
treview/pipinfo.aspx; additionally, Florida is 
concerned about PIP claim fraud] 

80% of schedule for all reasonable 
expenses for medical surgery, X-
ray, dental, and rehab services. 
200% of Medicare for outpatient 
services under Part A. 
200% of all other medical services, 
supplies, and care under Medicare 
Part B. 

Reforms passed in the 2012 legislative session are beginning 
to take effect, causing person injury protection (PIP) rates to 
decrease, according to January 2014 report by the state’s 
Office of Insurance Regulation.  But because PIP coverage is a 
small part of the total cost of a typical auto insurance policy 
the savings may seem small. Nevertheless, the fact that 
reforms are working may prompt lawmakers who favor 
scrapping no-fault to rethink their position. PIP coverage is 
expected to drop by an average of 13.2 percent, based on a 
review of data from 20 insurers that provide  auto insurance 
to more than 75 percent of the Florida market. The result 
would be an overall 1.2 percent reduction in rates. The drop is 
in line with projections made when the reform law, HB119 
was passed. 
The law, which took effect in July 2012, was to be 
implemented in several stages. injured drivers and their 
passengers must seek initial medical treatment from a 
hospital, family doctor or chiropractor within 14 days of the 
incident; and the type of treatment sought must reflect the 
extent of the injuries they have sustained. Where the injured 
person does not require emergency medical attention, the 
limit for medical care is $2,500 rather than the full $10,000 
in PIP benefits. 
The law also provides penalties for doctors who commit fraud, 
provisions designed to reduce opportunities to use the no-
fault auto insurance system for illicit profits. Another provision 
reduces the pressure on insurers to pay fraudulent claims 
because the law allows an investigation to be extended by an 
additional 60 days, with notice to the policyholder, for 90 days 
in total. 
There have also been changes in the way clinics are licensed, 
and since July 2012 police have been using a long version of 
the crash report whenever accidents involve injuries in the 
expectation that the longer report with more detailed 
information will deter fraud. 
On October 1, 2012 insurers were required to submit a rate 
filing to state regulators that showed at least a 10 percent 
rate reduction or documentation for why they cannot. Most 
major insurers requested decreases in PIP coverage. The PIP 
portion makes up about 20 percent of the premium, 
according to the Office of Insurance Regulation. 
Billings for massage and therapeutic exercise grew 
enormously under the old law, according to the Consumer 
Advocate’s PIP report. These two procedures were the most 
commonly billed procedures under the old PIP system, the 
report says. 

http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App_mode=Display_Statute&Search_String=&URL=0600-0699/0626/Sections/0626.9541.html
http://www.floir.com/sections/pandc/productreview/pipinfo.aspx
http://www.floir.com/sections/pandc/productreview/pipinfo.aspx


from the person examined every written report available to him 
or her or his or her representative concerning any examination, 
previously or thereafter made, of the same mental or physical 
condition. By requesting and obtaining a report of the 
examination so ordered, or by taking the deposition of the 
examiner, the person examined waives any privilege he or she 
may have, in relation to the claim for benefits, regarding the 
testimony of every other person who has examined, or may 
thereafter examine, him or her in respect to the same mental or 
physical condition. If a person unreasonably refuses to submit to 
or fails to appear at an examination, the personal injury 
protection carrier is no longer liable for subsequent personal 
injury protection benefits. An insured’s refusal to submit to or 
failure to appear at two examinations raises a rebuttable 
presumption that the insured’s refusal or failure was 
unreasonable 

Kentucky Personal Injury Protection (PIP)  
 
• $10,000 per person per accident for medical 

expenses, lost wages and similar “out of pocket” 
costs due to an injury.  Higher benefits and 
deductibles are optional. 

