skip to content
Primary navigation
Eligibility and requirements for reactivation depends upon current license status.  Review reactivation eligibility and requirements per license status below:
 

Reactivation from Expiration or Voluntary Termination

Expired or voluntarily terminated licenses may be reactivated within one year of the expiration date or effective date of voluntary termination.  You must reactivate an expired or voluntarily terminated license to active status to be authorized to practice in Minnesota, unless you are employed in a setting for which licensure is voluntary under Minnesota Statutes section 148E.065.  Applicants for reactivation or reapplication following a lapse in licensure, including expiration or voluntary termination,  are required to complete a fingerprint-based criminal background check (CBC) per Minnesota Statutes section 214.075.
 

Requirements

  1. Complete Application for Reactivation online or download and submit with required reactivation fee including the CBC fee.
  2. Complete the fingerprint-based CBC.  When an application and required fees are received by the Board, the Criminal Background Check Program Office (CBC Program Office) will email instructions and forms directly to applicants; wait to receive this email to schedule fingerprinting.  For more information, visit the Criminal Background Check page or the CBC Program Office website.  Provide a valid email address on the Application for Reactivation to receive the CBC instruction packet.
  3. Document compliance with continuing education for the previous renewal term (reported on the Application for Reactivation) and comply with supervised practice, if required.

Fees

The fee to reactivate a license from expiration or voluntary termination is 1.5 times the renewal fee for the license type.  The CBC fee is $32 and is bundled with the reactivation fee when you submit an Application for Reactivation to the Board.  Reactivation fees for each license type, including the required CBC fee, are specified below.
 
  • LSW      $153.50
  • LGSW    $248
  • LISW     $356
  • LICSW   $389.75
 

Re-licensure Options

If you fail to reactivate an expired or voluntarily terminated license as outlined above, you must meet all requirements for licensure at the time of reapplication.  An ASWB exam score is valid for eight years from date taken if the license is expired or voluntarily terminated and applications for reapplication following a lapse in licensure, including expiration or voluntary termination, are required to complete a fingerprint-based CBC per Minnesota Statutes section 214.075.
 

Reactivation from Temporary Leave, Emeritus, or Emeritus Inactive

  • Temporary Leave or Emeritus license issued BEFORE July 1, 2015 may be reactivated within five years of the effective date of Temporary Leave or Emeritus status.
  • A Temporary Leave or Emeritus Inactive license issued AFTER July 1, 2015 may be reactivated within four years of the effective date of Temporary Leave or Emeritus Inactive status.
  • Refer to the expiration date on your online profile or license card. 
You must reactivate a Temporary Leave, Emeritus, or Emeritus Inactive license to active status to be authorized to practice in any setting in Minnesota.
 

Requirements

  1. Submit a written request for reactivation to the Board via email, fax, or mail, including your name, license number, and current mailing address.*
  2. Complete the Application for Reactivation form provided to you by the Board following your written request and submit with required reactivation fee. 
  3. Document compliance with continuing education for the period the license was inactive (reported on the Application for Reactivation) and comply with supervised practice, if required. 
*A reactivation application will be mailed to Temporary Leave licensees 45 days before the expiration of Temporary Leave, if a prior request for reactivation is not submitted to the Board.  It is important to keep your mailing address current.  Emeritus and Emeritus Inactive licensees will NOT receive any notice regarding reactivation unless a written request for reactivation is submitted to the Board. 
 

Fees

The fee to reactivate a license from Temporary Leave, Emeritus, or Emeritus Inactive is the prorated share of the renewal fee for the license.  Prorated fees are calculated upon receipt of a written request for reactivation and specified in the reactivation materials provided by the Board. 
 

Re-licensure Options

If a Temporary Leave license is not reactivated within 60 days of the expiration date of Temporary Leave, the license will expire automatically.  An expired license is subject to the requirements for reactivations outlined above.
 
If an Emeritus or Emeritus Inactive license is not reactivated within the applicable time frame outlined above, the Emeritus or Emeritus Inactive license status is maintained, but may no longer be reactivated.  To obtain an active license after the reactivation window for Emeritus or Emeritus Inactive has ended, you must meet all requirements for licensure at the time of reapplication.  An ASWB exam score is valid for eight years from date taken if the license lapses and applications for reapplication following a lapse in licensure are required to complete a fingerprint-based criminal background check per Minnesota Statues section 214.075.
 

Reactivation from Emeritus Active

An Emeritus Active license may be reactivated to active status at any time as long as the Emeritus Active status is current.  You must reactivate an Emeritus Active license to active status prior to beginning paid social work practice.  Emeritus Active licensees are authorized only to practice 1) pro bono or volunteer social work practice, or 2) paid social work practice not to exceed 240 hours per calendar year for the exclusive purpose to provide licensing supervision to meet Board requirements.
 

Requirements

  1. Submit a written request for reactivation to the Board via email, fax, or mail, including your name, license number, and current mailing address.
  2. Complete the Application for Reactivation provided to you by the Board following your written request and submit with required reactivation fee.
  3. Comply with supervised practice, if required. 

Fees

The fee to reactivate a license from Emeritus Active is the prorated share of the renewal fee for the license.  Prorated fees are calculated upon receipt of a written request for reactivation and specified in the reactivation materials provided by the Board.
 

Re-licensure Options

An Emeritus Active license must be renewed every two years on your regularly scheduled renewal date.  If an Emeritus Active license is not reactivated to active status or renewed, the license will expire automatically.  An expired license is subject to the requirements for reactivation from expiration outlined above.  
back to top