# **QUICK OVERVIEW**

## Minnesota 2025-2026 Required Module

As part of the continuing education that is due each license year, all real estate brokers and salespersons must complete specific module training that covers topics in real estate that are significant and of current interest in the real estate market and profession. Brokers also have the additional requirement to complete a module specifically designed to address issues relevant to brokers. The Department of Commerce must publicize an outline of the topics covered by the module(s) and the number of credit hours by April 1 each year. Modules may be offered by any real estate continuing education provider approved by the Department of Commerce who has received approval for the course(s). Here are additional details:

- The Department of Commerce, in consultation with a statewide real estate trade association and a statewide private continuing education provider, determines the specific topics covered by the module(s) each license year and the number of credit hours allocated to each module.
- The 2025-2026 module requirement totals 3.75 hours. The course must be completed by all real estate salespersons and brokers alike. An outline of topics covered by the module (the course matrix) is part of each special general module course application, both of which are available on the Department of Commerce website at <a href="http://mn.gov/commerce/">http://mn.gov/commerce/</a>.
- It is likely that some licensees will not take a required module course before the deadline at the end of the license year. This will cause their licenses to become inactive. Licensees in these circumstances who wish to reactivate their licenses will be required to complete the most recent past license year's module course(s).

# The topic for this 2025-2026 module course is: CONTRACTS

This 3.75-hour module will also satisfy the 1-hour broker module training requirement as required in § 82.61(i) for 2025-2026 (in other words, there will be no separate 1-hour broker module course for 2025-2026). Completion of this course will <u>NOT</u> satisfy the 1-hour of Fair Housing <u>OR</u> the 1-hour of Agency Law as required in § 82.61.(c) (1) (2).

# APPLICABLE LAWS

The information in this course was current as of April 2025, but always check **Minn. Stat. § 82, Minn. Stat. § 45**, and the Commerce Department website for updates to laws and procedures.

Page 1 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

		DOC OFFICE US	E ONLY
SOMMERCE	☐ APPROVED	☐ DENIED	☐ RETURNED
COMMERCE DEPARTMENT	Reviewed By		Date
	☐ CLASSROOM – LIVE		☐ WEBINAR - LIVE
85 7th Place East, Suite 280, Saint Paul, MN 55101 PHONE: 651-539-1500	ON-DEMAND – (NO	T Live)	☐ Interactive Internet
mn.gov/commerce	☑ SALESPERSON & BROKER – YEAR DUE 7/1/25-6/30/26		
	Number of required credits	approved	_3.75
(Please Note: A current, correctly completed application with all required attachments and fee must be submitted at least 30 days before the initial proposed course date.)	Course Number:		Date Approved:

# **REAL ESTATE CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSE APPROVAL APPLICATION**

# Course Title: 7/1/25-6/30/26 SALESPERSON & BROKER REQUIRED MODULE

# **CONTRACTS**

Initial Proposed Date(s) of Course:				
PROVIDER/COORDINATOR INFORM			vider application	on & fee must also be included
with this course application if provider is not already Minnesota approved  Provider Name (In Full – Do not abbreviate)				MN Provider ID # (If approved)
Provider Address:				
City:		State:		Zip:
Provider Phone Number:	Provider Fax:	<u> </u>	Provider To	oll-Free:
Coordinator Name:				
Coordinator <b>Direct</b> Business Telephone: ( )	Coordinator <b>Direct</b> Business Telephone: (REQUIRED) Coordinator <b>Direct</b> Business Email:			
Federal Employer Identification Number (FE	IN):			
Provider Website				
APPLICATION FEE (Only check or money order accepted)  License Type: REAL ESTATE				
New Course: \$10 per hour <u>or a fraction of an hour</u> . ( <i>Example: 1.5Hrs = \$20</i> ) # of Hours Requested: <u>3.75</u>				
Total Fee Submitted:	\$40.00	Check Numb	oer:	

Requirements are based on Minn. Stat. Chapter 45 and Minn. Stat. Chapter 82

Page 2 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

# **METHOD OF INSTRUCTION**

Choose ONLY ONE method of instruction (Live or On-Demand) per application and fee.

□ LIVE	<b>Live course</b> . "Live course" means any learning experience that is actively led by an instructor, either online or in a classroom setting, that offers person-to-person, real-time feedback.  This category includes standard classroom courses and courses taught live that are concurrently simulcast to remote locations or individual students online.
□ ON- DEMAND	On-demand course. "On-demand course" means a learning experience that enables a student to review learning material at time and location that is convenient for the student.  This category includes asynchronous online courses, text-based courses, and other courses not offered live that include prerecorded videos, class recordings, documents, or other learning activities.

