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INSTRUCTIONS FOR LICENSE APPLICATION 

 
1. Read the laws that govern the practice of dietetics and nutrition in Minnesota. 
       You will be asked to sign a statement on your application stating that you have read   

Minn. Statutes Sections 148.621 through 148.634. 
 
2.  Read the rules established by the Board of Dietetics and Nutrition Practice.  
  You will be asked to sign a statement on your application stating that you have read   

Minn. Rules 3250.0010 through 3250.0150. 
 
3. Complete the application. 

The application must be completed in its entirety, with all requested signatures. 
 
4. Gather all necessary documentation called for in application. 

Any missing documentation will delay processing of your application. 
 
5. Complete license registration form.   

This form will provide the board the information needed to print your official license. 
 
6. Submit the following to the board office: 

 
completed application 
application fee  dietitian with RD $100 

Nutritionist   $175 
all required documentation 
license registration form 
initial license fee    $150 
Criminal Background Check fee   $33.25 
 

 (YOU MUST SUBMIT THE APPLICATION FEE, INITIAL LICENSE FEE AND CRIMINAL 
BACKGROUND CHECK FEE) 

 
7. Deadlines for submission of applications are:   

Licenses will be issue within two weeks of receiving the application, fees and all appropriate documentation to 
the board office.   

 
8. All licenses will expire November 30 of each year. 
 
CRIMINAL BACKGROUND CHECK   
The Minnesota Board of Dietetics & Nutrition Practice is statutorily required to complete a Federal and State Criminal 
Background Check prior to issuing your license. In Minnesota, a formal application to the Board will initiate this separate 
processing conducted by another agency, the Criminal Background Check Unit (CBC).   Initial results indicate this may 
add three to four weeks to complete the CBC and application to the license process.  Once you apply online or the paper 
application is received, the Criminal Background Check Unit will contact you with directions to complete the CBC.  The 
$33.25 fee is added to your application and there is no additional fee.   The Minnesota Board of Dietetics & Nutrition 
Practice will be informed of the results and move your application forward. 



Application for Nutritionist Licensing 
 

USE THIS APPLICATION IF YOU ARE 
APPLYING UNDER THE GENERAL REQUIREMENTS 

(provided in Minn. Stat. Sec 148.624, subd. 1) 
 

STATE OF MINNESOTA 
BOARD OF DIETETICS AND NUTRITION PRACTICE 

2829 University Avenue SE, Suite 402  
Minneapolis, MN 55414-3250 

(651) 201-2764 
  

INSTRUCTIONS TO APPLICANT 
1.  Answer all questions completely, accurately, and legibly or the application will be returned. 
2.  The name you enter must exactly match the name on the supporting documents, or documentation of formal name change must         
be submitted. 
3.  All addresses must include zip code if requested on the application. 
4.  FEE IS NON-REFUNDABLE. 
5.  Failure to answer all questions completely and accurately, and/or falsification of facts may be cause for denial of your                       
application, or disciplinary action if you are subsequently licensed by the board. 

 
YOUR CURRENT NAME AND ADDRESS 

Full Legal Name (Last, First, Middle) 
 
 

Maiden Name Gender 

Street Address 
 
 
City State or Province Zip Code County 

 
 

Contact Phone 
 
 

Other Phone/Cell  Email  

Social Security or Alien Registration Number 
 
 

Date of Birth  

 
 

TENNESSEN WARNING (Minn. Stat. 13.04) 
 
