BEFORE THE MINNESOTA

BOARD OF DENTISTRY
In the Matter of STIPULATION AND ORDER
Peggy L. Orman, L.D.A, ACCEPTING VOLUNTARY
License No. A2140 SURRENDER OF LICENSE

The Minnesota Board of Dentistty (“Board™) is authorized pursuant to Minnesota
Statutes chapter 1504, sections 214.10 and 214.103 to license and regulate licensed dental
assistants, to refer complaints against licensed dental assistants to the Attorney General for
investigation, and to take disciplinary action when appropriate including accepting a voluntary
surrender of license.

Peggy L. Orman, L.D.A. (“Licensee™) desires to Voiuntérily surrender her license to
practice dental assisting in the State of Minnesota. The Board’s Complaint Committee
(“Committee”) and Licensee agree that the matter may be resolved by this stipulation and order
accepting voluntary surrender of Licensee’s license.

STIPULATION

IT IS HEREBY STIPULATED AND AGREED by and between Licensee and the
Committee as follows:

A. Jurisdiction. Licensee holds a license to practice dental assisting in the State of
Minnesota from the Board and is subject to the jurisdiction of the Board with respect to the
matters referred to in this stipulation. Licensee states that she does not hold a license to practice
dental assisting in any other jurisdiction and does not hold any other professional or occupational
licenses.

B. Iacts. This stipulation is based upon the following facts:



I Licensee is a dental assistant, licensed in the State of Minnesota.

2. On January 9, 2003, the Board issued an Order of Suspension (2003
Order”) that suspended Licensee’s dental assisting license due to an outstanding tax liability with
the Minnesota Department of Revenue. Licensee was prohibited from performing delegated
duties for licensed dental assistants until the tax obligation was resolved and a tax clearance
certificate was issued by the Minnesota Department of Revenue.

3. From March 2005 to April 2009, Licensee submitted five falsified letters
purportedly from the Minnesota Department of Revenue to her employer. The letters stated that
Licensee was making progress toward a tax resolution and had a conditional license to practice
dental assisting. Based upon this information, Licensee’s employer allowed her to perform
delegated expanded duties for a licensed dental assistant, even though, her license was
suspended.

4. Licensee practiced under a suspended license and performed expanded
functions for more than five years between 2005 and 2010.

5. On February 10, 2011, the Committee held a conference with Licensee to
discuss Licensee’s foregoing conduct above. During the conference, Licensee requested a
voluntary surrender of her license to practice dental assisting in the State of Minnesota that was
accepted by the Committee.

C. Violations. Licensee admits the facts and conduct specified above constitute
violations of Minnesota Statutes section 150A.08, subd. (1), (6), (13), Minnesota Rules
3100.6200A, 3100.6200F, 3100.6200H, 3100.8400, and are sufficient grounds for the

disciplinary action specified below.



D. Disciplinary Action. The parties agree the Board may take the following

disciplinary action and require compliance with the following terms:

1. Within 60 days from the date of this Order, Licensee shall pay to the
Board a CIVIL PENALTY in the amount of $1,000. The civil penalty shall be paid by cashier's
check or money order made payable to the Minnesota Board of Dentistry and shall be delivered
personally or by mail to the Minnesota Board of Dentistry, ;:/o Marshall Shragg, Executive
Director, 2829 University Avenue S.E., Suite 450, Minneapolis, Minnesota 55414.

2. The Board shall accept the VOLUNTARY SURRENDER of Licensee’s
license to practice dental assisting in the State of Minnesota in accordance with the following
terms:

a. Surrender. Effective the date of this Order, Licensee’s license to
practice dental assisting in the State of Minnesota is terminated. Within ten days from the date
this Order is adopted by the Board, Licensee shall surrender to the Board any previous renewal
certificates by delivering them personally or by first class mail to Marshall Shragg, Executive
Director, Minnesota Board of Dentistry, 2829 University Avenue Southeast, Suite 450,
Minneapolis, Minnesota 55414,

b. Prohibitions.  Licensee shall not engage in any act which
constitutes the practice of dental assisting as defined in Minnesota Statutes section 150A.10,
subd. 2. and Minnesota Rules part 3100.8500 and shall not imply to former patients or other
persons by words or conduct that Licensee is licensed to practice dental assisting.

E. Requirements for Relicensure. Licensee may apply to the Board for relicensure at

any regularly scheduled Board meeting no earlier than one year from the effective date of this

Order. Licensee must comply fully with the applicable statutes and rules in effect at the time of



Licensee’s application, including the payment of all fees relating to relicensure and completing
the Professional Development requirements.

Moreover, if Licensee is out of practice for more than two (2) years after the effective
date of this stipulation and order, she shall take and successfully attain a passing score on both of
the examinations specified in Minnesota Rules part 3100.1300, item C. Licensee’s compliance
with the above-referenced requirements shall not create a presumption that she should be granted
a license to practice as a licensed dental assistant in the State of Minnesota.