(See page 5 regarding Required MODULE course Exams.)

Choose (both) LIV	E options if a LIVE Synchronous method OR choose only the (not-live) On-Demand
☐ LIVE— STANDARD CLASSROOM	☐ Detailed explanation of attendance verification  Does the course include an examination? No ☐ Yes ☐  If YES, attach a detailed explanation regarding exam presentation
☐ LIVE— SIMULCAST TO REMOTE LOCATIONS OR INDIVIDUAL STUDENTS ONLINE	<ul> <li>□ Link to course, login, &amp; password [if available]</li> <li>□ Detailed explanation of the process used to authenticate the student's identity and the technology to guarantee seat time</li> <li>A Few Examples:         <ul> <li>Provider verifies the identity and license number of all students</li> <li>Multiple Random Polling Questions per course hour (at least 2 per hour)</li> <li>Each student be required to log in to the webinar using a distinct username, password, and/or email</li> <li>Provider representative, using computer-based attendance-monitoring technology, monitors 100% attendance throughout the course</li> </ul> </li> <li>Will proctors be used? No □ Yes □         <ul> <li>If YES, attach a detailed explanation of their use and verification and a copy of the proctor affidavit form.</li> </ul> </li> <li>Example: Group settings where a provider representative monitors students not</li> </ul>
	individually logged in using a distinct username, password, and/or email.  Does the course include an examination? No   If YES, attach a detailed explanation regarding exam presentation
☐ ON-DEMAND (Not Live)	□ Detailed explanation of the method of instruction/presentation  Is any portion of this course online? No □ Yes □  If YES, attach a detailed explanation of the process used to authenticate the student's identity and the technology to guarantee seat time  □ Link to course, login, & password (required)  Will proctors be used? No □ Yes □  If YES, attach a detailed explanation of their use and verification (required for non-interactive courses)  Does the course include the (required) final examination? No □ Yes □  Attach a detailed explanation regarding exam presentation  Will proctors be used? No □ Yes □  If YES, attach a detailed explanation of their use and verification (required for non-interactive course)
	interactive courses)

Page 3 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

# NOTES REGARDING METHOD OF INSTRUCTION

## Live courses offered online. A live course offered online must:

- (1) specify the minimum system requirements;
- (2) provide encryption that ensures that all personal information, including the student's name, address, and credit card number, cannot be read as it passes across the Internet;
- (3) include technology to guarantee seat time;
- (4) include the ability for the student to get technical support within a reasonable amount of time;
- (5) include a statement that the student's information will not be sold or distributed to any third party without the prior written consent of the student. Taking the course does not constitute consent; and
- (6) include a process to authenticate the student's identity.

# On-demand courses offered online. An on-demand continuing education course offered online must:

- (1) specify the minimum system requirements;
- (2) provide encryption that ensures that all personal information, including the student's name, address, and credit card number, cannot be read as it passes across the Internet;
- (3) include technology to guarantee seat time;
- (4) include a high level of interactivity;
- (5) include graphics that reinforce the content;
- (6) include the ability for the student to contact an instructor within a reasonable amount of time;
- (7) include the ability for the student to get technical support within a reasonable amount of time;
- (8) include a statement that the student's information will not be sold or distributed to any third party without prior written consent of the student. Taking the course does not constitute consent;
- (9) be available 24 hours a day, seven days a week, excluding minimal down time for updating and administration;
- (10) provide viewing access to the online course at all times to the commissioner, excluding minimal down time for updating and administration;
- (11) include a process to authenticate the student's identity;
- (12) inform the student and the commissioner how long after its purchase a course will be accessible;
- (13) inform the student that license education credit will not be awarded for taking the course after it loses its status as an approved course;
- (14) provide clear instructions on how to navigate through the course;
- (15) provide automatic bookmarking at any point in the course;
- (16) provide questions after each unit or chapter that must be answered before the student can proceed to the next unit or chapter;
- (17) include a reinforcement response when a quiz question is answered correctly;
- (18) include a response when a quiz question is answered incorrectly;
- (19) include a final examination;
- (20) allow the student to go back and review any unit at any time, except during the final examination;
- (21) provide a course evaluation at the end of the course. At a minimum, the evaluation must ask the student to report any difficulties caused by the online education delivery method; and
- (22) provide a completion certificate when the course and exam have been completed and the provider has verified the completion. Electronic certificates are sufficient.

**Final examination.** The final examination must be either an encrypted online examination or a paper examination that is monitored by a proctor who certifies that the student took the examination. The student must not be allowed to review the course content once the examination has begun.

#### **PROCTORS**

A proctor is a person who (1) verifies a student's identity, and (2) processes an affidavit testifying that the student received no outside assistance with the course or examination.