 
Liability  25/50/10 
• $25,000 per person involved in an accident  
• $50,000 total per accident 
• $10,000 per occurrence property damage 

protection 

§ 304.39-270 
304.39-270 Mental or physical examinations.  
(1) If the mental or physical condition of a person is material to a 
claim for past or future basic or added reparation benefits, the 
reparation obligor may petition the circuit court for an order 
directing the person to submit to a mental or physical 
examination by a physician. Upon notice to the person to be 
examined and all persons having an interest, the court may 
make the order for good cause shown. The order shall specify 
the time, place, manner, conditions, scope of the examination, 
and the physician by whom it is to be made.  
(2) If requested by the person examined, the reparation obligor 
causing a mental or physical examination to be made shall 
deliver to the person examined a copy of a detailed written 
report of the examining physician setting out his findings 
including results of all tests made, diagnoses, and conclusions, 
and reports of earlier examinations of the same condition. By 
requesting and obtaining a report of the examination ordered or 
by taking the deposition of the physician, the person examined 
waives any privilege he may have, in relation to the claim for 
basic or added reparation benefits, regarding the testimony of 
every other person who has examined or may thereafter 
examine him respecting the same condition. This subsection 
does not preclude discovery of a report of an examining 
physician, taking a deposition of the physician, or other 
discovery procedures in accordance with any rule of court or 
other provision of law. This subsection applies to examinations 
made by agreement of the person examined and the reparation 
obligor, unless the agreement provides otherwise.  
(3) If any person refuses to comply with an order entered under 
this section the court may make any just order as to the refusal, 
but may not find a person in contempt for failure to submit to a 
mental or physical examination. 

Kentucky Statutes § 304.39-290 established 
the Kentucky Insurance Arbitration 
Association. The purpose of the association is 
to provide a mechanism for the 
reimbursement among reparation obligors of 
losses paid as basic or added reparation 
benefits. It is applicable to controversies 
involving obligors and persons having the 
rights and obligations of a reparation obligor. 
There is a two year statute of limitations for 
arbitration of claims. 
There is a two year statute of limitations for 
arbitration of claims. [see: 
https://piparbitration.kyinsplans.org/Login] 

No mention of fee schedules in 
statutes. 

 

New Jersey -“basic plan” includes: 
• $5,000 per accident for property damage. This 

coverage does not include the costs of repairing 
or replacing your car. 

• $15,000 per person per accident for personal 
injury protection (PIP) benefits. 

• $250,000 per person per accident in PIP 
benefits for certain serious injuries, such as 
brain or spinal cord injuries. 

39:6A-13. Discovery of facts as to personal injury protection 
coverage. 
d. Whenever the mental or physical condition of an injured 
person covered by personal injury protection under a standard 
automobile insurance policy or medical expense benefits under 
a basic automobile insurance policy is material to any claim that 
has been or may be made for such past or future personal injury 
protection benefits or medical expense benefits, such person 
shall, upon request of an insurer or the Unsatisfied Claim and 
Judgment Fund submit to mental or physical examination 
conducted by a health care provider licensed in this State in the 
same profession or specialty as the health care provider whose 
services are subject to review under this section and who is 
located within a reasonable proximity to the injured person's 
residence. The injured person shall provide or make available to 
the provider any pertinent medical records or medical history 
that the provider deems necessary to the examination. The costs 
of any examinations requested by an insurer or the Unsatisfied 
Claim and Judgment Fund shall be borne entirely by whomever 
makes such request. Such examination shall be conducted 
within the municipality of residence of the injured person. If 

New Jersey Statutes § 39:6A-5.1(a): “Any 
dispute regarding the recovery of medical 
expense benefits or other benefits provided 
under personal injury protection coverage… 
arising out of the operation, ownership, 
maintenance or use of an automobile may be 
submitted to dispute resolution on the 
initiative of any party to the dispute” 
Forthright has been selected by New Jersey 
to administer the arbitrations. 
Disputes involving a medical expense benefit 
may include matters that concern: 

1) Interpretation of the insurance 
contract 

2) Whether the treatment or health 
care service is covered or the terms 
of the policy 

3) Eligibility of the treatment or service 
for compensation 

4) Eligibility of the provider performing 
the services 

Automobile Medical Fee Schedule 
Maximum fees listed by CPT 

No-fault costs in New Jersey had been rising sharply and in 
2011 (latest data available) were the highest in the nation, 
according to the National Association of Insurance 
Commissioners. Estimates for 2013, based on four quarters 
ending with the third quarter 2013, put the average cost per 
claim (severity) at $16,211, compared with $9,911 in 2001, 
according to ISO data. The number of claims (frequency) 
declined between 2000 and 2008, offsetting the rise in 
severity, but has remained relatively stable since then. 
Although the state set reimbursement fees for a list of 
common medical procedures relating to auto accidents, a few 
providers have found ways to get around these regulations by 
billing for procedures that are not on the list. 

