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Minnesota Board of Physical Therapy1.1

Proposed Permanent Rules Relating to Physical Therapy Practice Licensure1.2

5601.1700 RENEWAL OF LICENSURE; PHYSICAL THERAPISTS AND1.3
PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANTS.1.4

Subpart 1. Practice requirement; physical therapists and physical therapist1.5

assistants. When they renew their licenses Each year upon license renewal in compliance1.6

with Minnesota Statutes, section 148.73, physical therapists and physical therapist1.7

assistants must submit lists of locations or institutions where they have practiced during the1.8

past five years. Applicants for licensure who have not practiced the equivalent of eight full1.9

weeks engaged in the practice of physical therapy as defined in Minnesota Statutes, section1.10

148.65, subdivision 1, for 320 hours during the past five years are required to achieve1.11

a passing score on retaking the licensure examination or complete no less than eight1.12

weeks 320 hours of board-approved clinical experience with a broad base of treatment1.13

modalities and patient diagnoses. In addition, every two years, the applicant must submit1.14

verification of compliance with the continuing education requirements of parts 5601.21001.15

to 5601.2500. An application submitted after the deadline date must be accompanied by1.16

the late fee described in part 5601.3000 Minnesota Statutes, section 148.715.1.17

Subp. 2. Jurisprudence continuing education; physical therapists and physical1.18

therapist assistants. When a license is renewed each year in compliance with Minnesota1.19

Statutes, section 148.73, a licensee must complete self-study and take a jurisprudence1.20

examination on the Board of Physical Therapy Practice Act, and receive a passing score as1.21

established by the board on an open-book examination. The examination may be retaken1.22

as many times as is necessary to pass.1.23

5601.2050 COLLABORATION; PHYSICAL THERAPISTS.1.24

Subpart 1. Compliance. For purposes of compliance with Minnesota Statutes,1.25

sections 148.75, paragraph (a), clause (9), and 148.76, subdivision 2, paragraph (b),1.26
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"practice in collaboration" means a written agreement between a physical therapist2.1

licensed less than one year and a physical therapist, licensed in Minnesota, with more than2.2

one year of experience. The written agreement shall minimally include the following:2.3

A. name and address of both parties to the agreement;2.4

B. description of the patient population to which the collaboration agreement2.5

extends;2.6

C. plan for consultation between both parties to the agreement, including the2.7

method of periodic review of patient care;2.8

D. any restrictions on activities of the physical therapist licensed less than one2.9

year when operating under the collaboration agreement; and2.10

E. grounds for termination of the collaboration agreement.2.11

Subp. 2. Additional requirements. The following additional requirements must2.12

be met by both parties to the agreement:2.13

A. both parties to the agreement must sign the collaboration agreement;2.14

B. the physical therapist licensed less than one year is responsible for ensuring2.15

that appropriate informed consent is provided to the patient, and that to the extent2.16

necessary, obtaining patient consent to release information to the physical therapist with2.17

more than one year experience; and2.18

C. both parties to the agreement are required to maintain the collaboration2.19

agreement and produce it upon request of the board.2.20

5601.2100 CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENT; PHYSICAL2.21
THERAPISTS AND PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANTS.2.22

Every two years, each physical therapist and physical therapist assistant licensed by2.23

the board shall obtain 20 contact hours of continuing education credit as required by parts2.24
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5601.2200 to 5601.2600. A minimum of two of the 20 hours of continuing education each3.1

cycle shall be on professional ethics directly related to the practice of physical therapy.3.2

5601.2200 TWO-YEAR CONTINUING EDUCATION CYCLE; PHYSICAL3.3
THERAPISTS AND PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANTS.3.4

Subpart 1. Initial registration or licensure on or after January 1, 1991. For3.5

physical therapists initially registered or licensed on or after January 1, 1991, and physical3.6

therapist assistants, the first two-year continuing education cycle begins on the January 13.7

following the date of initial registration or licensure. Future cycles will run consecutively3.8

from that point. Continuing education courses taken between the date of initial registration3.9

or licensure and January 1 of the following year may be credited toward the first cycle.3.10

Subp. 2. [See repealer.]3.11

5601.2300 CATEGORIES OF CREDITED ACTIVITIES FOR PHYSICAL3.12
THERAPISTS AND PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANTS.3.13