A proctor must be 18 years of age or older and must not have a financial or other conflict of interest with respect to a student's successful completion of the course or the examination.

A proctor must not be:

- a relative of the student;
- the student's supervisor at work;
- a person the student supervises at work; or
- a student who is completing the same course.

Page 4 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

# **Broker & Salesperson Module EXAM Information:**

- After your module course application has been approved, the Department of Commerce will send you the examination question pool of at least 50 questions. You must ensure that the 20 questions that will appear on each exam form are randomly selected each time you offer the examination. You may not disclose the questions or answers to anyone other than an exam administrator or other person who reasonably may need to view them to assist you with exam administration (such as a clerical employee charged with physically entering the questions into an exam form or database).
- The law requires the course provider to prepare, administer, score, and pay any costs related to the exam.
- A course provider may contract with a third party for scoring of the exam.
- > Passing score for this Broker & Salesperson module course is 70% or 14 correct answers.
- > A student must be allowed to remain as long as reasonably necessary to complete the test.

# **IF COURSE APPROVAL IS GRANTED YOUR APPROVAL LETTER WILL INCLUDE THE FOLLOWING IMPORTANT NOTICE IMPORTANT NOTICE:** A copy of the Exam will be sent to you separately within the next ten business days. Your providership is allowed 30 days from receipt of the Exam to make changes to the course content as needed to better instruct the licensees and match up with the exam questions. Any changes to your original course must be clearly marked and everything resubmitted to our office for additional review before the 30 days are up. The course may NOT be offered for credit to licensees before a final approval is received from our office. If no revisions are needed your providership may proceed with course offerings once you have received the exam.

## **Course Credit Reporting Requirements**

#### 45.43 REPORTING REQUIREMENTS.

Subdivision 1. **Course completions.** Required education must be reported in a manner prescribed by the commissioner within ten days of the course completion.

#### Subd. 2. Violations and penalties.

- (a) Each failure to report an individual licensee's course completion in the manner prescribed by subdivision 1 constitutes a separate violation.
- (b) The commissioner may impose a civil penalty not to exceed \$500 per violation upon an education provider that violates subdivision 1.

Completion of this course will <u>NOT</u> satisfy the 1 hour of <u>Fair Housing OR</u> the 1 hour of <u>Agency Law</u> as required in § 82.61.(c) (1) (2).

This Module will satisfy the 1-Hour Broker Module Requirement as required in § 82.61(i)

#### Objectives: Upon completion of this course students will be able to:

- Gain a clearer understanding of legal requirements in real estate contracts.
- Analyze various contracts, addendums, and agreements while identifying common form-related issues in transactions.
- Develop strategies to prevent contractual risks and mistakes.
- Enhance their ability to guide buyers and sellers through complex real estate transactions with confidence.

3.75 hours (Estimate of 165 min Course Topic w/30 min Exam, + 30 min breaks = Total 225 Min)

Page 5 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

# 7/1/25-6/30/26 SALESPERSON & BROKER REQUIRED MODULE CONTRACTS

# **REQUIRED Core Matrix Outline**

#### **Notice Regarding the Core Matrix Outline**

The following material outlines the required topics that Education Providers must include when establishing their course. 

BE COVERED as shown in following outline below. While the module itself, the required topics in the core matrix outline, and the exam, were ultimately approved by the MN Dept. of Commerce, the development was delegated in part, as allowed by Minn. Statute Chapter 82.61 (i), to a statewide real estate trade association and a statewide private continuing education provider. This training course content, if effectively delivered, will enable real estate agents to gain a basic understanding of the required topic. All methods of instruction require verifiable passage of an end of course closed book exam

(This is a (4) Four Page Outline)

Provider Name:	Provider #

## **REQUIRED** COURSE TITLE

# 7/1/25-6/30/26 SALESPERSON & BROKER REQUIRED MODULE CONTRACTS

Mandatory Curriculum for this MODULE	TIME	
ALL TOPICS MUST BE COVERED as shown in Outline below		
	(Show times for all	
1-Hour Broker Module Requirement incorporated in Sections Highlighted in Yellow below	sub-topics)	
I. Welcome and Course Objectives		
II. Elements of a Binding Contract	15 minutes	
A. Licensees may draw up contracts (M.S. 481.02, Subd. 3a)		
<ol> <li>Drafting: Who, what, where, when, and how</li> </ol>		
B. Enforceability		
1. Contingencies		
C. Essential elements	15 minutes	
1. Capacity		
2. Mutual agreement		
3. MN Plain Language statute		
<b>4.</b> Performance		
5. Discharge		
<b>6.</b> Breach		
7. Remedies		
8. Delivery		
<b>D.</b> Assignability		
III. Agency Relationships in Real Estate Transaction	10 minutes	
A. MN Law		
B. Disclosure only, not a contract for		
IV. Disclosure Issues		
A. Seller Disclosure Statute (M.S. 513.55)	15 minutes	

