
Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners 
University Park Plaza Building 

2829 University Avenue South East, Suite 425 

Minneapolis, MN  55414 
Office telephone: 651-201-2821 Office Fax: 612-617-2248 

Office e-mail: bbe.board@state.mn.us Board Website: www.barbers.state.mn.us 

 

Temporary Teacher Permit Application Form 
 

Licenses/Registrations issued by the Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners are subject to a one year renewal cycle. 

Temporary Teacher Permits may be renewed for four years and will not be renewed for a fifth year.  Permit holder 

must be enrolled in required courses or preparing for the Barber Instructor Examination to renew. 

Application Requirements:  
 The applicant must hold a current Minnesota registered (master) barber license/registration for at 

least two years. 
 

 Applicant must show proof of continuous enrollment in courses required by 2100.4500.   

Must be provided by a Board approved program or accredited college or university 

 program. Courses include the following or their equivalent as determined by the Board: 

 Introduction to Career and Technical Education Teaching 

 Philosophy and Practice of Career and Technical Education 

 Course Development for Career and Technical Education 

 Instructional Methods for Career and Technical Education  

 Human Relations 

The following items must be submitted 
 Application fee of $80.00 

 Proof of enrollment in required instructor coursework from an accredited college or university or o 

Board approved program. 

 Verification of need for temporary teacher from Barber School 

o The Board will not issue a temporary teacher’s permit for a new school or expansion of a 

school. 

Applicant Information Collection and Use 
The information collected during the application process is used to determine eligibility for examination or 
barber registration/license. You are not legally obligated to provide any of the information requested. If you 
do not provide the information the Board may be unable to process your application resulting in the 
application process being delayed or the application being denied. 

 
The Board is required to have licensee Social Security number on file by Minnesota Statute 270C.72 and 
cannot issue a license without having the number.  Your Social Security number may be requested by and 
released to the Minnesota Commissioner of revenue and may be used for revenue recapture as authorized by 
Minnesota Statute.  Minnesota Statute 13.355 classifies Social Security numbers as private data on individuals 
and your Social Security Number will not be released except as specifically authorized by law. 
 
Upon issuance of a certificate, license, or registration all information provided during the application process 
will become public information pursuant to Minnesota Statute Chapter 13.41 Subd. 5, with the exception of 
Social Security Numbers as specified above.  
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To avoid delay in processing please complete all parts of the application and provide all requested 
documentation.  Applications are not complete and cannot be processed until all information and 
documentation is provided.  
 
You should receive information regarding the status of you application within 10 business days of the Board 
receiving the completed application. If you have questions regarding the application process or need 
assistance please call the office at 651-201-2820 Monday - Friday 8:00 am to 4:30 pm excluding holidays. If 
we do not answer please leave a message and we will return the call. 
Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 604.113 and 609.535, the Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners is authorized 
to charge a service fee of $30.00 for any check that is returned for nonpayment. 

Applicant Information  
Last Name First Name Middle Initial 

 
 

Address  Telephone Number 
 
 

City State Zip Code County 

Date of Birth 
 
 

Master Barber License Number: 
          

E-mail address (optional) 

 

 Courses Completed for Instructor Qualifications    Date Completed 
 Introduction to Career and Technical Education Teaching ___________________________ 

 Philosophy and Practice of Career and Technical Education ___________________________  

 Course Development for Career and Technical Education ___________________________  

 Instructional Methods for Career and Technical Education ___________________________  

 Human Relations      ___________________________ 

Courses that you are currently taking    Where are you taking the course?  
 Introduction to Career and Technical Education Teaching ___________________________  

 Philosophy and Practice of Career and Technical Education ___________________________  

 Course Development for Career and Technical Education ___________________________  

 Instructional Methods for Career and Technical Education ___________________________ 

 Human Relations      ___________________________ 

Barber School Requesting Temporary Teacher 
Name of Barber School to Employ Applicant  Proposed start date: 

 

 

Address of Barber School 

 

 

School Contact Person  

 

City, State and Zip Code School Phone: 

 

School E-mail: 
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All barber applicants in the State of Minnesota must answer the following questions. If you answer yes to any 
of these questions, you must provide the additional documentation as listed. 
 

1. Have you ever held a barber certificate/license in another State or Country?  
If yes, list the certificate/license type and the State/Country in which you were certified/licensed: 

o Yes 
 

o No 

2. Has any professional or occupational license, certification, registration, or permit 
held by you been fined, suspended, revoked, refused or denied in this or any other 
state, by the federal government, or any other jurisdiction? 
 If yes, you must attach all of the following: 

 A written statement signed and dated by the applicant identifying the type of 
license, certificate, registration or permit and an explanation of each incident 
including the jurisdiction. 

 A copy of the official document which establishes the resolution or final 
judgment. 

o Yes 
 

o No 
 
 

3. Have you been notified by the Commissioner of Revenue, pursuant to Minnesota 
Statute 270C.72 that you currently owe the State of Minnesota any delinquent 
taxes?    If yes, attach a signed, dated explanation including payment plan or resolution 

o Yes 
 

o No 

 

Licensee Responsibilities 

Temporary Teacher Permit 

 You must be deemed eligible by the Board to hold a temporary teaching permit.  

 You must be actively enrolled in required courses working toward eligibility to take the Instructor 

Examination or be eligible for the exam at the time of application. 

 Proof of continued enrollment in required courses is required for renewal of the Temporary 

Teacher Permit. 

 The Temporary Teacher Permit will be valid for four years (with annual renewal) and will not be 

renewed for a fifth year. 

Renewal 
 Your Temporary Teaching Permit will expire each year on December 31st. 

Name Change 
 If you have a change of name, please notify the board in writing and include a copy of the legal 

document that changed your name (marriage certificate, divorce decree, naturalization papers) 

Address Change 
 An address change can be completed over the telephone, by fax, in person or by e-mail. It is your 

responsibility to inform the board so as to not delay receipt of your renewal notice or license. 

Barber Laws and Rules 
 Copies of the Minnesota Barber Laws and Rules may be purchased from the Minnesota Bookstore 

(651.297.3000-660 Olive Street, St. Paul) or found at: www.leg.state.mn.us 
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Barber Temporary Teacher Permit Application 

CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT 
 

 

I certify that the information included within this Application is true and correct.  

 

 

_________________________________________   ________________________ 

Signature of Applicant      Date 

 

 

Subscribed and sworn before me this _____day of _______________, 20______. 

 

            Notary Stamp 

        

       _____________________________________ 

       Notary Public 

   

       County:______________________________ 

        

My Commission Expires:_________________ 
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 This document is available in alternative formats to individuals with disabilities by calling 

651-201-2820 or through the Minnesota Relay Service at 1-800-627-3529. 
An Affirmative Action/Equal Opportunity Employer 


