Please read the following message carefully as it provides essential information for completing your criminal background check (CBC) for licensure.
We recognize finding fingerprinting locations during the COVID-19 healthcare crisis has been a challenge. The Minnesota Health Related Licensing Boards (HLBs) have worked with Governor Walz’s office to find a solution that will facilitate licensing of healthcare professionals throughout the crisis.
On March 27, 2020, Governor Walz signed Emergency Executive Order 20-23 which temporarily defers the fingerprinting requirement for applicants for licensure by the HLBs.
New graduates, if you have not yet completed the National Boards Part IV examination, we recommend that you hold off on proceeding with the criminal background check (CBC) with the fingerprint deferral, as you are not yet eligible to complete your application. Anyone who completes the CBC with the fingerprint deferral will be required to submit fingerprints within 30 days of the end of this peacetime emergency.
Instead, we recommend that you proceed with the CBC once you know that you can take the National Boards Part IV examination within 60 days. It is our hope that, by the time you are scheduled to take the National Boards Part IV, fingerprinting will again be available, avoiding the need for follow up fingerprints for those who cannot complete their application at this time.
In order to be authorized to practice chiropractic in the State of Minnesota, a person must receive a license from the Board by meeting the following requirements:*
* These requirements are subject to change through appropriate legislative or rulemaking procedures. The material above is purely informational. The specific requirements for licensure can be found in Minnesota Statutes 148.06, and Minnesota Rules 2500.0700, 2500.0720, and 2500.1000
** Portions of the academic requirements, such as Part IV of the National Board exam, may be waived if the board determines that the applicant has the qualifications equivalent to those required of other applicants. See "Transfer from Another State" below.
The following persons may be exempt from the license requirement per Minnesota Statute 148.105, Subd 5:
(1) a student practicing under the direct supervision of a preceptor while the student is enrolled in and regularly attending a recognized chiropractic college or chiropractic program;
(2) a student who is in continuing training and performing the duties of an intern or resident or engaged in postgraduate work considered by the board to be the equivalent of an internship or residency in any institution approved for training by the board;
(3) a doctor of chiropractic licensed in another state or jurisdiction who is in actual consultation in Minnesota;
(4) a doctor of chiropractic licensed in another state or jurisdiction who is in this state for the sole purpose of providing chiropractic services at a competitive athletic event. The doctor of chiropractic may practice chiropractic only on participants in the athletic event;
(5) a doctor of chiropractic licensed in another state or jurisdiction whose duties are entirely of a research, public health, or educational character and while directly engaged in such duties, and who is employed in a scientific, sanitary, or teaching capacity by: (i) an accredited institution; (ii) a public or private school, college, or other bona fide educational institution; (iii) a nonprofit organization which has tax-exempt status in accordance with the Internal Revenue Code, section 501(c)(3), and is organized and operated primarily for the purpose of conducting scientific research; or (iv) the state department of health;
(6) a doctor of chiropractic licensed in another state or jurisdiction who treats the doctor of chiropractic's home state patients or other participating patients while the doctor of chiropractic and those patients are participating together in outdoor recreation in this state as defined by section 86A.03, subdivision 3; and
(7) a person licensed in another state or jurisdiction who is a commissioned officer of, a member of, or employed by the armed forces of the United States, the United States Public Health Service, the Veterans Administration, any federal institution, or any federal agency while engaged in the performance of official duties within this state.
The following steps are for individuals who have never held a Minnesota Doctor of Chiropractic License.
The Minnesota Board of Chiropractic Examiners (MBCE) approves eligible applicants for licensure on the 1st of every month. All items listed above, as well as any additional items the MBCE deems necessary, are due by midnight on the fourth business day prior to the end of the month. (No exceptions.)
October, November, and December applicants:
If you are applying for licensure at the end of the calendar year, and would prefer to be licensed on January 1 of the next year, to avoid a renewal payment on December 31; you must notify the MBCE in writing prior to issuance of your license
Applicants who have a lapsed Minnesota DC license, please visit our website at "Reinstate Your License" to view requirements for the reinstatement of your Minnesota license.
Below is a list of some of the fees you may encounter as a Doctor of Chiropractic in Minnesota. NOTE: All online payments will charge a $1.50 credit card processing fee per transaction.
Doctor of Chiropractic Application Fee = $250.00
Criminal Background Check Fee (upon application or reinstatement) = $33.25
Active License Renewal Fee = $200.00
Inactive License Renewal Fee = $150.00
CE Audit Penalty Fees
$100.00 (first offense)
$200.00 (second offense)
$900.00 (third and additional offenses)
Active licenses must be renewed annually on or before December 31 of each year. Renewal notices are generally sent during mid October prior to expiration. It is the doctor of chiropractic's responsibility to keep the Board advised of their current address. State law requires notification within 30 days of a change of address. The Board is obligated to mail the renewal application to the address on file. Failure to receive the renewal documents does not relieve doctors of chiropractic of their renewal obligation. NOTE: SPECIAL PROVISIONS PERTAINING TO A WAIVER OF SUCH REQUIREMENTS FOR MILITARY PERSONNEL WHO ARE, OR HAVE RECENTLY BEEN, ACTIVELY DEPLOYED MAY BE FOUND AT 326.55 and 326.56
In order for a license to be renewed, the doctor of chiropractic must have completed the appropriate continuing education for that cycle and submit a completed application for renewal along with the appropriate fee. Failure to submit the renewal fees with a postmark on or before December 31 of each year, will result in substantial penalty fees. NOTE: SPECIAL PROVISIONS PERTAINING TO A WAIVER OF SUCH REQUIREMENTS FOR MILITARY PERSONNEL WHO ARE, OR HAVE RECENTLY BEEN, ACTIVELY DEPLOYED MAY BE FOUND AT 326.55 and 326.56
In addition to penalty fees, the failure to renew a license may cause it to be terminated. Reinstatement of a terminated license to a fully active license may have some additional requirements. Contact the Board office for more information.