Page 6 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

	4. D'ada a	
	1. Disclosure	
	2. Private inspection	
	3. Waiver	
	a. Other statutory requirements	
В.	Licensee's material fact disclosure obligations (M.S. 82.68, Subd. 3)	
C.	Other Disclosure Obligations	
	1. Lead Based Paint (42 U.S.C. § 4852d)	
	2. Methamphetamine (M.S. 152.0275, Subd. 2)	
	<b>3.</b> Radon (M.S. 144.496)	
	4. Predatory Offenders (M.S. 82.68)	
	5. Airport Zoning (M.S. 513.56, Subd. 3; 82.68, Subd. 3)	
	6. Sewage Treatment Systems (M.S. 115.55)	
	7. Wells (M.S. 1031.235)	
	8. Chronic Wasting Disease (M.S. 35.155)	
	Cirrottic Washing Discuse (Wi.s. 55.155)	
\/ D^	presentation Contracts and Facilitator Services Agreements	15 minutes
		15 illiliates
	Timing of entering into a representation contract (Post Settlement)	
В.	Required Elements:	
	Property address	
	2. Name	
	3. Effective Dates	
	4. Price	
	5. Terms	
	6. Authorization	
	7. Hold over clause	
	8. Compensation Options	
	<b>a.</b> Buyers	
	<b>b.</b> Sellers	
	9. Closing services	
	10. Additional costs	
	11. Agency representation	
	12. Electronic signatures	
	13. Acceptance and dates	
	·	
VI. Sh	owing and Broker to Broker Compensation Agreement	10 minutes
	Secures compensation	
	Specific buyer	
	One-year time frame	
<u> </u>	one year time name	
VII.	Residential Purchase Agreement	15 minutes
A.	Parties' names	
	Property address	
	Earnest money obligations	
	Personal Property	
E.	• • •	
	1. Financing	
	-	
	2. Closing date	

Page 7 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

F.	Deeds	
G.	Property taxes and assessments	
Н.	Linked Devices	
I.	Possession	
J.	Title and examination	
	1. Dual agency	
K.	Mechanics Liens	
	1. Lien waiver required	
L.	Definition of dimensions	
M.	Risk of Loss	
	Time is of the essence	
	Default	
	FIRPTA	
	Entire Agreement	
-	Compensation Clause	
	Final acceptance	
<u> </u>	Signatures/dates of all parties	
	2. Delivery	
	Z. Delivery	
\/III	Country Office and Addanda	15 minutes
VIII.	Counter Offers and Addenda	15 minutes
	Termination of original offer	
В.	Signatures required on purchase agreement	
IX.	Common Contingencies	15 minutes
Α.	Financing	
	1. Two contingency options	
	2. Mechanics of both contingencies	
В.	Inspection	
	1. Mechanics of the contingency	
C.	Sale of Buyer's Property	
	1. Two contingency options	
	2. Mechanics of both contingencies	
Χ.	Condominium Townhouse CIC Addendum (M.S. 515B)	15 minutes
A.	Calculation of days	
В.	Exempt properties	
-	Right to cancel provision	
	· · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · · ·	
XI.	"As Is" Addendum	5 minutes
A.	Seller disclosure alternatives with waiver	
В.	Limitation of Seller Liability/legal advice	
-	Warranties	
	Risk of loss	
<b>D</b> .	1101.01.1033	
XII.	Default and Cancellation of a Burchase Agreement	15 minutes
	Default and Cancellation of a Purchase Agreement	13 minutes
Α.	Default	

Page 8 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

В.	Cancellation agreement signed by both parties			
C.	Statutory cancellation			
D.	Earnest money issues			
XIII.	Wrap Up, Summary and Questions	5 minutes		
Exam		(30 min allowed as part of course time)		
Total 2 1-Hour	ours (Estimate of 165 min Course Topic w/30 min Exam, + 30 min breaks = 225 Min)  Broker Module Requirement incorporated in Sections Highlighted in Yellow above.			
	nation: Course will include its own 20-question examination, chosen from an associated fat least 50 questions. The 70% passing score for the examination will be 14 correct s.			
	icial examination will be sent to the provider by the Commerce Department after the is approved.			
	t the following course-specific items in addition to the Required Atta dix A on page 13.	achments listed in		
☐ Atta	☐ Attach copies of the forms and contracts that will be used in your course, and provide the links to where			

☐ Attach a copy of the permission agreement signed by the entity whose forms and contracts you will use in your course. The permission agreement must be on the entity's letterhead and must include contact

they are available online.

information.

