Academic Degree and Required Clinical Coursework:
Graduate degree in social work from a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education or the Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work.
360 Clinical Clock Hours: The LICSW license requires documentation of 360 clock hours in the following clinical knowledge areas:
- 108 clock hours in differential diagnosis and biopsychosocial assessment, including normative development and psychopathology across the life span
- 36 clock hours in assessment-based clinical treatment planning with measurable goals
- 108 clock hours in clinical intervention methods informed by research and current standards of practice
- 18 clock hours in evaluation methodologies
- 72 clock hours in social work values and ethics, including cultural context, diversity, and social policy
- 18 clock hours in culturally specific clinical assessment and intervention
The 360 clock hours may be satisfied through:
- a graduate degree program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education, the Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work, or a similar accreditation body designated by the board; or a doctorate in social work from an accredited university; or
- graduate coursework from an accredited institution of higher learning; or
- up to 90 continuing education (CE) hours, not to exceed 20 hours of independent study. The CE must 1) have a course description available for public review and 2) include a post-test.
Passing score on the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) clinical level national social work licensure examination.
Criminal Background Check: As of November 28, 2017, all applicants for initial licensure must submit to a fingerprint-based criminal background check under Minnesota Statutes section 214.075. If you do not hold a current license, including a Temporary License, with the Board you must submit the required fee and comply with fingerprint-based criminal background check requirements. Failure to submit fingerprints to the Criminal Background Check Program Office within 90 days of the date the Board receives an application will result in a closed application and forfeiture of fees under Minnesota Statutes section 214.075.
Ethical Standards of Practice:
Must not have engaged in conduct that would be in violation of the Boards ethical standards of practice.
Documentation of supervised practice is required to be eligible for the LICSW license. 200 hours of direct supervision per 4,000 hours of clinical practice, including 1800 hours of direct clinical client contact. For more information on supervised practice, see Minnesota Statutes sections 148E.115
Review Minnesota Statutes section 148E.055 subdivision 5