Because this is a statutory requirement, the Board is not permitted by law to grant a variance. Currently, Minnesota Statutues section 148B.53, subd. 1(a)(3) states that an applicant must have, in addition to other requirements, anda supervised field experience of NOT FEWER than 700 hours that is counseling in nature.and The question of the 700 hour field experience requirement (which includes practicum and internship) has been discussed at great length by the Board since it recognizes this issue may impact some members of the profession. Such discussion has included input from the Board's legal counsel from the Attorney Generals Office. Accordingly, the applicant's graduate records must be able to support 700 hours of supervised field experience.
The 700 hours of supervised field experience must be supported by a letter from your Graduate Program sent directly from the program to the board office if that information is not documented on your transcript.
Minnesota Statutes section 148B.531, passed in the 2005 legislative session and effective July 1, 2005, permits persons who did not complete 700 hours of supervised field experience in their graduate program to complete the hours post-degree. The hours must be completed through an accredited (CHEA or CACREP) institution and taken and passed for credit.
Most applicants apply under Minnesota Statutes section 148B.53. Licensed Psychologists qualify for licensure under Minnesota Statutes section 148B.53, subd. 1(d). LPCs or LPC equivalents with active licensure from other states may apply for licensure by reciprocity according to Minnesota Statutes section 148B.56. You can read more about the routes to licensure on the Board's LPC Application Requirements webpage.
New graduates or previously unlicensed persons who have not taken the exam will be required to take and pass the National Counseling Examination (NCE) or an equivalent national examination as determined by the Board. More information about the NCE and other approved exams can be obtained from the Board's Examination for Professional Counselors webpage.
Yes, unless you are able to provide evidence acceptable to the board that you have already received supervision meeting the boards requirements (all or in part). Applicants seeking to receive credit for all or part of the 2000 hour requirement should document these hours on the andVerification of Supervised Professional Practiceand form with their application.
Your past supervision or supervision plan will be documented as part of your license application.Application sections H and I relate to post-degree supervision.You do not need to submit anything to the Board prior to applying for licensure.However, if you plan to begin supervision before applying for licensure your supervisor should immediately submit theSupervisor Applicationform to the Board (if your supervisor is not already approved) so that it can determine whether your supervisor is qualified.
Yes.However, supervision must be commenced after the graduate degree is granted, must be provided by an approved supervisor, and must comply with the Supervision Plan that is part of the licensure application.If it is found to be deficient in meeting these requirements, it will be rejected.
No.LPCs who documented 2,000 past supervised practice hours that were found acceptable to the Board, who applied by reciprocity under a license requiring at least 2,000 supervised practice hours prior to licensure, or who applied by the transition provision for currently licensed Minnesota psychologists, do not need to be supervised post-licensure.
Furthermore, all licensees who have completed their supervision plan (totaling at least 2,000 supervised practice hours) and received notification from the Board that they may practice independently no longer need to be supervised.
Board rules do not specify a minimum of required client contract hours.
No.Only post-degree supervision can be considered towards the 2000 required hours.
The supervisor must already hold the Approved Supervisor designation of the Board or must be qualified to become an Approved Supervisor. A supervisor that is not already approved can apply by filling out the Supervisor Application.
Supervisor qualifications are listed in Minnesota Statutes section 148B.50, subd. 2 and Minnesota Rules part 2150.5010, subp. 3. The supervisor must have at least 4 years of professional counseling experience, must request that a license verification be sent directly to the BBHT from their licensing board, and must be able to document to the board the completion of 45 hours of formal training in providing counseling supervision. The rules requiring 45 hours of formal training in supervision became effective on July 5, 2005. All supervisors approved by the board before July 5, 2005 are considered to have met the requirements of subpart 3 of the rules and will maintain their approved supervisor designation.
The Public List of Approved Supervisors for LPCs and the Supervisor Application are both available on this website. (Please note that the public list of supervisors includes names of only those Approved Supervisors who wish to be included in publications of the Board. If you wish to verify whether someone not on the list is approved, please call the Board office at 651/201-2756.)
Board staff members are unable to review the circumstances of your past supervision to determine if it will meet the 2,000 hour requirement. You will need to complete applicationSection I: Verification of Past Supervised Professional Practiceand submit it to the Board with your completed application for licensure. Additionally, your supervisor must complete the appropriate supervisor form (Supervisor Credential VerificationorSupervisor Application). When your file is reviewed for licensure eligibility by the Board's Application and Licensure Committee, it will determine whether or not to accept your past supervision.
Unlike many other states, the Minnesota board doesnt have a provisional license under which supervision is accrued. Applicants will need to decide between two courses of action:
First, you may choose to complete 2,000 hours of supervised, professional practice under an approved supervisor of the board before seeking licensure. The supervision must be conducted according to the Supervision Plan. The LPC supervisor webpage contains forms youll need (list of approved supervisors, Supervision Plan), found in the left column of the page. At the completion of supervision, you will then apply for licensure (your completion of supervision will be documented within the application itself) and obtain the LPC license with an independent practice designation.
Second, you may choose to apply for the LPC license immediately. You will find in the LPC application that you still need to arrange a Supervision Plan with an approved supervisor of the board. However, this process allows you to be licensed as a LPC with a supervised practice designation. You will be licensed as a LPC and begin supervision on the date that your license is issued. After you have completed supervision, your supervisor will submit the form entitled, andVerification of Completion of a Supervision Plan,and to the board and your designation will be updated to independent practice.