skip to content
Primary navigation

Overview of the Criminal Background Check Process

Dear License Applicant: Minnesota law and Board policy now require that all applicants for initial licensure must complete a fingerprint-based criminal background check. The law requiring these background checks is Minn. Stat. § 214.075

The Minnesota Health Licensing Boards have cooperatively established a Criminal Background Check Program to help you efficiently complete this mandatory background check. Please direct any questions you have about the background check process to Criminal Background Check Program staff, and not the Board. 

After you have applied for licensure and paid all required fees, you will be mailed a packet containing additional information from the Criminal Background Check Program. It is your responsibility to have your fingerprints taken and to complete all required paperwork

APPLICATION FEES

Fees are non-refundable; even if it is determined that you are not eligible for licensure. Fees may be paid via credit card with submission of an online application or check or money order with submission of paper application. Check must be made payable to the MN Board of Physical Therapy.

Permanent Licensure Application Fee: $100.00 (Required of all applicants) This fee must be paid online or sent with your completed Application to Practice Physical Therapy form.

Annual Licensure Fee: $60.00 (Required of all applicants) This fee must be paid online or sent with a completed Application to Practice Physical Therapy form.

Criminal Background Check Fee: $33.25 (Required of all applicants) This fee must be paid online or sent with a completed Application to Practice Physical Therapy form.

Exam Application Processing Fee: $50.00 (Required for new grads testing for a MN license) This fee must be paid online or sent with a completed Application to Practice Physical Therapy form.

Temporary Permit Fee: $25.00 (optional) This fee must be paid with a check or money order made payable to the MN Board of Physical Therapy and sent with a completed Temporary Permit application form. Form and Fee may be submitted at any time during the application process. Fee is non-refundable. 


Criminal Background Check Program
2829 University Avenue SE, Suite 555
Minneapolis, MN 55414-4202 (651) 201-2822
back to top