The Minnesota Board of Dietetics & Nutrition Practice is seeking data from you which may be considered private or confidential 
under the Minnesota Government Data Practices Act, Minn. Stat. Â§ 13.01 et seq. Minn. Stat. Â§ 13.04, subd. 2 requires the Board 
to notify you of the following four matters before you are asked to supply such information about yourself: (1) This data is being 
collected to determine whether you meet the requirements for licensure as well as whether you have violated any statutes or rules 
the Board is empowered to enforce; (2) You are not legally required to provide this information, but failure to do so may result in 
the denial of this licensure application; (3) If you supply the data requested and it shows a violation of any of the statutes or rules 
enforced by the Board, you may be subject to disciplinary or other action by the Board. If you refuse to supply the data requested, 
your licensure application may be denied. In addition, falsification or omission of information may be used by the Board as a basis 
for disciplinary action; and (4) the data which you supply will be accessible to Board staff. The data you supply may also be 
released to other persons and/or governmental entities that have statutory authority to review the data, investigate specific conduct, 
and/or take appropriate legal action. If the Board institutes a formal disciplinary action against you, the information you supply 
could become public. 

 
**********FOR BOARD USE ONLY********** 

 
APPLICATION # 

 
CHECK/RECEIPT # 

 
BOARD ACTION 

 
LICENSE # 

 
AMOUNT PAID 

 
BOARD DATE 



 
 
 

EDUCATION HISTORY 
Provide the names of all educational institutions attended, from high school through doctoral programs. 

 
 
SCHOOL 

 
LOCATION 

 
MAJOR / 
CONCENTRATION 

 
FROM 
 
TO 

 
SCHOOL 

 
LOCATION 

 
MAJOR / 
CONCENTRATION 

 
FROM 
 
TO 

 
SCHOOL 

 
LOCATION 

 
MAJOR / 
CONCENTRATION 

 
FROM 
 
TO 

 
SCHOOL 

 
LOCATION 

 
MAJOR / 
CONCENTRATION 

 
FROM 
 
TO 

 
DEGREE RECEIVED 

 
NAME OF ISSUING SCHOOL 

 
DATE 
RECEIVED 
 

 
DEGREE RECEIVED 

 
NAME OF ISSUING SCHOOL 

 
DATE 
RECEIVED 
 

 
ATTACH ADDITIONAL PAGES IF NECESSARY 

 
 

PRACTICAL EXPERIENCE 
 
NAME OF FACILITY 
 

 
LOCATION 

 
SUPERVISOR 

 
FROM 
 
TO 
 

 
BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE TYPE OF EXPERIENCE 
 
 
 
NAME OF FACILITY 
 

 
LOCATION 

 
SUPERVISOR 

 
FROM 
 
TO 
 

 
BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE TYPE OF EXPERIENCE 
 
 
 
NAME OF FACILITY 
 

 
LOCATION 

 
SUPERVISOR 

 
FROM 
 
TO 
 

 
BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE TYPE OF EXPERIENCE 
 
 

 
ATTACH ADDITIONAL PAGES IF NECESSARY 



 
 

 
STATES IN WHICH YOU ARE OR HAVE BEEN LICENSED OR REGISTERED 

 
STATE 

 
LICENSE NUMBER  

 
DATE ISSUED  

 
EXPIRATION DATE 
 

 
STATE 

 
LICENSE NUMBER  

 
DATE ISSUED  

 
EXPIRATION DATE 
 

 
STATE 

 
LICENSE NUMBER  

 
DATE ISSUED  

 
EXPIRATION DATE 
 

 
STATE 

 
LICENSE NUMBER  

 
DATE ISSUED  

 
EXPIRATION DATE 
 

 
ATTACH ADDITIONAL PAGES IF NECESSARY 

 
ALL APPLICANTS MUST ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS.  PLEASE CIRCLE THE 
APPROPRIATE ANSWER NEXT TO EACH QUESTION.  IF NECESSARY, ATTACH ADDITIONAL SHEETS 
TO PROVIDE SUFFICIENT DETAIL.   
  

