skip to content
Primary navigation

Applicants

Minnesota has the following four permanent social work licenses which you can apply for through examination or endorsement:
  • Licensed Social Worker (LSW) - Bachelor's License
  • Licensed Graduate Social Worker (LGSW) - Graduate License
  • Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW) - Graduate license requiring 4000 hours of non-clinical supervised practice
  • Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW) - Graduate license requiring 4000 hours of clinical supervised practice
 
As of November 28, 2017, all applicants for initial licensure must submit to a fingerprint-based  criminal background check under Minnesota Statutes section 214.075.  If you do not hold a current license, including a Temporary License, with the Board, you must submit the required fee and comply with fingerprint-based criminal background check requirements.   Failure to submit fingerprints to the Criminal Background Check Program Office within 90 days of the date the Board receives an application will result in a closed application and forfeiture of fees, under Minnesota Statutes section 214.075.
 
All required steps, except submission of fingerprints to the Criminal Background Check Program Office, including submission of the initial licensure fee upon approval for licensure, must be completed within one one year of the date the Board receives an application, or the application is closed.  Reapplication, a new fingerprint-based criminal background check, and payment of the application and fingerprint-based criminal background check fee will be required.  
 
Complete details can be found at Requirements for Licensure, Minnesota Statutes section 148E.055.  Complete details regarding the fingerprint-based criminal background check requirements can be found at Minnesota Statutes section 214.075.
 
Click here to apply online.
 
Paper application forms are available on the homepage under Downloadable Forms.
 

License Application Fee CBC Fee Total Fee
Licensed Social Worker (LSW) $45 $32 $77
Licensed Graduate Social Worker (LGSW) $45 $32 $77
Licensed Independent Social Worker (LISW) $45 $32 $77
Licensed Independent Clinical Social Worker (LICSW) $45 $32 $77
Endorsement Application for any License $85 $32 $117
back to top