In addition to the reinstatement requirements contained in the applicable statutes and
rules in effect at the time of Licensee’s application, Licensee shall have the burden of proving to
the Board by clear and convincing evidence that she is capable of conducting herself in a
qualified and competent manner, is able to perform the duties of a licensed dental assistant with
reasonable skill and safety, and has complied fully with the terms of the Board’s order.

F. Meeting with a Complaint Committee. Licensee shall meet with a Complaint

Committee of the Board at least 60 days prior to the Board meeting to consider Licensee’s
application for relicensure. The Complaint Committee shall review and discuss with Licensee
her application and supporting evidence. After meeting with Licensée, the Complaint
Comumittee shall forward a report containing its recommendations to the Board.

G. Board Action. At any regularly scheduled Board meeting following Licensee’s
application for relicensure and meeting with a Complaint Committee, the Board may take any of
the following actions:

1. Reissue a license to Licensee;
2. Reissue a license to Licensee with limitations and/or conditions placed

upon the scope of Licensee’s practice of dental assisting; or



3. Deny the application for relicensure upon Licensee’s failure to meet the
burden of proof.
H. Judicial Relief. If Licensee violates paragraph D above, a district court of this
state may, upon application of the Committee, enter an order enjoining Licensee from such
practice and grant the Board costs, reasonable attorney fees, and other appropriate relief.

I Attendance at Conference. Licensee attended a conference with the Committee

on February 10, 2011, The following Committee members attended the conference: Joan
Sheppard, D.D.S., David Linde, D.D.S., Kristin Heebner, J.D., and Teri Youngdahl, L.D.A.
Assistant Attorney General Daphne A. Lundstrom represented the Committee at the conference.
Although Licensee was informed at the conference that she could be represented by legal
counsel, Licensee has knowingly and voluntarily waived that opportunity.

L Waiver of Licensee’s Rights. For the purpose of this stipulation, Licensee walves

all procedures and proceedings before the Board to which Licensee may be entitled under the
Minnesota and United States constitutions, statutes, or the rules of the Board, including the right
to dispute the facts contained in this stipulation and order and to dispute the appropriateness of
discipline in a contested proceeding pursuant to Minnesota Statutes chapter 14. Licensee agrees
that upon the application of the Committee without notice to or an appearance by Licensee, the
Board may issue an order imposing the discipline specified herein. The Committee may
participate in Board deliberations and voting concerning the stipulation. Licensee waives the
right to any judicial review of the order by appeal, writ of certiorari, or otherwise.

K. Board Rejection of Stipulation and Order. In the event the Board in its discretion

does not approve this stipulation or a lesser remedy than specified herein, this stipulation and

order shall be null and void and shall not be used for any purpose by either party hereto. If this



stipulation is not approved and a contested case proceeding is initiated pursuant to Minnesota
Statutes chapter 14 and section 150A.08, Licensee agrees not to object to the Board’s initiation
of the proceeding and hearing the case on the basis that the Board has become disqualified due to
its review and consideration of this stipulation and the record.

L. Record. This stipulation, related investigative reports, and other documents shall
constitute the entire record of the proceedings herein upon which the order is based. The
investigative reports, other documents, or summaries thereof may be filed with the Board with
this stipulation. Any reports or other material related to this matter which are received after the
date the Board approves the stipulation and order shall become a part of the record and may be
considered by the Board in future aspects of this proceeding.

M. Data Classification. Under the Minnesota Data Practices Act, this stipulation and

order is classified as public data. Minn. Stat. § 13.41, subd. 5. All documents in the record shall
maintain the data classification to which they are entitled under the Minnesota Government Data
Practices Act, Minnesota Statutes chapter 13. They shall not, to the extent they are not already
public documents, become public merely because they are referenced herein. Pursuant to federal
rule (45 C.F.R. parts 60 and 61), the Board must report the disciplinary action contained in this
stipulation and order to the National Practitioner Data Bank and the Healthcare Integrity and
Protection Data Bank.

N. Entire Agreement. Licensee has read, understood, and agreed to this stipulation

and is freely and voluntarily signing it. This stipulation contains the entire agreement between
the parties hereto. Licensee is not relying on any other agreement or representations of any kind,

verbal or otherwise.



0, Service. If approved by the Board, a copy of this stipulation and order shall be
served personally or by first class mail on Licensee. The order shall be effective and deemed

issued when it is signed by the President or Vice-President of the Board.

LICENSEE

/

o Pl
PEGGYA/ORMAN, L.D.A. MARSHALL SHRAGG, MPH
Executive Director
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ORDER
Upon consideration of the foregoing stipulation and based upon all the files, records and
proceedings herein, the Board approves and adopts the terms of the stipulation, orders the
recommended action set forth in the stipulation, and accepts the VOLUNTARY SURRENDER

=

of Licensee’s license to practice dental assisting in the State of Minnesota effective this

G
day of %-P""’a/ ,2011.

MINNESOTA BOARD
OF DENTISTRY

By: Wyf M 9
DAVID LINDE, D.D.S.
President




