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Registered Barber Examination and Registration Application 

Application Requirements:  

Completed Application must be received by the Board with all required documents and full 

payment before the 20th day of the month before to the examination. If the 20th falls on a week-end 

the application is due on the Friday before. 

 

 Purchase of the Home Study Course- required for Apprentice Barber applying to become a 

Registered Barber. 

 Application fee of $85.00 (Your first registration will expire on December 31 of the year 

issued.) 

 Barber School Certificate of Completion indicating a minimum of 1500 hours of school 

completed within the previous four years.  

Or 

  Barber School Certificate of completion of 500 hours of barber school completed within 

the previous four years if original 1500 hours were completed more than four years ago or 

additional 500 hours were required due to exam failure. (Certificate must be on file for 

results to be released.) 

Or 

 Previously held a Minnesota Barber Registration that expired four or more years ago, 

examination required to reinstate barber registration. 

Applicant Information Collection and Use 
The information collected during the application process is used to determine eligibility for examination or 
barber registration/license. You are not legally obligated to provide any of the information requested. If you 
do not provide the information the Board may be unable to process your application resulting in the 
application process being delayed or denied. 
  
The Board is required to have licensee Social Security number on file by Minnesota Statute 270C.72 and 
cannot issue a certificate of registration without having the number. Your Social Security number may be 
requested by and released to the Minnesota Commissioner of revenue and may be used for revenue recapture 
as authorized by Minnesota Statute. Minnesota Statute 13.355 classifies Social Security numbers as private 
data on individuals and your Social Security Number will not be released except as specifically authorized by 
law. 
  
Upon issuance of a certificate of registration all information provided during the application process will 
become public information pursuant to Minnesota Statute Chapter 13.41 Subd. 5, with the exception of Social 
Security Numbers as specified above.  
  

Pursuant to Minnesota Statutes 604.113 and 609.535, the Minnesota Board of Barber Examiners is 

authorized to charge a service fee of $30.00 for any check that is returned for nonpayment. 
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Applicant Information 

 

Last Name 

 

 

First Name M I 

 

Gender: 

○ Male 

○ Female 

Address   Telephone Number 

 

 

City 

 

 

State Zip Code 

 

Date of Birth 

      

          /      / 

County E-mail address 

 

Applying for: ______Feb ______May ______Aug ______Nov 

 

 

Examination Accommodations 

Applicants with documented disabilities may receive reasonable accommodations to complete the 

examination. It is your responsibility to request accommodations at the time of application. 

Accommodations may include but are not limit to: Additional time to complete the written portion of the 

exam or a reader to read the examination. You must supply documentation of a need for accommodation 

such as special education records or a current disability evaluation. Please inform the Board of your need 

for accommodations and submit documentation with this application. 

 

Language Interpreter 

Applicants with English as a second language may have a language interpreter to assist them during the 

examination. It your responsibility to request an interpreter if needed. You must provide their own 

interpreter and all interpreters must be approved by the Board, cannot be family members or barbers, and 

must be on the State Roster of Interprets through Minnesota Courts or Department of Health. If you need 

an interpreter please inform the Board when you apply for the examination. 

 

*NOTE: 

Your exam fees may be moved to the next examination date one-time if you notify the Board at 

least one working day before the exam begins. In rare instances an exception may be made for 

documented emergency situations. 

Missing the exam without appropriate notice, being late for the exam (after 7:45am), or not having 

a model for the exam are not emergency situations and you will be required to pay the exam fee again to 

reschedule your examination.  
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All barber applicants in the State of Minnesota must answer the following questions. If you answer yes to 

any of these questions, you must provide the additional documentation as listed. 

 

1. Have you ever held a barber certificate/license in another State or Country?  

If yes, list the certificate/license type and the State/Country in which you were 

certified/licensed: 

o Yes 

 

o No 

2. Has any professional or occupational license, certification, registration, or 

permit held by you been fined, suspended, revoked, refused or denied in this or 

any other state, by the federal government, or any other jurisdiction? 

 If yes, you must attach all of the following: 

 A written statement signed and dated by the applicant identifying the type 

of license, certificate, registration or permit and an explanation of each 

incident including the jurisdiction. 

 A copy of the official document which establishes the resolution or final 

judgment. 

o Yes 

 

o No 

 

 

3. Have you been notified by the Commissioner of Revenue, pursuant to 

Minnesota Statute 270C.72 that you currently owe the State of Minnesota any 

delinquent taxes?  If yes, attach a signed, dated explanation including payment 

plan or resolution 

o Yes 

 

o No 

 

Barber Responsibilities 

Registration and Display of Certificates 

Per MN Statute 154.14 (2013) Every holder of a certificate of registration as a registered barber shall 

display the certificate, with a 2 x 2 head & shoulder photograph of the barber that meets the same 

standards as required for a United States passport, in a conspicuous place adjacent to or near the chair 

where work is performed.  

 

Renewal 

Barber registrations expire each year on December 31st. Failure to renew on or prior to that date will 

result in additional fees to reinstate the registration. Minnesota Statute 154.15 Subd. 2 (2014). States: 

Effect of failure to renew. A registered barber or a registered apprentice who has not renewed a certificate 

of registration may be reinstated within four years of such failure to renew without examination upon the 

payment of the required restoration fee for each year the certificate is lapsed…. All registered barbers and 

registered apprentices who allow their certificates of registration to lapse for more than four years shall be 

required to reexamine before being issued a certificate of registration.  

 

 



     Registered Barber Exam Application Page 4 of 4 

Communicable Disease 

Per MN Statute 154.161subd 4(7) (2014) practicing as a barber while having an infectious or contagious 

disease may be grounds to refuse to renew, suspend, temporarily suspend, or revoke the application, 

certificate of registration, or shop registration card…. 

 

 

Name Change 

If you have a change of name, please notify the board in writing and include a photo copy of the legal 

document that changed your name (marriage certificate, divorce decree, court order, etc…) 

 

Address Change 

An address change can be completed over the telephone, by fax, in person or by e-mail. It is your 

responsibility to inform the board so as to not delay receipt of Board communications. 

 

Barber Laws and Rules 

Copies of the Minnesota Barber Laws and Rules may be purchased from the Minnesota Bookstore (651-

297-3000, 660 Olive Street, St. Paul) or found at: www.leg.state.mn.us 

 

 

 

 

 

CERTIFICATION OF APPLICANT 

 

I certify that I have read and understand the information provided above and that the information I have 

included within this application is true and correct. 

 

_________________________________________  ________________________ 

Signature of Applicant     Date 

 

Subscribed and sworn before me this _____day of _______________, 20______. 

 

Notary Seal 

        

       _____________________________________ 

       Notary Public 

       County: ______________________________ 

       My Commission Expires: _________________ 