Page 9 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

# **SYLLABUS FOR STUDENTS**

If you will not be distributing a textbook containing all of the details below, you must complete this page (or attach your own Syllabus containing all of the information below) before your application can be processed. Syllabus must be distributed to all students, along with a copy of the detailed, timed course outline.

Provider Name & Number:

<u>-1-1-</u>	,,	ERSON & BROKER REQUIRED MODULE <u>CONTRACTS</u>			
Dates and times of cou	Dates and times of course offerings: (if date/time unknown write TBD)				
DATE & TIME	LOCATION				
Required: Name and ad Instructors (add pages		or direct email address of Course Coordinator and ALL Course			
	ame	Address or Phone Number or Direct Email			
Coordinator					
Instructor					

Page 10 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

# **CONTINUING EDUCATION INSTRUCTOR**

QUALIFICATIONS AND CONTACT INFORMATION PAGE

(Please Print or Type – Writing Must Be Legible)

Copy and attach additional pages as needed; one for every continuing education course instructor.

**MANDATORY** Attach a detailed bio/resume to this completed form showing dates of experience.

Instructor Full Legal Name:			
Date of Birth:			
Business Address			
City, State, Zip			
Phone Number	Business Email Address		
Do you currently hold, or have you held, any Real Estate	license in any state, including MN? ☐ Yes ☐ No		
If yes, attach list of license number, state, and status.			
Resident Real Estate License # & Name of Re	sident State		
All Non-Resident Real Estate License #(s)	& Name of Non-Resident State(s)		
Do you currently hold or have you ever held any other typ MN? ☐ Yes ☐ No	e of occupational / professional license in any state, including		
If yes, attach list of license type, number, state, and state	us.		
Has instructor applicant ever had any occupational / professional license in any state including Minnesota that has been suspended, revoked, or terminated, or been the subject of inquiry or investigation? ☐ Yes ☐ No			
If yes, attach documentation and detailed explanation si	gned & dated by instructor.		
Has instructor applicant ever been convicted of a felony or gross misdemeanor, or been a defendant in any lawsuit involving claims of fraud, misrepresentation, conversion, mismanagement of funds, breach of fiduciary duty or breach of contract? ☐ Yes ☐ No			
If yes, attach documentation and detailed explanation signed & dated by instructor.			
WHO is considered an instructor?			
Classroom: Any individual speaking to licensees during a course is con Distance Learning Interactive Internet (only for the purposes of this			
> any individual used as a contact for students to answer que	stions regarding a course is considered an instructor.		
<ul> <li>any author of an internet course is considered an instructor</li> <li>Any presenters via video or other media</li> </ul>			
Mandatory Qualifications (please check at least one below)			
☐ a four-year degree in any area plus two years prac	tical experience in the subject area being taught.		
if ive years of practical experience in the subject are			
☐ a college or graduate degree in the subject area be			

Page 11 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

# APPLICATION COORDINATOR CERTIFICATION AND SIGNATURE

As an approved education coordinator:

I certify that all the information submitted in this application is true and complete, and that this document has not been altered in any manner from the form adopted by the MN Department of Commerce.

**Title of Course:** 

# 7/1/25-6/30/26 SALESPERSON & BROKER REQUIRED MODULE

**CONTRACTS** 

I certify that I have either applied for provider/coordinator approval in conjunction with this course application submission, or I am already an approved MN Coordinator/Provider for this Providership; that I am responsible for compliance with all MN education laws and regulations found in Minn. Statute Chapter 45 and Minn. Statute Chapter 82. Furthermore, I accept responsibility for instructor conduct and their compliance with course content. I declare that the information provided for the above-named course on the attached education course approval application, the core matrix outline content, and all the attachments are true and correct, and that I have answered each question fully and truthfully and without any purpose of evasion or mental reservation.

Printed name of Coordinator:		
	(Mandatory)	
Signature of Coordinator:	(Signature & Date are Mandatory)	Submission Date:
Full Printed name of Provider:	(Mandatory)	Provider #: (Mandatory

Page 12 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

# Appendix A - REQUIRED ATTACHMENTS - Appendix A

The application will be processed in a timely manner, assuming it is a complete application. If your application does not include all of the mandatory items listed below, it will be considered deficient, will be returned to you, and we will be unable to process the application until it is completed. *In most cases, a deficient application will result in your course not being approved before the first offering date*. Therefore, it is in your best interest to initially submit a complete application.