Continuing education credit for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants3.14

may be obtained from the following activities:3.15

A. Category 1: No less than ten hours of credit must be obtained in a cycle3.16

by attendance at educational activities recognized by the board under part 5601.2400.3.17

Physical therapists who must submit 30 hours of credit under part 5601.2200, subpart 2,3.18

item B, must obtain no less than 15 hours of credit under this item.3.19

B. Category 2: No more than ten hours of credit may be obtained in a cycle3.20

through in-service educational activities sponsored by organizations or individuals not3.21

designated in Category 1. Physical therapists who must submit 30 hours of credit under part3.22

5601.2200, subpart 2, item B, must obtain no more than 15 hours of credit under this item.3.23

C. Category 3: No more than four hours of credit may be obtained in a cycle3.24

through teaching, lecturing, or similar presentation programs. Physical therapists who3.25
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must submit 30 hours of credit under part 5601.2200, subpart 2, item B, must obtain no4.1

more than six hours of credit under this item.4.2

A. Scholarship. A maximum of nine hours may be earned by physical therapists4.3

and physical therapist assistants for the following activities:4.4

(1) authoring a book, chapter, or article directly relating to the practice of4.5

physical therapy. The publication must be peer-reviewed; and4.6

(2) preparing and presenting a scientific poster, directly related to the4.7

practice of physical therapy. The poster must be peer-reviewed and continuing education4.8

hours may be earned only for the first time the licensee presents the poster.4.9

B. Education and teaching. A maximum of nine hours may be earned by4.10

physical therapists and physical therapist assistants for the following activities:4.11

(1) developing and teaching an academic course in physical therapy at4.12

an institution accredited by a regional accrediting association. Continuing education4.13

hours may be earned only for the first time the licensee teaches the course. For purposes4.14

of this item, an updated course is considered a new course if 51 percent of the content4.15

has been changed;4.16

(2) serving as a guest lecturer for an academic course in physical therapy4.17

at an institution accredited by a regional accrediting association. Continuing education4.18

hours may be earned only for the first time the licensee teaches the course. For purposes4.19

of this item, an updated course is considered a new course if 51 percent of the content4.20

has been changed. The licensee may claim up to two hours of credit for preparation per4.21

one hour of presentation claimed;4.22

(3) developing and presenting a course for a workshop or seminar approved4.23

under part 5601.2400. Continuing education hours may be earned only for development4.24

for the licensee's first presentation on the subject developed. For purposes of this item,4.25
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an updated course is considered a new course if 51 percent of the content has been5.1

changed. The licensee may claim up to two hours of credit for preparation per one hour of5.2

presentation claimed; and5.3

(4) for physical therapists serving as a mentor for a physical therapy5.4

residency or fellowship credentialed by the American Physical Therapy Association5.5

(APTA).5.6

C. Coursework. A maximum of 18 hours may be earned for the following5.7

activities:5.8

(1) for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants, successful5.9

completion of an academic course in physical therapy at an institution accredited by a5.10

regional accrediting association;5.11

(2) for physical therapists, completing a physical therapy clinical residency5.12

program or fellowship credentialed by the APTA;5.13

(3) for physical therapists, completion of an APTA American Board of5.14

Physical Therapy Specialties (ABPTS) certification;5.15

(4) for physical therapist assistants, completion of an APTA advanced5.16

proficiency program certification; and5.17

(5) for physical therapists and physical therapist assistants, attendance at5.18

workshops, seminars, or conferences approved under part 5601.2400.5.19

D. Self-assessment. A maximum of three hours may be earned for completion5.20

of the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT) Practice Review Tool5.21

(PRT) or APTA self-assessment tools.5.22
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5601.2400 CATEGORY 1 CREDIT APPROVAL.6.1

Subpart 1. Courses. The board shall automatically grant Category 1 continuing6.2

education credit meeting the standards of part 5601.2500 for educational activities in6.3

items A to C as follows:6.4

A. any course planned, sponsored, or cosponsored by an accredited university6.5

or college, medical school, state or national medical or osteopathic association, or a6.6

national medical specialty society;6.7

B. any course planned, sponsored, or cosponsored by the American Physical6.8

Therapy Association or other national or state physical therapy association; and6.9