1. Mental and physical health: 
Have you been diagnosed and/or treated for any mental, physical or cognitive condition that may 
affect your ability to practice with reasonable skill and safety and have not reported the condition or 
illness to Health Professionals Services Program (HPSP), or a similar program?  If you have been 
diagnosed and you are participating in HPSP or a similar program, for purposes of this application, 
you may answer “no” to this question.     YES      NO 

               
2. Substance Use: 

Have you been diagnosed and/or treated for any substance use disorder that may affect your ability 
to practice with reasonable skill and safety and have not reported the condition or illness to Health 
Professionals Services Program (HPSP), or similar program?  If you have been diagnosed and you 
are participating in HPSP or a similar program, for purposes of this application, you may answer 
“no” to this question.     YES      NO                
  

3. Criminal Conduct: 
Have you been charged with and/or convicted of any misdemeanor, gross misdemeanor, or felony 
crime including, but not limited to, any crime related to the use of alcohol or drugs?    YES     NO      

 
4. Investigation by agency or board: 

Have you been notified that a complaint has been filed against you, that you are under investigation, 
that you have been disciplined and/or that you have been denied a license, certification or registration 
by a state or federal agency or regulatory board?     YES     NO        

                               
5. Malpractice: 

Are you aware of any malpractice actions pending against you or of any malpractice settlements 
or judgments against you?     YES      NO      

 
6. Termination: 

In any paid or unpaid job, have you been terminated, resigned in lieu of termination, or been 
subjected to disciplinary action by your employer due to any conduct that may be grounds for 
disciplinary action by a state or federal agency or regulatory board?     YES     NO   
 

7. DHS or DHHS Disqualification: 
Have you ever received notification from the Minnesota Department of Human Services or the United               
States Department of Health and Human Services, Office of the Inspector General, that you have been 
disqualified from providing direct care or excluded from participation in Medicare or Medicaid?      
YES     NO 

 
 



 
To qualify for a nutritionist license you must either have a master’s or doctoral degree and have completed a 
supervised practice experience or you must have received certification as a Certified Nutrition Specialist by the 
Certification Board for Nutrition Specialists as stated in MN Statute 148.622, Subd. 2.  Minn. Rule 3250.0020, 
Subps. 2 and 3 describe the documentation necessary to meet these requirements. 
 
 
_____  I have attached an official transcript showing my degree as required in Minn. Rule 3250.0020, Subp.                
2, Para A. 
 
AND 
 
_____  I have attached  documented proof of completing a preprofessional practice experience component in                
nutrition practice. 

 
OR 

 
 
_____  I have attached a copy of certification as a Certified Nutrition Specialist by the Certification Board for 
            Nutrition Specialist.                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        

 
 
 
I have read Minn. Statutes Sections 148.621 through 148.634, and I understand that these are the laws that 
govern the practice of dietetics and nutrition in Minnesota.  I have read Minn. Rules 3250.0010 through 
3250.0150, and I understand these are the rules established by the Board of Dietetics and Nutrition Practice to 
administer and enforce the laws that govern dietetics and nutrition practice.  I understand that as a licensee, I 
will be legally and ethically obligated to be familiar with and abide by the laws and rules described above. 
 
 
Signature_____________________________________________ 

MUST BE SIGNED 
 
 
 
AFFIDAVIT OF APPLICANT 
 
State of ____________________ 
County of___________________ 
 
 
_______________________, being first duly sworn, says that she/he is the person referred to in the above 
application for licensure to practice dietetics and nutrition in the State of Minnesota, and that the 
statements herein contained are each and all strictly true in every respect. 
 
                                                                             ___________________________________________ 
                                                                             Signature of Applicant 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this 
 _______ day of _____________, ______. 
 
__________________________________ 
Notary Public 

 
 
 



 
 
 
 
 

State of Minnesota 
Board of Dietetics and Nutrition Practice 

 
 
 
 

LICENSE REGISTRATION FORM 
 
 

 
 
I would like my name to appear on my official license certificate as follows: 
 
 

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
PRINT OR TYPE 

 
 
 
 
A letter and your license certificate will be mailed to you following the Board meeting at which your 
application is reviewed, indicating the license number assigned to you.  The license certificate will serve as 
evidence that you have met the requirements for licensure in the State of Minnesota. 

 
 


	ATTACH ADDITIONAL PAGES IF NECESSARY

