skip to content
Primary navigation

Apply by Endorsement for LSW, LGSW, LISW or LICSW

Hold Current License:   Must hold a current license or credential to practice social work in another jurisdiction.
 
Academic Degree:  LSW license requires baccalaureate degree in social work from a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education or the Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work.   LGSW, LISW, and LICSW license requires graduate degree in social work from a program accredited by the Council on Social Work Education or the Canadian Association of Schools of Social Work.  LICSW applicants are not required to document the 360 clinical clock hours specified in Minnesota Statutes section 148E.055, subdivision 5.
 
Examination:  Passing score on the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) required level national licensing examination. Applicants are not required to re-take the ASWB examination if can confirm a passing score via an official score transfer report from ASWB.
 
Criminal Background Check:  All applicants for initial licensure must complete a fingerprint-based criminal background check (CBC) within 90 days of the application received date under Minnesota Statutes section 214.075.  If you do not hold a current license, including a temporary license, with the Board you must submit the required fee and comply with fingerprint-based CBC requirements.  If fingerprints are not submitted to the Criminal Background Check Program Office within 90 days of the application received date, the CBC fee is void and a new CBC fee is required. 
 
Ethical Standards:  Must not have engaged in conduct that would be in violation of the Boards ethical standards of practice.
 
Supervised Practice:  
  • LSW and LGSW applicants are not required to demonstrate supervised practice at the time of initial licensure.   Once licensed, 100 hours of direct supervision per 4,000 hours of practice is required for non-clinical practice.  
  • LISW applicants are not required to demonstrate 100 hours of supervision specified in Minnesota Statutes section 148E.110, subdivision 1, provided that the applicant has engaged in authorized social work practice for a minimum of 4,00 hours in another jurisdiction.  Documentation of 4,000 hours of supervised practice must be submitted with an application for LISW by endorsement.
  • LICSW applicants are not required to demonstrate 200 hours of supervision specified in Minnesota Statutes section 148E.115, subdivision 1, provided that the applicant has engaged in authorized clinical social work practice for a minimum of 4,000 hours in another jurisdiction.  Documentation of 4,000 hours of supervised clinical practice must be submitted with an application for LICSW endorsement.
  • For more information on supervised practice, see Minnesota Statutes sections 148E.100, 148E.105, 148E.106, 148E.110, 148E.115, 148E.120, and 148E.125.
 
Complete Details:  Review Minnesota Statutes section 148E.055 subdivision 7 for Licensure by Endorsement.
Apply For a License
back to top