skip to content
Primary navigation

Mission, Vision, and Purpose

The Council on Asian Pacific Minnesotans ("the Council") is a state agency created by the Minnesota state legislature to fulfill three primary objectives:

  1. To advise the Governor and the Minnesota legislature on issues of importance to Asian Pacific Minnesotans;

  2. To advocate on behalf of this community; and

  3. To serve as the bridge for and between Asian Pacific Minnesotans and others, including state government.


The Council was created by the Minnesota legislature in 1985, and most recently restructured by the 2015 legislature (see Minnesota Statute 15.0145), to fulfill three primary objectives: to advise the Governor and the legislature on issues pertaining to Asian Pacific Minnesotans; to advocate on behalf of this community; and to bridge the gap that often exists between Asian Pacific Minnesotans and others, including state government.


The Council ensures the inclusion of Asian Pacific Minnesotan experiences in both the administrative and legislative processes by providing relevant, objective, and credible advice and information on the status and needs of the diverse ethnic groups that make up this community. 


On behalf of Minnesota's Asian Pacific population, the Council plays the role of advisor, advocate, and broker. In these capacities, the Council works within state government to improve the economic and social conditions of Minnesotans of Asian descent, including working with the legislature for the passage of legislation; working with state agencies and organizations to develop business opportunities and promote economic development for this community; and, performing or contracting for the performance of studies designed to suggest solutions to challenges Asian Pacific Minnesotans face in education, employment, human rights, health, housing, and other related areas. 

The Council serves individuals and ethnic groups from over 40 countries, including Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brunei, Burma (Myanmar), Cambodia, China, Cook Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, Federated States of Midway Islands, Fiji, French Polynesia, Guam, Hawaii's, Hong Kong, India, Indonesia, Japan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kyrgyzstan, Laos (Hmong and Lao), Macau, Malaysia, Maldives, Marshall Islands, Mongolia, Nauru, Nepal, New Caledonia, New Zealand, North Korea, Northern Mariana Islands, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Pitcairn Islands, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, South Korea, Sri Lanka, Tahiti, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Thailand, Tibet, Tonga, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, and Vietnam.

back to top