skip to content
Primary navigation

Becoming a Barber

To become a barber in Minnesota, you will need to attend a Board-approved barber school. 

Minnesota Statute 154.07 Subdivision 1 defines the requirements and course of study: "...No barber school shall be approved by the Board unless it requires, as a prerequisite to admission, ten grades of an approved school or its equivalent, as determined by an examination conducted by the Commissioner of Education, which shall issue a certificate that the student has passed the required examination, and unless it requires, as a prerequisite to graduation, a course of instruction of at least 1,500 hours, of not more than ten hours in any one working day. The course of instruction must include the following subjects: scientific fundamentals for barbering; hygiene; practical study of the hair, skin, muscles, and nerves; structure of the head, face, and neck; elementary chemistry relating to sterilization and antiseptics; diseases of the skin, hair, and glands; massaging and manipulating the muscles of the face and neck; hair cutting; shaving; trimming the beard; bleaching, tinting and dyeing the hair; and the chemical straightening of hair."

If you are a cosmetologist interested in becoming a barber: In Minnesota, there is no credit given between cosmetology and barber training; therefore, a cosmetologist must complete 1500 hours of barber school to become a barber, and a barber must complete 1550 hours of cosmetology school to become a cosmetologist.

There are five public barber schools available in Minnesota; four schools are located in the Twin Cities Metropolitan Area and one in St. Cloud, Minnesota.

Minnesota School of Barbering

3615 East Lake Street, Minneapolis, MN 55406 
For Information 612-722-1996  
www.theminnesotaschoolofbarbering.org/

Moler Barber School

6558 University Ave NE, Fridley, MN 55432
For Information 763-710-9093
www.molerbarberschool.com

Moler Barber School of St. Paul

990 Payne Avenue, Saint Paul, MN 55130
For Information 651-200-4691 or molerbarberschoolst@gmail.com 

Moler Barber School of Minnesota

200 Waite Avenue S, Suites 218 & 220, St Cloud, MN 56301
For Information 320-227-2177 
www.molerbarberschoolofstcloud.com

Townsend Barber Institute

694 County Road B West, Roseville, MN 55113
For Information 651-330-9098
www.townsendbarberinstitute.com

Being a Barber Student

When you enroll in a barber school, you will have an enrollment agreement with that barber school that lays out your responsibilities, what will be expected of you in terms of attendance and performance, and other terms and conditions of your enrollment. It is a legal document that is between you, the student, and the school. If you have any questions or concerns about your enrollment agreement, you will need to talk with the school.

Student Permit: You will need to be licensed as a barber student in order to work on the floor. Usually the school provides the Student Permit application forms to their students and will submit them to the Board with the application fee. For more information about the Student Permit, click here.

Student Hours: The barber school will monitor your hours in the classroom and when you are working on the floor. Some students also keep track of their hours themselves. If you have any questions about your hours, including the number of hours you have, you can ask the school.

Completion Certificate: When you have completed the required 1500 hours of barber school, your school will provide the Board with a completion certificate. You will then be able to apply to take the registered barber exam which the Board provides for licensure. We also accept the exam application and completion certificate submitted at the same time.

Home Study Course: the Board requires that all students applying to take the registered barber exam also purchase a Home Study Course book that can help in preparing for the exam and can also serve as a resource as you begin your work as a professional registered barber.

back to top