C. any course planned, sponsored, or cosponsored by the Arthritis Foundation,6.10

American Heart Association, or other national or state health organization approved by the6.11

FSBPT for the credit hours awarded by FSBPT.6.12

Subp. 2. Other educational activity. Any educational activity not included under6.13

subpart 1 that meets the standards of part 5601.2500 shall be approved for Category 16.14

continuing education credit by the board.6.15

An individual or organization seeking board approval of an educational activity for6.16

Category 1 continuing education credit as provided under this subpart shall provide to6.17

the board documents describing the name and address of the organization sponsoring the6.18

activity, the name and address of the facility at which the activity will be presented, the6.19

name and credentials of each instructor or person making a presentation, and the course6.20

content in detail, including a time schedule for the activity.6.21

5601.2600 VERIFICATION OF COMPLIANCE; PHYSICAL THERAPISTS AND6.22
PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANTS.6.23

At the January license renewal immediately following their the physical therapist and6.24

physical therapist assistant two-year continuing education cycle, licensees shall provide6.25

a signed statement to the board on a form provided by the board indicating attest to6.26
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compliance with parts 5601.2100 to 5601.2500. The board shall also accept certification7.1

of other state regulatory agencies whose continuing education requirements are equal to or7.2

greater than those in parts 5601.2100 to 5601.2500.7.3

Periodically, the board shall select a sample of the licensed physical therapists and7.4

physical therapist assistants and request evidence of the continuing education to which7.5

they attested. Documentation may come directly from the licensee or from state or7.6

national organizations that maintain those types of records.7.7

A licensee failing to submit a statement or who submits a statement that, on its7.8

face, indicates noncompliance with parts 5601.2100 to 5601.2500 may be subject to the7.9

disciplinary provisions in part 5601.2700.7.10

5601.3200 CODE OF ETHICAL PRACTICE; PHYSICAL THERAPISTS AND7.11
PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANTS.7.12

Subpart 1. Scope. Unless otherwise specified, the code of ethical practice for7.13

licensees and applicants constitutes the code of ethics required by Minnesota Statutes,7.14

section 148.66, clause (7).7.15

Subp. 2. Prohibited activities. Violation of the conduct rules in items A to E is7.16

prohibited and is grounds for disciplinary action under Minnesota Statutes, section 148.75,7.17

paragraph (a), clause (5) (6).7.18

A. Physical therapists and physical therapist assistants shall not engage in7.19

conduct that constitutes harassment or abuse of, or unlawful discrimination against,7.20

patients.7.21

B. Information relating to the physical therapist-patient and physical therapist7.22

assistant-patient relationship is confidential and may not be communicated to a third7.23

party not involved in that patient's care without the prior written consent of the patient7.24

or patient's representative, or unless otherwise allowed by law. Information must be7.25

disclosed when required by law for the protection of the patient or the public.7.26
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C. Physical therapists and physical therapist assistants shall not engage in8.1

any sexual relationship or activity with any patient, or engage in any conduct that8.2

may reasonably be interpreted by the patient to be sexual, whether consensual or8.3

nonconsensual, while a physical therapist-patient or physical therapist assistant-patient8.4

relationship exists. A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant shall not exploit the8.5

physical therapist-patient relationship for sexual purposes, and termination of the physical8.6

therapist-patient relationship is not a defense to exploitation involving sexual misconduct.8.7

D. A physical therapist, unless otherwise allowed by law, shall not provide8.8

patient care without disclosing benefits and substantial risks, if any, of the recommended8.9

examination, intervention, and the alternatives to the patient or patient's legal8.10

representative.8.11

E. A physical therapist and physical therapist assistant shall not provide care to8.12

patients when impaired by illness, chemical use, or chemical dependency that affects the8.13

physical therapist's licensee's ability to practice with reasonable skill and safety.8.14

Subp. 3. Reporting requirements. A physical therapist and physical therapist8.15

assistant shall self report to the board within 30 days:8.16

A. any personal actions which may be grounds for disciplinary actions in8.17

Minnesota Statutes, sections 148.75 and 148.76;8.18

B. impairment by illness, chemical use, or chemical dependency that affects the8.19

practitioner's ability to practice with reasonable skill and safety; a report of the impairment8.20

to the health professional services program satisfies this reporting obligation;8.21