https://piparbitration.kyinsplans.org/Login


there is no qualified health care provider to conduct the 
examination within the municipality of residence of the injured 
person, then such examination shall be conducted in an area of 
the closest proximity to the injured person's residence. Insurers 
providing personal injury protection coverage under a standard 
automobile insurance policy or medical expense benefits under 
a basic automobile insurance policy are authorized to include 
reasonable provisions requiring those claiming personal injury 
protection coverage benefits or medical expense benefits to 
submit to mental or physical examination as requested by an 
insurer or the Unsatisfied Claim and Judgment Fund pursuant to 
the provisions of this section. Failure to submit to a mental or 
physical examination requested by an insurer or the Unsatisfied 
Claim and Judgment Fund pursuant to the provisions of this 
section shall subject the injured person to certain limitations in 
coverage as specified in regulations promulgated by the 
commissioner. 
e. If requested by the person examined, a party causing an 
examination to be made, shall deliver to him a copy of every 
written report concerning the examination rendered by an 
examining health care provider, at least one of which reports 
must set out his findings and conclusions in detail. After such 
request and delivery, the party causing the examination to be 
made is entitled upon request to receive from the person 
examined every written report available to him, or his 
representative, concerning any examination, previously or 
thereafter made of the same mental or physical condition. 

5) Whether the medical treatment was 
actually performed 

6) Whether diagnostic tests are 
recognized by the commissioner 

7) Necessity or appropriateness of 
consultations by other health care 
providers 

8) Disputes over the application of or 
adherence to fee schedules 

9) Whether the treatment performed is 
reasonable, necessary, and 
compatible with protocols 

New York Personal Injury Protection (PIP) 
  $25,000 
 
Liability 
• $50,000 per person for wrongful death 

protection 
• $50,000 total per accident personal injury 

protection 
• $100,000 total per accident wrongful death 

protection 
• $10,000 per occurrence property damage 

protection 
 
Uninsured Motorist 
• $25,000 per person for injuries 
• $50,000 per accident for injuries (if more than 

one person is injured) 

N.Y. Comp. Codes R. and Regs. tit. 11, § 65.12(e) (1992) (Reg. 
68) sets forth the provisions of the Mandatory Personal Injury 
Protection Endorsement (New York) (“the Endorsement”), which, 
under N.Y. Comp. Codes R. and Regs. tit. 11, § 65.12(a) (1992) 
(Reg. 68), must be included in every owner’s policy of liability 
insurance in order to satisfy the minimum requirements of the 
New York No-Fault law. In Section I of the Endorsement, under 
the provisions entitled “Conditions,” the provisions entitled 
“Proof of Claim; Medical, Work Loss, and Other Necessary 
Expenses” state in pertinent part that: 
 
The eligible injured person shall submit to medical examination 
by physicians selected by, or acceptable to, the Company, when, 
and as often as, the Company may reasonably require. 
 
N.Y. Comp. Codes R. and Regs. tit. 11, § 65.15(d) (1991) (Reg. 
68) provides for claim procedure for the payment of claims for 
first party benefits under the No-Fault law. N.Y. Comp. Codes R. 
and Regs. tit. 11, § 65.15(d)(4) (1991) (Reg. 68) states that: 
 
All medical examinations requested by the insurer shall be held 
at a place and time reasonably convenient to the applicant and 
in a facility properly equipped for the performance of the 
medical examination. The insurer shall inform the applicant at 
the time the examination is scheduled that the applicant will be 
reimbursed for any loss of earnings and reasonable 
transportation expenses incurred in complying with the request. 

New York Statutes § 5105(b): “The sole 
remedy of any insurer or compensation 
provider to recover on a claim… shall be the 
submission of the controversy to mandatory 
arbitration pursuant to procedures 
promulgated or approved by the 
superintendent. Such procedures shall also 
be utilized to resolve all disputes arising 
between insurers concerning their 
responsibility for the payment of first party 
benefits” 
Awards by arbitrators are binding unless they 
are vacated or modified by a master 
arbitrator. 
PIP arbitration claims are administered by the 
American Arbitration Association (AAA). These 
no-fault claims can be for any matter relating 
to the claim raised by any person making a 
claim. 
The AAA provides a simple timeline for 
consumer to understand and navigate 
through the no-fault arbitration process. 

