skip to content
Primary navigation

Contact Information + Name Changes

 
  • Under Minnesota Statutes section 148E.090, you are required to notify the Board within 30 days of any changes to your:
    • Legal or professional name
    • Contact information including email address, mailing, home, or work address, or public phone number
  • You can review or update your contact information by logging into your online license profile
  • Beginning in fall of 2020, mailing license renewal notices will be discontinued
    • Provide a current email address under the 'Profile View' tab of your online license profile to ensure you receive your license renewal notice
 

Representation + Name Change: 

Your clients have the right to know that you are licensed and regulated by the Board of Social Work. Minnesota Statutes section 148E.195 requires that you represent yourself to clients and the public using your name as shown on your license certificate and the Board's Public License Lookup online service, and you must use your social work license designation (LSW, LGSW, LISW, LICSW, or appropriate representation for temporary license or alternate license status) in all professional use of your name.

  • Your license details are available using the Board's Public License Lookup online service, which provides primary source verification
  • Beginning August 1, 2020, mailing paper license/renewal cards is discontinued, and you must use the Board's Public License Lookup to view or print your license details
 

Changes to your legal or professional name:

  • Legal Name: Unless you practice using a professional name as outline below, you must represent yourself to clients and the public using your full legal name
    • You must submit a Name Change Form with required supporting documentation within 30 days of any changes to your legal name
    • You are required to notify the Board of changes to your legal name even if you practice using a professional name
  • Professional Name: You may practice under a professional name that is different from your legal name
    • If you designate a professional name, your professional name will be used in all Board records (designating a professional name does not change the classification of your legal name as public data, available to any person upon request)
    • You must submit a Name Change Form with required supporting documentation to notify the Board within 30 days if you choose to use a professional name
 

Request a Duplicate License Wall Certificate: 

  • Fee for a duplicate license wall certificate (11" x 8 1/2" certificate issued when a license is granted) is $30
  • To request a duplicate license wall certificate, submit a written request including your name, license number, and current address to the Board by mail with check or money order for the fee
back to top