skip to content
Primary navigation

Dental Hygienists

Licensure by Exam Requirements

  1. Graduate from a dental hygiene school accredited by the Commission on Dental Accreditation.
  2. Pass, within 5 years prior to application for licensure, the National Board Examination.
  3. Pass, within 5 years prior to application for licensure, a clinical exam administered by:
    1. Central Regional Dental Testing Service (CRDTS), or
    2. Western Regional Examining Board (WREB).
  4. Pass, within 5 years prior to application for licensure, the Minnesota Jurisprudence Examination covering the statutes and rules of the Minnesota Board of Dentistry.
  5. Undergo a criminal background check.

You must meet all of the above requirements to be eligible to apply for licensure by exam in Minnesota.

Application for Dental Hygiene Licensure by Exam

To start the process and pay the application and criminal background fees.


Licensure by Credential Requirements

If you meet the above requirements, but have not passed a clinical exam within the past five years, you may be eligible for licensure by credentials. To be eligible for licensure by credentials you must:

  1. Hold or have held a current license in another state or Canadian Province, in good standing,
  2. Have passed a board approved clinical exam for licensure in another state or Canadian province, and
  3. Have been in active practice for 2000 hours of the previous 36 months in another state, Canadian Province, or U.S. government service.
  4. Undergo a criminal background check.

Licensure by credentials involves completing an interview with the Credentials Committee of the Board.

Application for Dental Hygiene Licensure by Credential

To start the process and pay the application and criminal background fees.


Licensure for Dental Hygienist Provider Requirements

To be eligible for licensure you:

  1. Will need to include a letter from your program director indicating which program you are enrolled in and the dates of the program (the letter of acceptance you received from the program is sufficient).
  2. Must be a graduate of an undergraduate program.
  3. Must complete and pass the Jurisprudence Exam.
  4. Must undergo a criminal background check.

Application for Dental Hygienist Provider

To start the process and pay the application and criminal background fees.


back to top