Academic Degree: Graduate degree in social work from a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education or the Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work.
Examination: Passing score on the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) masters level national social work licensure examination.
Criminal Background Check: As of November 28, 2017, all applicants for initial licensure must submit to a fingerprint-based criminal background check under Minnesota Statutes section 214.075. If you do not hold a current license, including a Temporary License, with the Board you must submit the required fee and comply with fingerprint-based criminal background check requirements. Failure to submit fingerprints to the Criminal Background Check Program Office within 90 days of the date the Board receives an application will result in a closed application and forfeiture of fees under Minnesota Statutes section 214.075.
Ethical Standards: Must not have engaged in conduct that would be in violation of the Boards ethical standards of practice.
Supervised Practice: Supervised practice is not required at initial license, but required for the LGSW once the license is issued. If engaged in non-clinical practice, 100 hours of direct supervision per 4,000 hours practice is required. If engaged in clinical practice, 200 hours of supervision over 4,000-8,000 hours of practice is required. For more information on supervised practice, see Minnesota Statutes sections 148E.105,148E.106,148E.120,148E.125.
Complete Details: Review Minnesota Statutes section 148E.055, subdivision 3 for LGSW
Apply For a License