Academic Degree: Baccalaureate degree in social work from a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education or the Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work.
Examination: Passing score on the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) bachelors level national social work licensure examination.
Criminal Background Check: As of November 28, 2017, all applicants for initial licensure must submit to a fingerprint-based criminal background check under Minnesota Statutes section 214.075. If you do not hold a current license, including a Temporary License, with the Board you must submit the required fee and comply with fingerprint-based criminal background check requirements. Failure to submit fingerprints to the Criminal Background Check Program Office within 90 days of the date the Board receives an application will result in a closed application and forfeiture of fees under Minnesota Statutes section 214.075.
Ethical Standards: Must not have engaged in conduct that would be in violation of the Boards ethical standards of practice.
Supervised Practice: Supervised practice is not required at the time of initial licensure, but is required once the license is issued. Once licensed 100 hours of direct supervision per 4,000 hours of practice is required. For more information on supervised practice, see Minnesota Statutes sections 148E.100, 148E.120,148E.125.
Complete Details: Review Minnesota Statutes section 148E.055 subdivision 2 for LSW
Apply For a License