Workers’ Compensation Fee 
Schedule 
150% Medicaid Rate 
 
Inpatient payment rates detailed 
per hospital or medical center. 

The New York Financial Services’ ability to audit healthcare 
providers participating in the no-fault auto insurance system 
was expanded in order to prevent fraudulent providers from 
receiving payment and fining providers who engage in illegal 
activities. The department will be authorized to make 
unannounced inspections.  
Insurers are also pushing for legislation that accomplishes the 
following: makes staged accidents a felony; ends fraudulent 
billing by fly-by-night durable medical equipment providers; 
permits retroactive cancellation of fraudulently obtained auto 
insurance policies; and requires medical care providers to 
prove that a prescribed treatment is medically necessary, 
according to the New York Insurance Association and 
Insurance Journal. 
  In February 2013 the New York State Department of 
Financial Services adopted three amendments to Regulation 
68, the law that implements the state’s no-fault law claim 
settlement procedures. The first amendment would prevent 
billing for services that were not provided or billing more for 
services than the established fee. The second amendment 
would set a deadline for health care providers to respond to 
requests for verification that the treatment provided was 
medically necessary. The third amendment would prevent 
immaterial paperwork errors from invalidating a denial of a 
claim or a request for verification. This last amendment 
should substantially reduce litigation and arbitrations dealing 
with claim processing errors and speed up the resolution of 
no-fault claims. 
 A study of New York’s no-fault system by the Insurance 
Research Council (IRC) showed how prevalent fraud is in the 
New York City area. About one in every five claims settled 
appears to have some element of fraud and as many as one 
in three appears to be inflated, according to the IRC. Over the 
period 2007 to 2010, the percentage of no-fault claims that 
were fraudulent or were inflated (built-up) by excessive billing 
by unscrupulous medical care providers or by unnecessary 
medical services rose from 29 percent to 35 percent. In the 
fall of 2010 alone, fraud was found in 22 percent of all New 
York City metropolitan area no-fault auto insurance claims 
and build-up in another 14 percent. 
In its final report on closed auto injury claims in New York 
State, published in November 2011, the IRC said the average 
loss among claimants in the New York City metropolitan area 



was more than double the average loss in the rest of the 
state, $15,086 compared with $6,870. It also highlights the 
differences in what it calls claiming behavior between 
residents of New York City residents and those of the rest of 
the state, noting that New York City residents were more likely 
to be treated in clinics, visit chiropractors, physical therapists 
and acupuncturists, receive expensive diagnostic procedures 
and to report expenses for durable medical equipment. They 
were also more likely to hire attorneys. 

Pennsylvania Personal Injury Protection (PIP)  
• $15,000 (per person) personal injury protection 

for third parties (passengers, other motorists, 
pedestrians, etc.) 

• $5,000 in no-fault PIP coverage 
 
Liability 
• $30,000 total per accident personal injury 

protection for third parties (other motorists and 
pedestrians) 

• $5,000 per occurrence property damage 
protection 

  1796. Mental or physical examination of person. 
(a) General rule.--Whenever the mental or physical condition of a 
person is material to any claim for medical, income loss or 
catastrophic loss benefits, a court of competent jurisdiction or 
the administrator of the Catastrophic Loss Trust Fund for 
catastrophic loss claims may order the person to submit to a 
mental or physical examination by a physician. The order may 
only be made upon motion for good cause shown. The order 
shall give the person to be examined adequate notice of the 
time and date of the examination and shall state the manner, 
conditions and scope of the examination and the physician by 
whom it is to be performed. If a person fails to comply with an 
order to be examined, the court or the administrator may order 
that the person be denied benefits until compliance. 
(b) Report of examination.--If requested by the person examined, 
a party causing an examination to be made shall promptly 
deliver to the person examined a copy of every written report 
concerning the examination at least one of which must set forth 
the physician's findings and conclusions in detail. Upon failure to 
promptly provide copies of these reports, the court or the 
administrator shall prohibit the testimony of the examining 
physician in any proceeding to recover benefits 

Arbitration not mentioned in no-fault statutes.  
[could not find any remedy for the consumer 
on contested PIP claims other than court 
action] 

