Academic Degree: Graduate degree in social work from a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education or the Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work.
Examination: Passing score on the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) advanced generalist level national social work licensure examination.
Criminal Background Check: All applicants for initial licensure must complete a fingerprint-based criminal background check (CBC) within 90 days of the application received date under Minnesota Statutes section 214.075. If you do not hold a current license, including a temporary license, with the Board you must submit the required fee and comply with fingerprint-based CBC requirements. If fingerprints are not submitted to the Criminal Background Check Program Office within 90 days of the application received date, the CBC fee is void and a new CBC fee is required.
Ethical Standards of Practice: Must not have engaged in conduct that would be in violation of the Boards ethical standards of practice.
Supervised Practice: Documentation of supervised practice is required to be eligible for the LISW license. 100 hours of direct supervision per 4,000 hours of non-clinical practice is required. For more information on supervised practice, see Minnesota Statutes sections 148E.110, 148E.120, 148E.125.
Complete Details: Review Minnesota Statutes section 148E.055, subd 4 for LISW