OT Renewal Information
Renew your Occupational Therapist license online
Step by Step Renewal Instructions and How to Create a New Online Account
Renewal of your occupational therapy license is an online process. To avoid a late fee, you will want to ensure you renew your license no less than 30 days prior to the expiration date listed on your license card. A $25.00 late fee will be assess for renewals that are submitted online after the 30 day deadline.
In order to renew your license you must:
- Complete the online renewal process
- Submit the renewal fees required under section 148.6445
- Submit proof of having met the continuing education requirements listed in section 148.6443 of Minnesota Statute.
- Continuing education tracking forms are provided for your convenience.
- NOTE: You are not required to submit your completed CE tracking form to the Board office. See note below re; CE auditing.
- Submit additional information as requested by the BOTP to clarify information provided during the renewal process
For additional information, review statute language in section 148.6423 License Renewal.
The Board will make effort to send renewal notices at least 60 calendar days before the expiration date listed on your license. The notice will be mailed to the last known address on file with the Board. The notice will include directions for completing the online renewal process along with notice of fees required for renewal. Per statue, the licensee’s failure to receive notice does not relieve the licensee of the obligation to meet the renewal deadline and other requirements for license renewal. 148.6423 Subd. 3.
Renewal of Licensure after the Expiration Date:
Individuals not renewing their license by the expiration date will be removed from the list of individuals authorized to practice occupational therapy and use the protected titles. Contact the BOTP for information on how to renew your license if it has expired.
Auditing of Continuing Education
Note: the BOTP will be conducting audits on a percentage of continuing education reports based upon random selection. As a licensee, it is your responsibility to maintain documentation for two years after the last day of the biennial licensure period in which the contact hours were earned. (148.6443 Subd. 6 Auditing Continuing Education Reports).
Documentation required for the audit may include:
- A copy of the continuing education reporting form
- A description of the continuing education activity prepared by the presenter or sponsor
- Documentation of self-study programs by materials prepared by the presenter or sponsor
- Documentation of university, college, or vocational school courses by a course syllabus, bulletin listing, or equivalent.
- Verification of attendance by:
- Signature of the present or a designee
- Summary or outline of the content of the activity to verify participation if a designee is not available to sign
- Verification of a self-study program by a certificate of completion or other documentation
- Verification of attendance in a course through an official transcript
For further details about documentation see referenced Minnesota statute: 148.6443 Subd. 6 Auditing Continuing Education Reports.