110% of Medicare  

Kansas Personal Injury Protection (PIP)  
• $4,500 per person for medical expenses 
• $900 per month for one year for disability/loss of 

income 
• $25 per day for in-home services 
• $2,000 for funeral, burial or cremation expense 
• $4,500 for rehabilitation expense 
 
Liability 
• $25,000 per person personal injury protection 

(PIP) for third parties (yourself, passengers, other 
motorists, pedestrians, etc.; more on what the 
PIP policy must cover below) 

• $50,000 personal injury protection (PIP) for third 
parties (other motorists and pedestrians), and 

• $10,000 per occurrence property damage 
protection. 

 
Uninsured Motorist 
• $25,000 per person for injuries 
• $50,000 per accident for injuries (if more than 

one person is injured) 
 
Underinsured Motorist 
• $25,000 per person for injuries 
• $50,000 per accident for injuries (if more than 

one person is injured) 
 

§ 40-3115. Mental or physical examination of injured person; 
written report of examination; availability of report to injured 
person; evidentiary effect. (a) Whenever the mental or physical 
condition of an injured person covered by personal injury 
protection benefits is material to any claim that has been or may 
be made for past or future personal injury protection benefits, 
such person, upon request of an insurer or self-insurer, shall 
submit to a mental or physical examination by a physician or 
physicians. The cost of any such examination requested by an 
insurer shall be borne entirely by the insurer or self-insurer. Any 
such examination shall be conducted within the city or county of 
residence of the insured, but if there is no qualified physician to 
conduct the examination within such city or county, then such 
examination shall be conducted in an area of the closest 
proximity to the insured's residence. Insurers are authorized to 
include reasonable provisions in motor vehicle liability insurance 
policies for mental and physical examination of those claiming 
personal injury protection benefits. 
(b) If requested by the person examined, the insurer or self-
insurer causing the examination to be made shall deliver to such 
person a copy of every written report concerning the 
examination rendered by the examining physician, at least one 
(1) of which shall set out his findings and conclusions in detail. 
After such request and delivery, the insurer or self-insurer 
causing the examination to be made shall be entitled upon 
request to receive from the person examined every written 
report available to him, or his representative, concerning any 
examination, previously or thereafter made, of the same mental 
or physical condition. By requesting and obtaining a report of the 
examination so ordered, or by taking the deposition of the 
examiner, the person examined shall be deemed to have waived 
any privilege he may have, with respect to the claim for personal 
injury protection benefits, regarding the testimony of every other 
person who has examined or may thereafter examine him in 
respect of the same mental or physical condition. 

Arbitration not mentioned in no-fault statutes.  
[could not find any remedy for the consumer 
on contested PIP claims other than court 
action] 

Workers’ Compensation Fee 
Schedule 
Anesthesia: Base unit+ (Time x 
$51.19) 
Prescriptions: Average wholesale 
price= AWP 
            Brand name: (AWP – 15%) 
+ $5 
            Generic: (AWP – 10%) + $3 
Medical Equipment: 140% of 
Medicare 
Other services: Maximum fee set 
by CPT 

 

  



North Dakota Personal Injury Protection (PIP)  
 -$30,000. 
 
Liability 25/50/25 
• Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per person 

(meaning the maximum payable to one person 
injured in one accident) 

• $50,000 per accident (meaning the maximum 
payable to all people injured in one accident).  

• Property damage liability: $25,000 per accident. 
 
Uninsured Motorist 
• $25,000 per person for injuries 
• $50,000 per accident for injuries (if more than 

one person is injured) 
 
Underinsured Motorist 
• $25,000 per person for injuries 
• $50,000 per accident for injuries (if more than 

one person is injured) 

26.1-41-11. Mental and physical examinations.  
1. Whenever the mental or physical condition of an individual is 
material to any claim that has been or may be made for past or 
future basic or optional excess no-fault benefits, the individual 
shall submit to mental or physical examination by a physician 
designated by the basic no-fault insurer at a reasonably 
convenient location. Basic no-fault insurers are authorized to 
include reasonable provisions of this nature in policies providing 
basic or excess no-fault benefits.  
2. If an individual refuses to submit to a mental or physical 
examination, a court at the request of the insurer may enter an 
order requiring the individual to submit to the examination. If the 
court finds that the individual failed to appear for the 
examination without good cause, the court shall order the 
insured to reimburse the insurer for any reasonably 
demonstrable cancellation charges for the examination. 