#### A. Course Materials

- 1. Detailed Course Outline timed in 15-minute increments or less (See Matrix Outline) (If multiple Instructors, identify section of outline for each Instructor).
- 2. Attach an in-depth explanation of your (1) Method of Instruction/Presentation, (2) Exam Presentation & the (3) Use & Verification of Proctors
- 3. All instructional Material for Instructors overheads, PowerPoint, etc. (if used, you must attach them, if none are used, put it in writing)
- 4. All instructional Material for Students textbooks, notebooks, guides, documents, brochures, any handouts, etc. If textbooks are not used, you must hand out a Syllabus to each student in the class. Textbooks must contain the same detailed information as the Syllabus. Please see Syllabus page for guidelines.
- 5. Attach copies of and links to the forms and contracts that will be used in your course.
- 6. Attach a copy of the signed permission agreement with the entity who's forms and contracts you will use in your course. Make sure the permission agreement is on the entity's letterhead and that contact information is included.
- 7. Examination & Answer Key Please Note: SPECIAL REQUIREMENT for Real Estate Module Courses:
  - a. A closed book end of course exam <u>is</u> required for all instruction methods including "Classroom". However, **Providers do not create this Exam.**
  - b. A copy of the required MN Dept. of Commerce approved Exam will be sent to Providers upon course approval.

#### **B.** Provider Policies

1. **Regarding Instructor Qualifications:** Attach statement that ALL instructors meet or exceed the instructor requirements as stated in Minn. Statute Chapter 45.32.

Read Minn. Law Chapter 45.32 before submitting your application.

Classroom: Any individual speaking to licensees during your course is considered an instructor.

Distance Learning: Any individual speaking at a "live" distance learning course is considered an instructor.

Interactive Internet: For the purposes of this section any author of an internet course is considered an instructor.

**Distance Learning & Interactive Internet:** For the purposes of this section **any** individual used as a contact for students to answer questions regarding a course is considered an instructor.

ALL Methods: Any individual speaking via a VIDEO or other pre-recorded method as part of the course is considered an instructor.

#### 2. Attendance:

- How do you verify attendance throughout the course for Classroom &/or Webinar? How do you physically monitor the students? Include a description.
- How do you verify attendance throughout the course for Distance Learning? Certification is required. What type of certification method do you use? Include a description.
- 3. **Cancellation & Refund** Attach a copy of your required course cancellation and refund procedures. *Note*: If no fees are charged attach details as to who pays the fee.

# C. Assorted Attachments - Attach copy of:

- 1. Internet Address, Login & Password for any Distance Learning course.
- 2. Students' Course and Instructor Evaluation Form (Required)
- 3. ALL Course Instructors' Resumes or Bios (Note: See above regarding Instructors.)
- 4. Course Schedule
- 5. Proposed Advertising if there is no advertising, you must state that.

Page 13 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

# Minnesota Basic Requirements Regarding Proctors and Electronic Signatures

# Acceptable Proctors and Proctor Forms for Exams and/or Courses:

# Minnesota Proctor Requirements are as follows:

## **PROCTORS**

A proctor is a person who (1) verifies a student's identity, and (2) processes an affidavit testifying that the student received no outside assistance with the course or examination.

A proctor must be 18 years of age or older and must not have a financial or other conflict of interest with respect to a student's successful completion of the course or the examination.

A proctor must not be:

- a relative of the student;
- the student's supervisor at work;
- a person the student supervises at work; or
- a student who is completing the same course.

•

# In Response to Questions Regarding the Use of Electronic Signatures:

Electronic signatures are allowed to be used on license education application forms per 325L.07 (below).

# 325L.07 LEGAL RECOGNITION OF ELECTRONIC RECORDS, ELECTRONIC SIGNATURES, AND ELECTRONIC CONTRACTS.

- (a) A record or signature may not be denied legal effect or enforceability solely because it is in electronic form.
- (b) A contract may not be denied legal effect or enforceability solely because an electronic record was used in its formation.
- (c) If a law requires a record to be in writing, an electronic record satisfies the law.
- (d) If a law requires a signature, an electronic signature satisfies the law.

