We need validation of your name change. This documentation need only be a photocopy of the document changing your name, i.e. marriage license/certificate, divorce decree. Fax, scan and email, or mail the copy to the Board office. There is no fee for this service. Your name will be updated in the database. During renewals it is best to send in the name change documents first and then renew once the name change has occurred in the database. Your renewal certificate will be issued in your new name.
Due to online security measures, the secure line used for financial transactions will andlsquo;time you out, if you do not have a key stroke for ten minutes, leave the application, or any other security steps used by the IT team. If this happens and the system does not allow you to log back in, you will need to wait until 9:30 AM the following day for the system to be andlsquo;reset. Again, this is for security reasons.
You may access your record by entering the website at www.dieteticsnutritionboard.state.mn.us and log in. You will see the number of CEU's already entered. You may enter them throughout the three year CE cycle. If you were licensed prior to the beginning of the CE cycle you are required to have 45 CEU's earned between December 1, 2015 and November 30, 2018. Continuing Education is pro-rated if you are licensed within the three year cycle: First year - 30 CEU's, second year - 15 CEU's and third year - exempt.
We recommend you first update your continuing education. Once your CE is updated, then proceed to the RENEW License. This avoids being andlsquo;timed out as described in an earlier FAQ.
The Minnesota Office of Enterprise Technology sponsored and the Minnesota Legislature passed legislation in 2009 requiring a 10% surcharge of no less than $5.00 and no more than $150 on EACH business, commercial, professional, or occupational license. The funding from the surcharge will go to OET, which will establish an electronic licensing system for the state. The fees are collected by the board and forwarded to OET.
THIS SURCHARGE IS NOT A LICENSE FEE, HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH THE BOARD OF DIETETICS AND NUTRITION PRACTICE, AND IS NOT MANAGED BY THE BOARD EXCEPT FOR ITS COLLECTION.
The board was created to regulate dietitians and nutritionists for the single purpose of protecting the public.
In 1994, the Minnesota legislature, recognizing that the practice of dietetics and nutrition affects the public welfare, passed a law that provided for state licensing and regulation of dietitians and nutritionists. The law also provided that a board consisting of licensed dietitians and nutritionists, as well as public members, would be responsible for carrying out these functions.
The Board consists of seven members appointed by the governor. Two members must be licensed dietitians, two are licensed nutritionists, and two of the three public members must be either consumers of nutrition care services or people who provide care to individuals who use those services. The term of appointment is four years. A person may not be appointed to serve more than two consecutive terms.