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Minnesota Board of Behavioral Health and Therapy 
 

LADC Continuing Education Variance Request 
 

Processing Fee: $10.00 
Late Fee: $74.00 

 
Note: Use this form if you are requesting a continuing education variance per Minnesota Statutes 
section 148F.075, subd. 8. 
 
If a licensee is unable to meet the continuing education requirements by the renewal date, the 
licensee may request a time-limited variance to fulfill the requirements after the renewal date. If 
a variance is granted, it will expire six months after the license renewal date. A licensee who is 
granted a variance but fails to complete the required continuing education within the six-month 
period may apply for a second variance.  
 

Instructions 
 

1. This form must be filled out completely and legibly for any review to take place.  
Incomplete forms will be returned to the requester for completion, delaying consideration 
of your request.  Please be concise, and include all information necessary for the Board to 
consider your request.  Attach additional sheets if necessary to fully provide the 
information requested.  

 
2. Variance requests are subject to the criteria for rule variances in Minnesota Statutes 

section 14.055, subd. 4: 
  

Subd. 4. Discretionary variances. An agency may grant a variance if the agency finds 
that: 

(1) application of the rule to the petitioner would result in hardship or injustice; 

(2) variance from the rule would be consistent with the public interest; and 

(3) variance from the rule would not prejudice the substantial legal or economic rights of 
any person or entity. 

 
3. Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes section 148F.075, subd. 8 (b), the Board charges a $10.00 

fee for  consideration of a variance request.  Also, licensees requesting a continuing 
education variance are considered to be renewing late and are subject to the $74.00 late 
renewal fee. Requests submitted without the applicable fee will be returned, delaying 
consideration of your request.  This fee is non-refundable. 

 
4. Please include the following information with your request: this completed form, the 

$10.00 processing fee, and the late renewal fee of $74.00. All this must be received at the 
Board office with or prior to your completed renewal application 

 
5. This variance request must include a written plan listing the activities, including the dates 

and the number of hours for each, you propose completing in order to meet the 
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continuing education requirements. Continuing education hours completed after the 
renewal date pursuant to the written plan will count toward meeting only the 
requirements of the previous renewal period. 

 
6. A variance granted under this provision expires six months after the renewal date. A 

licensee who is granted a variance but fails to complete the required continuing education 
within the six-month period may apply for a second variance by submitting a completed 
variance request form, the $10 processing fee, and the late renewal fee of $74.00.  The 
second request should be received at the Board office anytime before the first extension 
expires. 
 

7. If an initial variance is granted, and the licensee fails to complete the required continuing 
education within the six-month period, the license shall be administratively suspended 
until the licensee completes the required continuing education, unless the licensee has 
obtained a second variance according to 6 above (Minnesota Statutes section 148F.075, 
subd.8 (c) and (d)). If a second variance is granted and the licensee fails to complete their 
required continuing education within the second six-month period, the licensee shall be 
administratively suspended until the licensee completes the required continuing 
education.   
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Variance Request 

 
1. Personal information:  
 

Your Name: ____________________________________________________________ 
 

LADC License Number: ____________________ 
 

Your Address:  _____________________________________________________ 
   _____________________________________________________ 
 

Your Telephone Number: __________________________________________________ 
 
 
3. Describe your reason for requesting a variance. 
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
4. State the reasons which you believe justify granting of your variance request. (Note:  
your reasons must fall within either Minn. Stat. §14.055, subds. 3 or 4 in order for the Board to 
grant your request). 
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 
5. Name(s), address(es) and telephone number(s) of any persons whom you know will be 
adversely affected if your variance is granted, if applicable. 
______________________________________________________________________________
______________________________________________________________________________ 
 

I hereby attest that the information contained in this variance request is true and accurate. 
 
 
____________________________________       __________________________      _________ 
  Name/License Number (Print Legibly)                       Signature of Requestor                  Date 
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Minnesota Statutes section 148F.075, subd. 8.Variance of continuing education requirements: 
 

(a) If a licensee is unable to meet the continuing education requirements by the renewal 
date, the licensee may request a time-limited variance to fulfill the requirements after the renewal 
date. A licensee seeking a variance is considered to be renewing late and is subject to the late 
renewal fee, regardless of when the request is received or whether the variance is granted. 

(b) The licensee shall submit the variance request on a form designated by the board, 
include the variance fee subject to section 14.056, subdivision 2, and the late fee for license 
renewal under section 148F.115. The variance request is subject to the criteria for rule variances 
in section 14.055, subdivision 4, and must include a written plan listing the activities offered to 
meet the requirement. Hours completed after the renewal date pursuant to the written plan count 
toward meeting only the requirements of the previous renewal period.  

(c) A variance granted under this subdivision expires six months after the license renewal 
date. A licensee who is granted a variance but fails to complete the required continuing education 
within the six-month period may apply for a second variance according to this subdivision. 

(d) If an initial variance request is denied, the license of the licensee shall not be renewed 
until the licensee completes the continuing education requirements. If an initial variance is 
granted, and the licensee fails to complete the required continuing education within the six-
month period, the license shall be administratively suspended until the licensee completes the 
required continuing education, unless the licensee has obtained a second variance according to 
paragraph (c). 

 
 

 

 


