
 
 

APPLICATION FOR RESIDENT DENTAL THERAPIST LICENSE ANNUAL RENEWAL 
 

—INSTRUCTIONS— 
1. Your completed renewal application and renewal fee must be received or legibly postmarked on or 

before June 30th of each year.  
 
2. Applications are incomplete unless all required information including signature and the correct fee are 

received or legibly postmarked on or before June 30th. 
 
3. Applications are incomplete when checks are not honored by your bank.  Pursuant to Minn. Stat. 

604.113 there will be a $20 service charge on all checks not honored by your bank. Checks should be 
made payable to the Minnesota Board of Dentistry.  Foreign checks should state the fee in U.S. dollars.  
DO NOT SEND CASH BY MAIL 

 
4. If you are still enrolled in a dental therapy residency program, failure to apply for annual renewal of 

your resident dental therapy license will result in the termination of your license (see item 7 below). 
 
5. Minnesota law requires you to inform the Board of name and/or address changes in writing within 

thirty (30) days of a change.  If you have a name change, you need to complete and notarize the name 
change form (located on Board website under Forms). 

 
6. Minn. Stat. 13.41, subd 2, item B requires a licensee to provide a telephone number at which the 

licensee can be contacted in connection with the license. 
 
7. Please review Minn. Rule 3100.1170, subp 2 below regarding the termination of your resident dental 

therapist license. 
Termination of licensure. (Minn. Rule 3100.1170, subp 2) 
A. A person’s license to practice dental therapy or dental hygiene as a resident dental therapist or 

resident dental hygienist is terminated when the person is no longer an enrolled graduate 
student or a student of an advanced dental education program approved by the Board.  
 

B. A person licensed to practice dental therapy or dental hygiene as a resident dental therapist or 
resident dental hygienist must inform the board when the licensee is no longer an enrolled 
graduate student or a student of an advanced dental education program approved by the 
Board. 
 

C. A person who fails to inform the board as required in item B within 30 days of no longer being 
enrolled as a student or graduate student in a program approved by the Board, is deemed to 
have committed fraud or deception within the meaning of Minnesota Statutes, section 150.08, 
subdivision 1, clause (1). 

 
*  Minn. Rule 3100.1700, subp2 requires that you maintain a consecutive and current CPR certification. "CPR" refers 

to a comprehensive hands-on course for a health care provider that includes:  cardiopulmonary resuscitation on 
an adult, child, and infant; two-person rescuer; barrier mask or bag for ventilation; foreign body airway 
obstruction; and automated external defibrillation.  A CPR certificate shall be obtained through the American 
Heart Association health care provider (BLS) course or the American Red Cross professional rescuer (BLS) course.  

https://mn.gov/boards/dentistry/forms/


 

 
 

APPLICATION FOR RESIDENT DENTAL THERAPIST ANNUAL RENEWAL 
 

For Annual Period July 1, _________ through June 30, _________ 
 
Name First M.I. Last License #: 

Mailing (street address) 
 

City 
 

State Zip 

Daytime phone 
 

Alternate phone 

Email (mandatory) 
 

County 

 
I am currently enrolled in the residency program checked below: (You must select one.) 

 
 University of Minnesota School of Dentistry 
 515 S.E. Delaware Street 
 Minneapolis, MN  55455 
 

 Metropolitan State University 
 700 E 7th St   
       St Paul, MN 55106 
 

 
Are you current in AHA or ARC Healthcare Provider (BLS) CPR*   YES     NO 
 
 

Rights of Subject 
 

Under Minnesota Statute 13.41, subdivision 2, information you provide in this renewal application except for 
your name and address is classified as private, that is, accessible only to you, the staff and members of the 
Board, the Board’s counsel, and persons you designate, while you remain an applicant for license renewal. In 
addition, if the matter of your license becomes contested and thereby results either in a contested case 
hearing or litigation, the data submitted by you or on your behalf may also become accessible to the 
Minnesota Office of Administrative Hearings, appropriate courts, and those associated with such proceedings, 
and thereby become public data. 
 
The purpose and intended use of this information is for license renewal and to assist the Board to verify 
compliance with other provisions of Minnesota Statutes 150A.01 to 150A.31 and Minnesota Rules 3100.0100 
to 3100.9600. You are not legally required to provide this information, but failure to do so may affect the 
renewal of your license. Practicing without a renewed license is unlawful under Minnesota Statute 150A. 



 
License Renewal Questions 
If your response to any license renewal question indicates that you may have engaged in conduct that 
constitutes a violation of Minnesota Statutes or Rules governing the practice of dentistry, the matter may be 
referred for investigation by a Committee of the Board. 
 
DISCLOSURES (The following questions apply to actions in Minnesota and all other jurisdictions during or since 
your most recent Minnesota dental renewal.) 
 

 Yes No 
1. Have you been convicted or adjudicated of a felony, gross 

misdemeanor or misdemeanor? 
  

2. Do you have any criminal charges pending against you?     

3. Are there any unsatisfied judgments against you that resulted from 
the practice of dentistry?  

  

4. Based on your assessment or that of another professional, has 
your use of alcohol or drugs, or the existence of a physiological or 
psychological medical condition, in any way ever impaired or 
limited your ability to practice your dental profession with 
reasonable skill and safety, or has anyone expressed concern 
about your use of alcohol or chemical substances, including 
prescription medications?  If you have signed a participation 
agreement with HPSP, you may answer “No” to this question. 

  

5. Have you ever been suspended from practice, reprimanded, 
censured or otherwise disciplined or disqualified as a dental or 
other professional? 

  

 
Renewal Fee:  $75.00   Due Date:  June 30 

 
Notice of Late Fee:  If your correctly completed application and renewal fee are not received or not legibly 
postmarked by June 30, of the year in which you are renewing, a late fee (50% of renewal fee) must be 
assessed.  You will be required to pay an additional $37.50. 
 

Make your check payable to:  Minnesota Board of Dentistry 
 
 

**REQUIRED** 
 
         (             )      
 Signature (original required)    Daytime phone number 
 
 
 

VOLUNTARY TERMINATION ONLY 
 
I am no longer enrolled in a residency program and do not need to renew my resident dental therapist license. 
 
Signature:  _____________________________________________   Date:  ______________________ 

 
Rev. 10/2016 
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