

335 Randolph Avenue, Suite 140 St. Paul, MN 55102 612.617.2130 (phone) | 612.617.2166 (fax)

medical.board@state.mn.us | mn.gov/boards/medical-practice

# RESPIRATORY THERAPIST Application Instructions and Requirements

Please thoroughly review these materials before submitting your application. Any processing fees incurred are your responsibility. The Board reserves the right to reject any outdated applications submitted; therefore, it is recommended that you complete the application in a timely manner. Incomplete applicant files will be destroyed after six months of inactivity.

#### **Methods of Licensure**

The statute establishes eligibility for licensure by general or reciprocity, and applicants must select one on the application. All applicants must submit a completed application and appropriate fees online at MN Health Board or by paper to the Medical Board.

### **General Licensure Requirements**

- Verification of successful completion of an approved accredited education program.
- Verification of successful completion of the NBRC or CSRT exam within 5 years prior to application for licensure.

## Licensure by Reciprocity Requirements

- Verification of current and unrestricted license from another state requiring an approved education program and NBRC or CSRT certification
- Verification of valid and current NBRC or CSRT certification
- Verification of employment as a respiratory therapist for at least 8 weeks of the previous 5 years

The following requirements must be sent directly to the Minnesota Board from the facility/person completing the form:

- **Verification of NBRC or CSRT certification:** NBRC offers a credential verification service on their website at <a href="https://www.nbrc.org/">https://www.nbrc.org/</a> and CSRT at <a href="https://www.csrt.com/">https://www.csrt.com/</a>.
- Verification of Respiratory Therapist Education (General Licensure Only): Verification of
  Respiratory Therapist Education Form is for certification of respiratory therapy education for
  general licensure applicants and must be completed and emailed or mailed by the facility
  directly to the Medical Board.
- Direct verification of active/expired Licensure/Registration/Certification: The Verification of Licensure/Registration/Certification Form or the verification of licensure letter can be sent from the state to the Medical Board by email or mail. Verification letters can also be requested through VeriDoc Inc. to the Medical Board. Go to <a href="https://www.veridoc.org/">https://www.veridoc.org/</a> to have a verification letter sent from another participating state board to the Medical Board. If the state does not do verifications, please forward the email response from state stating they do not do verifications or email the link to the state website showing the verbiage the state does not do verifications to the Medical Board and attach the pdf verification from the state website. The Board must receive a separate verification form completed by each state board where you have ever held a healthcare professional license/registration/certification.

# In addition to the documentation requirements set forth under the general or reciprocity licensure requirements, all of the following requirements must be met:

- Non-refundable \$222.00 fee paid online by credit/debit card or submit paper application with check, money order, or cashier's check payable to the Minnesota Board of Medical Practice.
- The name on the application and the name on the NBRC or CSRT certificate must be the same. If there has been a name change, submit a copy of the supporting documentation, e.g., marriage license.
- <u>Affidavit of Applicant Form</u> A recent, full-face, 2" X 2" color photograph must be affixed as indicated on the form and notarized as a true likeness. Please ensure to fill in and sign all required areas of the form.
- Work History Form
- Copy of respiratory therapy education diploma (General Licensure Only)
- Respiratory Therapist Verification of Employment Form (Reciprocity Only)
- Copy of driver's license or other government issued photo ID.
- Criminal Background Check: applicant will receive emailed instructions once the application is processed. **Use ORI number for Board of Medical Practice: MN920158Z on CBC forms.**
- Any other information requested by the Board.

### **Application Fees**

Please be aware that all fees are non-refundable. Fees submitted will not be refunded if it is determined that you are not eligible for licensure.

Applicants are required to submit written notification to the Board within 30 days of any name or address change. The law takes precedence over any conflicts between these instructions and the law.