Page 14 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

# Generic Document CE Course &/or Exam Proctor Affidavit

# **Student / Licensee Name and Certification**

(Please Print or Type – Writing Must Be Legible)

Course#	Title of Course & Exam		
<mark>7/1</mark> /	<mark>/25-6/30/26 SALESPERSON</mark>	& BROKER REQUIRED N	MODULE - CONTRACTS
Date & Time of Course & Ex	am Completion		
Company & Address where	course & for exam was comple	atad	
Company & Address where	course &/or exam was comple		<del>-</del>
City		State	Zip Code
Student's Full Legal Name, L	icense Number, & DOB	(Please Print or Type – \	Writing Must Be Legible)
		(	
(Name) Business Address	(License #)	(Date of Birth)	
City		State	Zip Code
Mailing Address (if different	than above)		
City		State	Zip Code
Daytime Phone	E-mail _		
I certify that I personally comp	leted the above-named course &/	or exam without outside ass	sistance of any kind.
Student Signature			Date (/)
	(Mus	st match course &/or exam)	
		lame and Certification	
Proctor's Full Legal Name	(Please Print or	Type – Writing Must Be Legible	<del>)</del>
Note your type of relationsh	nip to the student		
-	- ·		respect to a student's successful completion of th e. valid photo ID), and I ensured that
☐ the exam was completed wi		ind (i.e. human, study mater	ughout the entire <u>course</u> process. rial, notes, computer, cell phone, etc.), and that I
Proctor Signature			r exam)
			r exam) 
Business Address			
City		State	Zip Code
Rusiness/Daytime Phone	F-mail		

Page 15 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

# Generic Document Student Name and Certification Page TO BE ATTACHED TO

# **CE Course &/or Exam Proctor Affidavit**

(Please Print or Type - Writing Must Be Legible)

(Use this two-page form only when there are multiple students in one location.)

**Notice** One of these forms must be completed & signed by each student. The completed form MUST be attached to the multiple student Proctor Affidavit form completed by the Proctor. Both completed forms must be kept on file by the Education Provider for 3 years from the date of course completion.

Course#	se# <u>Title of Course &amp; Exam</u>			
	7/1/25-6/30/26 SALESPERSON &	BROKER REQU	JIRED MODULE - CONTRACTS	
Date & Time of Course	& Exam Completion			
Company & Address wl	here course &/or exam was complete	ed		
City			Zip Code	
Student's Full Legal Na	ame, License Number, & DOB		(Please Print or Type – Writing Must Be Legibl	• e)
(Name)			(Date of Birth)	)_
Business Address				
City		State	Zip Code	
Mailing Address (if diffe	erent than above)			
City		State	Zip Code	
Daytime Phone	E-mail			
I certify that I personally o	completed the above-named course &/or	exam without ou	itside assistance of any kind.	
Student Signature		st match date of co	Date (/	/)
	(Please Print or Type – Writin		,	
(Rev 1.17.23)				(Part 1 of 2

Page 16 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

# **Generic Document**

# CE Course &/or Exam Proctors (Multiple Student) Affidavit Form

(Please Print or Type – Writing Must Be Legible)

(Use only when there are multiple students in one location.)

**Notice This form** must be completed & signed by the qualifying Proctor. This completed form MUST be attached to a completed student Affidavit form for each student listed below. (Up to 24 student forms per Proctor form.) All completed forms must be kept on file by the Education Provider for 3 years from the date of course completion.

Course#	Title of Cours	e & Exam	
<mark>7/1/2</mark>	<mark>5-6/30/26 SALESPERSON &amp; BRO</mark>	<mark>(ER REQUIRED MO</mark>	DULE - CONTRACTS
Date & Time of Course & Exan	n Completion		
Company & Address where co	ourse &/or exam was completed		
City		State	Zip Code
Student's Full Legal Name 8	& License Number – (One Per Bo	() (Please Print or Type -	- Writing Must Be Legible)
1		13	
2		14	
3		15	
4		16	
5		17	
6		18	
7		19	
8		20	
9		21	
10		22	
11		23	
12		24	
Proctor's Full Legal Name	Proctor Name a (Please Print or Type – N	nd Certification Writing Must Be Legible)	
Note your type of relationship	o to any student on above list.		
course or the examination. I verify photo ID), and I ensured that  ☐ the course was completed in it ☐ the exam was completed with	ied the identity of each and every stude as entirety and that I physically monitore	ent listed above on this ed each and every stud	pect to a student's successful completion of the form (or attached on additional pages) (i.e. valident throughout the entire course process. notes, computer, cell phone, etc.), and that I
Proctor Signature			Date (/)
	(Must match date of	course &/or exam & Stu	dents form)
Employer & Job Title			<del>-</del>
City		State	Zip Code
Business/Daytime Phone	E-mail		
(Rev 1.17.23)	(Please Print or Type – Writing Must Be Legi	ible)	(Part 2 of 2)

Page 17 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

## Generic Document

# **Continuing Education COURSE COMPLETION CERTIFICATE**

# **Required Information for Course Completion Certificates**

(if distributed by provider)

NOTE: It is not necessary to provide a written course completion certificate as every Provider is required (by Minn. Statutes Chapter 45.43) to upload course completion credits to the licensees continuing education record on Pearson VUE's Web-portal at www.pulseportal.com for Real Estate.