Arbitration not mentioned in no-fault statutes.  
[could not find any remedy for the consumer 
on contested PIP claims other than court 
action] 

No mention of fee schedules in 
statutes. 

 

Hawaii Personal injury protection (PIP)  
 
$10,000 per person personal injury protection for 
yourself and your passengers 
  
Liability 20/40/10 
• $20,000 per person / 
• $40,000 per accident personal injury protection 

for third parties (other motorists and 
pedestrians)  

• $10,000 per occurrence for property damage 
protection  

 

No formal IME requirements.  However, § 431:10C-304 states:  
(B) If the insurer elects to deny a claim for benefits in whole or in 
part, the insurer shall, within thirty days, notify the claimant in 
writing of the denial and the reasons for the denial. The denial 
notice shall be prepared and mailed by the insurer in triplicate 
copies and be in a format approved by the commissioner. In the 
case of benefits for services specified in section 431:10C-
103.5(a) the insurer shall also mail a copy of the denial to the 
provider; 

Arbitration is mentioned in the statutes in 
conjunction with the commissioner or courts. 
Binding arbitration is an option, but there is 
no specific allocation for arbitration in the 
statutes.  [The Insurance Commissioner 
determines format and method of hearing 
and assesses cost upon the parties involved.   
See:  
http://files.hawaii.gov/dcca/oah/forms/mvi/
har-chapter-23-web.pdf (pg. 26 - from Hawaii 
Dept. of Insurance website 11-12-15)] 

Workers’ Compensation Fee 
Schedule 
1) 110% of Medicare payment 
amount 
2) Supplemental medical fee 
schedule 
     Unit Value x $33.54 
If CPT is on both, go with the 
supplemental fee schedule 
amount 

 

Massachusetts Personal injury protection (PIP)  
• $8,000 for personal injury protection (PIP) 

benefits per accident. 
  

Liability 20/40/5 
• $20,000 for any one person’s injuries in a crash, 
• $40,000 for each accident where more than one 

person is injured, 
• $5,000 for property damage in each accident, 

and 
 

Section 34M:  The injured person shall submit to physical 
examinations by physicians selected by the insurer as often as 
may be reasonably required and shall do all things necessary to 
enable the insurer to obtain medical reports and other needed 
information to assist in determining the amounts due.  
Noncooperation of an injured party shall be a defense to the 
insurer in any suit for benefits authorized by this section and 
failure of an insurer to pay benefits in the event of such 
noncooperation shall not in any way affect the exemption from 
tort liability granted herein. 

Massachusetts Statutes § 34M provides: 
“Determination as to whether any insurer is 
legally entitled to recover any such expense 
from another insurer shall be made by 
agreement between the involved insurers, or, 
if they fail to agree, by arbitration in 
accordance with the provisions of the 
General Laws.” 
This is the only mention of arbitration in the 
no-fault statutes.  [That same chapter of law 
describes that the consumer or provider of 
the services can jointly, or separately, file suit 
against the insurer for claims unpaid after 30 
days with no explanation and, if found to be 
valid, payable, claims, the court will order 
payment plus any other fees, such as 
attorney and filing fees, to be paid by the 
insurer] 

No mention of fee schedules in 
statutes. 

 

Michigan Personal Injury Protection (PIP) 
• all of the medical care costs related to the 

accident 
• up to 85 percent of any wages lost due to the 

injury, for up to three years, and 
• up to $20 per day for someone to take care of 

chores at home that the injured person can no 
longer do -- like cooking, cleaning, child care, and 
yard work.  

 
Liability  20/40/10 
• $20,000 per person hurt or killed in an accident; 
• $40,000 per accident in which more than one 

person is hurt or killed; and 
• $10,000 per accident for property damage. 