C. conviction of a misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony relating to8.22

patient care; and8.23

D. the termination, revocation, or suspension of membership by a state or8.24

national physical therapy professional association.8.25
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Failure to comply with items A to D is considered conduct detrimental to the best9.1

interests of the public constitutes failure to conform to standards of acceptable prevailing9.2

practice and grounds for disciplinary action under Minnesota Statutes, section 148.75,9.3

paragraph (a), clause (5) (6).9.4

Subp. 4. Cooperation. A physical therapist and physical therapist assistant shall9.5

cooperate with an investigation of the board. Failure to cooperate is conduct detrimental9.6

to the best interest of the public and grounds for disciplinary action under Minnesota9.7

Statutes, section 148.75, paragraph (a), clause (5) (6). Cooperation includes responding9.8

fully and promptly to any question raised by the board and providing copies of the medical9.9

records and other documents requested by the board.9.10

Subp. 5. Ethical integrity. Physical therapist licensees and applicants shall use9.11

the principles in items A to H as nonbinding guidelines for promoting ethical integrity9.12

and professionalism.9.13

A. A physical therapist shall respect the rights and dignity of all patients and9.14

provide compassionate care as described in subitems (1) and (2).9.15

(1) A physical therapist shall recognize individual differences with patients9.16

and shall respect and be responsive to those differences.9.17

(2) A physical therapist shall be guided by concern for the physical,9.18

psychological, and socioeconomic welfare of patients.9.19

B. A physical therapist shall exercise sound judgment and act in a trustworthy9.20

manner toward patients and in all other aspects of physical therapy practice. Regardless9.21

of practice setting, physical therapists shall maintain the ability to make independent9.22

judgments. A physical therapist shall strive to effect changes that benefit patients.9.23

C. A physical therapist shall maintain professional competence and promote9.24

high standards for physical therapy practice, education, and research. Physical therapists9.25
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shall participate in educational activities that enhance their basic knowledge and provide10.1

new knowledge.10.2

D. A physical therapist shall seek only such remuneration as is deserved and10.3

reasonable for physical therapy services performed and shall never place the therapist's10.4

own financial interest above the welfare of patients under the therapist's care.10.5

E. A physical therapist shall endeavor to address the health needs of society.10.6

F. A physical therapist shall respect the rights, knowledge, and skills of10.7

colleagues and other health care professionals.10.8

G. A physical therapist shall safeguard the public from underutilization or10.9

overutilization of physical therapy services.10.10

H. A physical therapist shall provide and make available accurate and relevant10.11

information to patients about their care and to the public about physical therapy services.10.12

Subp. 6. Aid to interpretation. The American Physical Therapy Association10.13

(APTA) Code of Ethics and APTA Guide for Professional Conduct shall be used as aids10.14

in resolving any ambiguity that may arise in the interpretation of this part. However, in10.15

a conflict between this part and the APTA Code of Ethics and Guide for Professional10.16

Conduct, this part shall prevail.10.17

Subp. 6a. Incorporations by reference. The Code of Ethics published by the10.18

American Physical Therapy Association in July 2000 June 2010, and Guide for Professional10.19

Conduct and Guide for Conduct of the Physical Therapist Assistant published by the10.20

American Physical Therapy Association in January 2001 November 2010, are incorporated10.21

by reference, are available at the State Law Library, and are not subject to frequent change.10.22

Subp. 7. Interpretation. The conduct rules found under subparts 2, items A to D;10.23

3; and 4, do not represent the exclusive grounds for disciplinary action under Minnesota10.24

Statutes, section 148.75, paragraph (a), clause (5) (6), and must not be construed as10.25
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limiting the grounds for disciplinary action under Minnesota Statutes, section 148.75,11.1

paragraph (a), clause (5) (6), for conduct not listed in this part. Violation of the guidelines11.2

in subpart 5 is not grounds for disciplinary action under Minnesota Statutes, section11.3

148.75, paragraph (a), clause (5) (6).11.4

REPEALER. Minnesota Rules, part 5601.2200, subpart 2, is repealed.11.5
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