skip to content
Primary navigation

Board Members

Minneapolis, Public Member
John Manahan was appointed by Governor Dayton April 2011 to serve as a public member on the Board. Mr. Manahan is an attorney with the Boyle Law Firm. He has been a member of the Minnesota Bar for over 30 years and has been in private practice of law for 20 years. Mr. Manahan was the assistant director of the Southeastern Minnesota Community Action Council (SEMCAC), and was primarily responsible for obtaining funding and staffing for the Rural Health Project operated by SEMCAC. He also served four years as a public member of the National League for Nursing Accreditation Commission for Associate Degree nursing programs.
Mr. Manahan has been reappointed as a public member to by Governor Dayton for another four-year term.
St. Paul, MN

Dr. Wolff was appointed by Governor Dayton in June 2015. Dr. Wolff has been practicing dentistry for 17 years. He obtained his doctorate of dental surgery from the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry and received a law degree in 2006 from William Mitchell College of Law. He is a general dentist practicing in Stillwater. Dr. Wolff is a member of the American Dental Association and the Academy of General Dentistry. Dr. Wolff replaced Dr. Joan Sheppard on the Board.

Terese M. Youngdahl, L.D.A.   -  Secretary of Board
Elk River, MN
Ms. Youngdahl, of Elk River, has been reappointed by Governor Dayton for a second term on March 25, 2014. She has been a practicing dental assistant for over 30 years, and earned her dental assistants license and certification in 1980. Ms. Youngdahl is an active life member of the American Dental Assistants Association where she has served as a national delegate for over 20 years, was a member and past president of the Minnesota Dental Assistants Association (MDAA) as well as the North Suburban Dental Assistants Association, and holdsa current Dental Assisting National Board, Inc. CDA certification and CDPMA certification.
Ms Youngdahl replaced Linda Boyum on the Board of Dentistry as a dental assistant member.
Rochester, MN
Dr. Sperling was appointed by GovernorDayton in March 2014 to the Board. He has been a licensed dentist in Minnesota since 1983 and currently practices general dentistry atNorthwest Dental Groupin Rochester. Dr. Sperling received his D.D.S. degree from the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry.
Dr. Sperling is a Master in the Academy of General Dentistry, a member of the American Dental Association, Academy of General Dentistry and the past president of the Minnesota Academy of Restorative Dentistry. In addition to offering lectures on dental implants, Dr. Sperling volunteers his time with Good Samaritan Dental Clinic. He replaced Dr. Candace Mensing on the Board.
Golden Valley, MN
Governor Dayton appointed Dr. Carl Ebert to the Board of Dentistry on April 29, 2016.  Dr. Ebert graduated from the Minnesota School of Dentistry in 1983 and participated in the Oral Health Services for Older Adults Program between 1989 and 1991.  Since then, he has provided care for underserved Minnesotans.  Dr. Ebert has also been an outspoken advocate for improved access and quality of care for Minnesotans with oral health disparities.
Dr. Ebert replaced Dr. David Gesko on the Board.
Farmington, MN
Ms. Fogarty was appointed by Governor Dayton to the Board July 1, 2017. Ms. Fogarty has been a licensed dental hygienist for 18 years and was the first certified advanced dental therapist in Minnesota, and the country. She works for Children's Dental Services in Minneapolis. She is very active in her community, having served three terms as a member of the Farmington City Council from 2002-2014, chair of the Economic Development Authority, and chair of the Farmington Royalty Committee.  In 2009, Ms. Fogarty was appointed by Governor Pawlenty to serve on the Board of Water and Soil Resources. In 2012, the Minnesota Supreme Court appointed Ms. Fogarty to the Commission on Judicial Review for District 1. Ms. Fogarty replaces Nancy Kearn on the Board.
Northfield, MN
Ruth Dahl was appointed to the Board as a public member on July 1, 2017. Ms. Dahl is the Director of Development at Three Links Foundation.  She has worked in senior services and housing for 20 years. She is a member of the Board of Leading Aging Minnesota and Stablish Foundation. Ms. Dahl previously served the Northfield Board of Education as a chair and member for 17 years.  She is also a charter member of the Cannon Elder Collegium Board of Directors.  Ms. Dahl replaces Allan Rasmussen on the Board.
back to top