500.3151 Submission to mental or physical examination. 
When the mental or physical condition of a person is material to 
a claim that has been or may be made for past or future 
personal protection insurance benefits, the person shall submit 
to mental or physical examination by physicians. A personal 
protection insurer may include reasonable provisions in a 
personal protection insurance policy for mental and physical 
examination of persons claiming personal protection insurance 
benefits. 
500.3152 Report of mental or physical examination. 
If requested by a person examined, a party causing an 
examination to be made shall deliver to him a copy of every 
written report concerning the examination rendered by an 
examining physician, at least 1 of which reports shall set out his 
findings and conclusions in detail. After such request and 
delivery, the party causing the examination to be made is 
entitled upon request to receive from the person examined every 

Arbitration not mentioned in no-fault statutes. 
[could not find any remedy for the consumer 
on contested PIP claims other than court 
action] 

Does not use fee schedules. Attempts to lower the price of auto insurance in the state have 
not met with success. Michigan is unique among no-fault 
states in that its no-fault law offers unlimited medical care 
under its PIP coverage and in that it does not use medical fee 
schedules (maximum fees that can be charged for common 
types of medical treatment for auto accidents, similar to the 
fees set under the state’s workers compensation system). 
Under legislation signed by the governor in March 2012, it will 
soon be a felony to act as or employ a “runner” to recruit 
people for staged accidents or to help commit other types of 
auto insurance fraud. Those convicted of the crime face up to 
10 years in prison and a fine of $50,000. 

http://files.hawaii.gov/dcca/oah/forms/mvi/har-chapter-23-web.pdf
http://files.hawaii.gov/dcca/oah/forms/mvi/har-chapter-23-web.pdf


written report available to him or his representative concerning 
any examination relevant to the claim, previously or thereafter 
made, of the same mental or physical condition, and the names 
and addresses of physicians and medical care facilities 
rendering diagnoses or treatment in regard to the injury or to a 
relevant past injury, and shall authorize the insurer to inspect 
and copy records of physicians, hospitals, clinics or other 
medical facilities relevant to the claim. By requesting and 
obtaining a report of the examination so ordered or by taking the 
deposition of the examiner, the person examined waives any 
privilege he may have, in relation to the claim for benefits, 
regarding the testimony of every other person who has examined 
or may thereafter examine him in respect of the same mental or 
physical condition. 

Utah Personal Injury Protection (PIP) 
• medical costs not to exceed $3,000 per person 

(reasonable value of medical, surgical, x-ray, 
dental, rehab, ambulance, hospital, nursing);  

• lost wages, the lesser of $250 per week or 85% 
of loss in gross income and loss of earning 
capacity, up to 52 weeks;  

• household services, $20 per day up to 365 days 
for services rendered (laundry, cooking, cleaning, 
yard, repair, maintenance, etc.) by others 
(whether paid or unpaid) to the injured person;  

• a $3,000 death benefit, payable to heirs 
• $1,500 for costs (cremation, funeral, burial). 

These are benefits you paid for with your auto 
insurance premium. 

 
Liability  25/65/15 
• $25,000 per person for bodily injury, 
• $65,000 per accident when more than one 

person suffers bodily injury, and 
• $15,000 per accident for property damage. 
 

31A-22-307.  Personal injury protection coverages and benefits.  
In disputed cases, a court on its own motion or on the motion of 
either party, may designate an impartial medical panel of not 
more than three licensed physicians to examine the claimant 
and testify on the issue of the reasonable value of the claimant's 
medical services or expenses. 
(ii) An impartial medical panel designated under Subsection 
(2)(e)(i) shall consist of a majority of health care professionals 
within the same license classification and specialty as the 
provider of the claimant's medical services or expenses. 

Utah Statutes §§ 31A-22-303(8), 31A-22-
305(9), and 31A-22-305.3(8) generally 
provide for binding arbitration of disputes 
arising from no-fault insurance claims. The 
arbitrations are governed by the Utah Uniform 
Arbitration Act. Further, Utah Statutes § 31-
22-309(6)(a) provides: “Every policy providing 
personal injury protection coverage is subject 
to the following: (ii) that the issue of liability 
for that reimbursement and its amount shall 
be decided by mandatory, binding arbitration 
between the insurers.” 

Relative Value Unit x Conversion 
factor 
 
Relative value unit found in: 
Relative Value for Physicians 
Relative Value for Dentists 
 
Conversion factors: 
Anesthesia: 91.57 
Surgery: 180 
Radiology: 35.18 
Pathology: 23.85 
Medicine: 10.87 
Evaluation: 11.85 
Dental: 55 

 

 