- 1. Course Title
- 2. MN Department of Commerce Approved Course Number
- 3. Date of Course Completion
- 4. Name of Approved Provider
- 5. Name and Signature of the Approved Coordinator
- 6. Name and Address of the Student
- 7. License Number of the Student
- 8. **Number of Hours Completed** Must match the credit given by MN Commerce; partial credit may not be given.

9.	License Type Course is Approved for: ☐ Real Estate			
10.	Education Type Course is Approved for: Continuing Education			
11.	Method of Presentation Course is Approx Live, Classroom – Traditional Live, Classroom – Webinar □ On-Demand - Internet Interactive	ved for:		
12.	MN Department of Commerce's Current MN Department of Commerce 85 7 <sup>th</sup> Place East, Suite 280 St. Paul, MN 55101	Address and Licensing Unit's Contact Information PHONE Number: 651-539-1599 E-MAIL: Education.Commerce@state.mn.us		

# 13. This statement must be included on the Certificate:

"If you have any comments about this course offering, please mail them to the Minnesota Commissioner of Commerce."

Page 18 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)

# Minnesota General Webinar Guidelines

Please note that when we use the term (webinar), we mean Internet-Synchronous, which is a LIVE, virtual, webinar, Zoom type method of instruction.

## **Webinar Guidelines**

- 1. These guidelines are intended to apply to courses conducted and viewed in real time (live) in all locations and are not intended to apply when courses have been recorded and are viewed at a later time or to other online courses.
- 2. Each student must be required to log in to the webinar using a distinct username, password, and/or email. [Note: multiple students in one remote location, without an online individual process to authenticate student's identity and technology to guarantee seat time, requires monitor/proctor certifications. Two page proctor forms are located at the end of each course application or at ce-course-exam-proctor-affidavit.pdf (mn.gov)]
- 3. The provider must verify the identity and license number of all students.
- 4. A provider representative, using computer-based attendance-monitoring technology, must monitor 100% attendance throughout the course.
- 5. The provider must have a process to determine when a participant is inactive or not fully participating, such as when the screen is minimized, or the participant does not answer the polling questions and/or verification codes.
- 6. The provider must maintain an electronic roster to include records for each participant's log-in/log-out times. Chat history and polling responses must be captured as part of the electronic record.
- 7. \*No less than two random polling questions and/or attendance verification codes must be asked, with appropriate response provided, at unannounced intervals during each one-hour webinar session to determine participant attentiveness.
- 8. \*When a student is deemed inactive or not fully participating in the course by the course monitor of failure to enter appropriate polling question response or verification codes, continuing education (CE) credit is denied.
- 9. Students in all locations must be able to interact in real time with the instructor. Students must be able to submit questions or comments at any point during the webinar session.
- 10. The course pace must be set by the instructor and does not allow for independent completion.
- 11. Instruction time is considered the amount of time devoted to the actual course instruction and does not include breaks, lunch, dinner or introductions of speakers.
- 12. One credit will be awarded for each 50 minutes of webinar/webcast instruction, and the minimum number of Continuing Education credits that will be awarded for webinar courses is one credit. *Note#1:* Appraiser Continuing Education courses cannot be less than **two**, 50-minute hours. *Note#2: Pre-License Education* courses cannot be less than the statutorily required number of 50-minute hours for each specific license type.
- 13. The provider must have a procedure that informs each student in advance of course participation requirements and consequences for failing to actively participate in the course.
- 14. An end of course exam is not required for *Continuing Education* (*except for special required courses*) if the course is *live* and it meets the requirements in Minn.Statutes.Chap.45.25. Subd. 2a. (1), (2), and (3).
  - **However**, a closed-book, proctored, end of course exam is <u>ALWAYS</u> required for **Pre-License Education** regardless of the method of instruction.
- 15. Compliance with the procedures outlined above are subject to audit by the Commerce Department.

\*Regarding #7 & #8 above: Minnesota, like the NAIC guidelines, requires at least 2 random polling questions per hour of webinar. However, if the education provider asks more than 2 questions per hour, ALL questions must be responded to for a Minnesota licensee to receive any CE credit. Otherwise students are not attending or paying attention throughout 100% of the course.

**[45.30 CONTINUING EDUCATION. Subd. 4.Credit earned.** (a) Upon completion of approved courses, students must earn one hour of continuing education credit for each hour approved by the commissioner. <u>Continuing education courses must be attended in their entirety in order to receive credit for the number of approved hours.]</u>

Additionally, Minnesota does not allow partial course credits. Courses must be attended in their entirety (including responding to all random poll questions) to obtain any credit.

Page 19 of 19 (2025/2026) - (1)