Student Permit Application & Renewal
The following items must be included with the application for processing
- Completed Student Permit Application
- Application fee: $45.00
- Copy of High School Diploma, GED, or transcript showing completion of 10th grade
To avoid delay in processing, please complete all parts of the application and provide all requested documentation. Applications are not complete and cannot be processed until all information and documentation is provided. You should receive information regarding the status of your application within 10 business days of the Board receiving the completed application. If you have questions regarding the application process or need assistance, please call the office at 651-201-2820 Monday - Friday 8:00 am to 4:30 pm, excluding holidays. If we do not answer, please leave a message and we will return the call.
Applicant Information Collection and Use
The information collected during the application process is used to determine eligibility for examination or barber registration/license. You are not legally obligated to provide any of the information requested. If you do not provide the information, the Board may be unable to process your application resulting in the application process being delayed or the application being denied.
The Board is required to have licensees' Social Security Numbers on file by Minnesota Statute 270C.72 and cannot issue a license without having the number. Your Social Security Number may be requested by and released to the Minnesota Commissioner of Revenue and may be used for Revenue Recapture as authorized by Minnesota Statute. Minnesota Statute 13.355 classifies Social Security Numbers as private data on individuals and your Social Security Number will not be released except as specifically authorized by law.
Upon issuance of a certificate, license, or registration all information provided during the application process will become public information pursuant to Minnesota Statute Chapter 13.41 Subd. 5, with the exception of your Social Security Number as specified above.
License Issuance and Renewal
Applications are processed upon receipt of all required information and documentation. License Certificates issued by the Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners are subject to a one year renewal cycle. Registered Barber, Instructor, and Barber School registrations expire annually on December 31st. Barber Shop registrations expire annually on June 30th.
Although the Board makes an effort to contact all registrants at time of renewal, it is the barber's responsibility to renew on time with or without renewal notice from the Board.
- Completed Renewal Application received within 30 days of current permit expiration.
- Application fee: $25.00