

RESIDENCY PERMIT Application Instructions and Requirements

Please thoroughly review these materials before submitting your application. Any processing fees incurred are your responsibility. The Board reserves the right to reject any outdated applications submitted; therefore, it is recommended that you complete the application in a timely manner. Incomplete applicant files will be destroyed after six months of inactivity.

Methods of Permit Application

All applicants must submit a completed application and appropriate fees online at <u>MN Medical Board</u> <u>Online Services</u> or by paper to the Medical Board. If you have a current active permit and want to extend the end date, see <u>Residency Permit Extension Instructions and Requirements</u>.

Permit Requirements:

- Non-refundable \$20.00 fee paid online by credit/debit card or submit paper application with check, money order, or cashier's check payable to the Minnesota Board of Medical Practice. Cash will not be accepted. Any cash received will be returned, and processing of your application may be delayed.
- The <u>Approved Residency Training Program Form</u> must be completed by the residency program in Minnesota and sent to the applicant to upload the completed form in the online application or mail the completed form along with the paper application. **Do not mail the form if uploaded online**. Note: The application will not be processed until the form is received to the Medical Board.
- <u>MN Statute 13.41, subd. 2</u> requires designated contact information to be PUBLIC and it will be placed on the residency permit and the Medical Board's website. You may change this information in your online services account after your residency permit is issued at <u>MN</u> <u>Medical Board Online Services</u>.

Notes:

- The Medical Board will email the permit to the resident once issued and real-time permit information can be viewed by visiting <u>MN Medical Board</u>. Please ensure you submit a copy of the permit to your residency program. The Board does not submit copies to the programs.
- Fees are non-refundable, including if it is determined that you are not eligible for a permit.
- You must notify the Medical Board by email at <u>medical.board@state.mn.us</u> if the program ends <u>before</u> the date shown on the permit.
- You are required to submit notification to the Board within 30 days of any name change by submitting the <u>Request For Name Change Form</u> and address changes in your online services account at <u>MN Medical Board Online Services</u>.
- The law takes precedence over any conflicts between these instructions and the law.